GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

nghj
post Aug 13 2009, 06:54 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 13 2009, 06:11 PM)
Thanks a lot.  Okay, I can give the small lanes a miss - so when I set it to Pedestrian, it would ignore those one-way street directions and stuff?  Really for walking?
if u are a pedestrian, it wouldnt matter is a street is one way or not, would it?

This post has been edited by nghj: Aug 13 2009, 06:54 PM
nghj
post Aug 18 2009, 05:11 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(xjukie @ Aug 15 2009, 11:26 AM)
How do i check my malsingmaps Version? and how do i download the latest map and update in on my HP?
tq

I download from the link given at first post by chicaman, rename the .IMG file into gmauspp.img ... then paste it in ROOT Garmin directory in my HP.
When i open the Garmin XT apps, it sayd can't unlock maps with unit id XXXX.
Damn? how to solve this?
as of today,
MSM latest is V3.06
MFM latest is V1.71
nghj
post Aug 19 2009, 06:18 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(cactuscch @ Aug 19 2009, 09:23 AM)
I've installed Garmin Mobile XT with the latest Malsingmaps and Malfreemaps successfully on N82. Want to ask if I want to stop using Malsingmaps and select Malfreemaps. How do I do that?

I go to
Manage my Data > Map sets > I see 2 maps. There is only 2 options to choose from (MapSource , Back). How to select only 1 map?

When I click on MapSource,
I see Malfreemaps v1.71, MFM POI v1.71, MFM Road POI v1.71, MSM MYSG v3.05, MSM Borneo 3.06, Malsingmaps All in one v3.06G [advan].
u can check/uncheck the map u wanna show/hide

Added on August 19, 2009, 6:20 pm
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 19 2009, 12:15 PM)
A dedicated device is always better. By using dedicated GPS device, you can save on h/p battery. The GPS device can connect to car charger. Bigger screen. Dedicated chipset, faster locking (without A-GPS). More powerful processor, faster map scrolling and feedback.

You can imagine it is similiar using h/p with camera as compared to dedicated digital camera like Canon 1000D.
u can also get a car charger for phone, so battery is not an issue.
nowadays handphones with touchscreen also have a big screen, unlike phones like n95, etc.
but the main thing really is cost. those with smartphones (with gps) can get a satnav for free, instead of paying of a dedicated device which lacks dedicated usage.

This post has been edited by nghj: Aug 19 2009, 06:22 PM
nghj
post Aug 20 2009, 01:17 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Aug 20 2009, 02:27 AM)
anyway tis is end o the line for GMXT. 5.00.50 is last version to be released liao.

whoever got bugs especially the nokia 5800xm users, u ownself chap sang la. no more tech suppork and no more new version liao. end of the line for GMXT  liao.

lucky i prepared to jump ship to another navigator liao.
wat navigator is that so geng?
nghj
post Aug 20 2009, 04:42 PM

1,790 posts

since n97 got keypad and keyboard somemore, cant they use the gmxt version which is not for touch? at least that should have less bugs.
nghj
post Aug 20 2009, 08:18 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Aug 20 2009, 06:30 PM)
gmxt got for touch and no touch ? how come i dunno wan
5800 and n97 is touch the screen to control/type/navigate lor.
n95, n82 use keypad lor (the real gmxt meant for s60 v2/v3)
nghj
post Aug 21 2009, 07:24 AM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Aug 20 2009, 10:32 PM)
why my 5800 gps in perak so week one? any idea?
weak how?
i had no problem navigating from kellie's castle -> cave temples -> old town up till taiping and penang then back again.
nghj
post Aug 21 2009, 05:58 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Aug 21 2009, 02:48 PM)
xjunkie if u dunno it rains everyday, and huge clouds causes rain and huge clouds called cumulo nimbus clouds weakens satellite transmission, especially  during hungry ghost festival, u shudnt be lecturing me.

dunno who useless now.
hahaha, there's an explanation for everything, even ghost and paranormal.
nghj
post Aug 23 2009, 09:08 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Aug 23 2009, 12:21 PM)
Hi, i know nothing of gps, onli that garmin is very popular cos it uses malsingmaps.

Is it other brands of gps cannot use malsingmaps ?
besides malsingmaps, malfreemaps are also very popular.
malfreemaps can be used in garmin and papago devices.
nghj
post Aug 24 2009, 03:42 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Aug 24 2009, 01:33 PM)
recently i found garminXT 5.00.60

v5.00.60:
- To improve the horizontal to vertical NOKIA 5800 screen problem
- NOKIA 5800 to improve the horizontal screen open "turn preview" issue
- To improve the NOKIA 5800 in the evening when the text mode

but still not official.. since in the garmin.com still show that v5.00.50 is the latest version
those who wanna try it can download from garmin site

http://download.garmin.com/tw/download/TW_...0_60_S60_TW.exe

it's taiwan version (TWN) got chinese language.
nghj
post Aug 25 2009, 08:02 AM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Aug 24 2009, 05:34 PM)
Wanna ask u guys something.  I'm using MFM MY maps.  I'll be travelling to another country later (let's say AB), and I want to use GPS there.  Would this work:

1)  put AB's map as another name in Garmin folder, eg. GMAPSUPP_ab.IMG
2)  fly to AB
3)  rename GMAPSUPP.IMG (MY map) to GMAPSUPP_my.IMG
4)  rename GMAPSUPP_ab.IMG to GMAPSUPP.IMG

Also, how do I verify that the AB map is working properly before going there?  If I replace MY map with AB map here, would the map show in Garmin?  I tried "browse map" but it's blank.

u can verify its working by using the AB map first. while u in malaysia, manually browse the map to AB location and check that all the locations and roads are visible. technically, as long as u put the map that u want to use as gmapsupp.img, it should work. unless the map is not free and has a keycode, that's a different story.

Added on August 25, 2009, 8:04 am
QUOTE(cactuscch @ Aug 24 2009, 10:32 PM)
Have you guys install both MSM & MFM in GMobile XT?

I found something weird that both maps will cause conflict. My experience is I go to mapsets to disable MSM (untick the box), this will cause MFM to lose some roads, and fail to calculate my destination. Strangely, if I go E:\Garmin to rename MSM, then MFM will function very well.

Initially I thought that both maps can complement each other i.e when MSM lacks some roads, then MFM will show up but I was wrong.

Loves MFM custom POI on the map but the refresh rate is slower. But i heard MSM is more detail in Klang Valley. Which one to choose?

Is there any easier way to have both map without having to manually rename the map?
just stick to MFM (for klang valley) and contribute any missing POI back to MFM forum.
if u want a good map, besides using, u must contribute back also.

This post has been edited by nghj: Aug 25 2009, 08:04 AM
nghj
post Aug 25 2009, 09:56 AM

1,790 posts

i guess the gps accuracy is not good enuf wen two roads in the opposite direction are side by side to each other. i had times when i started a new route but the gps started my route on the opposite lane. no choice but to let it recalc the route again.

if u are having problems with the recalc in traffic very often (and annoyed), u can try changing the options of the recalc under settings, either to 'prompted' or 'off'
nghj
post Aug 25 2009, 11:00 AM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(cactuscch @ Aug 25 2009, 10:10 AM)
You mean Garmin will still do the recalc but won't say it out loud when I select 'off' or 'prompt'.

Let say if I really go the wrong way like missing a turn, will it say it out loud to guide me back to the right direction or just keep quite and let me go the wrong way?
prompt will ask u if u want to recalc.
off, if not mistaken, it wont recalc, so if u miss, the routing still continue. then u sendiri pandai pandai get back on track lah.
nghj
post Aug 25 2009, 05:15 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(cactuscch @ Aug 25 2009, 04:56 PM)
I did not turn on AGPS at all (save few cents....haha). Without AGPS still can connect quite fast, usually stand in the open area 30 seconds can lock satellite already. 

Sorry what is re-rad???

Aiya, want to save money that's why i bought N82 (double as mp3 player, digital camera, GPS, ebook reader & phone).
re-rad= re-radiating antenna for gps units, something like an external antenna extension.
nghj
post Sep 3 2009, 01:48 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(evolutionchin @ Sep 1 2009, 10:02 PM)
would like to know how to set the garmin so that it will not bring me to the highway?

Would like to try travel from ipoh to kedah without using highway.. lolz
u can set at:

tools > settings > routing > avoidance setup > check [3] toll roads
nghj
post Sep 4 2009, 08:19 AM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(evolutionchin @ Sep 3 2009, 10:33 PM)
Thanks guy for the information on aviod tolls..

Another questions i have is,
I got a lot of icons that used by garmin appear in my N82 gallery..
How should i remove it ah?
browse ur garmin folder using windows, then set properties of the files/icons that u see to 'hidden'.

This post has been edited by nghj: Sep 4 2009, 08:22 AM
nghj
post Sep 4 2009, 05:06 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(NoobPro70 @ Sep 4 2009, 02:27 PM)
what your mean by refresh rate ?

Added on September 4, 2009, 2:30 pm
so u mean trick it or left it ?
tick, select, choose, etc
nghj
post Sep 4 2009, 09:32 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(tonYe @ Sep 4 2009, 09:20 PM)
hey guys, let's say if i get the 5630xm, will be able to use gps like 5800xm?
nokia phones must have symbian v3 or v5 with built-in gps to use.
nghj
post Sep 4 2009, 09:38 PM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 4 2009, 09:34 PM)
Thats in correct even the phone do not have GPS build in u can always connect to a bluetooth GPS
well, its partial incorrect but he was asking 'like 5800xm' so the answer is actually a no.

nghj
post Sep 5 2009, 09:33 AM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(taijepang @ Sep 5 2009, 01:34 AM)
i have nokia E61i, and there is no built-in GPS.
so, what type of GPS external should i use to?
you can try mobile phone section at garage sales,
search for 'bluetooth gos receiver'

0.0526sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:37 AM