GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

cucubud
post Dec 25 2008, 09:18 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

After finished installing all those files, I noticed there are some icons created in the Gallery togoehter with the photos. Can I delete all those icons? Will it affect during navigation?
cucubud
post Dec 25 2008, 02:55 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Dec 25 2008, 10:42 AM)
Delete all the

Set those files below to hidden

MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60\Animation.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60\Splash.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60_TTF\Animation.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\S60_TTF\Splash.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\UIQ\Animation.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Apps\Symbian\BIN\UIQ\Splash.MBM
MemoryCard:\Garmin\Help\EN\ *set all image in the folder to hidden*
MemoryCard:\Garmin\JPEG\ *set all files hidden*

delete all _PAibTN folder in garmin, open 1 by 1 to delete them in each folder~
May I know Delete all the ?what? files?

If I don't set all those files as hidden files, what will happen? Is it to prevent us to accidently delete them?
cucubud
post Dec 26 2008, 07:56 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Dec 26 2008, 04:57 PM)
If not mistaken different region of map has different file name, GMAPSUPP.IMG is for asian region if not mistaken.
For me, I use shorter distance.

But if I dont know how to go a place, whichever way can bring me there is still ok with me since I am using NGV, driving further with NGV is cheap whistling.gif
Read the FAQ in first page.
Turn on ur AGPS if u want to use it, but for me, I prefer to use without AGPS.

First page got the steps to turn on/off AGPS smile.gif
If u don see them, then ignore them smile.gif
Thank you sifu. thumbup.gif
cucubud
post Jan 6 2009, 08:22 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(SerioseCat @ Jan 4 2009, 01:48 PM)
and does anybody know where to get more car icons? im sure its just some copy paste action into the memory card folder.  I only have arrow, luxury car, kembara-like car, and monster truck, and they are all blue lol.
Where to get the car icon? I only have a blue triangle sad.gif
cucubud
post Jan 6 2009, 07:25 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(myren25 @ Jan 6 2009, 09:51 AM)
1. http://www8.garmin.com/vehicles/bundles/allvehicles.html

2. click on download

3. after dl create a "Vehicle" folder in ur mobile garmin folder.

4. throw all the CARRR inside the "Vehicle" folder..

5. start garmin...

6. setting -> Map -> vehicle (change here)

mine is PIZZA...pizza pizza showing the direction  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Thank you very much. thumbup.gif
cucubud
post Jan 15 2009, 10:32 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Jan 15 2009, 01:45 PM)
want to ask...how to hav 2 map in garmin mobile XT?
Garmin only look at the file gmapsupp.img
You can put in many maps, but the other maps have to be in a different name.
Eg: gmapsuppmsm.img or gmapsuppmfm.img

cucubud
post Jan 16 2009, 08:25 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Jan 15 2009, 10:51 PM)
meaning that if i want to use msm i need to rename msm map to gmapsupp.img?

and then when want to to use mfm map, rename it to gmapsupp.img?
Yes, this is what I am doing now.

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Jan 15 2009, 10:51 PM)
my garmin 10x comes with a in-car charger onli.

what if i want to change the unit at home, what should i do?
I am not sure what you mean.
Please explain more.
cucubud
post Jan 16 2009, 02:23 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Jan 16 2009, 09:13 AM)
i'm using garmin mobile 10x, and pair with SE p1i for GPS navigation.

garmin 10x is a standalone bluetooth GPS receiver, rite? then i'll need to recharge the GPS battery...but then inside the package of garmin 10x, they only provide 1 unit of in-car 12v charger(which we plug it into the ciggratte hole.

what if i want to charge the 10x at home, where can i buy the charger? that 1 can plug into our house power cord..

hope u guys can understand what i want to said...sorry for the poor english..haha
Haha in your earlier post, you mentioned you want to change the unit at home.
Now I know you want to charge the unit at home. smile.gif
Why don't you just go and buy an adapter that has an output of 12V dc and xAmp (this depends on your garmin 10x is rated how many Amps).
cucubud
post Jan 16 2009, 05:57 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Jan 16 2009, 04:56 PM)
meaning 2 maps will combine? or need to switch?  icon_question.gif
Need to switch. Can only use either one map.
cucubud
post Jan 21 2009, 11:32 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(Slekerz @ Jan 20 2009, 09:59 PM)
Ia have install garmin XT and virtual keys at my nokia 5800, I also have download free malaysia maps and unlock code, but my nokia  difficult to lock to gps device, can you guys help me out, thanks
You should first try it outdoor under bright sunlight (clear sky). You should locked on with 3 minutes. If after 5 minutes, still cannot log on, then something is wrong.

QUOTE(stalkie @ Jan 21 2009, 09:11 AM)
Could we download maps from other country? Is there a website for it?
Yes, you can download maps from other countries. You have to search for them. Try Google.
cucubud
post Jan 21 2009, 12:58 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(stalkie @ Jan 21 2009, 11:39 AM)
Thanks for the reply... just want to make sure that it can be done, by the way... is it straight forward to download and load it to memory for it to run? Still thinking of getting 1 GPS...

Anyone use it for traveling not just for their cars?
It depends on how they provide you the map file. If the file name is gmapsupp.img then you can straight away copy to your Garmin folder. Before that, better to rename the current gmapsupp.img to another name first so that when you return to Malaysia, you can use back that map.
cucubud
post Feb 4 2009, 12:09 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

Is your AGPS set to ON?
cucubud
post Feb 4 2009, 09:32 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(jojo_g2 @ Feb 4 2009, 05:50 PM)
OFF
If AGPS is set to OFF, then don't know what is sending out and receiving data.
cucubud
post Feb 6 2009, 05:59 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

You need to go to Tools, Settings, System, Remote GPS and select Use Attached/Built-in GPS.
cucubud
post Feb 6 2009, 06:10 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

If you have done it the right way, there is an option for you to choose an External GPS device or Built-in GPS device.
The default is External GPS device.
cucubud
post Feb 6 2009, 06:16 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

What I mean is the authorised way to install Garmin onto your phone.

cucubud
post Feb 6 2009, 06:25 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

You can try. Not sure it will work.
cucubud
post Feb 17 2009, 08:10 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

I noticed some posts were disappeared from this thread.

Someone mentioned that we can have two maps in the Garmin folder. Malsingmap and Malfreemap.
Malsingmap - Gmapsupp.img
Malfreemap - Gmapsup2.img

When these two maps put in the Garmin folder, how does Garmin know which map to use?
Is there a setting where we can select which map to use?
cucubud
post Feb 17 2009, 06:13 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 17 2009, 01:40 PM)
MFM v1.42 + topo map on N82 v31 with GMXT 5.00.20 testing with Full POI and roads map. Very lag and slow compared to MSM v2.30. I already reach traffic light, and the graphics is still processing and showing me moving 50-100 towards the traffic light.  doh.gif  Or, I'm at highway and already pass an interchange, it still shows me driving towards the interchange.

Will keep monitor.
Did you install the additional POI in the POI folder?
If yes, try again without those POI.
cucubud
post Feb 18 2009, 12:39 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

Use method 3.

3. hddd°mm'ss.s"

0.0273sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:18 PM