Maxis Data Charges
TSthenemeanlion
Sep 20 2008, 06:10 PM, updated 18y ago
I've been usin my 1st gen iphone since may...since then my maxis postpaid unbilled amount increased alot...i thought if i used wifi at work n home is free coz its under streamyx..then i called maxis n da person said it was GPRS charge n even usin internet at home incurs maxis data charges...1 month itself is almos RM 177...so can any1 giv any advice or explain my prob??
TSthenemeanlion
Sep 20 2008, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(cyc85 @ Sep 20 2008, 06:17 PM) mayb u din close some application that using ur maxis gprs in background.... da prob is i never used GPRS since i got my iphone....n i even tried to argue wif da maxis woman coz my fren was usin wifi wif his w960 at my house n his credit never dropped a cent...n she was sayin bout free n non-free wifi...n she even said im actually usin maxis network when im surfin at home...
TSthenemeanlion
Sep 20 2008, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(jackdon @ Sep 20 2008, 08:57 PM) thenemeanlion, I had the same problem with my son's iphone. I forgot to use bosspref and he chalk about 75MB of download. The iphone would switch between the edge and the wifi depending on the quality of the signal. U can check out your data useage at the "settings", "General" and "Usage" then look at the Cellular Network Data and you would find that you indeed or rather you iphone is using the bandwidth. The iphone is design as a internet phone. I would suggest that you do the following, try to download "Bosspref" as recommended and disable the Edge network. Also to be sure go to the "Settings" "General" "Cellular Data Network" you will find that it is blank and the iphone is smart enough to figure how to login. Key in a bunch of rubbish and that way your iphone would never be able to login to the Maxis Cellular network and you won't be bill. If you depend of Bosspref and the then someone itchy finger turn it on again the susah leh. My son chalk about RM250/= of usage for 10 days  because I forgot to turn it off. jackdon juz glad 2 kno im not da oni one...thx for da advice