OVERCLOCK question.........., a noob here pls teach me...........

TScoolman91
post Sep 17 2008, 09:13 PM, updated 18y ago

76 posts

hi
i am having a Q9550
can tell me is the Multiplier can be more then 9 ?? and Bus speed can be more then 400 ??
tell me what to do on the 1st step............
Bus speed max how much can i put ???
Multiplier max i can put how much ??
night_wolf_in
post Sep 17 2008, 09:17 PM

512 posts

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/240001-2...ads-duals-guide

read that. if you dont understand, then overclocking is not your thing.
SUSjoe_star
post Sep 17 2008, 09:19 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

Read up a decent oc guide before starting to overclock bro, thats my 1st advice smile.gif

To answer your questions
1) No, only extreme edition procs have the multipliers unlocked. If your default multi ix 9X you cant go higher, but lower can.
2) Yes, you FSB can be increased til the max your hardware(proc, mobo, ram) support. This depends on every individuals setup, hardware and tweaking ability.

This post has been edited by joe_star: Sep 17 2008, 09:20 PM
TScoolman91
post Sep 17 2008, 09:21 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Sep 17 2008, 09:17 PM)
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/240001-2...ads-duals-guide

read that. if you dont understand, then overclocking is not your thing.
what u mean if i dun understand then overclocking is not my thing???
every 1 is from 0 ............ hope u dun look down on some people and maby i just have some question or a bit stuck on it blink.gif blink.gif
thanks for the tips wink.gif wink.gif

Added on September 17, 2008, 9:24 pm
QUOTE(joe_star @ Sep 17 2008, 09:19 PM)
Read up a decent oc guide before starting to overclock bro, thats my 1st advice smile.gif

To answer your questions
1) No, only extreme edition procs have the multipliers unlocked. If your default multi ix 9X you cant go higher, but lower can.
2) Yes, you FSB can be increased til the max your hardware(proc, mobo, ram) support. This depends on every individuals setup, hardware and tweaking ability.
base on your 1) means if the prosecer is 8.5 or 9 on multipliers = i cant change it and i only can change FSB and Vcore to make GHZ higher ??
am i right pls correct me if i am wrong..........

This post has been edited by coolman91: Sep 17 2008, 09:24 PM
mfcm
post Sep 17 2008, 09:27 PM

2,765 posts

btw u may start by use guide shared by kmarc..c in his siggy

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showuser=62271

u may try abit by bit..yeah everybody startin from noob till he gain knowlegde..even expert wont be overall expert tongue.gif jus in his field oni..owh btw u can beeter ask link below bro

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/183135

bout the multiplier thin as joe said u can go for higher multi like 10,11,12 if urs Exteme proc like QX9650..if not u oni able to adjust it below..let say urs now max multi is x9..u able to do 8.5,8,7.5,7,6.5 or 6 multi..fsb u can change as long ur proc can go icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by mfcm: Sep 17 2008, 09:30 PM
night_wolf_in
post Sep 17 2008, 09:28 PM

512 posts

why dont you read that guide? it answers all the questions that you have now, or you'll get tommorw.

if you really want to learn about overclocking, stop asking these little questions, and read the guides. after that, you ask. but just ask ask, is major turnoff for anyone who wants to teach.

you do your home work (home research), then you ask, people answer. you come without doing any research and ask. people ignore.
astria
post Sep 17 2008, 10:11 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

wah bro, relax... everyone was once a noob...

anyway, basically, putting Extreme CPU aside, the only thing that we ususally fiddle with is the FSB and keep the mutiplier untouched

go slowly, start by OC-ing 10%, then continue from there... but usually we will go from 333MHz to 400MHz straight away...
TScoolman91
post Sep 18 2008, 12:55 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 17 2008, 10:11 PM)
wah bro, relax... everyone was once a noob...

anyway, basically, putting Extreme CPU aside, the only thing that we ususally fiddle with is the FSB and keep the mutiplier untouched

go slowly, start by OC-ing 10%, then continue from there... but usually we will go from 333MHz to 400MHz straight away...
can give me some tips 400mhz put how many VCORE ???
kazairol
post Sep 18 2008, 01:22 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(coolman91 @ Sep 18 2008, 12:55 AM)
can give me some tips 400mhz put how many VCORE ???
stock vcore only. go to bios then change the value to 400.
my case is dual core, quad core not sure. feel free to try. if cannot boot, just reset the bios.
TScoolman91
post Sep 18 2008, 06:36 AM

76 posts

i have some problem now............
i put fsb to 400 then i put Vcore to auto...... i get error
then i put Vcore to 1.3++ i still get error..............
1 thing is i put Vcore to 1.3 why is my temp and cpuz Vcore display are still 1.2++ and the heat still remains 51++oC rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
syahirax
post Sep 20 2008, 05:25 AM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(coolman91 @ Sep 18 2008, 06:36 AM)
1 thing is i put Vcore to 1.3 why is my temp and cpuz Vcore display are still 1.2++ and the heat still remains 51++oC rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
your oc still unstable bro,what hsf u were using anyway?
TScoolman91
post Sep 20 2008, 09:53 AM

76 posts

thermalright extreme 120.........
tech3910
post Sep 20 2008, 05:27 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(coolman91 @ Sep 18 2008, 07:36 AM)
1 thing is i put Vcore to 1.3 why is my temp and cpuz Vcore display are still 1.2++ and the heat still remains 51++oC rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
u OC in bios or use utility?

if OC in bios do dis:

1) RAM timing set to auto.
2) in crease ur fsb bit by bit (5 or 10 each time), only increase ur fsb if it passes the POST, means can boot.
3) once u can't boot anymore, increase ur vcore by bit (+0.2), den try again.
4) repeat till u get the speed u wanted.
5) go in windows & run IntelBurn test for 3 - 5 round (monitor ur temp, stop if go above 90).
6) if test successful, congrat, u got a stable OC.

if OC wit utility, its very ez, just set ur fsb, multiplier & vcore, also increase.
but OC in windows might not b as stable due 2 RAM timing & it also doesn't need 2 pass the POST.

This post has been edited by tech3910: Sep 20 2008, 05:28 PM
post Sep 20 2008, 09:34 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

QUOTE(tech3910 @ Sep 20 2008, 06:27 PM)
u OC in bios or use utility?

if OC in bios do dis:

1) RAM timing set to auto.
2) in crease ur fsb bit by bit (5 or 10 each time), only increase ur fsb if it passes the POST, means can boot.
3) once u can't boot anymore, increase ur vcore by bit (+0.2), den try again.
4) repeat till u get the speed u wanted.
5) go in windows & run IntelBurn test for 3 - 5 round (monitor ur temp, stop if go above 90).
6) if test successful, congrat, u got a stable OC.

if OC wit utility, its very ez, just set ur fsb, multiplier & vcore, also increase.
but OC in windows might not b as stable due 2 RAM timing & it also doesn't need 2 pass the POST.
golden rules of overclock , never leave anything on auto smile.gif
tech3910
post Sep 20 2008, 11:11 PM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Sep 20 2008, 10:34 PM)
golden rules of overclock , never leave anything on auto  smile.gif
dat apply if u hav performance or OC ram.
normal ram is different.

by default, mobo will automatically loosen the timing. otherwise, fail 2 boot............... smile.gif

normal RAM can't handle too much ................x_x

This post has been edited by tech3910: Sep 20 2008, 11:14 PM
TScoolman91
post Sep 21 2008, 12:07 AM

76 posts

my ram is dominator is it good ???
and i having 3.4ghz now with 1.3Vcore
tech3910
post Sep 21 2008, 12:13 AM

Anonymous
5,644 posts

QUOTE(coolman91 @ Sep 21 2008, 01:07 AM)
my ram is dominator is it good ???
and i having 3.4ghz now with 1.3Vcore
sure, dat is good.
wat is the purpose of u OC ing?
just wanna OC or wanna increase gaming performance?

for gaming performance 3.0 i actually enough. u can lower ur vcore.

hav 2 test for stability? (intelburn test)
TScoolman91
post Sep 21 2008, 12:28 AM

76 posts

i test it with OCCT i OC for FUN just want to know more like study can know 1 new subject ha ha
syahirax
post Sep 21 2008, 03:04 AM

anomie!
562 posts

QUOTE(coolman91 @ Sep 21 2008, 12:28 AM)
i test it with OCCT i OC for FUN just want to know more like study can know 1 new subject ha ha
for how long uve ru the occt bro?2 hours?
xpresside
post Sep 21 2008, 03:18 AM

1,982 posts

oc for fun and study?
if study then u should've read all the guides from the net before asking and being spoon fed rite?
OC IS BASE ON LUCK/SKILL/TIME/MONEY
no1 can give u direct answer just vague because every part is different like this qx batch i got is bad lol always unlucky

0.0227sec    0.25    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:28 AM