DELL S2409W with X360 or PS3, help me with image quality

fruitaleman
post Oct 9 2008, 07:01 PM

165 posts

hmm funny i have the same problem too. A lag of about 5 seconds before the sounds actually come up.

No problem for the normal red and white wires, but i feel the hdmi output sounds better. Or issit just me?
fruitaleman
post Oct 10 2008, 12:22 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(oyama @ Oct 10 2008, 07:57 AM)
@SSJBen - what i mean is the games on dell s2409w..as it doesn't have any 1:1mapping..so whether in 1080p or 720p does the image look strecth upward a bit? A man will be more taller n skinny a bit..
He was already answering you.. anyway the answer is no it won't be stretched. The reason is it being stretched on normal monitors is because normal monitors are at a ratio of 16:10 (16 for width, 10 for height) and games on the PS3 are 16:9. So the PS3 games have to be stretched to 16:10 (taller) to fit the full screen.

Dell S2409W on the other hand has a ratio of 16:9 too (16 for width, 9 for height) so it is slightly shorter and longer if u compare it with a normal 16:10 monitors. Since S2409W is 16:9 and PS3 games are also 16:9 so the pictures would fit perfectly in this monitor biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Noysan @ Oct 10 2008, 10:13 AM)
Seems that I too have the same issue..  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

It looks like a power saving option of the monitor.. hmm.gif  hmm.gif  It detects when there is no sound present then goes on a power save mode then goes back again after 3-5 sec when it detects an audio... which explain why when a music file is played and then paused for a longer period and played again an audio lag is encountered... Now, I am beginning to sound like a private investigator.. doh.gif  doh.gif

Better ask technical support for this... icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
wow really? next time i got any probs with the monitor i call private investigator Noysan biggrin.gif if that's the case I don't think we cant do anything about it.. don't remember there being an setting option for this.

[EDIT] on the other hand there IS an option for this in the settings menu. I disabled the power save mode but still to no avail sad.gif

This post has been edited by fruitaleman: Oct 10 2008, 12:59 PM
fruitaleman
post Oct 11 2008, 07:17 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Noysan @ Oct 10 2008, 01:17 PM)
I've tried that too.. Guess what,, nothings change.. cry.gif  cry.gif

I'm a lame private investigator... doh.gif  doh.gif
aiyo dun blame yourself, at least u tried rclxms.gif

0.0176sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled