Android Phone (G1)

grazy
post Dec 22 2008, 09:28 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Dec 22 2008, 12:42 AM)
just got G1 oledi!!! now still venturing it!! a lot of question to ask but dunno where to ask doh.gif

anyway, this phone is superb!!
in terms of quality, it quite solid but due to sliding mechanism, it tend to be have a little bit sound, but its bearable.
trackball was fantastic!! super sensitive!!
OS so far easy and understandable (i'm quite noob in complicated phone)

definately no regret at this moment whistling.gif
Congrats!! rclxms.gif

We can share share knowledge here biggrin.gif

Have you downloaded the "Steel" browser??
lek_e30
post Dec 22 2008, 10:06 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Dec 22 2008, 09:28 AM)
Congrats!!  rclxms.gif

We can share share knowledge here biggrin.gif

Have you downloaded the "Steel" browser??
tnx..

not yet d/l any apps yet, what is steel for??
grazy
post Dec 22 2008, 10:13 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Dec 22 2008, 10:06 AM)
tnx..

not yet d/l any apps yet, what is steel for??
Steel is a web browser, it's much better than the native browser.
The most killing feature is that it comes with virtual keyboard.

Yoo may download it from market android. Try it out ;p
lek_e30
post Dec 22 2008, 02:13 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Dec 22 2008, 10:13 AM)
Steel is a web browser, it's much better than the native browser.
The most killing feature is that it comes with virtual keyboard.

Yoo may download it from market android. Try it out ;p
oh ya, any other special apps?? do u know how to use the compass feature?

btw do u subscribe unlimited data services??
kennyshan
post Dec 22 2008, 03:39 PM

love.is.gone
1,473 posts

it is advised to subscribe to unlimited data access to explore the fun of g1.. i hope there is a app can totally turn the gprs off like bossprefs act in an iphone.. i worry the app running background and cost a sky high bill..

i found the opera browser in the android market, is it better than the default one? the default one so far so good for me but compared to safari.. the absent of multi touch of android browser is a disappointment. well this is the technology of apple itself, so for me the safari browser is still the best among handphone category.

well. for the android performance, it is a real surprise, try it and u will know it smile.gif
grazy
post Dec 22 2008, 04:29 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Dec 22 2008, 02:13 PM)
oh ya, any other special apps?? do u know how to use the compass feature?

btw do u subscribe unlimited data services??
Yes, it is advisable to have unlimited data services, you will less worries about the bill brows.gif
by the way, make sure the data roaming is off when you are on roaming to other countries hor, if not those data charges will make you crazy!

Compass? Is the digital compass (Android market) you talking about?

Heh! Think/really hope the "multi-touch" on Android will be available soon, since some genius are on their way to fine-tuning it.

Android OS is full of excitement smile.gif

lek_e30
post Dec 22 2008, 05:32 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Dec 22 2008, 04:29 PM)
Yes, it is advisable to have unlimited data services, you will less worries about the bill  brows.gif
by the way, make sure the data roaming is off when you are on roaming to other countries hor, if not those data charges will make you crazy!

Compass? Is the digital compass (Android market) you talking about?

Heh! Think/really hope the "multi-touch" on Android will be available soon, since some genius are on their way to fine-tuning it.

Android OS is full of excitement smile.gif
oic, currently do u subs?? which telco? any recommendation??

the compass i mean is that in the spec of the phone showed at gsm arena...
kennyshan
post Dec 22 2008, 05:34 PM

love.is.gone
1,473 posts

I think digi monthly unlimited data access is quite cheap now.. 3g connection will be available next year

time to mnp haha
lek_e30
post Dec 22 2008, 05:45 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(kennyshan @ Dec 22 2008, 05:34 PM)
I think digi monthly unlimited data access is quite cheap now.. 3g connection will be available next year

time to mnp haha
if is that case... digi here i come...

Added on December 22, 2008, 5:47 pm@ grazy dun forget to inform when the multi touch been develop thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by lek_e30: Dec 22 2008, 05:47 PM
grazy
post Dec 23 2008, 08:25 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Dec 22 2008, 05:45 PM)
if is that case... digi here i come...

Added on December 22, 2008, 5:47 pm@ grazy dun forget to inform when the multi touch been develop thumbup.gif
Sure, will do biggrin.gif

By the way, keep an eye on your phone, think there is a update - codename "cupcake" will be releasing soon, hopefully during Christmas smile.gif
FaLLeN-786
post Dec 23 2008, 09:53 AM

100 posts

i`m going to digital mall today to buy g1...which shop sells the g1? what about the firmware? is it rc30 or 29? whether its fully unlocked or using turbo sim? i wanna buy but kinda scared a bit becoz no warranty.sumemore dunno mms,internet all can play or not since the phone is for US market.
grazy
post Dec 23 2008, 10:06 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(FaLLeN-786 @ Dec 23 2008, 09:53 AM)
i`m going to digital mall today to buy g1...which shop sells the g1? what about the firmware? is it rc30 or 29? whether its fully unlocked or using turbo sim? i wanna buy but kinda scared a bit becoz no warranty.sumemore dunno mms,internet all can play or not since the phone is for US market.
I bought the the unit from LYN here, but if not mistaken you may try your luck at All iT hypermall near Gramin store. wink.gif
You may ask them on the spot regarding your questions, hope they still have RC29 so that you may install the moded-RC30 to get root access.

Happy searching! ^^;

PS: could you please ask them whether they got stock for the G1 screen protector, thx wink.gif

This post has been edited by grazy: Dec 23 2008, 10:13 AM
FaLLeN-786
post Dec 23 2008, 10:16 AM

100 posts

sure no problem

Added on December 23, 2008, 10:24 amgrazy, the one that u have can u use mms? internet? download stuffs from android market? gps?

This post has been edited by FaLLeN-786: Dec 23 2008, 10:24 AM
lek_e30
post Dec 23 2008, 10:47 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Dec 23 2008, 08:25 AM)
Sure, will do  biggrin.gif

By the way, keep an eye on your phone, think there is a update - codename "cupcake" will be releasing soon, hopefully during Christmas smile.gif
thx bro, how to check the firmware and how to update it manually??
grazy
post Dec 23 2008, 10:58 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Dec 23 2008, 10:47 AM)
thx bro, how to check the firmware and how to update it manually??
You may go to "Settings' --> 'About Phone" --> look for "Build Number" --. something like TC4-RCXX

If RC29, congrats.... rclxms.gif
If RC30, too bad, like me cry.gif

Even though can't get the root access now, but pretty sure they will jailbreak it in the near future!! smile.gif

To update manually, you may take a look at this Guide.

lek_e30
post Dec 23 2008, 10:58 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Dec 23 2008, 10:06 AM)
I bought the the unit from LYN here, but if not mistaken you may try your luck at All iT hypermall near Gramin store. wink.gif
You may ask them on the spot regarding your questions, hope they still have RC29 so that you may install the moded-RC30 to get root access.

Happy searching! ^^;

PS: could you please ask them whether they got stock for the G1 screen protector, thx wink.gif
bro why not opt for invisible shield ?? kind of good quality though... i ordered oledi
grazy
post Dec 23 2008, 11:05 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Dec 23 2008, 10:58 AM)
bro why not opt for invisible shield ?? kind of good quality though... i ordered oledi
I would like to, but currently first priority is to look for an extra extended battery as I'm a heavy G1 user heh!!

If you stumbled upon any good batt for G1, let me know ya ^^;
lek_e30
post Dec 23 2008, 11:11 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Dec 23 2008, 10:58 AM)
You may go to "Settings' --> 'About Phone" --> look for "Build Number" --. something like TC4-RCXX

If RC29, congrats.... rclxms.gif
If RC30, too bad, like me  cry.gif 

Even though can't get the root access now, but pretty sure they will jailbreak it in the near future!! smile.gif

To update manually, you may take a look at this Guide.
mine too RC30 sweat.gif sweat.gif

btw, do u mind to msn chat??

This post has been edited by lek_e30: Dec 23 2008, 11:11 AM
grazy
post Dec 23 2008, 11:17 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Dec 23 2008, 11:11 AM)
mine too RC30  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

btw, do u mind to msn chat??
I prefer gtalk, check you PM!

lek_e30