GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Dec 28 2009, 02:55 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Dec 28 2009, 01:01 PM)
Ok, thx for the explanation.
Will try to get them to check it out in such a way.
By the way, i already bought 5800 with x5 yesterday. Satelite signal acquired less than 5 mins after each restart. biggrin.gif
just a reminder, sattelite signal acquired fast doesnt mean its accurate. in fact i can proudly say that all mobile phones have very bad accuracy.
no matter how, a cacated mobile phone including my N series , cannot beat a pnd. (not china ones)

got alot of pros and cons for both la.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 11 2010, 11:44 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(weeluvmal @ Jan 10 2010, 07:49 PM)
i have an e52 that tracks ok with IGPS during good weather with clear sky, but doesn't really lock down positioning well when it's cloudy.
here's the question, would it help if i add a dedicated bluetooth based GPS receiver, with supposedly more reception channels (50~60)?
would the additional channel / antenna help?
no. u need re-rad
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 11 2010, 07:42 PM

62 posts

either go down singapore get, or ask someone from singapore bring back for u, or buy online.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 17 2010, 04:11 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(compaq_vista @ Jan 15 2010, 10:25 PM)
Hi everyone, I am using Nokia N95 with Garmin software (my friend help me set up). Next week I go to Australia for few months so I need an Australia map. Can anyone help guide me where to get the map for Perth & Sydney please. Thanks a lot.
here u go
http://www8.garmin.com/cartography/mapSour...itynavAUSnt.jsp

QUOTE(kv165 @ Jan 17 2010, 01:45 PM)
Wanna ask if any one used AGPS in a foreign country before ? Will there be any roaming charge ? e.g. if one is to travel to Australia and to activate the AGPS to assist lock in satellite, is it going to incurr roaming charge ?
yeah there will be roaming charges. averaging 4kB per session. it depends on what the australian telco's charge, not the malaysian ones.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 18 2010, 12:07 AM

62 posts

screw the nokia phone and buy a pnd
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 18 2010, 02:19 PM

62 posts

its becoz of the 5800xm which u didnt throw into the dustbin , u lost your golden tracks.

buy back n82 la. take the 5800 and throw into dustbin. or get omnia.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 19 2010, 04:49 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jan 18 2010, 10:38 PM)
N82 screen too small for GPS navigation la. You do u say about N97 ? big touch screen phone also, can keep my nuvi habit.
navigation rule #1, listen to voice recognition first. visual is only for confirmation.

SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 20 2010, 04:25 PM

62 posts

ah mix, i played with X6 yesterday on the way home and guess wat, upon reaching home,

"....arriving at your favourite destination, its on the <direction> side. voice navigation ends."

finally, they added that simple but useful portion.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Jan 20 2010, 07:09 PM

62 posts

nope. i wan go softmod mah wayway liao
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Apr 8 2010, 06:07 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(NewbieHero @ Apr 6 2010, 10:54 AM)
turn on A-GPS & network based option and u might improve ur accuracy.
open ur window for both drivers and passengers side (the tint on ur window affects the accuracy)
40 metres is still acceptable la anyway, quite common
AGPS does not improve accuracy. it makes it worse.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Apr 8 2010, 03:58 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Apr 8 2010, 12:28 PM)
I don't think it make it better or worst. AGPS only makes it easier to pick up the satellite signal and after that, other factors (not AGPS) affecting accuracy comes into play. Signal reflected from surrounding building etc and others I don't know about.
QUOTE(NewbieHero @ Apr 8 2010, 01:38 PM)
yeah.. please dont simply say AGPS will make the accuracy worse = =
but i heard rm0.10 will be charged everytime u use garmin for AGPS? is it true?
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 8 2010, 02:52 PM)
You are totally right mate.
lol

This post has been edited by Mr.Wokayyy: Apr 8 2010, 04:00 PM
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Apr 8 2010, 05:12 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 8 2010, 04:09 PM)
Well it's up to you to believe or not but if you know me in malfreemaps, I did lotsa trackings well almost weekly and has been testinmg tracklogs wth AGPS on & Off just to see the accuracy.

I don't want to belive as theroically AGPS only assist to acquire on the begining stage. thereafter only the inbuilt GPSr taking control of the work..Well from my numerous tracklogs submitted both wth AGPS & without, I alway cursed at the quality when my AGPS is on! Most probably it's not due to the AGPS but I suspect by switching on xtra function, xtra burden on the resources, thus the lousy quality of the tracklogs. Another problem is the more application u switch on during tracking, sometime the whole phone itself will get hang! (For eg. U switch on the tracking function of Garmin MXT, thereafter Race Chrono & Velox...It sometime hang! ^ thus the quality of the tracklogs also affected. Therefore during real tracking, I always ensure AGPS is Off, so do the Garmin tracking function bcos this will hang whole phone after >3hrs of tracking.

On the charges of GPRS/3G, very depending on operator. DIGI is charging RM0.10 for sure. My bill of daily RM0.10 can't be wrong. Maxis...suprising charging 1/2 rate although advertised at 1sen/kb...All my Maxis 3G usage charge 0.5sen/kb instead of Digi 1sen/kb.
dun feed them information la, they oredi denied so let them live stupidly can liao.
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Apr 8 2010, 05:17 PM

62 posts

Let me feed u 1 more bit of information that you dont know .....

XTRA is only for windows mobile running on qualcomm chipsets.
it is NOT for symbian. X-tra's data is from qualcomm servers.

your transmission of AGPS is not to qualcomm servers unlike windows mobile based. your transmission is from your mobile to your serbis provider and off to NAVTEQ Region servers. this is for all nokia phones with gps capabilities.

it shows how much tech knowledge u have ....which there is absolutely none. and here u are telling me about the accuracy of agps.

lol. wadda bunch of noobs

Added on April 8, 2010, 5:18 pm@miks - u can stop feeding them information ..... seriously. get some lulz outta em la.

This post has been edited by Mr.Wokayyy: Apr 8 2010, 05:18 PM
SUSMr.Wokayyy
post Apr 9 2010, 12:56 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(NewbieHero @ Apr 8 2010, 01:38 PM)
yeah.. please dont simply say AGPS will make the accuracy worse = =
but i heard rm0.10 will be charged everytime u use garmin for AGPS? is it true?
QUOTE(NewbieHero @ Apr 8 2010, 11:00 PM)
its meant for discussion. why are u using words to address people? if u arent happy u can go flame somewhere else.
if not noob then come here for what? why are u even here if u know so much stuffs? pro then go sell gps
lolwut. who started what first ? i like to flame you coz u are just so full of lulz.
not noob come here to teach u but u dowan to learn and scold me summore. sweat.gif

pro's dont sell gps. pro's make gps.

This post has been edited by Mr.Wokayyy: Apr 9 2010, 12:56 PM

0.0534sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:42 AM