Official Vocalist Thread!, First ever?

TSRyuuga
post Sep 19 2008, 09:32 PM, updated 18y ago

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

Ok i realised vocalist are not getting enough attention in this forum so i've decided to start a vocalist thread.
By the way, i'm NOT a vocalist, but i love to sing, really. and i believe my singing, pitching is fine. The only problem (and the first question of the thread) is, i have a good "singing voice". I'm not sure whether you guys understand my question or not, but i feel that my "timbre" isn't right. You know this because most singers, when they talk and when they sing, they have a different voice altogether. so i'm asking veteran vocalists here, how to achieve that "singing voice" is there a particular technique to do it?
also, i cant hit the notes after two octaves of the middle C.
I'm really a sucker for songs that can go really high pitched so i wish to achieve that as well to satisfy myself >.<

oh i was googling somewhat and found sumthin called headvoice.. what is that? @_@
SUSParamore
post Sep 19 2008, 09:37 PM

626 posts

Two octave after middle C is already soprano. Not all male can able to go that far.

I am an tenor/alto singer in a choir last time. I cannot tell much here as words really cannot advice. What I can tell is, use your stomach/breath/air to sing, not your throat.

Breathing in, breathing out. Other than that, you need to get a teacher. I know a singer teacher, I can introduce you if you want. He/She is provided graded singing lessons.
sarcast
post Sep 19 2008, 09:38 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

hey, nice..thread for vocals...
lets hope the pro vocalists can help... i got some info here..
Brett Manning- u can youtube him n see what happens.(and yes Zidane, thats Hayley's vocal teacher!) . u can subscribe for singing tips too..
SUSParamore
post Sep 19 2008, 09:41 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 19 2008, 09:38 PM)
hey, nice..thread for vocals...
lets hope the pro vocalists can help... i got some info here..
Brett Manning- u can youtube him n see what happens.(and yes Zidane, thats Hayley's vocal teacher!) . u can subscribe for singing tips too..
Haha, I knew that. biggrin.gif

FYI, Brett Manning provides pop singing which is not graded.
sarcast
post Sep 19 2008, 09:41 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 19 2008, 09:37 PM)
Other than that, you need to get a teacher. I know a singer teacher, I can introduce you if you want. He/She is provided graded singing lessons.
Where r the teacher(s) from? subang? sunway?... how would the fees be?

Added on September 19, 2008, 9:42 pmgrade or not graded..what important here (for me..^^) is we can sing good...tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sarcast: Sep 19 2008, 09:42 PM
SUSParamore
post Sep 19 2008, 09:49 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 19 2008, 09:41 PM)
Where r the teacher(s) from? subang? sunway?... how would the fees be?
KL. About RM100 monthly and it is been 3 years I did not get in touch with her. blink.gif
sarcast
post Sep 19 2008, 09:56 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 19 2008, 09:49 PM)
KL. About RM100 monthly and it is been 3 years I did not get in touch with her. blink.gif
aww.. rm100?..O.o , 4 lessons in a month? how long per lesson?
SUSParamore
post Sep 19 2008, 10:21 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 19 2008, 09:56 PM)
aww.. rm100?..O.o , 4 lessons in a month? how long per lesson?
Standard, 30 minutes.

Inside the class 30 minutes The teacher will introduce new technique, students will learn and the student can never get the new technique on that day (that is why a lot of people says that practice is important). Also there is theory part of singing and articulation (such as breathing). With all that in 30 minutes, it is actually a lot.

Any reasons to say that the class is so short and expensive? Think again.
TSRyuuga
post Sep 19 2008, 10:40 PM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 19 2008, 10:21 PM)
Standard, 30 minutes.

Inside the class 30 minutes The teacher will introduce new technique, students will learn and the student can never get the new technique on that day (that is why a lot of people says that practice is important). Also there is theory part of singing and articulation (such as breathing). With all that in 30 minutes, it is actually a lot.

haha after get flamed by me again like in the other thread xD
thanks for the info paramore. Might consider getting a professional teacher but not for graded la... sien de la graded exam all the time... i just wanna sing for funs xD after graded exams they teach you to sing classical like THIS GUY
SUSParamore
post Sep 19 2008, 10:46 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Sep 19 2008, 10:40 PM)
haha after get flamed by me again like in the other thread xD
thanks for the info paramore. Might consider getting a professional teacher but not for graded la... sien de la graded exam all the time... i just wanna sing for funs xD after graded exams they teach you to sing classical like THIS GUY
Flame? I do not take that as a flame last time.

You can go for graded classes without taking exam. There is two types of singing, the proper ones are grading and the "sing-for-fun" is the pop singing lesson. I am saying and advising, I am not controlling.

After all, I am a classical musician and it does not mean I play classical always. Just like guitarist, you cannot play rock forever, at least a little bit of this and a little bit of that.

And that video, what a show. sweat.gif
Virgle
post Sep 20 2008, 11:31 AM

►死神 Shinigami◄
683 posts

That video was good. Funny.

Not much to talk about vocalist tough, all you do is practice by do re mi fa so la ti do.
TSRyuuga
post Sep 20 2008, 11:42 AM

Guitarist Unlimited
677 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 19 2008, 10:46 PM)
Flame? I do not take that as a flame last time.

You can go for graded classes without taking exam. There is two types of singing, the proper ones are grading and the "sing-for-fun" is the pop singing lesson. I am saying and advising, I am not controlling.

After all, I am a classical musician and it does not mean I play classical always. Just like guitarist, you cannot play rock forever, at least a little bit of this and a little bit of that.

And that video, what a show. sweat.gif
lol i didnt flame you also... besides, i didn't wanna spoil my mood arguing shyt =/
maybe i'll jus take the pop singing lesson lol know anyone from subang/sunway? its much easier for me that way >.<
BelowAverage
post Sep 20 2008, 06:31 PM

1,274 posts

lol, i can hit highest note is G5 >..<

problem is eventhou i can hit until G5, my voice is not so plesent to hear T_T

some ppl no need to hit high note also sound good cause their vvoice naturally sounds good=.="
sarcast
post Sep 20 2008, 07:24 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 19 2008, 10:21 PM)
Standard, 30 minutes.

i never said anything about it, even starting piano class n guitar are 30 minutes each lesson

SUSParamore
post Sep 21 2008, 12:03 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(Ryuuga @ Sep 20 2008, 11:42 AM)
lol i didnt flame you also... besides, i didn't wanna spoil my mood arguing shyt =/
maybe i'll jus take the pop singing lesson lol know anyone from subang/sunway? its much easier for me that way >.<
I did not even know is that a flame or not.

I know a music school at Old Klang Road that provides pop singing classes. For Subang area, no idea.

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Sep 20 2008, 06:31 PM)
some ppl no need to hit high note also sound good cause their vvoice naturally sounds good=.="
Because they breath in and out properly and also they use their stomach.
Nitrous
post Sep 25 2008, 04:06 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 21 2008, 12:03 AM)
I know a music school at Old Klang Road that provides pop singing classes. For Subang area, no idea.
Because they breath in and out properly and also they use their stomach.
Would you be able to let me know where this music school is? I would be interested, as I only plan to sing for fun, not for any competition etc. Need to start from the basics... malu leh... sad.gif

Thank you...
SUSParamore
post Sep 26 2008, 02:13 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(Nitrous @ Sep 25 2008, 04:06 PM)
Would you be able to let me know where this music school is? I would be interested, as I only plan to sing for fun, not for any competition etc. Need to start from the basics... malu leh... sad.gif

Thank you...
Good Sound Music Studio
81M, Jalan Mega Mendung,
Bandar Kompleks,
Jalan Kelang Lama,
85200 Kuala Lumpur.

Tel: 03-7982 4905

Enquiry the class, get yourself registered and let the teacher know that you wanted to sing for fun. Then the teacher will know what to do and you are welcome.
sarcast
post Sep 26 2008, 12:00 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

are you one of the teacher there too? and Kelang lama...=.=, thats far
SUSParamore
post Sep 26 2008, 12:02 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 26 2008, 12:00 PM)
No. Maybe next time I will go for an interview. This music school is quite famous.
Gravity
post Sep 26 2008, 02:55 PM

998 posts

the most important thing about getting a vocal coach is that he/she must has a good ears and know how to tackle your problem by providing you a custom exercise...

so my question is, is the teacher there good and effective? i'm actually planining to find brett manning.. lol but the cost for a week is around 10K including fees, accomodation and air ticket ....
SUSParamore
post Sep 26 2008, 03:09 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Gravity @ Sep 26 2008, 02:55 PM)
so my question is, is the teacher there good and effective?
No idea.

In some ways, we do not need a good teacher to be a good musician. In the end, it is our effort.

For your information, every music teacher (including singing, instrumental and etc.) are all trained to have good ear and aural. So, for this part you do not have to worry. Just tell or talk with the teacher about you wanted to do and they will know what to do on you.

If Brett Manning is the greatest teacher, Hayley Williams has been already awarded a few Grammy just for vocals. Think again, in the end it is still our effort not our teacher.
sarcast
post Sep 27 2008, 02:24 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(Gravity @ Sep 26 2008, 02:55 PM)
the most important thing about getting a vocal coach is that he/she must has a good ears and know how to tackle your problem by providing you a custom exercise...

so my question is, is the teacher there good and effective? i'm actually planining to find brett manning.. lol but the cost for a week is around 10K including fees, accomodation and air ticket ....
blink.gif wow were u serious? haha... well if u think it is worth it, is he easy to get?...

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 26 2008, 03:09 PM)

If Brett Manning is the greatest teacher, Hayley Williams has been already awarded a few Grammy just for vocals. Think again, in the end it is still our effort not our teacher.
It depends on our own rather than the teacher. Brett also have many other popular singer student thou
SUSParamore
post Sep 27 2008, 10:10 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 27 2008, 02:24 AM)
It depends on our own rather than the teacher. Brett also have many other popular singer student thou
Ya, Hayley. Ya. LoL! laugh.gif
Gravity
post Sep 29 2008, 08:10 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 26 2008, 03:09 PM)
No idea.

In some ways, we do not need a good teacher to be a good musician. In the end, it is our effort.

For your information, every music teacher (including singing, instrumental and etc.) are all trained to have good ear and aural. So, for this part you do not have to worry. Just tell or talk with the teacher about you wanted to do and they will know what to do on you.

yea, i understand own effort is indeed important to be a good musician. what i'm trying to say is that, there are many vocal coaches outside who thought they are good in teaching but infact they are not. a good teacher provide us the right tool to heal/train/discover our own voice. tongue.gif and keith urban is also student of brett manning ma biggrin.gif

Added on October 7, 2008, 1:15 pmis there so few vocalist in LYN??? sad.gif

This post has been edited by Gravity: Oct 7 2008, 01:15 PM
Satine
post Oct 11 2008, 12:16 AM

19 posts

Oh... can either try another vocal school which is located in Bandar Sunway.. I don't have the exact address but I do know the direction if u wanna get der... smile.gif

I love singing too and took a month class there before...
Everdying
post Oct 11 2008, 12:38 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

theres one place in ttdi...
http://learntosingcentre.com/index.php

maybe one day i go check that place out.
sarcast
post Oct 11 2008, 01:08 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

Everdying, is this rm200 per month>?..
are there any more place thats nearer to damansara? tongue.gif
x_far_x
post Oct 11 2008, 01:14 AM

370 posts

This might be a weird question, but how do you know when you're singing "correctly"? I think I'm tone deaf and not sure if I'm singing it the correct way...hehe.

-FaR
echobrainproject
post Oct 11 2008, 03:08 AM

4,765 posts

tried recording yourself?
sarcast
post Oct 11 2008, 12:03 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(x_far_x @ Oct 11 2008, 01:14 AM)
This might be a weird question, but how do you know when you're singing "correctly"?  I think I'm tone deaf and not sure if I'm singing it the correct way...hehe.

-FaR
yea, record your voice when u sing, then listen to the recording, and u might find it to be different when u hear yourself sing 'live'. I do find some mistake on myself when i hear my own voice on records, can improve next time, try it smile.gif
Gravity
post Oct 12 2008, 03:53 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(x_far_x @ Oct 11 2008, 01:14 AM)
This might be a weird question, but how do you know when you're singing "correctly"?  I think I'm tone deaf and not sure if I'm singing it the correct way...hehe.

-FaR
well, i believe is the release of your voice, where u feel resonance in your head, and u can basically sing from top to bottom easily and freely biggrin.gif
azrinarizz
post Oct 12 2008, 08:52 AM

Made in Malaysia!
2,448 posts

The only thing i can do is sing how to save a life while playign my guitar
Beyond that i am hopeless laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
SUSParamore
post Oct 12 2008, 12:42 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Gravity @ Sep 29 2008, 08:10 PM)
what i'm trying to say is that, there are many vocal coaches outside who thought they are good in teaching but infact they are not.
Students have the rights to ask for a certified teacher.
akira de aimbuster
post Oct 12 2008, 02:11 PM

しごと~
3,500 posts

so how many vocalist here actually got went for training classes?
Gravity
post Oct 15 2008, 02:08 PM

998 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Oct 12 2008, 12:42 PM)
Students have the rights to ask for a certified teacher.
so what are certified teacher? mind sharing? biggrin.gif what kind of cert or qualification must they have and where can we find them tongue.gif
SUSParamore
post Oct 15 2008, 04:18 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Gravity @ Oct 15 2008, 02:08 PM)
so what are certified teacher? mind sharing? biggrin.gif what kind of cert or qualification must they have and where can we find them tongue.gif
Most of them are grade 8 or below holder yet they are not certified without a diploma but take note that grade 8 certificate is harder to get compare with diploma. So diploma holders are certified teachers. That is just about qualification.

I have met a lot of grade 8 holder teachers are better than the certified ones because the certified ones are mainly from UCSI, SEGi, LKW and etc. who are new to come out to work without a heart to teach.

Where can you find? Well, almost anywhere. If you want famous and passionate teachers, I can introduce you some of them.

Once again, knowledge is more important than qualification (in some ways).
mrjeff
post Oct 21 2008, 08:57 AM

practice everyday... and make sure start with a little warming up.. so u will not soring ur throat later... hehe...

Banzai_san
post Oct 21 2008, 02:20 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

Many recommend brett manning method.

But try have a look at Jamie Venderra's teaching.
http://www.thevoiceconnection.com/
& have a look at his book Raise Your Voice
http://www.raiseyourvoicebook.com/

His approach to vocal techniques, vocal training IMHO is very good... especially for those interested in power vocal (eg rock, metal, etc) but not confined to rock/metal/scream/shouting vocalist. Pop, country etc... can incorporate Jamie's method to improve and look after one's voice.

Elizabeth Sabine has wrote book on strenghtening the vocal, another good source/reference.
http://www.elizabethsabine.net/

This post has been edited by Banzai_san: Oct 21 2008, 02:27 PM
yijzen
post Oct 24 2008, 11:06 PM

288 posts

100 ringgit a month is very cheap. I have been taking lessons in the singing shop in amcorp mall form a phillipino teacher. have to see he's very very good. well. i'm paying 200 a month . 4 lessons. not bad i would say.
sarcast
post Oct 25 2008, 12:19 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

Philipino teacher.. so u sang philipines song> ? XD
Gravity
post Oct 28 2008, 04:12 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Oct 24 2008, 11:06 PM)
100 ringgit a month is very cheap. I have been taking lessons in the singing shop in amcorp mall form a phillipino teacher. have to see he's very very good. well. i'm paying 200 a month . 4 lessons. not bad i would say.
issit effective? what kind of approach does your teacher uses biggrin.gif?
yijzen
post Oct 28 2008, 07:17 PM

288 posts

first he talks about the 5 types of sound u can produce.

1. head. (falsetto)
2. chest
3. supported with diaphragm.
4. nasal.
5. throat.

you use different cavities depending on the tune you want to reach. For example. if u would like to reach a lower tone. you should sue your chest voice as it is the most enriching sound. however if u use chest voice to sing higher notes, you will practically strain your voice. anywayz. there is too much to say. aha. go find a vocal teacher instead.
kenetix
post Oct 29 2008, 01:07 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Oct 28 2008, 07:17 PM)

1. head. (falsetto)
2. chest
4. nasal.
5. throat.

you use different cavities depending on the tune you want to reach. For example. if u would like to reach a lower tone. you should sue your chest voice as it is the most enriching sound. however if u use chest voice to sing higher notes, you will practically strain your voice. anywayz. there is too much to say. aha. go find a vocal teacher instead.
6. Stab yourself. The pain will greatly increase your singing potential. You'll probably be able to sing just like Chester from Linkin Park then
Banzai_san
post Oct 30 2008, 02:08 PM

Samurai Spirit
1,185 posts

1. head. (falsetto)
2. chest
4. nasal.
5. throat.

3. supported with diaphragm. <--- I had always thought that singing should always be supported by the diaphragm... tongue.gif

anyway... in Rock/Metal there's the non-falsetto head voice (ie real voice). Jaime Vanderra teaches how to develop the high pitch (head) real voice, as often used in ROCK/METAL songs... eg scream, shout, ... laugh.gif

Also, vocal exercises on how to expand vocal range... even whistling tone and deep low vocal tone
Gravity
post Oct 31 2008, 03:53 AM

998 posts

1. head. (falsetto)
2. chest
4. nasal.
5. throat.

good! registers approach.. mind sharing more info about the teacher, fees and location? im interested biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Gravity: Oct 31 2008, 03:53 AM
yijzen
post Feb 10 2009, 04:33 PM

288 posts

the singing shop. you can google it... =)
Shoot@M3
post Feb 25 2009, 09:50 PM

=|| elf ||=
1,326 posts

hi all,

do you all know what is the best setup to do some recording of our own singing (talking cheaply, not studio) using our own pc at home?

What's the best sound card and mic to record? currently using Cool Edit pro, very good program to record. Now already bought by Adobe and under adobe audition i think

advices?
thx
orangepotato
post Mar 18 2009, 09:37 PM

Except good sound and amcorp mall, it there anywhere else that i can have vocal lessons? maybe somewhere around klang lama or kuchai lama...
i heard that somewhere near the school Sri Sentosa has one. anyone has more info about it? B)
DrOzzz
post Mar 20 2009, 01:52 PM

337 posts

Singing is one of my favourite stuff that i will do during my leasure time which i go R**box or N**way .. hahaaaaa

i was hoping to find some good and professional opera singing lessons if possible. Because i m interested on the techniques and skills of opera..haha

Does anyone know any good teacher or places that recommend to me.. it is better if the place is near kepong or damansara. smile.gif
invisibl3boyz
post Mar 22 2009, 03:44 AM

244 posts

anyone knows good singing lesson in Penang?
usually the class wil take how long to complete?
hazelish
post Mar 22 2009, 10:30 PM

Anyone know of any good vocal teacher/ school in Penang/ Butterworth?

Anyone knows where to learn flute in Penang/ Butterworth??

Pls reply. Thanks!!
Everdying
post Mar 22 2009, 10:51 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(orangepotato @ Mar 18 2009, 09:37 PM)
Except good sound and amcorp mall, it there anywhere else that i can have vocal lessons? maybe somewhere around klang lama or kuchai lama...
i heard that somewhere near the school Sri Sentosa has one. anyone has more info about it? B)
if u can go amcorp mall, maybe u dont mind going d'sara perdana?
this one is my friend's ex...i think shes still teaching.
http://www.singing.com.au/instructors.aspx?ID=Maria%20Raiz

orangepotato
post Mar 23 2009, 04:51 PM

oh, thank you so much for your reply, Everdying! =)
kuchai lama/klang lama is much convenient though happy.gif"

c2p
post Apr 5 2009, 10:30 AM

368 posts

Oh man I wished I learned back home. Now I'm in Tas and it costs $60/hr. That's the weekly rental rate for my friend's room! rclxub.gif
mysticaldodo
post Apr 20 2009, 09:05 PM

1,030 posts

Has anyone here encountered a coach who is insincere?

The type who tells the potential student/ client what they want to hear (e.g. You have potential, you have some basic talent, etc....)

Junior66
post Apr 22 2009, 12:47 PM

34 posts

but can't we learn and improve this ourself?
Any tips? Like a video perhaps? smile.gif
Sky.Live
post Apr 22 2009, 01:04 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

vocal is much more complicated than playing any instrument, somehow it's hard or near impossible to hear your own mistake when you are singing yourself.

Try record your singing and listen yourself.. A good teacher would point out your mistake immediately, there is so many 'abstract technical stuff" such as breathing, pronunciation, how to use your head voice, chest voice etc, all these thing are not easily explain by a video and book
BelowAverage
post Apr 22 2009, 06:09 PM

1,274 posts

i wish my voice was a tenor =(
I admire my friends who can sing two octave from middle C using Modal Voice( havent reduce an octave lower for male voice)

I wish i can hit those hit note without entering falsetto =(

Anyway, any tips on improving the tone of the voice?
yo_yo
post Apr 23 2009, 07:47 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(mysticaldodo @ Apr 20 2009, 09:05 PM)
Has anyone here encountered a coach who is insincere?

The type who tells the potential student/ client what they want to hear (e.g. You have potential, you have some basic talent, etc....)
nope. never heard that. my teacher would just laugh if i can't sing some parts of the songs. i think i'm lucky to have an honest teacher. smile.gif
Junior66
post Apr 27 2009, 10:02 PM

34 posts

I also want to improve my vocal range...
Any idea how?
I did improve in vocal since last year but i have no idea how...
I suddenly can reach the tone which i can't last year...
Gravity
post May 17 2009, 02:57 PM

998 posts

junior u can youtube brett manning / singingsuccess for some tips.. i improved significantly after doing their training tongue.gif

in fact, it is possible to train head voice to sound like chest voice or real voice. i believe we switch to headvoice because of all the tension we have in our tongue, jaw and inner muscle. All these tension disrupt our vocal quality and therefore it make us sounded head.
yijzen
post Jun 2 2009, 11:10 PM

288 posts

learning how to controll chest voice is very important.. once you get it it really rocks =)
Party2DMax
post Jun 3 2009, 12:05 AM

party2dmax
1,092 posts

Anyone interested to try out some Iron Maiden?
rocket_crotch
post Jun 14 2009, 02:56 AM

Hmm, in fact, CHEST voice is called chest voice because the size of our vocal ZIP (air tract) is bigger than usual, more air gushes out from within, thus producing a THICKER sound.

As for HEAD voice, the vocal ZIP (throat hole), is narrower, producing a THINNER sound, when you hit some very high notes within your range, you will feel your rear skull vibrating.

As for DIAPHRAGM SINGING (singing from your stomach lol) that many people say, its just matter of CONTROL of your AIR FLOW from below your chest till out of your mouth. There must be a good flow of air movemet when you sing, try feeling it NOW.

If you CANT feel any air flow or air flow is being cut from below when singing, try INTENTIONALLY opening your VOCAL TRACT (lubang kerongkong), by lowering your LOWER JAW, it opens up naturally when you do so.

(This explains why BEST singers open up theyre mouth real wide when singing, to produce the best RESONANCE/ sound)
don8ld
post Jun 15 2009, 04:23 PM

R.I.P Gary Moore
1,267 posts

Im finding a vocal teacher , who can teach me how to scream (inwards and out), growl , pig squels..

akariitagami
post Jun 16 2009, 11:23 AM

To topic starter and those who like singing,

The basic practice on singing:

http://www.vocalscores.co.uk

go download the note file
not to guarantee that would help u hit higher notes or producing ringing voice but this would be a good start of figuring out how to utilize your voice.
Practice is the key, by singing out loud, by doing so you will be experimenting the changes of energy and air flow in you, eventually you will be able to utilize your muscle effectively, and it takes time so be patient, I would recommend ballad and classical singing technique for practising, go youtube for songs and learn to sing like them.
wersofcked
post Jun 23 2009, 01:36 AM

185 posts

Hey guys, I'm singing in my band and we're performing during my school's concert night, it's our first performance ever and everytime after the rehearsels, my friends says my voice isn't loud enough. Is there any way to sing louder? Oh yeah, the concert is on the 18th of June. Thanks! biggrin.gif
pleasuresaurus
post Jun 23 2009, 10:03 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(don8ld @ Jun 15 2009, 04:23 PM)
Im finding a vocal teacher , who can teach me how to scream (inwards and out), growl , pig squels..
Youtube Melissa Cross.
BelowAverage
post Dec 14 2009, 04:46 PM

1,274 posts

time for a revive

to all pro vocalist, i need abit guidance.
Im noob at singing, seriously suck, sing liao ppl can close ear.

Anyway, yesterday my music teacher testing my range, so i sang until G4 or G above middle C.

he categorize me as a tenor.

So anyway, how only i can expand my range?
and i know this is asked many times, but how do i sing from my diaphram~
I really suck at this part

thanks~

This post has been edited by BelowAverage: Dec 14 2009, 04:49 PM
zombie-pig
post Dec 17 2009, 08:56 PM

421 posts

I can't reach soprano all the time. I'ts 50/50.

I'm in tenor in choir club. Really sad, during my 1 month training in Vocal class, I can go up to soprano.

Using diaphragm, is very hard to teach here, you need practice.
jason991
post Dec 19 2009, 03:17 AM

is all about the money, money, money
1,189 posts

hmm...
any vocal teacher recommended at cheras taman connaught area?
im not smart enuff to learn from youtube...T.T
MADReaLJL
post Dec 21 2009, 10:59 PM

4,050 posts

how do u know which notes u hit? like G5, A6.. from music score or it's all programmed in ur head? tongue.gif
BelowAverage
post Dec 21 2009, 11:16 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Dec 21 2009, 10:59 PM)
how do u know which notes u hit? like G5, A6.. from music score or it's all programmed in ur head? tongue.gif
i got perfect pitch

So i know what notes im singing biggrin.gif

edit: but that doesnt mean every note i sing is in perfect pitch doh.gif ( in my dreams hahahahahah)

This post has been edited by BelowAverage: Dec 21 2009, 11:20 PM
isaacmiranda7
post Dec 24 2009, 11:36 AM

Look at all my stars!
1,889 posts

HAHAHAHA

I'm not a vocalist lah... Cause my singing is crap (the pubertal thing and all xD) But in my band sometimes while drumming I do the opening growls or screams... But recently its like my voice gets painful after like 5 seconds and my screams not so powerful liao.. like no deep end to it.... Any suggestions?

OH OH! Discuss screaming techniques anyone?
zencyc1123
post Jan 19 2010, 10:11 PM

75 posts

i really admire those who have a nice voice and i think i never going to get that lol
Davien
post Jan 20 2010, 12:03 AM

41 posts

I don't know how wide my vocal range is, i only sing straight without thinking over the high pitch or low pitch. i use to sing in a 3 bands but i quit just to concentrate on my study sad.gif
BelowAverage
post Jan 20 2010, 02:05 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(zencyc1123 @ Jan 19 2010, 10:11 PM)
i really admire those who have a nice voice and i think i never going to get that lol
who doesnt cry.gif
brownman90561495
post Jan 21 2010, 11:33 AM

Sangkar Nikolai will touch your National Treasure!
963 posts

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Dec 14 2009, 04:46 PM)
time for a revive

Anyway, yesterday my music teacher testing my range, so i sang until G4 or G above middle C.

thanks~
bro, i was pretty much a noob singer myself (after alot of years of being an instrumentalist) just a few years back. i was only interested in the quality of my voice, not by range because i knew how to use falsetto pretty much. i can say my voice quality was intermediate, and no problem for me at all at getting the right pitches coz i have perfect pitch.

then recently, this friend of mine who is a really really good singer, sang alot of high pitched songs which i thought i'd never sing very well. but somehow, using just the few voice lessons i had when i was really younger (i never had a true vocal coach), i just tried and tried singing and singing those high pitched songs. soon enough i've been nailing them, almost no use of falsetto. i self tested my vocal range - i can go from B2 to B4, and can linger abit in C5 or D5 (but that's really hard for me to do) without the use of falsetto, and can go further almost one more octave with falsetto. almost 3 octaves. couldn't believe it myself too ya know.

vocal range is one's range of MUSICALLY USABLE NOTES, meaning sounding musically nice. that's different from shouting smile.gif

so, as of myself who is a self taught tenor, maybe i can give you guys tips which worked for me:

before singing, firstly choose and learn a few high pitched tenor songs with varying speed and rhythm. this way your voice box will be used to varying changing speeds of pitches.

when singing, try to feel the song as if you're singing for someone. do not be conscious about your body movements. just be natural, especially when you're trying to nail the B4's and C5's without falsetto, and more especially if these are whole notes (maybe just half notes for 6/8, 8/8 or 12/8 songs). in my own normal singing when i try to hit those notes, i just let it all out. i just close my eyes, concentrate ONLY on that part of the song, arc my back a bit as if i am trying to get power from my backside of my diaphragm, and being intimate with the microphone. this actually will depend on the singer. we all have our own natural and maybe unconscious movements.

of course the delivery of your voice is the really important thing. remember to STICK WITH YOUR OWN VOICE no matter what. do not try emulating other people's voice because that's going to be another thing you're going to mind of. using your own natural voice will take away the worry of how are you EXACTLY sounding like. make your voice as whole as you can get, even on high pitches. it's easier said than done actually. but just try to breathe deeply between measures before delivering a note, quick breathing if there's no rest, normal deep breathing when there is a rest. at all costs, don't pull your voice from your throat. breathe deeply, and feel your voice from your chest. and maybe the clincher to this - OPEN YOUR MOUTH VERY WELL to deliver a nice resonating sound. mind the syllables with A, E, I, O and U. they have different positions on how the mouth is opened.

one thing also you have to mind of is the volume of the voice. normally a tenor singer is a powerful singer and should be very able to hold relatively high notes (well, the word tenor is from the latin word 'tenere' which means TO HOLD). lower pitch, not much volume needed, but to deliver a high pitched note without the use of falsetto, there's when you let it all out, but you still have to mind and control the airflow - if you're going to deliver maybe a whole note tied to more notes, better spread the airflow to that whole length. you don't want to run out of air in the middle of a long note. also, if you try to deliver a high note with a softer volume, that's going to sound like you're using falsetto, and at times, it may sound ineffective.

maybe an added note: don't expect your singing voice to be equally the same in terms of quality and power when just singing compared to singing while playing a musical instrument. your body movements can really affect your singing voice.

and maybe an equally important factor: QUIT DRINKING ICED BEVERAGES smile.gif i myself rarely drink iced or even just the cold ones beverages nowadays. usually i go for warm or hot.

with all these exercises, i've repeated and practiced all of them alot of times, and it's really nice hearing myself along the way that i have increased my vocal range. it sounded too impossible for me before, and i honestly was surprised by the changes of my voice so far. one thing you also will need to take note is, after singing maybe a couple of those kind of songs, you may feel abit tired and thirsty (still no iced beverages). but i still consider myself a noob and still wanting to learn more.

wish i can show you a sample in person, but unfortunately my stay here in KL will be over soon. if you think you increased your range, try singing Bed Of Roses by Bon Jovi. high notes on chorus is A4, peaks on last chorus on B4. pretty much an easier song (but not entirely an easy one tongue.gif ).

i hope this one helps smile.gif good luck!

This post has been edited by brownman90561495: Jan 21 2010, 11:40 AM
kawa_e
post Mar 17 2010, 08:55 AM

383 posts

QUOTE(zencyc1123 @ Jan 19 2010, 10:11 PM)
those people are god gifted smile.gif

I like singing too. I'm a soprano but I cant really hit those high notes always. Then, do any of you sound diff or have your own style when singing a song? Take american idols. When they sing, they dont usually sound like the original singer did. I'm really figuring that out. Is it you sound diff on certain notes because you cant emulate that singer to sing that high/low ?
pinksocks
post May 1 2010, 01:20 AM

15 posts

uhm, i've never been to any vocal lessons and worse of all, i don't play any musical instruments. however, i do like to whistle and for me, it's just a like my own personal instrument already. was too poor to continue my piano lessons and my bro sold my guitar. nevertheless, i do love singing and some friends said that i have this special potential. normally i just sing according to the feelings which the song wants to convey. i don't think i have a big problem when coming to sing according to tune.
uhm, if i were to start training my vocal, where to start? how to know what voice i have? why is it important to have proper vocal training? if i don't get vocal training does it mean i cant sing? confused sad.gif
suzann
post May 2 2010, 11:25 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(jason991 @ Dec 19 2009, 03:17 AM)
hmm...
any vocal teacher recommended at cheras taman connaught area?
im not smart enuff to learn from youtube...T.T
I remember there is a vocal lesson at the connaught shop lots there, but that was three years ago.. I'm not very sure whether it's still there flex.gif

Anyway, i learn vocal in JJ Pianoforte, which is only 10 mins drive from connaught (opposite the old HVD there). Learnt for about 2 years, from classical to pop biggrin.gif anything you wanna learn.
hackwire
post May 3 2010, 09:14 PM

4,256 posts

is it possible to learn singing online tutor. is there a website?
gaijin_otoko
post May 4 2010, 07:19 AM

118 posts

anyone got good tips on how to keep ur voice intact? like DO NOT DRINK ICED BEVERAGES or so

i heard that taking honey & limau kasturi once a week will help u clear all those kahak hence help u to hit n maintain those high notes better
suzann
post May 9 2010, 01:19 AM

38 posts

QUOTE(gaijin_otoko @ May 4 2010, 07:19 AM)
anyone got good tips on how to keep ur voice intact? like DO NOT DRINK ICED BEVERAGES or so

i heard that taking honey & limau kasturi once a week will help u clear all those kahak hence help u to hit n maintain those high notes better
And eating apples too! Jacky Cheung eats apple before he sings in his studio.
Sky.Live
post May 9 2010, 01:10 PM

Proctected Species
4,390 posts

QUOTE(suzann @ May 2 2010, 11:25 AM)
I remember there is a vocal lesson at the connaught shop lots there, but that was three years ago.. I'm not very sure whether it's still there  flex.gif

Anyway, i learn vocal in JJ Pianoforte, which is only 10 mins drive from connaught (opposite the old HVD there). Learnt for about 2 years, from classical to pop biggrin.gif anything you wanna learn.
i went there before but din get very good impression from the boss
gaijin_otoko
post May 10 2010, 05:33 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(suzann @ May 9 2010, 01:19 AM)
And eating apples too! Jacky Cheung eats apple before he sings in his studio.
did he mentioned what type of apple? green perhaps?
Royaleague
post May 11 2010, 01:02 PM

38 posts

my personal opinion as a vocalist is....
after i've done some survey in both teaching and learning...i realized that the range of our voice is actually decided on the day we are born...we can only extend the range if we train in the correct methods...many people think that "wow...he/she can sing so high....he/she can sing so good"....well...personally i think that a good vocalist is not how high he/she can sing...its how well he/she can manage her own range...everyone's voice is unique...u cant find people who have exactly the same voice...for people who have lower range or what..do not be upset cause as long as u know how to manage your voice..u can sing good too...i've many friends who are alto and basses....and they sing so good...even baritones and mezzo sopranos might sound very good if u train in the correct way....

no offense to the higher voice people...
happy.gif

Added on May 11, 2010, 1:04 pm
QUOTE(gaijin_otoko @ May 10 2010, 05:33 PM)
did he mentioned what type of apple? green perhaps?
i think it was a red one....u can see him eating that in 1 of his recent concert where he sang other people's songs....

Added on May 11, 2010, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Dec 14 2009, 04:46 PM)
time for a revive

thanks~
are u talking about Classical singing or Contemporary singing??
cause both are different....which one are u seeking actually??
happy.gif

This post has been edited by Royaleague: May 11 2010, 01:09 PM
siow11
post Aug 3 2010, 10:10 PM

14 posts

if u use a correct method to sing... even a bass can sing a high pitch like a soprano
Xakz
post Aug 5 2010, 03:07 PM

13 posts

I can imitate Axl Rose from the Appetite for Destruction era 95% biggrin.gif But I have not taken classes before. Maybe its hereditary haha my father was a Malaysian artist back in the 80's before I was borned. Now he teaches singing.

This post has been edited by Xakz: Aug 5 2010, 03:08 PM
TehWateva
post Aug 13 2010, 01:05 AM

Schadenfreude Beaches.
1,448 posts

am actually looking for vocal lessons around KL Golden triangle area. Any suggestions?
Vevice
post Aug 14 2010, 11:37 AM

71 posts

wow thread for vocals????

what i did is just singing in the toilet..hahah
it feels like i made a concert..

btw i did singing a lot till i lost my voice..

it sounds like this:

is there any rules for singing??

This post has been edited by Vevice: Aug 14 2010, 11:39 AM
Ch1nGFuX
post Aug 14 2010, 09:30 PM

85 posts

Nice, just what I needed xD

Not a vocalist, but I love to sing. I know nothing about notes for vocals(no, really). I know how to do...falsettos but all in all, rather tone deaf and mute still. Any suggestions? Interested in learning head voice + some...notes.

Pros here should join our singing competition at Taylor's Asaban fest lol
FenomX
post Mar 18 2012, 06:20 AM

177 posts

Hi guys,

really need to know if there's any learning singing centre around sunway or subang ss15? Just want to sing for fun and not competition type.

Maybe some Karaoke session or some minor singing event like in the wedding ceremony.

i'm totally new and can't sing at all.

This post has been edited by FenomX: Mar 18 2012, 06:21 AM
melvin93
post Mar 18 2012, 07:57 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(FenomX @ Mar 18 2012, 06:20 AM)
Hi guys,

really need to know if there's any learning singing centre around sunway or subang ss15? Just want to sing for fun and not competition type.

Maybe some Karaoke session or some minor singing event like in the wedding ceremony.

this, i was gonna ask, sir you just asked the question i wanted to ask !

same area too!

kindly advise guys
elainehoh
post Mar 20 2012, 04:37 PM

60 posts

I love to sing as well.. have been went through few vocal classes.. however my abdomen still weak =.= maybe because lack of exercise haha. and i stopped learning, coz im now currently studying in kampar.. and here does not have any vocal classes >_<
mydyory
post Mar 26 2012, 05:44 PM

183 posts

i do growl, exhale pig squeal, grunt smile.gif
currently learning low deep male vocal like HIM,Deathstars etc.
nicdanic
post Apr 24 2012, 01:12 AM

15 posts

anyone knows any vocal coach in ipoh?
ryo_ken
post Apr 25 2012, 11:42 PM

250 posts

lol i never know that there's a vocalist thread right here. anyway i only start singing about 1-2 years ago. first when i start was when i followed my friend to karaoke then i sang like shit and they make fun of me =,=''

then i told him that i want to learn singing, but he told me its all about talent. he said i will never can sing even i learn.

after that i start to learn from youtube, and then i found out brett manning's singing program at a torrent site which is valued at rm1000++ that time. then i start to practice and follow the program.

tadaaa.. now im pretty sure that im better in singing than most of my friends when we go to karaoke. i also do some covers at youtube but too bad nobody views it, its not that my video sucks, just nobody would accidently watch it haha!

QUOTE(FenomX @ Mar 18 2012, 06:20 AM)
Hi guys,

i think you should try to learn by yourself first. because learning from vocal class will be expensive. try brett manning program, i works like charm for me ^^ find at torrent site, DONT buy it haha. its call "Brett Manning Singing Success".
FenomX
post Apr 26 2012, 03:25 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(ryo_ken @ Apr 25 2012, 11:42 PM)
lol i never know that there's a vocalist thread right here. anyway i only start singing about 1-2 years ago. first when i start was when i followed my friend to karaoke then i sang like shit and they make fun of me =,=''

then i told him that i want to learn singing, but he told me its all about talent. he said i will never can sing even i learn.

after that i start to learn from youtube, and then i found out brett manning's singing program at a torrent site which is valued at rm1000++ that time. then i start to practice and follow the program.

tadaaa.. now im pretty sure that im better in singing than most of my friends when we go to karaoke. i also do some covers at youtube but too bad nobody views it, its not that my video sucks, just nobody would accidently watch it haha!
i think you should try to learn by yourself first. because learning from vocal class will be expensive. try brett manning program, i works like charm for me ^^ find at torrent site, DONT buy it haha. its call "Brett Manning Singing Success".
Thanks bro thumbup.gif
now, show me your youtube ;D
i will go and watch it and be inspired wink.gif
ryo_ken
post Apr 26 2012, 04:06 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(FenomX @ Apr 26 2012, 03:25 AM)
Thanks bro  thumbup.gif
now, show me your youtube ;D
i will go and watch it and be inspired wink.gif
hahahaa if you gonna try to learn by yourself, look for something like "vocal fry", "lip roll" , "tounge trill", then something about singing without strain and positioning your tounge. ahh dont forget about breathing exercises. well those things work well for me. but still i dont sing like bruno mars or adele. but at least i can sing and my friends cannot make fun of me so thats enough haha!

this videos like 1-2 years ago when i just start singing.

and these are a video project for my class and the other one i covered recently..

This post has been edited by ryo_ken: Apr 26 2012, 04:09 PM
izzyuke
post Apr 27 2012, 04:13 AM

734 posts

Izzy reporting in!
I demand siggy tag.
brownman90561495
post May 7 2012, 01:48 AM

963 posts

wow didn't notice there's such a thread!
Lazarox
post Aug 14 2012, 06:48 PM

[quote=kawa_e,Mar 17 2010, 08:55 AM]those people are god gifted smile.gif

I like singing too. I'm a soprano but I cant really hit those high notes always. Then, do any of you sound diff or have your own style when singing a song? Take american idols. When they sing, they dont usually sound like the original singer did. I'm really figuring that out. Is it you sound diff on certain notes because you cant emulate that singer to sing that high/low ?

[/quote]

Hi there. One of the problems of not being able to sing high notes is your co-ordination of your vocal cords/folds. Thore are the muscles to control the flips/breaks between passages. Passages, in this case, are the connections between chest, head and nasal tones. Nasal tone, regarded as the essential tool to connect smoothly between passages, is always ignored even by some major singers or teachers.

In terms of an unique stylistic approach in contrast to original songs, you will need to have basic knowledge in music arrangements. Let's say, Birthday Song, you know it too well. Can you interpret it in a combination style of R&B and Rock? I'm sure you could do it once you know what key elements are in both genres.

Usually, singers don't emulate. They sing, technically speaking, in different ways to present their unique voices. There are rigid steps to follow and work out in singing. It's just that it's not commonly known in Malaysia.

By the way, I'm a professional vocal coach. If you wanna know more about singing or music related things, I'll be glad to help.

Added on August 14, 2012, 7:01 pm[quote=Royaleague,May 11 2010, 01:02 PM]
my personal opinion as a vocalist is....
after i've done some survey in both teaching and learning...i realized that the range of our voice is actually decided on the day we are born...we can only extend the range if we train in the correct methods...many people think that "wow...he/she can sing so high....he/she can sing so good"....well...personally i think that a good vocalist is not how high he/she can sing...its how well he/she can manage her own range...everyone's voice is unique...u cant find people who have exactly the same voice...for people who have lower range or what..do not be upset cause as long as u know how to manage your voice..u can sing good too...i've many friends who are alto and basses....and they sing so good...even baritones and mezzo sopranos might sound very good if u train in the correct way....

no offense to the higher voice people...
happy.gif

Thanks for sharing your personal experiences in singing.

I agree with you, partially.

I was classically trained as a tenor voice. I struggled a lot when I tried to sing contemporarily and was having a really hard time to hold on to E1 on the piano. While I was in the States doing my music degree, I changed my singing approach to contemporary singing. And I havent struggled since then. In fact, my voice has evolved amazingly and is able to sing G2 on the piano, like Adam Lambert. Credits go to the perfect vocal coach in the States who happened to teach systematically and sing like Adam Lambert.

Worried not, I'm real. I'm currently coaching singers, giving workshops to professional singers and some major singing contestants.

Added on August 14, 2012, 7:07 pm[quote=Gravity,Sep 26 2008, 02:55 PM]

[/quote]

I'm very very thrilled you have the passion to fly across the world JUST to study with him. He's one of the knowledgeable vocal coaches I've ever known. Tell you what, I happened to study from one of his colleagues while I was in the States. If you currently are still interested in singing, you may stop by one of my schools in Damansara. I'm currently giving contemporary vocal lessons to some major music colleges and private students as well.

This post has been edited by Lazarox: Aug 14 2012, 07:07 PM
ElaineChewMeow
post Aug 26 2012, 02:01 PM

You forget what you have when you complaining what you don't
760 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 26 2008, 12:00 PM)
wave.gif

QUOTE(izzyuke @ Apr 27 2012, 04:13 AM)
Izzy reporting in!
I demand siggy tag.
Izzy~ you like to sing too?

QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ May 7 2012, 01:48 AM)
wow didn't notice there's such a thread!
wave.gif
Just noticed too! laugh.gif
lomowaterproof
post Aug 28 2012, 04:08 PM

72 posts

high pitch voice sound good only when they are pitched RIGHTLY.
and u don't have to be high pitch to sound good, sing in your own comfortable range first.
If you want to hit high pitch but in the end you sound like chicken, it's gonna suck also.
all in all, enjoy singing and keeping singing, not SCREAMING because it'll hurt you vocal cord.
pleasuresaurus
post Sep 5 2012, 11:52 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Guys, as long as there are singers here, I wanted to ask a question. This is mostly for songwriters but would like to hear the opinion of others too.

Do you make it a point to find out which key you sing best in and stick to that in your compositions? Reason I'm asking is that I play rhythm guitar and sing, and am usually tuned half a step down, drop C# (not sure if you guys can get me, but lets just say I play most my stuff in C#). Due to the nature of my tuning, I almost always write in that key of C#. Its starting to feel difficult reaching high notes, but the riffing on guitar sounds great though, which is the trade off.
Augustua
post Sep 7 2012, 02:11 PM

35 posts

Brett manning video only give tips and stuff. but you'll need to vocal teacher to guide you properly, just my 2 cent.
brownman90561495
post Sep 11 2012, 10:59 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Sep 5 2012, 11:52 AM)
Guys, as long as there are singers here, I wanted to ask a question. This is mostly for songwriters but would like to hear the opinion of others too. 

Do you make it a point to find out which key you sing best in and stick to that in your compositions? Reason I'm asking is that I play rhythm guitar and sing, and am usually tuned half a step down, drop C# (not sure if you guys can get me, but lets just say I play most my stuff in C#). Due to the nature of my tuning, I almost always write in that key of C#. Its starting to feel difficult reaching high notes,  but the riffing on guitar sounds great though, which is the trade off.
drop C#? wow that's quite low dude, rarely do i hear guitarist do that setup. lemme help you out on the explanation of that for non guitarists - drop C# is dropping the tune of the 6th and lowest string from E, which is the standard tune (meaning going 3 half notes down - E, D#, D then finally C#). but just correct me if i'm wrong smile.gif

well, the goal of art of creating music itself is simply sounding good to the ears, regardless of the pitch and vocal range. yes, riffing on guitars with a drop C# setting sounds good because of the lower frequencies and it actually allows you to reach the octaves from the 4th string (D3 and higher). but the vocals are more important - is that your natural range? does your voice sound best at that range? if so, at least at that point you have a good base point. but of course at some point of your songwriting, there will be a need to reach higher notes than usual (those high tenor notes around F4 and higher), perhaps for emphasis of the chorus parts or establishing a good bridge, or a +1 or +2 transposition going towards the coda, or simply a variation. in that sense, i would say you should try reaching those notes, those ones high enough to give you a good build up. most of my compositions are like that.

to answer your question - Do you make it a point to find out which key you sing best in and stick to that in your compositions? the thing in the setup for my band is i (the lead guitarist and backup vocals), along with my co-songwriter (which is the rhythm guitarist), do all the song writing and both of us are neither the lead vocalist. for my case, i have a slight higher vocal range than our lead vocalist. so there's always this part of the melody creation part when i do the chorus part, asking ourselves "would he able to hit those notes?". there are very few cases that we make minor adjustments to the pitch, but thankfully most of the time our vocalist tries his best to hit the notes as how we originally composed the songs, and he would sing them beautifully.

one of the most important things that i have learned from experience - don't let the vocals solely adjust for the instruments, or else you'll lose the natural beauty of your singer's voice. if it can't be avoided, at least have the voice and instruments meet halfway. but of course you can risk even a bit smile.gif

This post has been edited by brownman90561495: Sep 11 2012, 11:05 AM
pleasuresaurus
post Sep 11 2012, 02:01 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ Sep 11 2012, 10:59 AM)

Thanks for the input mate, that took a while to digest.

Yes u r right, the guitar is tuned half a step down, with the low E string dropped to C#.

To be honest, I've never really studied my singing all that much, and have never really consciously attempted to find my key. It never really mattered until lately, when I realise that by the end of the set, my voice would be spent and i have trouble nailing the higher registers.

I agree with the logic of achieving a compromise between vox and instrument. Since I write in C#, using the blues pentatonic scale more often than not, I tend to end up with songs that have a C# verse and a C# chorus. I realize that in order to create a good contrast between the verse and chorus, among other things, I would have to sing on a higher octave. This is where its starting to strain my voice.

I've half a mind to just go lower and play in drop C, but I doubt my bassist would like it laugh.gif

On a side note, being a self taught musician, I'm unfamiliar with the concept of D3, F4 etc. how does that work?

ElaineChewMeow
post Sep 11 2012, 03:02 PM

760 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Oct 11 2008, 12:03 PM)
yea, record your voice when u sing, then listen to the recording, and u might find it to be different when u hear yourself sing 'live'. I do find some mistake on myself when i hear my own voice on records, can improve next time, try it  smile.gif
i do... and i found my voice key are lower than i used to listen.
wonder if that is recorder's fault? laugh.gif

brownman90561495
post Sep 11 2012, 03:11 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Sep 11 2012, 02:01 PM)

you're welcome bro!

same here, i have been more of an instrumentalist (studied very basic of piano and note reading just for a few months when i was 6 years old, then self taught all the way including guitars) than being a vocalist. didn't care much about keys as long as i can sing the songs i used to love. just a few years ago i became aware of the registers and vocal range.

that's the exact principle that i have developed in my songwriting - creating the vocals on a higher octave to create contrast between the verse and chorus, but at times i tend to lean on the 5th of the key as a starting point rather than getting the octave, which works wonders for me. maybe you can try that on your upcoming songs smile.gif

yea i would agree to you that your bassist would like dropping further down to C. laugh.gif i myself wouldn't even like to go lower than D for the bassist, but i guess that's always a personal preference.

as for the numbered notes, that's basically how many octaves from the lowest in the piano (if you know how the keyboard structure works, this will be easy to understand). C4 is the middle C. check this out, maybe this will help - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C_%28musical_note%29 smile.gif

Added on September 11, 2012, 3:36 pm
QUOTE(ElaineChewMeow @ Sep 11 2012, 03:02 PM)
wonder if that is recorder's fault?  laugh.gif
i observe this too at times. there are several factors affecting this (but i am just basing this from experience and reading some materials so i may be wrong here):

warning: wall of texts, may cause for some noses to bleed laugh.gif

so to answer the question - if that is recorder's fault? yes, but it's not exactly a "fault". it's more like knowing your recorder more biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by brownman90561495: Sep 11 2012, 03:36 PM
sarcast
post Sep 11 2012, 03:48 PM

\^w^/
612 posts

QUOTE(ElaineChewMeow @ Sep 11 2012, 03:02 PM)
wonder if that is recorder's fault?  laugh.gif
try different kind of recorder.
i was shock when i listen to mine..
ElaineChewMeow
post Sep 11 2012, 03:54 PM

760 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 11 2012, 03:48 PM)
try different kind of recorder.
i was shock when i listen to mine..
i only use phone recorder. mellow.gif
i was shocked too... i can hear much fine sound when listen thru recorder, compare to directly thru the air straight to the ear, even some minor key changing that i not used to realize.

but my biggest problem is tend to follow the singer's style when i singing his/her song. sad.gif
i have no my own singing style.
brownman90561495
post Sep 11 2012, 07:10 PM

963 posts

sharing this to everyone smile.gif

http://www.bandtips.net/2011/07/8-band-vocalist-tips.html

Added on September 11, 2012, 7:12 pm
QUOTE(ElaineChewMeow @ Sep 11 2012, 03:54 PM)
i only use phone recorder. mellow.gif
i was shocked too... i can hear much fine sound when listen thru recorder, compare to directly thru the air straight to the ear, even some minor key changing that i not used to realize.

but my biggest problem is tend to follow the singer's style when i singing his/her song.  sad.gif
i have no my own singing style.

i think this is ok - copying someone's style of singing as long as you're not emulating his/her voice. in this way, you're developing your own style, with your own voice

This post has been edited by brownman90561495: Sep 11 2012, 07:12 PM
ElaineChewMeow
post Sep 12 2012, 10:08 PM

760 posts

QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ Sep 11 2012, 07:10 PM)
sharing this to everyone smile.gif

http://www.bandtips.net/2011/07/8-band-vocalist-tips.html

Added on September 11, 2012, 7:12 pm

i think this is ok - copying someone's style of singing as long as you're not emulating his/her voice. in this way, you're developing your own style, with your own voice
Thanks. Linked for further reference. thumbup.gif

I think another problem i having is, when i singing high pitch songs, my voice will be shaking if i continue to sing next songs without rest.

And my throat muscle feel tired too.

Is this consider normal?
brownman90561495
post Sep 13 2012, 02:09 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(ElaineChewMeow @ Sep 12 2012, 10:08 PM)
Thanks. Linked for further reference.  thumbup.gif

I think another problem i having is, when i singing high pitch songs, my voice will be shaking if i continue to sing next songs without rest.

And my throat muscle feel tired too.

Is this consider normal?
ya i think this is normal for people who don't regularly sing and regularly exercise their vocal chords. if you sing regularly, well maybe they're something wrong with your technique.

the key point there is having your vocal chords get used to getting strained the right way (NOT abusing), this will definitely improve your vocal stamina. i think that's also one of the points in my blog, but it's not that highlighted.
ElaineChewMeow
post Sep 13 2012, 02:15 PM

760 posts

QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ Sep 13 2012, 02:09 PM)
ya i think this is normal for people who don't regularly sing and regularly exercise their vocal chords. if you sing regularly, well maybe they're something wrong with your technique.

the key point there is having your vocal chords get used to getting strained the right way (NOT abusing), this will definitely improve your vocal stamina. i think that's also one of the points in my blog, but it's not that highlighted.
Well i don't sing regularly... maybe like the quote said, practise makes perfect? hmm.gif
I'll try to sing more regularly (even may annoyed my house-mates and neighbours.) biggrin.gif
pleasuresaurus
post Sep 13 2012, 02:35 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ Sep 11 2012, 03:11 PM)
This is useful stuff man, thanks. The theoretical stuff is gonna take a while to digest - one thing leads to another and I think I'm gonna have to have a long sit down session with a piano and guitar some time to make full sense of it.

But that whole starting at the 5th thing is an interesting idea, will give it a try.
brownman90561495
post Sep 13 2012, 02:47 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(ElaineChewMeow @ Sep 13 2012, 02:15 PM)
Well i don't sing regularly... maybe like the quote said, practise makes perfect?  hmm.gif
I'll try to sing more regularly (even may annoyed my house-mates and neighbours.)  biggrin.gif
try to hit your highs and lows (not necessarily exceed your limits, but you can do this when you're already comfortable with your limits). and as an optional addition, try to apply vibrato at your modal voice first (if you haven't been employing vibrato before). biggrin.gif

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Sep 13 2012, 02:35 PM)
This is useful stuff man, thanks. The theoretical stuff is gonna take a while to digest - one thing leads to another and I think I'm gonna have to have a long sit down session with a piano and guitar some time to make full sense of it.

But that whole starting at the 5th thing is an interesting idea, will give it a try.
welcome dude biggrin.gif yep correct, one leads to another. with a good enough musical IQ to get you going, this will be just easy for you, as long as you're reading and studying the right topic at the right time. i've seen you around way back as i started joining the forum - i'm pretty sure this will be easy for you to digest. thumbup.gif

btw, if you wanna hear my work with the chorus starting off the 5th, i can of course share them to you smile.gif
pleasuresaurus
post Sep 13 2012, 02:55 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ Sep 13 2012, 02:47 PM)
btw, if you wanna hear my work with the chorus starting off the 5th, i can of course share them to you smile.gif
By all means, plz do. Got links? biggrin.gif
brownman90561495
post Sep 13 2012, 03:06 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Sep 13 2012, 02:55 PM)
By all means, plz do. Got links?  biggrin.gif
here's the link bro:

http://www.reverbnation.com/play_now/12342843

title is sunshine, written some time last year. one of my best and most popular work in my early times of songwriting with my current band smile.gif though it's quite cheezy haha

written in key of A, the melody for the refrain seems tricky, but nailed the chorus at the 5th of the key (E 4th octave for the tenor vocalist). more highlighted in the instrumental when i got it transposed +2 at B, where the notes of the solo are just based from chorus, thus making the 5th and the first note of the solo F#. smile.gif enjoy!

few of my works are based on this principle too. biggrin.gif
pleasuresaurus
post Sep 13 2012, 03:39 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Alamak! It says the song is temporarily unavailable la mate. But the other tracks on your profile seem to work fine. Smile for Me has a nice ambient feel to it, nice.
brownman90561495
post Sep 13 2012, 03:48 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Sep 13 2012, 03:39 PM)
Alamak! It says the song is temporarily unavailable la mate. But the other tracks on your profile seem to work fine. Smile for Me has a nice ambient feel to it, nice.
crap. sorry about that bro, lemme check it again. but anyway if you can see the list of songs in our page, you should be able to play Sunshine directly.

the chorus of Smile For Me works just the same anyway smile.gif composed in the key of Bb, the chorus starts off with F4.

Added on September 13, 2012, 3:50 pmhmmm thinking of creating a new songwriters/composers thread. hmm.gif there isn't really a singular and general thread for songwriters (or was i not looking hard enough) lol

This post has been edited by brownman90561495: Sep 13 2012, 03:50 PM
ElaineChewMeow
post Sep 13 2012, 04:38 PM

760 posts

QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ Sep 13 2012, 02:47 PM)
try to hit your highs and lows (not necessarily exceed your limits, but you can do this when you're already comfortable with your limits). and as an optional addition, try to apply vibrato at your modal voice first (if you haven't been employing vibrato before). biggrin.gif
welcome dude biggrin.gif yep correct, one leads to another. with a good enough musical IQ to get you going, this will be just easy for you, as long as you're reading and studying the right topic at the right time. i've seen you around way back as i started joining the forum - i'm pretty sure this will be easy for you to digest.  thumbup.gif

I would love to add vibrator to my voice to it sounds beautiful.
Somehow i feel unnatural when i try it.

I guess is technique problem.
As i saw people doing it like the sound come out from diaphragm, but mine seems just vibrating my jaw only. blink.gif

Hope we are talking about the same thing? blink.gif
brownman90561495
post Sep 13 2012, 04:47 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(ElaineChewMeow @ Sep 13 2012, 04:38 PM)
I would love to add vibrator to my voice to it sounds beautiful.
Somehow i feel unnatural when i try it.

I guess is technique problem.
As i saw people doing it like the sound come out from diaphragm, but mine seems just vibrating my jaw only.  blink.gif

Hope we are talking about the same thing?  blink.gif
we have the same problem sad.gif my vibrato isn't natural, it sounds mechanical.

yes it's the technique. i do mine from my throat, which isn't really the correct thing to do. i once joined this choir, the choir master told me that it should be done from the diaphragm. but i was too busy to continue with the choir to actually learn the technique. the lead vocalist of my band does it very well and very naturally.

and i want to learn this the correct way.

guise, any inputs on this?
ElaineChewMeow
post Sep 19 2012, 10:32 PM

760 posts

i found this thread after surfing thru few pages in this this section. it is similar topic to this thread, http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2438629
pleasuresaurus
post Sep 19 2012, 10:39 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

I'm guilty of using my throat as well, although to be honest I really can't be bothered to learn a completely new technique - learning curve is a b*tch hehehe.

From what I've seen, there are at least 3 ways in which the human body can produce vocal vibrato. Mouth, throat, diaphragm. I picked up up throat style DIY - was trying to sing the intro to Highway Star and it suddenly came to me hehehe. I think all these require practice only, sure can do one. Only have to rajin la.
slash-ed
post Sep 20 2012, 04:32 AM

251 posts

I use different type of vibrato depending on which part of my range I'm singing in.
brownman90561495
post Sep 20 2012, 06:18 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Sep 19 2012, 10:39 PM)
I'm guilty of using my throat as well, although to be honest I really can't be bothered to learn a completely new technique - learning curve is a b*tch hehehe.

From what I've seen, there are at least 3 ways in which the human body can produce vocal vibrato. Mouth, throat, diaphragm. I picked up up throat style DIY - was trying to sing the intro to Highway Star and it suddenly came to me hehehe. I think all these require practice only, sure can do one. Only have to rajin la.
i think there are a number of mainstream pop and rock singers are guilty of the same. a lot of those naturally talented vocalists had no formal training, picked up their own style, and whatever technique/s it is they picked up, it worked for them. biggrin.gif

and ya, learning curve is a b*tch. a tough one laugh.gif my own vibrato took awhile for i learned how to do it.
Kokonuht
post Nov 4 2012, 02:00 AM

27 posts

Hey guys! I've read some posts in front and I noticed people mentioned Brett Manning.

I personally have had lessons from Brett Manning's associate, Jesse Nemitz.

I would have to say it pretty much wasted my RM 900. Two lessons. I'm that hardcore on singing lol. Eitherway, lucky me I didn't BUY the program. I downloaded it online lol. So many people uploading it onto the internet =\ A google search = done.

I don't mean to bash on Singing Success or rather it's source, Speech Level Singing which originated from Seth Riggs. Not only did it not give me range, tone or vibrato, it wasted my efforts and money and time. -.-" To be honest I was VERY disappointed having high hopes. However, it DID allow me to find my head voice.

Singing Success does have some incorrect technique. In singing, there are plenty of schools of singing. The main school that are the real deals, are those that originated from bel canto.

However, Singing Success' approach to singing DOES help some people. For me, it doesn't. Everyone is different wink.gif. Though speech-level singing which focuses on bringing your head voice down to your chest voice and not building up your chest voice will really make you lose your upper-mid belting sound and you'll have more of a pop/light/RnB sound. Want a big sound? No way.

You say they have students like Hayley Williams? Hayley Williams had that voice before Singing Success.

A good example to people who lose their power through Speech level singing is Michael Jackson. Listen to MJ's early songs (when he was young) Then listen to his current ones. He did lose a LOT of power. It was sad :|. MJ took lessons from Seth Riggs, the original founder of SLS (speech-level singing)

I found Ken Tamplin after failing on Singing Success. It literally helped me a LOT. My range? I can go up to a A5 / B5. Properly connecting from Chest voice to head voice. I'm still learning to develop a mixed voice which gives the more Pop kind of sound.

I'm not advertising Ken Tamplin Vocal Academy, but rather, I have been through the pain of about 6 months of wasting time every single day doing Singing Success and I don't think anyone should feel that way lol. If you're gonna invest on some singing program, do it at KTVA. It's really worth every single cent. It's a bit costly, I'd have to say. But worth it. 100% money back guarantee if it doesn't work for you.

I got the gold bundle which is like roughly RM 2k? @__@" But super worth it. Considering you get 3 free lessons with Ken Tamplin as well which cost like RM 590 each -.-"

Ken also has free webinars from time to time, heck, while typing this I'm in one LOL. He's talking about hyper glottal compression. So yeah.

Here's the website : http://kentamplinvocalacademy.com/
Forums : http://kentamplinvocalacademy.com/forum/
(I'm known as Kokonuhtz on the forums, am a Moderator there)

You can google Ken Tamplin and see all his albums, records etc etc. Youtube him and you can see him teaching other people. All the real deal.

Feel free to ask me questions! This is my review on KTVA btw :
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2557316&hl=

Thanks for your time XD
arerife
post Nov 5 2012, 08:24 PM

so far away
1,173 posts

Just to ask, who here love avenged sevenfold and can sing avenged sevenfold very well.
Love to jamming with great vocal.
Always poor vocalist spotted.

psyche12
post Dec 2 2012, 09:47 PM

Nice thread. I cannot consider myself as a pro though as i do not have any formal voice lessons before. But i do sing on weddings, parties and bars. Since I love to sing I just practice daily, join chorale groups and guest on bands.

Practice. Vocalize. Practice.
ElaineChewMeow
post Dec 3 2012, 04:13 PM

760 posts

QUOTE(psyche12 @ Dec 2 2012, 09:47 PM)
Nice thread. I cannot consider myself as a pro though as i do not have any formal voice lessons before. But i do sing on weddings, parties and bars. Since I love to sing I just practice daily, join chorale groups and guest on bands.

You sing many types of song or certain types only?
brownman90561495
post Dec 3 2012, 04:38 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(psyche12 @ Dec 2 2012, 09:47 PM)

sure love to jam with you someday biggrin.gif
psyche12
post Dec 10 2012, 11:56 AM

QUOTE(ElaineChewMeow @ Dec 3 2012, 04:13 PM)
You sing many types of song or certain types only?
Hello! I do not have a specific genre. From R&B to alternative. From love songs to pop rock. Evanesence, Adele, The Jets, etc. smile.gif

Added on December 10, 2012, 11:57 am
QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ Dec 3 2012, 04:38 PM)
sure love to jam with you someday biggrin.gif
I'd be glad to. smile.gif

This post has been edited by psyche12: Dec 10 2012, 11:57 AM
Lia Carinthia
post Dec 12 2012, 06:08 PM

20 posts

Hallo people!

I love to sing! A LOT. Singing is always the one thing that can get my mind clear off stuffs which have been bothering me.

I know nothing about those technical terms. I sing just because I love to sing. I've always longed for a chance to be able to perform with a live band, that is when I can feel the music flows through me. Awesome feeling.
pleasuresaurus
post Dec 12 2012, 11:42 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(Lia Carinthia @ Dec 12 2012, 06:08 PM)
Hallo people!

I love to sing! A LOT. Singing is always the one thing that can get my mind clear off stuffs which have been bothering me.

I know nothing about those technical terms. I sing just because I love to sing. I've always longed for a chance to be able to perform with a live band, that is when I can feel the music flows through me. Awesome feeling.
Ever tried singing with some friends in a band? Or karaoke even? Good way to start.

This post has been edited by pleasuresaurus: Dec 12 2012, 11:43 PM
Lia Carinthia
post Dec 13 2012, 12:26 AM

20 posts

Unfortunately, I don't have any friends who are into jamming. I do go for karaoke but it's just not the same as a live band. I went to a jazz live concert before, amazing! I really miss that kind of feeling.
pleasuresaurus
post Dec 13 2012, 01:01 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Yeah, I get u. Singing for a crowd is really something else. Singing for a crowd that sings back along with u, that's even better hehehe.

Post in the Bandmates & Band seek subthread la, ask around for ppl who are looking for a vocalist or sumthing. If ur in the Klang Valley area, sure got a lot of takers one.
brownman90561495
post Dec 13 2012, 11:13 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Dec 13 2012, 01:01 AM)
Yeah, I get u. Singing for a crowd is really something else. Singing for a crowd that sings back along with u, that's even better hehehe.
+1

we get this at times, even when they sing our own originals along with us. it's a really nice and rewarding feeling.
pleasuresaurus
post Dec 13 2012, 01:12 PM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ Dec 13 2012, 11:13 AM)
+1

we get this at times, even when they sing our own originals along with us. it's a really nice and rewarding feeling.
Man, when they sing your originals with you....u know you've got it made rclxms.gif
Lia Carinthia
post Dec 13 2012, 09:13 PM

20 posts

Hahaha It's not about singing to the crowd. It's singing with the REAL music, because it's live band and that makes it awesome!
pleasuresaurus
post Dec 14 2012, 12:22 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

QUOTE(Lia Carinthia @ Dec 13 2012, 09:13 PM)
Hahaha It's not about singing to the crowd. It's singing with the REAL music, because it's live band and that makes it awesome!
doh.gif sayang, I think you've missed the whole point......
Lia Carinthia
post Dec 14 2012, 09:44 AM

20 posts

We just have different views. That's all. [:

Or may be it's just because I have not experienced it yet, so I don't understand the thrill. hahaha~
brownman90561495
post Dec 14 2012, 10:19 AM

963 posts

QUOTE(Lia Carinthia @ Dec 14 2012, 09:44 AM)
We just have different views. That's all. [:

Or may be it's just because I have not experienced it yet, so I don't understand the thrill. hahaha~
the whole thrill, in a nutshell, is connecting to the crowd. the rapport you establish with them smile.gif the music you make will always music, and it's just a part of the equation. the other part is how do you make your music go across the hall.

i think you will immediate notice this on your first try in singing for a crowd. the moment you go up the stage, even if you haven't sung your first note, the first thing you will look at is the crowd. biggrin.gif
Lia Carinthia
post Dec 14 2012, 02:33 PM

20 posts

Okey dokey lokey~!

Hopefully I'll get the opportunity to experience it soon! biggrin.gif
brownman90561495
post Dec 14 2012, 03:20 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(Lia Carinthia @ Dec 14 2012, 02:33 PM)
Okey dokey lokey~!

Hopefully I'll get the opportunity to experience it soon! biggrin.gif
you will have your chance soon smile.gif

the next time i go to KL, i'll hunt you down biggrin.gif
Lia Carinthia
post Dec 14 2012, 03:27 PM

20 posts

I won't be around KL for too long. tongue.gif
brownman90561495
post Dec 14 2012, 03:29 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(Lia Carinthia @ Dec 14 2012, 03:27 PM)
I won't be around KL for too long. tongue.gif
ohhh why so? where you headed?
alan_horohoro
post Dec 29 2012, 05:47 PM

Hi would like to check if you guys know any Classical vocal classes (like opera singing) around.
Am staying Kepong, office in PJ.
Anywhere not so far is fine.

Heard there's one in SS2?
chiucheng
post Jan 3 2013, 07:54 PM

398 posts

Hey... Newbie reporting on duty! tongue.gif
elpis
post Sep 11 2013, 01:56 AM

28 posts

Anyone know where can I get singing lessons? Specifically Italian Opera

Thanks!

This post has been edited by elpis: Sep 11 2013, 01:56 AM
CloudDave
post Sep 24 2013, 10:21 AM

174 posts

Wow, thread is dead? Wish there were more people doing vocalist around my area. Almost all are KL-ites. tongue.gif
elainehoh
post Oct 22 2013, 04:09 PM

60 posts

any pro-vocalist can give me some guidance? My falsetto is very very weak..most of the time, when i try to reach higher pitch, there will be no voice coming out but instead the air is coming out from diaphragm. why is this happened? btw I still need 3 keys higher in order for me to reach 2 octave.. I'm learning contemporary vocal..
brownman90561495
post Oct 25 2013, 08:13 PM

963 posts

QUOTE(elainehoh @ Oct 22 2013, 04:09 PM)
any pro-vocalist can give me some guidance? My falsetto is very very weak..most of the time, when i try to reach higher pitch, there will be no voice coming out but instead the air is coming out from diaphragm. why is this happened? btw I still need 3 keys higher in order for me to reach 2 octave.. I'm learning contemporary vocal..
i'm no pro vocalist. but maybe you're using your whistle register?

would be better if we see how you do it, but it would be too much of a hassle.
elainehoh
post Oct 28 2013, 08:33 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ Oct 25 2013, 08:13 PM)
i'm no pro vocalist. but maybe you're using your whistle register?

would be better if we see how you do it, but it would be too much of a hassle.
thanks for your suggestion. i'll try to figure it out. tongue.gif

tiff0121
post Nov 26 2013, 10:20 AM

I am a pop vocal teacher with 7 years of teaching experience, providing one-to-one vocal guidance.

Working on English repertoire, however classes can be conducted in English, Mandarin or Cantonese.

We also provide wedding/function live band service.

PM me for more details. smile.gif

Career26
post May 26 2018, 01:43 PM

289 posts

I am part of an amateur choir in KL and we will be participating in a few local and international competition/performance cum workshops - the upcoming one is in July in Bali.

Is there anyone here who are or happen to know any true bass singers who would be keen to join our choir? Please PM me for more details. It's a little urgent and we truly need someone who can commit to all rehearsals and able to sight read (read musical notes).

brownman90561495
post May 28 2018, 03:22 PM

963 posts

wow, i didnt even remember commenting in this thread from way back in 2012 laugh.gif

QUOTE(Career26 @ May 26 2018, 01:43 PM)
I am part of an amateur choir in KL and we will be participating in a few local and international competition/performance cum workshops - the upcoming one is in July in Bali.

Is there anyone here who are or happen to know any true bass singers who would be keen to join our choir? Please PM me for more details. It's a little urgent and we truly need someone who can commit to all rehearsals and able to sight read (read musical notes).

checking my contacts if anyone who fits the bill would be interested. i'll let you know. smile.gif
sofiazee
post Sep 19 2018, 09:28 PM

This is quite an inactive thread 😅 anyway just trying my luck here. Any recommendations on vocal lessons in *kota kinabalu* area? I'm looking to learn pop and perhaps some jazz smile.gif

0.0722sec    1.11    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:29 AM