Nokia ★★★[Nokia E66 Discussion Thread]★★★, >>> Designed for the way we work <<<

benzee
post Oct 3 2008, 12:21 AM

103 posts

Hello everyone,

I just got Nokia E66i from my GF for our anniversary. So sweet of her. She got me the black color model zitron set and with 4GB memory card. rclxms.gif I got little fuss regarding the OS. Previously, I use NgageQD, I can just connect my phone to my PC and create folders and store all the files to the correct folders and it will display each folder in the phone but now with e66 I cant do that. I need to create all those folders first using the phone before I transfer all my files into the memory card using mass storage method. It will display all the files on their category rather then the folders I created.

Next is the album cover.. I can't get some album cover load up. I've to manually upload all the album cover into the phone first then login into the music player and add the album cover. There is no visualization... no full screen album cover like my GF Nokia N73. cry.gif next is the playlist... I cant load ".wpl" list.. now want to try using m3u. keep you all updates biggrin.gif
benzee
post Oct 3 2008, 08:25 PM

103 posts

I think you should go for the black version but most of the ladies will like to have white. The white back cover looks better with the black model. Too bad I cant switch it tongue.gif

Added on October 3, 2008, 8:29 pm
QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 3 2008, 08:16 AM)

Added on October 3, 2008, 8:16 am

benzee,

Welcome to the club!!  rclxms.gif
pls pm me your info as per 1st page so i can add you to the "CEO" user list ya  biggrin.gif

Bro..is this your first time using S60 phone? Hehe..coz s60 memang like that. You can actually create folders in your PC and view them using Office>File Manager. I believe the problem you're talking about is the Gallery, which I dun really use. I prefer browsing my files using File Manager and some 3rd party software like PhotoRite. Besides, you can actually transfer all your files using the Media Transfer method, which is a lot lot easier.

About the album cover, I dun face any problem like wad u've described. I can upload the album cover on my PC and it shows on my music player. Well, I'd like to comment that E66 is really not meant to be a multimedia phone..thus these are some of the drawbacks. However, some 3rd party application should easily solve this problems though  smile.gif
hey bro,
Just send u a pm. I did use before the old version of s60 which is my NgageQD. Then play with my GF's n73. I want the FS caller software too bad is not free blush.gif I got some problem installing some themes that I dl from mobile88. It has this error msg stating certificate error. Can anyone help me? shakehead.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by benzee: Oct 3 2008, 08:31 PM
benzee
post Oct 6 2008, 03:16 AM

103 posts

ck,
Thanks for the info abt the certificate error while installing themes that I download from the net. Btw, can you update the first page regarding the latest firmware. I send you a PM. smile.gif
benzee
post Oct 6 2008, 08:06 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 6 2008, 04:56 PM)
benzee,

Are u still having problem with the album cover? I tried and its fine with my phone. I just attached the cover to all the songs via TT Player, then transfer to phone. And it'll display the cover when I play the songs..is it becoz your album cover images are too large?  hmm.gif  Mine is all below 500 pixels.

As for the folder, only File Manager can display your folders as per the memory card, whereas the Gallery will dump everything into its own categories ie Images, video clips etc..u have to re-create the folders inside Gallery. That's why I prefer using File Manager or some 3rd party apps like PhotoRite SP to view images.. blush.gif

I havent tried the playlist though..
ck,
Thanks for replying my PM. After mp3 problem, now I've my own "Album Cover" folder in my phone. Some of my mp3 unable to load the Album Cover that I added into the mp3 using Winamp so I manually add them in the Phone. Tested the playlist " *.m3u " playlists is supported but don't know why when I open using File manager I got corrupted file end up the playlist I created using the Phone itself also gone. sad.gif Have try the second time because preparing a trip up north.

I thought the Gallery can have the view like the N series where we browse movies and photos but at least is faster the loading time compare to N73 and with some animation transition. I Loving It! rclxms.gif Problem with file manager is that we are unable to have a preview instead we need to open only we can see the files. PhotoRite SP is a trialware rite? I click to the link that you provided in the first page. Is not a freeware rite? blink.gif How about the Garmin? Have you try it? I downloaded the GoogleMaps.

BTW, I found another issues. I'm not sure whether you guys having the same problems. If we've the auto-rotation ON while we on a CALL we might endup line break. I hope you guys understand what I'm trying to say. Even the other side party can hear the line breaks. After disable the auto-Rotate, everything went fine. doh.gif shakehead.gif
benzee
post Oct 6 2008, 08:17 PM

103 posts

Ck,

Thanks for the apps that you've mention. Can you update the apps that you mention in the first page also? So next time other E66 member know what they can have.. DivX..FSCaller...etc.. biggrin.gif icon_rolleyes.gif notworthy.gif
benzee
post Oct 7 2008, 01:45 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(raul @ Oct 6 2008, 11:20 PM)
yes. no response. but the rest everything is ok.  shakehead.gif

a really noob question here, how to use the front camera??  sweat.gif
raul,
dont worry, because I also cant find the option to start the front camera.. tongue.gif icon_question.gif
benzee
post Oct 13 2008, 02:26 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(chiam_ace @ Oct 12 2008, 10:49 PM)
Anyone had their E66 protected? I mean screen protectors or full body protectors like Invisible shield. Wonder how much a full body protector will cost and where to get it.

I'm getting my E66 tomorrow anyway, omg. can't wait.
bro,
I still havent get my E66 a screen protector yet but got it a pouch. Dont feel like using the original Nokia pouch included in the package. Want to keep it.

Ck,
just wondering is there anywhere to get my Apps installed in the phone when it prompt me "Certificate Expired"? I installed the Nokia Video Manager or something that included in the CD. I found out that there is some bugs. When you're trying to convert videos to playable video on your phone and transfer to your phone it will hang on the second video.. maybe I convert the best quality. Let me know if anyone find something..
benzee
post Oct 14 2008, 07:45 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 14 2008, 03:32 PM)
Guys,

*Update*

The "Memory Card In Use" bug (which happens whn you unplug data cable thn unable to access memory card, showing Memory Card in Use) seems to happen all over the world for E66 and E71. It has already been reported to Nokia and Symbian and they're looking into fixing this problem. According to them, this problem probably occurred due to some minor software glitches. However, it was not told when the fix will be available. Hopefully soon  sweat.gif

My advice would be using the memory card adapter to transfer the files to avoid this problem. Let's pray the fix will be available soon..

**Source frm Nokia E-series forum and S60 forum

CK,
Thanks God, my E66 dont have this problem. Like wht the other said. Just reboot the phone everything will go fine. This week will go back and set the date for the installing the part. Yup.. forget to bring my USB cable with me along. Anyone know how much is the USB cable? The Video Manager hang when I'm coverting the video. mad.gif
benzee
post Oct 15 2008, 08:14 PM

103 posts

ck,

Do you know anyway I can transfer my sms and mms to my E66 from Ngage QD? I've lots of sms and mms from my GF blush.gif on the ngage QD
benzee
post Oct 16 2008, 06:42 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 15 2008, 09:29 PM)
benzee,

Try use the feature "Switch". If it doesnt work, I believe you can transfer using PC Suite. Just synchronize with ur phone and transfer.  icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 15, 2008, 9:35 pmbenzee,

Use the Backup feature in PC Suite. Confirm can. Quoted from the PC Suite User Guide:

"Nokia Content Copier allows you to back up your phone's contents on a PC. You can back up the entire contents, or select what you want to back up. You can restore the contents to the same phone model from which the backup was originally made, or import the contents to another Nokia phone model.

Possible content types include:

>>Contacts from the phone memory. If you have contacts stored on the SIM card only, first copy them to the phone memory to include them in the backup. For detailed instructions, see your phone's user guide.

>>Calendar and notes.

>>Messages (text messages, multimedia messages and emails)."

Tada !!  thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif
Bro,

Thanks for the info. Then I think I need to get a bluetooth doogle to transfer all my sms and mms using the PC suite and transfer to my E66 then.. sweat.gif
benzee
post Oct 17 2008, 09:16 PM

103 posts

CK,

Ngage QD doesn't has cable port. It rely on the bluetooth or memory card swap.
benzee
post Oct 20 2008, 02:28 AM

103 posts

Ck,
I try the certificate expired thingy and it works. I change alot of dates.

Sea,
I havent go out shopping. Thinking getting a bluetooth doogle soon
benzee
post Oct 23 2008, 12:53 AM

103 posts

Hi All,

Does anyone of you have this kind of problem where we can't unlock the keypad when we push up the slider? Mine seems sometime cant unlock. I need to close it then it will display keypad locked and push up again then only works. It happens when I put the phone on standby for couple of hours. sad.gif
benzee
post Dec 15 2008, 02:36 AM

103 posts

Hey Guys and Gals,

Long time didnt post anything, been bz with some stuff lately. Btw saw the new firmware has everyone updated and tested it? I cant dl from the Internet becoz the nokia updater say my internet connection too slow. The file is 105mb. OMYG rclxub.gif Anyone know where can I get my phone to update to the latest firmware? I'm currently living at puchong smile.gif
benzee
post Dec 17 2008, 03:26 AM

103 posts

Dear All,

I just get my phone E66i updated with Nokia Software Updater, It took me 3 hours to download the files becoz I'm using MaxisBB. The worst part is it always disconnect when downloading halfway not the BB connection but is the NSU disconnect.

Recommend to set the phone profile to General before updating. After updated try to reverse back my previous backup but too bad dont know why lastime I backup the file unable to load it back. Then I need to save back my contacts and my messages lost forever. cry.gif

benzee
post Dec 18 2008, 02:15 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Dec 17 2008, 08:28 PM)
my hands-free's working veri fine..except smts ppl complain the mic too soft..or perhaps line prob..
ck,
I do agree with you, I've the same problem before I update my phone to the new firmware. I always has the problem that people and I cant hear properly due to line problem. After updated havent try yet but the battery go down very fast. Any suggestion? I think you can update the tips and tricks to help increase battery life biggrin.gif
benzee
post Jan 5 2009, 07:26 PM

103 posts

Dear All,

If you find out that your E66 Os is giving you problems, I'll advise you to backup all the data and make a software update of your phone. After upgrade my phone firmware everythings run fine without a glitch compare to the first time I got my phone. biggrin.gif laugh.gif whistling.gif thumbup.gif
benzee
post Jan 9 2009, 07:03 PM

103 posts

E66 the navi key will get rusty? rclxub.gif blink.gif doh.gif OMYG!
luckly i've it in my pouch and in another pouch tongue.gif
benzee
post Jan 21 2009, 02:21 AM

103 posts

ck,

I think you should update the first page. There is a new update for E66i, the new firmware can download from Nokia Software Updater. Firstly, we must get the new updater and there even a new PC suite. New firmware code are 200.21.118 rclxms.gif

I dont know what is the new updates they have put in. Try search from the net. I'm currently downloading
benzee
post Jan 22 2009, 12:12 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(leann1218 @ Jan 21 2009, 04:32 PM)
how come every time i connect my phone to my PC no matter is by Mass Storage or PC Suite, after i unplug it, the memory card will still in used....y??? cry.gif
There is a way, which I found it always happen to WinXP. Try copy any files in your PC/Laptop depends which you use to your desktop then REFRESH/F5. Then try stop the USB. It sometimes can help. Not 100% can shakehead.gif

Added on January 22, 2009, 12:24 amHey All,

Just want to share some updates that I've done with my E66i. Yesterday, I just update my phone new firmware to 200.21.118. First, we must download the new Nokia Software Updater & PC suite. The PC suite comes with a new plugin for the phone. "Contacts Plugin"

The New Firmware 200.21.118 comes with:-
=Internet Radio
=MyNokia
=Intranet (not sure lastime got or not. whistling.gif ) tongue.gif blush.gif
=Bar Code Icon Change
=4 New Themes
= Black Personal
= Black Business
= Red Personal
= Red Business
=Transition slightly faster
=Improved Speakers Volume
=Reduce Sensitivity of Auto-rotation
=Slider Keylock Function slightly better

I haven't try the 3G Call and Normal Code whether it improve so does the camera. More Updates soon. cool.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by benzee: Jan 22 2009, 12:24 AM

0.0524sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:26 PM