Need help from iphone lovers, 3 Enquiries

TSkayden
post Oct 1 2008, 04:40 AM, updated 18y ago

912 posts

QUESTION 1
I saw cydia got 14 updates and it tells me 8 are essentials. So i tried to download, then hang halfway. Did a soft restart. After that tot wanna do the Appsupport to eliminate the numbers shown instead of names. That required me to dl openssh via cydia. Half way downloading also hang. Can any1 pls advice on this?

QUESTION 2
I bought my iphone from a forummer. When i open Appstore to download some freewares, e.g facebook app, it requires me to enter password which is the same password for itunes. Is this normal? Well the seller went overseas and i can't contact him. Anyway to solve this?

QUESTION 3
When i add a new contacts to my phone, the numbers are saved in this format; (012) 234-5678. Then when ppl sms me it shows +60122345678 and not the caller's ID/name. By doing THIS can it solve my problem?
In scenario Q1 above, i am unable to d/l openssh thus failing to follow THIS step. Any other solutions?

This post has been edited by kayden: Oct 1 2008, 12:24 PM
Fighteden
post Oct 1 2008, 04:52 AM

Stark Industries
977 posts

For question 1 and 3 .. find Caller ID Fix in Installer 4 ..

Question 2, you need to create an iTunes account ...

Choose your country in the bottom of iTunes's Store, then choose Free App on your bottom right side's bar ..

Click on GetApp and it will prompt you to create an iTunes account .. fill in everything then click next, if done correctly .. in the payment method area you will see an option for None ..

The best is choose United States as your country .. but when they asked for your address just fill in a valid United States address and phone number ..

The proper instructions is located here ..

Create an iTunes account for any country

Good luck mate .. wink.gif
TSkayden
post Oct 1 2008, 12:15 PM

912 posts

I cant make use of Cydia>Caller ID Fix because everytime i try d/ling from Cydia my iphone will hang. So guess have to wait til winpwn3 comes around then upgrade firmware and try again.

Thanks for help.

This post has been edited by kayden: Oct 1 2008, 01:53 PM
chlai
post Oct 1 2008, 03:27 PM

42 posts

how is ur internet line? its stable?
i face the same problem, its coz by da line i use is not stable
try to stop other pc tat using the same line, jz ur phone connected to the line
Fighteden
post Oct 1 2008, 04:22 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

QUOTE(kayden @ Oct 1 2008, 12:15 PM)
I cant make use of Cydia>Caller ID Fix because everytime i try d/ling from Cydia my iphone will hang. So guess have to wait til winpwn3 comes around then upgrade firmware and try again.

Thanks for help.
Use Installer 4 dude..
TSkayden
post Oct 1 2008, 05:10 PM

912 posts

QUOTE(chlai @ Oct 1 2008, 03:27 PM)
how is ur internet line? its stable?
i face the same problem, its coz by da line i use is not stable
try to stop other pc tat using the same line, jz ur phone connected to the line
I know whats wrong liao. I enable the phone lock option. So when the time reaches the phone lock, the update will hang. So to solve this issue, i have to set phone auto-lock to Never.

QUOTE(Fighteden @ Oct 1 2008, 04:22 PM)
Use Installer 4 dude..
Bro, when i bought this phone, it only have itunes, Appstore, Cydia. Dont have Installer. Btw i have tried to do the caller ID fix it wont help with my problem. Maybe i will try other ways. Will update here.

This post has been edited by kayden: Oct 1 2008, 05:50 PM
baretta
post Oct 1 2008, 07:33 PM

1,853 posts

after install , you restart your iPhone?
Fighteden
post Oct 1 2008, 07:45 PM

Stark Industries
977 posts

You can get Installer 4 via Cydia if you have the right sources ..
harmeet15
post Oct 1 2008, 10:16 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(Fighteden @ Oct 1 2008, 07:45 PM)
use da resources provided by david...
and da caller fix wud be thr..
if im nt wrong its by spazio...

nokia2003
post Oct 1 2008, 10:19 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(kayden @ Oct 1 2008, 05:10 PM)
I know whats wrong liao. I enable the phone lock option. So when the time reaches the phone lock, the update will hang. So to solve this issue, i have to set phone auto-lock to Never.
Bro, when i bought this phone, it only have itunes, Appstore, Cydia. Dont have Installer. Btw i have tried to do the caller ID fix it wont help with my problem. Maybe i will try other ways. Will update here.
re-pwn your iphone again and this time select both installer 4 and cydia before the custom firmware is being built
geo-milano
post Oct 1 2008, 11:17 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(kayden @ Oct 1 2008, 12:15 PM)

Thanks for help.
what firmware are you using?
last time i used 2.0 firmware have this of problem..
but 2.1 wont..
TSkayden
post Oct 2 2008, 02:06 AM

912 posts

QUOTE(baretta @ Oct 1 2008, 07:33 PM)
after install , you restart your iPhone?
Yea i did restart. But after restart i tried cannot liao i go for another method which is http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/747611. Now settled. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Fighteden @ Oct 1 2008, 07:45 PM)
Okie i will try to find the right source. Still new to iphone. Got it yesterday. Thanks for enlighten.

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Oct 1 2008, 10:16 PM)
use da resources provided by david...
and da caller fix wud be thr..
if im nt wrong its by spazio...
Yeap. U are right. Will do it now notworthy.gif

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Oct 1 2008, 10:19 PM)
re-pwn your iphone again and this time select both installer 4 and cydia before the custom firmware is being built
I am still a new iphone user. So dont wish to repwn it now as it still have no problem. Thanks for advice. learnt something new there. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(geo-milano @ Oct 1 2008, 11:17 PM)
what firmware are you using?
last time i used 2.0 firmware have this of problem..
but 2.1 wont..
I am using v2.0. Will update to 2.1 after winpwn 3 out smile.gif thumbup.gif
LaskarCinta
post Oct 2 2008, 02:11 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(kayden @ Oct 1 2008, 05:10 PM)
u can use QuickPwn just to add Installer. it works for me. just tick Installer.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Oct 2 2008, 02:11 AM
TSkayden
post Oct 2 2008, 02:41 AM

912 posts

QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Oct 2 2008, 02:11 AM)
u can use QuickPwn just to add Installer. it works for me. just tick Installer.
Noted nod.gif
I just love this iphone forum. Users here are like a community that helps each other out. Really happy to get my iphone and get so much support from LYN. rclxms.gif
Well to start quickpwn i need the fw 2.0 in my pc (deleted after update). So cant use quickpwn to add installer and i cant get the right source for Cydia to search for Installer 4.0. Since Cydia got more sources nowadays so just use Cydia bah flex.gif

This post has been edited by kayden: Oct 2 2008, 03:21 AM

0.0152sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 04:09 AM