Chery MPV, Any thoughts on this car/MPV?

surehit
post Oct 16 2008, 03:27 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(tanos @ Oct 16 2008, 12:28 AM)
Could you give us a review on items below:

1. Driving performance
2. Car features - interior and exterior
3. Fuel consumption (please indicate the driving speed)
4. Space
5. Service and service center location
Saw the real thing today. Looked like a cross between Mitsubishi Grandis and Toyota Wish, but much cheaper. rclxms.gif At first I was hesistant because of the brand but after careful inspection and test drive, I'm convinced. thumbup.gif Most likely I'll will book it tomorrow.

Read the detail review here:
http://paultan.org/archives/2008/09/03/che...r-7-seater-mpv/

Very elegant design:
http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...p?CarCode=10442

Any other comments? Experience?

surehit
post Oct 16 2008, 11:19 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ Oct 16 2008, 08:29 AM)
Surehit please do a good review on it. How about service centres? I believe most of the dealers are 1S only meaning if you have a warranty problem, how will they react? How many service centres nationwide? Do they stock parts? Being a family carrier - please check on the crash safety, braking system, etc. I believe this vehicle is not being sold in the US or Europe, so forgive me, I'm being, without prejudice a bit wary, personally.
Sure, will do. This MPV is being assembled in Johor by Oriental (Honda factory). So it's meant for local market first. But I think Chery has been exporting cars to many countries now. I was shown a list of service centers nationwide, hope they are good coz they give 3 years warranty and 1 year free service. Comes with Dual Airbags, ABS and EBD.

My opinion of Chevy Eastar MPV after viewing and test drive: sweat.gif

1. Driving performance: stable, smooth and relatively quiet on the busy Ampang Road. Good acceleration. felt like a strong horse ready to burst compare to my aging Waja.

2. Car features - the interior is nice to look at except the seats have so-so fabric. Changing to leather will improve the overall look and feel. Laquered steering and dashboard surprisingly give a more elegant feel than Proton Perdana or Naza Ria. The aircon is the best, very cool and strong. Automatically adjust according to the interior temp. Last row kinda seats kinda small but still bigger than Grand Livina.

The exterior boast twin lamps similar to Satria Neo while the rear lights is a combination of halogen and LED similar to Grandis/Wish/Stream. Since it's place at the top, minor accident won't damage it. Shape similar to Grandis/Stream. Less sleek than Wish.

3. Fuel consumption (please indicate the driving speed): no idea but I was told full tank is around RM160 to RM300 (by different salesguys) using a 62 litres tank.

4. Space: more roomier than Avanza & Grand Livina but less than Innova, Serena. Should be like Wish 1.8 except middle of 2nd row seats can be folded down to form a very comfortable armrest. Last rows kinda tight but still better than Grand Livina.

5. Service and service center location: I was shown a list of many outlets thoroughout Malaysia.

As for being on the road, this car was only launched on Sep 3, 2008. It's not a popular model so there should not be many OTR. I happened to see one yesterday, what a coincidence. But it was launched by our DPM.

QUOTE(ericmaxman @ Oct 16 2008, 08:32 AM)
But I just wanna know, why buy Chery? laugh.gif
Why I'm looking to buy it?

1. Nice elegant look, esp the rear.
2. Good features you can only find in higher price MPV: airbags, ABS, EBD, Steptronic (auto & manual transmission), Mitsubishi engine, 16" allow wheel. thumbup.gif
3. Sleeker than Serena/Avanza/Innova but roomier than Grand Livina/Rush.

On my, I sold myself writing this. Hope I'm making the right choice. Wish me luck people. tongue.gif
surehit
post Oct 16 2008, 09:47 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(tanos @ Oct 16 2008, 01:04 PM)
Dude a nice review. Actually was also considering to buy it, but am afraid of the "Made in China" thing. Just look at Naza's car the one that was brought in from China (dont remember the name). SO many issues.
Well if there is one thing I've learned, don't generalize when it comes to car. Every brands/models/generations have their ups and downs.

I went from a total skeptic and negative perception to a convert. After a 2nd test drive today, I booked one. tongue.gif

Today I took my whole family plus my gf. My Dad and the salesman sit at the 3rd row comfortably, 2 large adults. So I took 7 persons (6 adults and 1 child) on a ride.

Acceleration was smooth and good (maybe coz new car), quiet too. Pickup was zippy esp. after full stop. The most pleasant surprise was the U-Turn in a small road along Jalan Ampang. I made a swift turn with extra space to spare!! rclxms.gif My Waja would probably need to turn 2-3 times. What a great turning ratio.

Then I changed from Auto to Manual to test their Steptronic. Pickup was faster and gear change no different from driving a manual car (but with a Mitsubishi 2.4 engine power). icon_idea.gif

This looks like a winner for Chery. Will update after I collect my car 3 weeks from now. My guess is, you will see many of these on the road soon... thumbup.gif

surehit
post Oct 18 2008, 12:57 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(PerfumeTrader @ Oct 17 2008, 07:18 AM)
Good ...I have also a mystic black ......and I name it ENIGMA.......go cherry go......used since 3 October 2008 .......lets form a club !!!
Hey bro, how's the ride so far? I'll be getting mine somewhere around early Nov. Can't wait. drool.gif

How much full tank? I was told it's RM160 only, correct?

QUOTE(atah @ Oct 17 2008, 10:34 AM)
for mpv i think the torque is more important, and 198 at 3000rpm i reckon is a good figure...
Main point I bought mine, and the high turning ratio too. The ride is so much smoother and comfortable than my friend's Avanza.

QUOTE(dynasan @ Oct 17 2008, 11:20 PM)
Will get my car next week, Sapphire Silver....so called from the SA. Anyway, anyone know how much it need for a leather trimming (Penang/KL). Alado quoted at RM4500 for leather trimming and NGV for RM7000.  sad.gif
I bought Sapphire Silver too. rclxm9.gif

Try this: http://www.newtonleather.com/

Call 03-9285 8866 and ask for Colin Wong. Said you are refer by Mr Wong (me) who will be doing full Italian leather next month. He should give you a good price around RM3400.

NGV I think around Batu Caves got. Ask the taxi drivers.

Go Chery Go!! thumbup.gif

surehit
post Oct 18 2008, 08:41 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Enigma4646 @ Oct 18 2008, 06:51 PM)
go cherry go .....huh .....cherry sounds too feminine huh ?????? go go enigma !!!!
Ok ok, Go Eastar Go!!

I remembered there is an invincible Chinese martial artist called "Tung Fong Pak Pai". Same like this car lor... brows.gif

Maybe I name my car "Silver Surfer" when I get it. icon_idea.gif

Will take my family up Genting once I break 1000km.
surehit
post Oct 20 2008, 10:49 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(dynasan @ Oct 20 2008, 12:56 AM)
Rm100 for 450km is not bad...even my old WAJA will give Rm140 for about 500km (city driving)
Hey Dynasan,

Got you car already? How izzit? Have you change to full leather seats & trims?

Are you sure only RM100 for 450km on a Mitsubishi 2.4 engine? This is fantastic!! rclxms.gif

Even my Waja makan RM130 for about 500km in the city like you.

Hey what you do with your old Waja, what is the best way to sell it off, newspaper ad?

surehit
post Oct 20 2008, 11:57 AM

171 posts

QUOTE(elru @ Oct 20 2008, 11:45 AM)
i dun mind paying cheap price for many china goods. but for cars, well, you pay what you get, good luck wink.gif
Dude, I think like you before I saw and test drive the car. The test drive was awesome with 7 persons inside.

For what I'm paying, I'm getting:

1. Nice elegant look, esp the rear.
2. Good features you can only find in higher price MPV: airbags, ABS, EBD, Steptronic (auto & manual transmission), Mitsubishi 2.4L engine, 16" allow wheel. thumbup.gif
3. Good petrol consumption from the feedbacks here, RM100 for 450km.
4. Sleeker than Serena/Avanza/Innova but roomier than Grand Livina/Rush. Sits 7 people comfortably.
5. Auto adjust air-con with blowers on last 2 rows.
6. 3 years warranty and 1 year free service. Use Mitsubishi spare parts.

RM80k now, mana boleh dapat from other brands?

surehit
post Oct 20 2008, 04:02 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Oct 20 2008, 02:51 PM)
this is what Proton MPV  body is based on.

But sure.. P. MPV eats this for lunch and dinner.. cool2.gif
Alo man, how in the world can a Campro 1.6 CPS beat a Mitsubishi 2.4L? doh.gif Eat what? Eat wind lar Campro when compare to Chery Mitsubishi engine.

Read this comment from Paul's Tan site:

"now the proton is try to making a mpv which size is same or bigger than a wish
wish(jdm 1.8) is using a 1.8 vvti engine which produce 136ps/17.7kgm
and this car is being said underpower when the car fetch 7 adult go genting
and if you notice , the gear ratio on the car is very big already , no overdrive gear.

how proton going to make his mpv to when up to genting with tat 125hp/15kgm campro cps ???? and wish is weight at 1400++kg
and proton mpv is aspected to be weight at around 1400 kg also (persona is also 1250kg already )
proton have to make a really big effort for boost the torque if not must be a fuel guzzler on the list of proton car .
"

surehit
post Oct 22 2008, 11:26 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(dynasan @ Oct 22 2008, 08:20 PM)
Enigma, had you tinted your car yet? my car will be delayed for delivering, SA just confirm, anyone in this forum had this problem? ... so sien, maybe some problems at the manufacturer plant
Hey bro, you bought from Chery branches or dealers? If dealers, sure slow a bit. I should be getting mine next week. rclxm9.gif

Today I went to submit some documents and what I saw on their sales board was 19 MPV sold since Oct 16 in their Jalan Ampang showroom alone. Not bad for a new brand within 6 days. rclxms.gif We are sure going to see more on the roads soon.

Last nite I took out all the MPV brochures I took since early this year and really like what I compared:

CHERY EASTAR
Engine: Mitsubishi 2.4L SOHC 16V
Max Power: 95kw@5500rpm
Max Torque: 198Nm@3000rpm (the best compare to others!!)
Min Turning Radius: 6m

TOYOTA AVANZA
Engine: Toyota 1.5 DOHC 16V
Max Power: 80kw@6000rpm
Max Torque: 141Nm@4400rpm
Min Turning Radius: 4.7m

TOYOTA RUSH
Engine: Toyota 1.5 DOHC 16V
Max Power: 80kw@6000rpm
Max Torque: 141Nm@4400rpm
Min Turning Radius: 5.2m

NISSAN GRAND LIVINA
Engine: Nissan 1.8L DOHC 16V
Max Power: 93kw@5200rpm
Max Torque: 174Nm@4800rpm
Min Turning Radius: 5.2m

Also, Chery Eastar MPV has Steptronic Transmission, Dual Air Bags, ABS, EBD, CD + MP3 player with USB, Dual Tone Horn, Beautiful LED Rear Lights & etc.
It is the widest compare to the others above. That means good comfort for passengers. icon_idea.gif

Why I didn't compare with Wish, Serena, Stream, Grandis, Estima, Elgrand, Alphard? Because those were above RM110k models. So it's not within my budget or for those seeking below RM90k MPV.

Pics of the hot Chery MPV in China Auto show:

This post has been edited by surehit: Oct 25 2008, 02:45 PM
surehit
post Oct 25 2008, 12:46 PM

171 posts

QUOTE(Enigma4646 @ Oct 23 2008, 09:14 PM)
Lucky my choice rather than buying recon estima or 2nd hand Airtrek .....at least I have a brand new MPV .....already test drive nissan livina .....and also my wife has agreed on this chery .....her blessing is good for me.......

On the Mitsu emblem ......cant help ....I'm a die hard fan of Mitsu ......sorry if hurts someone.....or irritate somebody .......so in love with Mitsu .....cherry my choice ....my pocket .....my risk ....... icon_rolleyes.gif
# To all chery MPV users please keep in touch ....we need to build a committee .......PEACE..... icon_rolleyes.gif
[

Yo bro, I'm a Mitsubishi fan too, since the days I drove a Misubishi Tredia for many years (superb car compare to the Plotong Saga). thumbup.gif

Anyway, great you are starting a club for Chery MPV owners. Yesterday my salesman told me he sold 8 units in Alpha Angle alone (one day sale). Soon it will have many members. Let's keep this thread alive, and the one in motortrader too (saw you post there). rclxm9.gif

Please PM me if you wanna tour or get together. Anyone else here? I know Dynasan booked one too.

surehit
post Nov 28 2009, 10:49 PM

171 posts

My goodness,

Who made this thread alive after so long? ohmy.gif

For those interested in Chery, see these links:

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/825342/+2460

http://cheryeastarclub.blogspot.com/ thumbup.gif

http://cheryeastarclub.forumotion.com/welc...eastar-club-f1/

After over 125 pages, over 170,000 views, 1 big owner club & 2 forums, plus tons of praises for Chery good service (big service center) & cheap spare parts, you people still shoot your mouths off.

For those who criticize without reading those links above, I can only say one thing: prejudice really blinded you all !! doh.gif

0.0188sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:29 AM