Nokia ★★★[Nokia E66 Discussion Thread]★★★, >>> Designed for the way we work <<<

doomx
post Sep 29 2008, 03:03 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

if u are aiming to use the phone as a camera device, i suggest dont. just buy a digi cam smile.gif. this phone is more like business-orientated. tried the phone yesterday must say the feel is solid smile.gif
doomx
post Sep 30 2008, 12:42 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Sep 29 2008, 03:18 PM)
Camera on phones are usually not meant for professional photographing, but more for convenience and for capturing images for uploading to the net, sharing etc. A simple digital camera will do the tasks much better.

The E66 is truly a rock-solid-built phone. Not to mention the stainless steel finishing truly captures the attention of the crowd. Besides, if you can notice, the main casing of the grey E66 (plastic) is actually metallic with tiny shining particles!! Wow.. biggrin.gif

doomx, not planning to get this phone? Hehe.. tongue.gif
well for the meantime i will sit back and wait for all the phones to roll out still waiting for n85 and n79 smile.gif.
and also funding, im attracted to e66 when the first time i saw it. really nice design
doomx
post Oct 2 2008, 03:06 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

i must say quite impressive performance for pictures.
doomx
post Oct 5 2008, 02:04 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

do u think that the e66 will be update with FP2? i tested the n78 and i gotta say that i love the effects. nice and smooth
doomx
post Oct 5 2008, 03:02 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 5 2008, 02:46 AM)
the current E66 is FP1 topped up with some FP2 features..but a search on the net certified that the E66 and E71 will be the last batch of Nokia phones featuring OS 9.2 FP1..others and future ones will be completely FP2.

I'm nt sure if there's a way to "upgrade" our OS to FP2..but it'll be great if this is possible, Hehe.
Ah that is sad to hear. Guess they purposely leave out the FP2 same like n82. Sigh. FP2 looks neat and not to mention it also saves the battery life alot smile.gif. Well,for now i guess i just waiting and waiting. Playing the waiting game. Lol
doomx
post Oct 5 2008, 11:43 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 5 2008, 03:31 AM)
well, tech gadgets memang like that..a phone can be state-of-the-art today, but an antique tomorrow..

besides, i highly doubt that a full FP2 will make so much difference with FP1..coz they'll still be based on the same OS9.2 platform. Perhaps the most noticeable changes would be the animations, UI and useability improvements...whereas performance-wise will not differ much as they'll need to re-design a different system architecture for that.

Juz my 2cents  blush.gif
Ya but i still feel that FP2 is an eye candy smile.gif. Well, who knows maybe E66 will get upgraded tongue.gif . Besides that, I'm just waiting to see in long run is this phone worth it or not. Because I need a phone which can last me 2 years at least.
doomx
post Oct 6 2008, 07:21 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Oct 6 2008, 06:56 PM)
how is the E66 S60 FP2? any lagging still??
the phone is running on FP1 not FP2. I dont think they are any lagging.
doomx
post Oct 6 2008, 07:33 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Oct 6 2008, 07:29 PM)
blink.gif i tot fully FP2
FP1 with some FP2-like transition tongue.gif
doomx
post Oct 20 2008, 03:22 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

e66 users any main disadvantage of this hp? wanted to get the e71 but i realize my fingers are too big for the QWERTY keypad sad.gif. Therefore, i might get the e66 instead smile.gif. Can install Cclock?
doomx
post Oct 20 2008, 03:54 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

ck the dedicated camera key doesnt launch the camera application eh? weird right? anything u want to share with me before i decide on which hp i will get? smile.gif
doomx
post Oct 20 2008, 04:21 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 20 2008, 04:09 PM)
Nope it dont, but no big deal coz u can just assign any shortcut key for camera. As for opinion-wise, it actually depends on yourself  blush.gif  Since both E71 and E66 are siblings and have 95% similar software+hardware specs, in the end its more on the looks which you favour most. If you'd like to know, I'm against the E71 for a few particular reasons:

1. Looks just like a Blackberry
2. Smallish QWERTY keypad
3. No camera shutter key
4. No portrait display mode
5. More bugs and problems reported compared to E66
6. I prefer slide phones compared to bar phones

However, it's just my personal view..  tongue.gif
Hmm,its been really a long time since i used a slide phone. My last slide phone was the W580. More to a fan of a candybar but then i cant seem to use the E71 QWERTY keypad without pressing both alphabet at the same time. Have to FOCUS rclxub.gif . Anyway,is the sound loud? my current k810 is so soft when got sms in noisy enviroment confirm wont hear and also the vibration not so strong,or maybe my skin too thick tongue.gif . Thanks for sharing ck_spaceboy.
doomx
post Oct 21 2008, 02:05 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Oct 21 2008, 12:01 PM)
Yes BlackBerry BOLD 9000's my main phone now, love it to bits! The Push Email and messaging capabilities just blew my mind! Using the E71 as my secondary phone.
Yeah that's the problem, no accelerometer, no "Flip to Silent". That's why thinking of getting the E66 just for that feature.

But the E71's keypads are really nice, the best from Nokia to date.
Hmm... on the contrary, I read that E66 has more bugs than the E71, but I could be mistaken. tongue.gif
I self profess to have large fingers, and yet using the E71's keyboard is a breeze for me, and I don't have any problems in pressing 2 keys at the same time. tongue.gif

Having said that, I sometimes still prefer a normal keypad, like the one on the E66. smile.gif
Lol, my initial view of getting the E66 is for that feature too, but then looking back i rather have the shake to read sms since most of the time i use my phone to sms. Less calling smile.gif.

I dont know bout who has the most bugs but Im sure it can be overcome with the recent firmware update so no biggie.

If I'm to buy the E71, it will be the first QWERTY keypad phone i have,nervous smile.gif . Both E-series seriously kill this time

p/s : I'm pestering my dad to get himself a blackberry bold. I wanna play with it tongue.gif
doomx
post Oct 22 2008, 03:19 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Oct 21 2008, 04:37 PM)
If you're like me, once you go QWERTY, you won't look back!

And when you use a normal keypad-ed phone, you'll start missing QWERTY phones. tongue.gif
That is what i've been hearing from ppl that switch to QWERTY phones.
They say, once get used to it, never look back. Lol.

Thanks sonyclie77 for yr opinions smile.gif
doomx
post Oct 22 2008, 11:32 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 22 2008, 09:28 AM)
the other options is to wait for E75..QWERTY+Normal Keypad+Slider..hehe, solve all problems  rclxms.gif

user posted image user posted image
Lol,im pretty sure when that is launch the price wont be as cheap as the current 1. Confirm 2k above which i think is overly expensive smile.gif
doomx
post Oct 22 2008, 03:00 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 22 2008, 02:23 PM)
Since ther's no news on the specs yet, we arent sure what will be the price structure..but the phone looks really good.. rclxms.gif
Well they call it upgrade for a reason, i dont think only put the slide QWERTY kepyad lor. surely upgrade in the specs too which when consider will be expensive. ok lets not get out of topic here. this thread for e66 only smile.gif
doomx
post Oct 23 2008, 11:12 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 23 2008, 09:04 AM)
I've totally banned Low Yat and Sg Wang..u'r the 3rd E66 user I've known which kena conned there..damm. Actually there's other places where you can get great bargain + friendly seller such as PJ Digital Mall, Sunway Pyramid and Subang Parade.  nod.gif

easier still,buy from known seller over at this forum. Renee,Viravira and many more for example smile.gif
doomx
post Oct 23 2008, 12:31 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 23 2008, 12:19 PM)
wah..so good advertising for the sellers ar..  rclxms.gif
Both of them i bought before things ma. Very speedy transaction smile.gif. And besides,its better to recommend them buy over at this forum then head over to lowyat or sg wang and get ripped off,right? tongue.gif
doomx
post Oct 26 2008, 02:55 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(adrian_huen @ Oct 25 2008, 10:18 PM)
is it mean A-GPS is the software show u the road u want to go?....

cos everytime charge me only i open the application for 7 second....n i set the location to go it wont charge me any 1 sen....
A-GPS helps u to lock faster to the satellite not show u the road that u want to go smile.gif
doomx
post Oct 26 2008, 11:45 AM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(shoppingqueen @ Oct 26 2008, 11:16 AM)
i just browse thru internet and found out that CSL is not ori distributor!!! damn it!!!!

can i go back to ask for refund then? omg, kenot believe it!
why didnt u browse the net and then only go and buy? always do some research before buying something
simple as that. now u have to go through all the hassle of barking for refund. good luck.
doomx
post Oct 28 2008, 09:37 PM

Look at mah stars
2,800 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 27 2008, 10:25 PM)
doomx,

so which are u getting..E66 or 71?
Lol, still deciding bro. today i just got my gf the LG KS360 then i tested both phone again

and now,

Im hanging in between both phones.. Well i just gotta take my time more. The longer i get, the lower the price tongue.gif

0.0415sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:31 AM