Nokia ★★★[Nokia E66 Discussion Thread]★★★, >>> Designed for the way we work <<<

adrian_huen
post Oct 5 2008, 10:15 AM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

how does Garmin Mobile XT for Symbian S60 works?....

do it still need to pay gprs charges?...

Added on October 5, 2008, 10:19 am
QUOTE(raul @ Oct 4 2008, 10:31 PM)
RM70. shocking.gif i didnt ask for discount as was rushing today.
if u get a ori than should be ok...but if u get the look-a-like....than... doh.gif

This post has been edited by adrian_huen: Oct 5 2008, 10:19 AM
adrian_huen
post Oct 8 2008, 10:26 AM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(lksing78 @ Oct 7 2008, 02:16 PM)
New Nokia E66 user here
Bought it cause my Beloved P1i got stolen ..still  vmad.gif  now
install GarminXT in it with no prob..can detect internal GPS too rclxms.gif

Con: front camera not clear compare to my P1i (use 3g video call a lot)
        Sound a bit let down
        alarm tone slow down compare to the selection tone
        QWERTY support will be great
        WLAN cannot turn off..sucking battery very fast

Damn!! I'm comparing with my old phone??
I need to forget my P1i cry.gif  cry.gif

Need new firmware for alarm tone.if not ,late for work again
which software u dl?....frm whr?....can share the link?....

Added on October 8, 2008, 10:32 ami mean garmin....frm the 1st page the software keep asking me to turn on bluetooth to search gps device....

This post has been edited by adrian_huen: Oct 8 2008, 10:32 AM
adrian_huen
post Oct 11 2008, 04:51 AM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

hey..wanna to ask....
if i dl the garmin link frm the 1st page, y it keep asking me to turn on bluetooth to search gps device?....
adrian_huen
post Oct 25 2008, 10:18 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Oct 23 2008, 11:09 AM)
The nokia maps we have comes pre-installed with Malaysia map. The onli time whn it's accessing 3G or GPRS is when using A-GPS for faster locktime, not the map. You can go to Nokia's website to download the maps and load it in your phone if u want  biggrin.gif
is it mean A-GPS is the software show u the road u want to go?....

cos everytime charge me only i open the application for 7 second....n i set the location to go it wont charge me any 1 sen....
adrian_huen
post Oct 26 2008, 08:21 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Oct 26 2008, 02:55 AM)
A-GPS helps u to lock faster to the satellite not show u the road that u want to go smile.gif
how i know it active?...
adrian_huen
post Oct 28 2008, 08:11 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(calvin_swk @ Oct 26 2008, 01:02 PM)
the "XXX" distributor sales person used to say their product are so called "ORIGINAL"
actually even AP is consider original, cause it from nokia not china made..
but warranty is different...
u need to made it clear..is from original warranty or AP warranty...not the phone...

Added on October 28, 2008, 8:30 pm
QUOTE(bluurpie @ Oct 27 2008, 10:00 PM)
ha...that's what I think too!!
Yeah..i think that's the fastest way to re-access it. But always ter-press the red button. Need to get used to it..ha..

Added on October 27, 2008, 10:05 pm
As far as I know, the GPS will be activated automatically as long as you run any GPS-related software. I've tried disabling the A-GPS and the time that I got locked on was pretty long. And like what ck_spaceboy mentioned, the data packet that goes through by using the A-GPS isn't much..the max that I've observed were around 5KB for each locking.
oic....but when u keep it on, it still charge rite?....after lock the position....

This post has been edited by adrian_huen: Oct 28 2008, 08:30 PM
adrian_huen
post Nov 3 2008, 09:45 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(Anodize @ Nov 3 2008, 09:20 PM)
the screen protector for the e66 is really difficult to find. I've asked around a few places but they don't seem to have em. my itchy hand pulled out the original screen protector and when i tried to put it back on, there are lots of bubbles... hehehhe...

and i would not suggest that anyone using e66 to go for phone protector as it would make the phone less class.... i really regret doing it.
but i get screen protector easily....
which area u go?...
adrian_huen
post Nov 4 2008, 10:39 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

who know the latest firmware got any difference?....
03-10-2008

aft i try this f/w i didnt find any difference....

Added on November 4, 2008, 10:43 pm
QUOTE(mitsui_seeker @ Nov 4 2008, 05:13 PM)
I've finally made my decision to get the E66....was quoted RM1650(full phone package) CSL warranty at Sunway Pyramid..is that a good deal?

I also hang out pretty often in Subang Parade but it seems the hp shop staff look lcly...spaceboy,which shop in Subang Parade can you recommend to me? how much is the E66 now? plan to trade in my N73 ME phone.
if u want to buy at subang p, thn u look for samsung kiosk by welfon....u look for ah boy...thn u said adrian recommended...
may be can get cheaper la....but not sure...go search the forum b4 u purchase...

Added on November 4, 2008, 10:46 pm
QUOTE(bimmer @ Nov 4 2008, 06:14 PM)
Cool! Thanks.

Has anyone tried YahooMail using the email function on E66? Not the Yahoo2Go application or via browser, just plain email in Messages. It doesnt sync well with the Y! inbox and it keeps asking me for username/pw and "to save? multiple times.
ya lo...me too....
but frm the manual guide, the ph can sync to gmail, other didnt mention.

This post has been edited by adrian_huen: Nov 4 2008, 10:46 PM
adrian_huen
post Nov 6 2008, 12:48 AM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Nov 5 2008, 11:12 AM)
Hehe..i havent upgraded to the latest firmware yet, but as long as it doesnt bring any troubles to ur phone rite? According to the changelog, there's some software included..do you have them?
but do u have the detail of the log?
actually mine updated by SC cause i sent in for service then my night mare started....happen at sunway pyramid NK SC.
-first time walk in to SC, i claim that
1.wifi after disconnect sometime will auto re-connect, but i have off all auto setting
2.battery not lasting
3.microSD corrupted
4.screen cover got worn cracked, but i didnt did any impact on it.
the technician said that need to sent to HQ due to no spare part, will ready within 7 working days.-----feel ok never mind,technician also need some time to repair

-2nd time go SC (SC call and said ph and mmc ready)
-reach SC, gave them the slip and wait for few minute, than 1 staff told me ph not yet ready still at HQ,i ask he to check again, then only found it but they said due mmc no stock no replacment,need to wait. vmad.gif vmad.gif
-i very happy when i saw my ph,main board changed, reflash s/w, new battery, put in sim card, battery then on......know wat i see hmm.gif hmm.gif ....the phone is in test mode....cant on like normal ph......WTF....
-i request to call HQ to enquire about this,she do it for me,but lunch time cant contact the tech in-charge,until i request the tech mobile num i only able can contact the tech,but useless he cant help me, SP tech re-flash s/w then ok...feel ok abit...tot is finished....sign and go back to work....
-step out the shop 1st thing, i try video call my gf....i can see her but she cant see me, and my ph also show blank, back to SC and they check setting(i dont think so got any setting for video call) the staff call HQ to check,still lunch time everyone havent came back only got operator....
-wait 10minute cant tahan d, my turn to call HQ, n i ask for manager to attend, the manager (peter) ask my ph num and said will call me back.

so....fine...wait his call and go back to work.....lunch time only 1 hour but wasted 1hour30min at there... doh.gif doh.gif

on the way to office, peter call me and ask me to sent back the ph to SC....i scolded he that i wont sent in n wait 7 days some more i complain the tech dont know how to repair ph... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif ..so he arrange ppl to sent a new board to SP on the following day.

w.....a........i..........t...........till next day....6:30pm SP SC call me said that part ready....ask me go now to fix.....

-3rd time go SC
-pass the phone to change the board, and she show me the new board too....
-done...within 20minute....but test video cal....same.... doh.gif
-found bigger gap between screen n keyboard,the sliding....(dun noe what is the proper name)
-give to the tech to fix it...he fix the gap but when slide up it become very lose...like wanna to drop out.... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

2hours at there for nothing.......

nokia.....no no no.....is nokla.............

spend 1700 on this but get nokla ph.....

for those got minor problem better dont sent in for service.......

Added on November 6, 2008, 12:53 amsorry o....english vry poor...like ah beng telling story.....

This post has been edited by adrian_huen: Nov 6 2008, 12:53 AM
adrian_huen
post Nov 6 2008, 08:16 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Nov 6 2008, 11:59 AM)

Added on November 6, 2008, 12:00 pm

problem is they wont simply replace with a new phone coz this affects their profit margin, only unless the phone is above repair.

Added on November 6, 2008, 12:01 pmadrian_huen,

Thx for sharing another NIGHTMARE with ORI distributor..tat's why I personally prefer reputable APs as I have quite good experience with them..
today talk to 1 engineer, he argee to swap 1 new set but not sure really get it or will continue to repair....haiz....

Added on November 6, 2008, 8:18 pm
QUOTE(bluurpie @ Nov 6 2008, 08:05 PM)
Hmm..Just to check with you guys. How long does your e66 battery last?
my 1st battery last for 1 day only....

This post has been edited by adrian_huen: Nov 6 2008, 08:18 PM
adrian_huen
post Nov 6 2008, 08:27 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(bluurpie @ Nov 6 2008, 08:20 PM)
ah...mine too. Thought I have a faulty batt or wat..

Have you tried how lasting your new battery is?
my new 1...after full charge, switch on ph on today 6:30am till now....
drop 2 lvl only...but use vry less...roughtly 1 hour call and 30 sms.....
adrian_huen
post Nov 8 2008, 12:54 AM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

the sticker marked when the phone out from the factory....
so may be when u buy,will not at the same....
if sticker is mark oct but u buy at nov, if next year nov u want to claim warranty u must bring original receipt and the warranty card to proof...
if u claim within the sticker period, u no need to bring warranty card they also will accept to service ur ph....
adrian_huen
post Nov 10 2008, 10:05 AM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Nov 8 2008, 07:48 PM)
not really, as the stickers are only sticked on the phone when arriving at distributor's office and marked only when you purchase them. I've confirmed this with some of my phone-seller frens.
Bro, finally decided?? Haha..welcome to the club dude. Giv me ur details so i can add u to the user list ya  rclxms.gif
when the phone sent for packing at factory the sticker will mark and stick on it....
dont ask ur fren...im a reseller few month ago....when the phone arrive the shop,the sticker is already there and marked thr date....this is for ori warranty phone....
if AP what u want also can...
adrian_huen
post Nov 10 2008, 11:22 AM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Nov 10 2008, 10:50 AM)
But both AP and Ori comes from the same factory...  hmm.gif
my mistake not factory..is distributor.....
adrian_huen
post Nov 10 2008, 04:14 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Nov 10 2008, 01:02 PM)
Confirm ka? If this is reali true, then its really unfair for the customers if they bought a phone that has been around for 3 mths, 6 mths, or even a year..

As i know most electronic and IT items with warranty are all marked upon purchase...
other im not sure...but phone im sure....
but if the sticker is too old(6 months or maybe more) shop can request new sticker...

is not unfair....is ur luck...even i get a new set,but i have alot problem... doh.gif
that's y u need a warranty card...

btw todaay i going to swap a new phone... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif hope no more problem...

Added on November 10, 2008, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Nov 10 2008, 03:36 PM)
1. you can upgrade the firmware yourself using Nokia Software Updater and Nokia PC Suite OTA.

2. depends on your settings. Try to check ur settings on Slide Handling and see if its set to auto-lock under Keyguard Activation.

3. there's a WHOLE BUNCH of installer files in the ori memory card!!! Apalah the CSL sales guy  doh.gif  But I think you should be able to download all the software from Nokia's website.

Have fun exploring ur phone  nod.gif
2.wat is on the slide setting, do u guys have option for (opening the slide) and (closing th slide)...
i feel new firmware added this....

This post has been edited by adrian_huen: Nov 10 2008, 04:20 PM
adrian_huen
post Nov 13 2008, 09:59 AM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

finally my garmin is up....
but when i set a location to go, it only draw a line, it not calc the road...
adrian_huen
post Nov 13 2008, 12:43 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Nov 13 2008, 10:20 AM)
can you describe wad you mean by "draw a line, not calc the road"?? Normally when you set the destination, Garmin will calculate the route, load the map (only after position is locked), and then the route in pink. Is this what you have??
[attachmentid=669829]

like this lo...

Added on November 13, 2008, 1:21 pmsomemore no sound...
whr can get ver 5 audio support file?...

This post has been edited by adrian_huen: Nov 13 2008, 01:21 PM
adrian_huen
post Nov 13 2008, 04:56 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

QUOTE(ck_spaceboy @ Nov 13 2008, 01:30 PM)
I think I know ur problem. You have to set your routing priority setup to either shorter distance or faster time. For a new complete installation, you need to install the Garmin XT + support files. You can get these from Garmin's website.

Added on November 13, 2008, 1:33 pmbtw, ur map looks weird..different than usual. Mind to tell wad map you're using?
i'm using malfreemap...
after i reinstall everything is ok now....
adrian_huen
post Nov 14 2008, 03:40 PM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

how can i disable a-gps...
adrian_huen
post Nov 25 2008, 09:15 AM

Backup & DR solution
522 posts

just to inform...im no longer grey steel....
now im white steel..zitron set....

0.0417sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:14 PM