GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

cucubud
post Feb 18 2009, 12:57 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

Why don't you just give them the address or the name of the place?

cucubud
post Feb 20 2009, 04:23 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 20 2009, 03:28 PM)
MFM I tick Full Road and POI (default ticked) during installation. Only the speed trap POI in POI folder which exists already since MSM.
hmm.gif

MFM = 67MB+
MSM = 37MB+
My MFM file is only 42MB. Not sure why your file is so big.
Did you select to generate the file for GMXT?

This post has been edited by cucubud: Feb 20 2009, 04:29 PM
cucubud
post Feb 23 2009, 12:19 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

ahhh, no wonder your file size is so big. You combined with MFM Topo map.
cucubud
post Feb 23 2009, 05:05 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Feb 23 2009, 02:50 PM)
Will slow down a lot on N82 ?  hmm.gif
That I am not sure. But I read that many users encountered slow when they add in the CPOI into the POI folder.
cucubud
post Feb 23 2009, 05:43 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

The problem was rectified.
You need to download the file again and run install.
The new one is 1.43a
cucubud
post Feb 25 2009, 09:57 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(bibbyGirl @ Feb 25 2009, 08:51 PM)
i can get 3bar green but all i see is a black map??

Cant even see my local map. Help!
Could it be your map is set to night mode?
Try setting it to Day mode.
cucubud
post Mar 1 2009, 02:57 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Mar 1 2009, 02:55 AM)
Hi guys .. newbie here .. i checked around and there is no newbie guide .. can some1 guide me to any good site to learn more about how GPS works in handphones ? Few things i want to know if u guys dun mind answering

1) Is it really accurate like those GPS navigator tat cos like 1k =.=
2) What is garmin XT or something like tat ? software or hardware ? need to pay ?
3) To use GPS in handphone .. do we need 3G connection ? Only MAXIS has 3g connection right ? And it's DAMN EXPENSIVE isn't it ? I asked before and i remember it was like 1c per kb or something .. then 1mb oredi 10bux ?!
4) and by GPS we all mean GPS navigator right ? as in if put in car .. it will move along with the map ?
1) Is it really accurate like those GPS navigator tat cos like 1k =.=
Those GPS devices that cost around 1K has quite high accuracy.

2) What is garmin XT or something like tat ? software or hardware ? need to pay ?
Garmin XT is a software. You need to buy the licence for your phone.

3) To use GPS in handphone .. do we need 3G connection ? Only MAXIS has 3g connection right ? And it's DAMN EXPENSIVE isn't it ? I asked before and i remember it was like 1c per kb or something .. then 1mb oredi 10bux ?!
Not all handphone has GPS. GPS do not need 3G connection.

4) and by GPS we all mean GPS navigator right ? as in if put in car .. it will move along with the map ?
GPS has two sections. One section is to show you where is your location. That means when you switch ON your GPS device, the satellites will detect your GPS device and tell you where you are.
The other section is navigation. This is where the GPS will tell you where to turn right and turn left to go to a destination.

cucubud
post Mar 3 2009, 08:14 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(apetah90 @ Mar 2 2009, 05:25 PM)
WUT DIFFER BTW MFM N MSM?
MFM = MalFreeMap
MSM = MalSingMap

One of the top guy left MSM to form MFM and create a new map for GPS users.
cucubud
post Mar 3 2009, 04:52 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 3 2009, 03:43 PM)
Hehe..abit of correction...not 2 POIs but 2 different contributions of different types..meaning if 1st submission is POIs the 2nd one probably error reporting. Otherwise more POIs (not 2..probably >5)  biggrin.gif ...I rejected lotsa fella submiiting minimum 2!  blush.gif
Wow, so difficult to get the Malsingmap. sad.gif
You reject so many people, that means you don't want people to use Malsingmap. hmm.gif
cucubud
post Mar 3 2009, 10:31 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 3 2009, 07:55 PM)
Dun say like dat-lah..Aspire probably asking from jerome thw mapper for Johor & SG..& he probably on good mode.  brows.gif Well I will chk 1st whether the POIs are duplicated or submitted b4..normally that's the case bcos lotsa newbies dun want to chk the latest maps whether the POI already in the maps..
How do you expect the newbies to check the POIs on the latest map when they don't have access to the latest map?
That is why they just submit 2 POIs hoping to get the unlock code for the latest map.

cucubud
post Mar 5 2009, 07:49 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 4 2009, 10:39 PM)
Well u can submit to MFM, faster update there  brows.gif
Haha you seems like discouraging new GPS users from using MSM. biggrin.gif

cucubud
post Mar 7 2009, 04:39 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Mar 7 2009, 01:06 PM)
btw a lot of ppl wondering how can they contribute the POI for malsingmaps if the map they give is the old one.. the answer is that actually there is an updated map that can be viewed only on the PC that is locked. So you need an app to view the latest map there and contribute..
Since they want to make it so difficult for newbies to use Malsingmap, many have chosen to use Malfreemap. That is why Malfreemap is getting more and more popular now.
cucubud
post Mar 10 2009, 07:57 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(AhNong @ Mar 10 2009, 01:45 AM)
*whoops, didnt see antyong replied to you already.
antyong is here?
cucubud
post Mar 21 2009, 08:09 AM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Mar 20 2009, 11:21 PM)
i tested it myself and it is not working on my side when i copy to my 8GB card~
When I upgraded to a 8GB card, I simply copy everything from the 2GB card to the 8GB card.
All applications work perfectly. Panoman, Dictionary, Garmin etc working good.
cucubud
post Mar 31 2009, 03:55 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

After Setting, General is the first tab.
Cannot be your N82 has no General tab.
Please go and try again.
cucubud
post Apr 24 2009, 05:39 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

Ha ha ha if everybody's answer is Google, then no need to have a forum.

cucubud
post Mar 20 2010, 10:03 PM

Super Moderator
3,076 posts

Just replace the gmapsupp.img file only. Don't delete any other files.
This is what I do when I put in newer map.

0.0440sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:39 PM