What should I do? Change the whole set? Or just the 6th or waht? Thanks
HEEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPPPPP!, String broke...new summore.. need advice
Sep 30 2008, 11:57 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
765 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
I just bought my guitar and I accidently broke my 6th string while trying to drop d the tuning....like its only 3 days old!!
What should I do? Change the whole set? Or just the 6th or waht? Thanks |
Sep 30 2008, 11:59 PM
249 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
well, you can just get the 6th string replaced. most of the guitar shops around stock em. u just gotta find out wat gauge your old string was. don't need to change the whole set.
btw, how did you snap a string while downtuning? 1st time i heard of such thing |
Oct 1 2008, 12:01 AM
Lolz! Yeah well I was just turning the string and it sorta just broke! I was doing it slowly summore sobs. My guitar model is the yamahaf310. any advice which guitar shop stores them and how to get it changed? How much do the charged for just one string? Thanks.
Added on October 1, 2008, 12:02 amAnd does yamaha just do the one string with the same type of string? This post has been edited by Xannava: Oct 1 2008, 12:02 AM |
Oct 1 2008, 12:17 AM
677 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Petaling Jaya |
down tune? or did u tune higher?
anyway, Guitar Collections do sell single string, like shauno said, u just need to know ur gauge and thats all. |
Oct 1 2008, 12:20 AM
Hmm if the sound gets deeper its drop right? Hmm the thing is I dont know my gauge... Just bought the guitar... sigh
Oct 1 2008, 12:34 AM
well then it should be the standard gauge. so just go to the shop and tell the fellar or show him ur guitar, the old man in guitar collection TTDI can help u out
i tink its less than RM5, as the low E is RM5 for D'adario strings |
Oct 1 2008, 12:37 AM
Do you think its possible for me to go back to yamaha to change just the one string using the same factory issued string? Will it sound different or wierd if the one string is a different brand or anything from the other 5? How much do you think they would charge there?
Sorry for so many questions... new to this. And thanks for the advice. |
Oct 1 2008, 12:41 AM
722 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
I broke my high E string (1st string) numerous times but never broke the low E string before. Anyway, just go to any guitar store and buy only the string and u can DIY at home
Oct 1 2008, 12:42 AM
i'm not sure myself wei. but well, u can go back to yamaha, and the fellar will just help u out. but impossible for u to get the same string la, unless u wanna change a whole set to get all brand new. it'll be fine with just one string changed, as long as the others are still new
Oct 1 2008, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(IpohBoY @ Oct 1 2008, 12:41 AM) I broke my high E string (1st string) numerous times but never broke the low E string before. Anyway, just go to any guitar store and buy only the string and u can DIY at home Thats why I was so shocked...I always expected the high e to break not the low e....QUOTE(Dead Eye @ Oct 1 2008, 12:42 AM) i'm not sure myself wei. but well, u can go back to yamaha, and the fellar will just help u out. but impossible for u to get the same string la, unless u wanna change a whole set to get all brand new. it'll be fine with just one string changed, as long as the others are still new So no weird sounds or such? Or do I just buy the whole pack and then wait and see which string breaks next? P/S I have no idea how to DIY a guitar string back on... This post has been edited by Xannava: Oct 1 2008, 12:45 AM |
Oct 1 2008, 12:54 AM
8,275 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(Xannava @ Oct 1 2008, 12:44 AM) Thats why I was so shocked...I always expected the high e to break not the low e.... simple, put string in hole behind the guitar pull to the back put in the hole at the headstock thats for the string, tighten.So no weird sounds or such? Or do I just buy the whole pack and then wait and see which string breaks next? P/S I have no idea how to DIY a guitar string back on... theres videos on the net for it im sure. no worries bro breaking strings are damn common |
Oct 1 2008, 01:02 AM
well, if all ur other strings are fine, then it its fine
u may wana let the fellar to change for u for the first time, maybe from where u bought the guitar. then the next try u can DIY |
Oct 1 2008, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 1 2008, 12:54 AM) simple, put string in hole behind the guitar pull to the back put in the hole at the headstock thats for the string, tighten. Hmmm... I'm afraid I'll break the string while restringing theres videos on the net for it im sure. no worries bro breaking strings are damn common QUOTE(Dead Eye @ Oct 1 2008, 01:02 AM) well, if all ur other strings are fine, then it its fine Hmm... ok, I'll call the shop tomorrow morning...Hope they are open.. Hari Raya.. of all days..u may wana let the fellar to change for u for the first time, maybe from where u bought the guitar. then the next try u can DIY Thanks people for feedback...especially dead eye for bearing with my inexperience... |
Oct 1 2008, 01:13 AM
390 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Somewhere |
It is recommended to change the factory installed set of strings once you get your guitar... you won't know how long the guitar has been on the shelf and how many people has played with it before.. FYI, wound acoustic bronze strings have very short lifespan... they lose their brightness in about a month
Oct 1 2008, 01:19 AM
Hmmm... mine came from the storeroom. I'm inexperienced with acoustic guitar so to me it still sounds good. However if you have suggestions on which strings would improve it and if its necessary i'll appreciate if you share it with me. Like which brand and which gauge... they give me a headache...
Oct 1 2008, 01:26 AM
You can give GHS Bright Bronze a try... They are bright enough to last you a couple of months on tone... As for the string gauges, don't differ from the factory ones by a lot, as this will cause intonation problems... You can just ask for regular gauge at the shop...
Oct 1 2008, 01:32 AM
How much do these cost? Thanks XD
Oct 1 2008, 01:34 AM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
Yeah, i agree that if you bought it without changing the strings, chances are that the strings are pretty old and rusted. I usually swap out new strings the day I buy my guitar. 13-56 or 12-53 are a good gauge to start for a beginner. D'addarios or Dunlops should cost you around Rm20-25 a pack.
You can find tons of vids on youtube on how to change the strings. It's really easy actually. Also, since you're a beginner, it would be wise to invest in a good tuner and a Peg Winder, which would save your already aching hands from more blisters. |
Oct 1 2008, 01:35 AM
It's around 24 bucks a set... not sure about single strings though...
Oct 1 2008, 01:38 AM
haha.. no prob wei
but it seems like its closed tomorrow, most music store closes on Hari Raya, and probably 2 days next stop, Music Master |
| Change to: | 0.0164sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 06:57 AM |