Learning how to play a guitar, Proper school or internet
Sep 24 2008, 05:54 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,616 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Should i buy a guitar and learn from the internet or learn from a music school. Pls enlighten me. im from Ipoh btw. Anyone know where can learn to play a guitar. thanks
Sep 24 2008, 06:18 PM
1,330 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
If you got money and time, why not go for lesson where you can learn correctly
Sep 24 2008, 06:21 PM
609 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
haha, if you got the money really, go for classes. its a good kickstart. then only you decide whether to continue or not after 2-3 months.
the only place i know off in Ipoh which provides lesson is Ebony. But the boss sucks big time :S |
Sep 24 2008, 06:33 PM
942 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: KL |
proper school or a proper teacher.
Sep 25 2008, 12:41 AM
895 posts Joined: Aug 2008 From: Voltron Force |
learn it yourself if ure really commited to your instrument.
i learned to play the guitar myself...since 1993.as a schoolboy back then i loved the guitar. nowadays just sitback and jam to my accoustic. my electric era died when pearl jam did.hahaha. |
Sep 25 2008, 12:49 AM
626 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Hayley's |
Plus... if you want to learn guitar, go to a music school.
You cannot be smart without going to school. (I mean, in some particular ways). |
Sep 25 2008, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(oxalato @ Sep 24 2008, 06:21 PM) haha, if you got the money really, go for classes. its a good kickstart. then only you decide whether to continue or not after 2-3 months. i know where is Ebony. My friend bought guitar from there. i thought they are selling guitar only. got teach 1? + usually how much is the fee? im very free. got daily class ?the only place i know off in Ipoh which provides lesson is Ebony. But the boss sucks big time :S |
Sep 25 2008, 01:30 AM
QUOTE(Chartry @ Sep 25 2008, 01:17 AM) i know where is Ebony. My friend bought guitar from there. i thought they are selling guitar only. got teach 1? + usually how much is the fee? im very free. got daily class ? Normally fees are RM100 per month (standard from most music school) + RM20 registration. Usually one class in a day.Keep in mind that one class in a week is quite a lot because practicing hours are always depends on yourself of how much you practice after the class. In the class, you will learn a technique or two that requires you to practice a lot. So it is good that you are free, so make sure you practice everyday at least an hour. |
Sep 25 2008, 01:36 AM
1,330 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(Chartry @ Sep 25 2008, 01:17 AM) i know where is Ebony. My friend bought guitar from there. i thought they are selling guitar only. got teach 1? + usually how much is the fee? im very free. got daily class ? But I dont really look the people there. Kinda arrogant, wont simply let you touch their guitar |
Sep 25 2008, 01:38 AM
QUOTE(ChipZ @ Sep 25 2008, 01:36 AM) Guitar Collection and The Guitar Store are like that. Well, nowadays got a few more other shops will not let you to simply touch their guitars.Ask for staff permission, this should be formal and polite.. |
Sep 25 2008, 03:48 AM
1,591 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
why not do both? Taking classes will help get your techniques right and motivation.
Search through youtube, you will find some really good lessons and best of all learning on your own pace. If you could find, guitar DVDs are pretty good too. |
Sep 25 2008, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(Kelvw @ Sep 25 2008, 03:48 AM) why not do both? Taking classes will help get your techniques right and motivation. Good but I think every teacher should tell their students to do their own research.Search through youtube, you will find some really good lessons and best of all learning on your own pace. If you could find, guitar DVDs are pretty good too. |
Sep 25 2008, 12:02 PM
QUOTE(Chartry @ Sep 25 2008, 01:17 AM) i know where is Ebony. My friend bought guitar from there. i thought they are selling guitar only. got teach 1? + usually how much is the fee? im very free. got daily class ? lolsince you're so "free" why dont you call them up and ask? AFAIK there's different kinda package that you can get from them. do enquire but again, the boss suck biggg time |
Sep 25 2008, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(oxalato @ Sep 25 2008, 12:02 PM) lol maybe i'll go and ask next week. just ebony is giving guitar lesson at ipoh. no other places? btw if i want to buy my first guitar, i should go for the cheap one or more than RM100 one?since you're so "free" why dont you call them up and ask? AFAIK there's different kinda package that you can get from them. do enquire but again, the boss suck biggg time |
Sep 25 2008, 04:13 PM
go for decent wan is safest bet if you're serious about playing the guitar.
maybe a budget about rm300? |
Sep 25 2008, 04:15 PM
1,267 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
lick library
Sep 25 2008, 04:45 PM
942 posts Joined: Jun 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(Chartry @ Sep 25 2008, 03:56 PM) maybe i'll go and ask next week. just ebony is giving guitar lesson at ipoh. no other places? btw if i want to buy my first guitar, i should go for the cheap one or more than RM100 one? dun got for the super cheap one, even the $90 ones suck. it suck in terms of tone but it suck in terms or hardware and the build quality. cos i got a santa crus RM$90 i can get a decent tuning, intonation, etc...etc.. right. the string action also very high makes playing really hard. get a entry level accoustics should set u back 300-400 and will last u a long time. before u decide u wanna buy a 3k-4k guitar. bring a friend that plays guitar a long and hear it when he plays and hold the guitar and make sure it feels good in your hand before u decide to buy. |
Sep 25 2008, 05:59 PM
but my friend also not too pro. they are using rm70 guitar
Sep 25 2008, 06:03 PM
472 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Me To You |
for me...
self learning first.. then only go for proper teacher for advanced learning... |
Sep 26 2008, 01:23 AM
| Change to: | 0.0165sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:54 PM |