Need Help/Suggestions On Firmware Upgrading

TSjeffhakase
post Sep 18 2008, 08:41 PM, updated 18y ago

37 posts

Im helping a friend upgrade her firmware on her iphone, but i dont know how, i tried to read the guide on the top links first, but failed to understand what they meant, anyway i hope someone could help me out here

The iphone is currently on 1.1.4 firmware, should i use winpwn to upgrade it straight to ver. 2? or should i jail break it again?
alpha_boy
post Sep 19 2008, 12:11 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(jeffhakase @ Sep 18 2008, 08:41 PM)
Im helping a friend upgrade her firmware on her iphone, but i dont know how, i tried to read the guide on the top links first, but failed to understand what they meant, anyway i hope someone could help me out here

The iphone is currently on 1.1.4 firmware, should i use winpwn to upgrade it straight to ver. 2? or should i jail break it again?
Ok. Firstly, go through the following link and download the necessary files & applications such as Winpwn 2.5, boot logos (for iphone reboot and recovery mode), Bootloader images 3.9BL and 4.6BL and iphone firmware version to which you want to upgrade. I just upgraded few days back to 2.0 and I strongly recommend upgrade ONLY up to 2.0 firmware and not 2.0.1, 2.0.2 or 2.1 versions. Rest is ur choice. U can go through other threads if your looking for more convincing suggestions smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/773801

Now, follow this guide (for WINDOWS users only)

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1755

**For Mac OSX, different softwares need to be installed on the pc first to upgrade. Please read this

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790913

and follow this guide

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1557

You need to upgrade first and then only u can unlock, jailbreak it. Upgrade, unlock and jailbreak instructions are mentioned in the above guide links provided. Please read them carefully.

Hope this makes it easy & clear for you smile.gif Good Luck!

This post has been edited by alpha_boy: Sep 19 2008, 12:14 AM
Clarencerx
post Sep 19 2008, 05:41 PM

Apple. The only perfection.
971 posts

btw bro,after upgrading,you still want to jailbreak it or want to download using app store?

coz if u dun wan to jailbreak,jus use the normal update guide.

0.0142sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:05 AM