6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

aspire2oo6
post Mar 20 2009, 05:20 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Mar 20 2009, 02:07 PM)
Not sure what you mean by cold/warm start, on device or GMXT or ?

What I do is, switch on phone, stand in the middle of the field, clear sky, no clouds, no trees, no building block.

Set either with/without A-GPS (test two times)
Run GMXT, sometimes it doesn't lock even in 5 minutes.
So, what I do is, exit GMXT.
Then run Nokia Maps.
Before Nokia Maps lock, I run GMXT again.
Then wait. Normally within <1 minute, Nokia Maps will lock and immediately GMXT will lock also.
Then I close Nokia Maps, and navigate with GMXT

I tried both in N82 (with integrated GPS) with A-GPS and without A-GPS. Both same results.

My conclusion: Intermittently, GMXT cannot lock onto satellites by itself even >5 min with my device, but once run Nokia Maps, it is like Assisted-GPS-Software to boost locking.

Added on March 20, 2009, 2:09 pmJust to add:
1) If Nokia Maps can lock, GMXT sure can lock
2) If Nokia Maps cannot lock, GMXT sure cannot lock no matter wait how long
3) If GMXT can lock, Nokia Map can lock ? -> Never happen before, always Nokia Maps lock first  laugh.gif
4) If GMXT cannot lock, Nokia Map = ? -> Never happen before also.
i dunno what you are talking about. Because i uninstall my nokia maps already

Cold start u open the GPS window u see no satelitte

Warm start is u connected to GPS before same day or previous day. It already have the GPS location of yesterday. So it can connect faster compare to COLD because it need to slowly find.

aspire2oo6
post Mar 20 2009, 10:43 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(AhNong @ Mar 20 2009, 06:38 PM)
@aspire - UNL files are NOT part of gmxt. kindly remove from yur 5800 thread. if one needs to use gmxt, one should just purchase the original, whereby the 1gb microsd card will be given together in a box with instructions. the microsd card itself hold the "key" to ONLY the version purchased.
any upgrades for versions require a re-purchase.

Original GMXT is sold via garmin's website @ USD 99.99

http://www8.garmin.com/mobile/mobilext/index.jsp
so lets my gps crash or memory card spoil i need repurchase garmin? Be logical la uncle. Even u upgrade you can use the same key back because U BOUGHT IT. So one person cant backup the key incase the memory card malfunction? Talk logic thank you.
aspire2oo6
post Mar 21 2009, 12:15 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Only u are discussing about warez not me. Then u blame me because u discuss on warez? What u wan me to do ? Like u said if u wanna discuss about warez take it else where. Dont create a blame then get other ppl in trouble. Good luck to u in your warez world.

Sorry if your english is bad please refer that thread u saw its stated please contact garmin authorize dealer. Let rephrase if u want to share warez take it else where thank you.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Mar 21 2009, 12:18 AM
aspire2oo6
post Mar 21 2009, 12:21 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Scroll up u start talking about warez not me. If u think that thread have problem please report it dont accuse.

And 5.00.40 is out since yesterday its old news. Thanks for sharing
aspire2oo6
post Mar 21 2009, 08:23 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(cucubud @ Mar 21 2009, 08:09 AM)
When I upgraded to a 8GB card, I simply copy everything from the 2GB card to the 8GB card.
All applications work perfectly.  Panoman, Dictionary, Garmin etc working good.
i did the same thing. Here for you to know install garmin using installer then copy the old garmin folder and overwrite it in the new location in your memory card. Walla all will work.

Reason yours doesnt work because in the hidden folder TSautorun,exe and a few more files u didnt copy. They are crucial files garmin needs
aspire2oo6
post Mar 22 2009, 06:46 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(bibbyGirl @ Mar 22 2009, 04:09 AM)
guys..

my current location is in sarawak. can i use garmin to find west malaysia location? let say a shop? or a street?

how to find?
POI = within 500KM

If west malaysia use addresses

Added on March 22, 2009, 6:47 am
QUOTE(qwe65 @ Mar 22 2009, 03:31 AM)
as long ur device got built in gps,u cn use garmin xt lol...
for your case yes u can go to www.garmin.com and check whether garmin support window mobile 6 or not.

Not all with build in gps can use garmin XT. Like SE u cant use it

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Mar 22 2009, 06:47 AM
aspire2oo6
post Mar 22 2009, 06:10 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

[quote=aremien,Mar 22 2009, 12:39 PM]

Added on March 22, 2009, 6:47 am

for your case yes u can go to www.garmin.com and check whether garmin support window mobile 6 or not.

Not all with build in gps can use garmin XT. Like SE u cant use it

[/quote]
actually, i already check it at garmin, it appears like this,

"Updates & Downloads

Garmin Mobile XT for Windows Mobile software version 5.00.20w as of September 25, 2008 "

my T3G now using the Windows Mobile 6.1..

any opinion?

[/quote]

means it support. Just install then. Remember license to use internal GPS is 99USD
aspire2oo6
post Apr 5 2009, 12:28 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(buntutman @ Apr 4 2009, 02:39 PM)
GPS under 5 minutes
AGPS under 1 minute

first time always takes longer.
not all units can capture when under obstruction.
N79 confirm can capture signal when indoors to a certain extent. probably give or take, 8 feet away from window or entrance. basement carparks can forget it.
E71 indoor can get 3 bar signal in my hse. When my 5800 XM is weak.

A-gps = 5 sec
GPS = depends on cold start or warm start.
aspire2oo6
post Apr 5 2009, 12:12 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(xavi5567 @ Apr 5 2009, 01:29 AM)
the A-gps under 5 sec is on edge,gps or wifi? mine phone is on edge so is it possible it will be slower oh?
should be 3G.
aspire2oo6
post Jul 7 2009, 08:43 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Jul 4 2009, 09:53 PM)
AFAIK .. both actually works.. but handle Garmin apps in 5800XM is easier..
it also locking fast with integrated gps..
plus.. it is touch screen.. so easy to handle icon_rolleyes.gif
thats kinda incorrect information. If u said lock time E71 anytime better.
I own both and did my own experiment. 5800 XM locks very slow.
aspire2oo6
post Sep 4 2009, 09:34 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Sep 4 2009, 09:32 PM)
nokia phones must have symbian v3 or v5 with built-in gps to use.
Thats in correct even the phone do not have GPS build in u can always connect to a bluetooth GPS
aspire2oo6
post Sep 5 2009, 11:17 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Sep 5 2009, 06:39 PM)
icon_question.gif
IMHO , asI know.. if we use A-GPS ...the connection wil be use..

i dont know what data is transferred.. and how much the data ...

but.. it will enable the phone to lock to the satellite using phone connection sweat.gif

so every time the phone lock to the satellite, the connection will be use.. and there will be charges..
sad.gif
Its call A-gps because it Assist GPS to get a faster lock. Usually about 10kb = 10cents.

It assist the GPS by providing all the current satelitte location so the GPS know where to lock. So even u have A-gps but bad signal u still cant get a fast lock
aspire2oo6
post Oct 18 2009, 01:44 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(NoobPro70 @ Oct 16 2009, 11:31 PM)
because your gamin signal not more than 3 bar !
as long as u have green bar even 1 it will still calculate route. So dont give ppl wrong information mate

Added on October 18, 2009, 1:46 pm
QUOTE(tommyloh85 @ Oct 17 2009, 01:13 AM)
Nope..the signal was full bar...however it very slow to  get the signal? How about yours?
Its very hard to get 5bars in the city. if u standing on top of a very high mountain maybe.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Oct 18 2009, 01:46 PM
aspire2oo6
post Oct 19 2009, 01:42 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Oct 19 2009, 01:39 PM)
GPS unit need at least lock to a 3 satellite before it can give you 3D location fix. I think that what our ppl means by 3 bar (in colour). After that the unit will only calculate the route for you.
Cold Start
The first time you turn you unit on each day it must perform a cold start. To perform a successful cold start it must have a current almanac, a reasonable expectation of its current location, and a reasonable idea of the current time. Given this data the only thing it needs in order to calculate a fix is the precise location of 3 (for a 2D fix) or 4 satellites (for a 3D fix). The data it needs is called ephemeris data and it is transmitted every 30 seconds by each satellite in the constellation. It takes 18 seconds to download this information because it is only being sent at 50 bps. Since your Garmin was turned on at a random time with respect to the satellite transmission it can take up to 36 seconds to download this information assuming no interruption. It would take longer if it had to be received in order but your Garmin is capable of reassembling the information even if it is received out of order. Once the data has been acquired a position can be computed and a lock obtained. Generally this can be accomplished in an amazing 45 seconds from the time you first turned on the unit. The 45 seconds includes the time to gather ephemeris data and the time to compute the fix. After a lock the data will be updated once a second.

Source http://www.gpsinformation.org/dale/gpsfix.htm
aspire2oo6
post Oct 19 2009, 01:48 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Deani_77 @ Oct 19 2009, 01:47 PM)
OK you need at least 4 satellite fix (4 colour bar) for 3D satellite fix but not 1 satellite fix (1 colour bar) as you mentioned earlier...
Anyway even i close my eyes i know garmin very well. My point is as long as there is green bars u can navigate even the 1 bar is GREEN.

I am not talking about the info section.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Oct 19 2009, 01:49 PM
aspire2oo6
post Oct 26 2009, 09:28 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Oct 26 2009, 09:27 AM)
Because i fail to search when i go there last week. sorry to say but malsingmap have it.
dont compare malsing and MFM.

MFM maps are more up to date compare to malsing
aspire2oo6
post Nov 15 2009, 03:39 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Nov 5 2009, 04:33 PM)
i wonder if i can fix this annoying feature in garmin xt:

it displays ok while the car is moving like in this pic:

then when the car is stop moving at the traffic light garmin suddenly change the view to this

if stop long enuf it will keep changing view to all crazy directions and confuse the hell out of me.

when the car starts moving it will go back to proper view direction. how to fix this thing. thank you.

my 5800 auto rotate display is disabled.
This is a normal thing for all garmin phones. Because the only way the gps know which direction u are going is when ure moving not stand still. I dont see a problem for this. It only happen when u stop. When ure moving it will be on track again.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Nov 15 2009, 03:44 PM
aspire2oo6
post Nov 22 2009, 12:59 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

I am using 5.05 its ok too no hang except the symbol bug
aspire2oo6
post Nov 22 2009, 01:45 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 22 2009, 01:34 PM)
Well I tested the V5.06 Taiwanese version as well...Still hang kei lah...

@Aspire, try to zoom-in fast-fast or drag fast-fast b4 the  "drawing" thigy disaapear..sure hang kei wan  biggrin.gif
version 5.03 and 5.04 always hang. After change to 5.05 is ok edi.

I know u zoom the map then u use cursor to move left and right entire garmin hang.
aspire2oo6
post Nov 22 2009, 01:54 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

Haha yea i am using the lite version. No worries i look forward for Nokia N900 hope they come out a good GPS software

Added on November 22, 2009, 1:55 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 20 2009, 08:06 PM)
wei who are u in MFM...macam kenal saja  hmm.gif  biggrin.gif
I also got annoy of the Map ID. Need to register need to post la tis and tat then the map somemore update so slow. Lucky MFM came out make it less hassle for everyone.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Nov 22 2009, 01:55 PM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0686sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:46 PM