Where to buy vintage video game systems?, I'm an old school gamer..

3rotor
post Sep 20 2008, 07:24 PM

27 posts

wow a retro gamers thread, i've been collecting retro consoles and games for few years now, i can say the best place to source for good condition old consoles is from the internet, especially when you are looking for complete boxed set, you may find loose unit in some local game shops if you are lucky, but the chances are very slim.

to gundamalpha, may i know how much would a working mvs board cost ? and what mod is necessary to make it work with normal tv?

This post has been edited by 3rotor: Sep 20 2008, 07:26 PM
3rotor
post Sep 20 2008, 08:58 PM

27 posts

Here is the pic of my consoles, some are not in the picture. I hardly got time to play them coz i spent my spare time mostly playing the 360, too many nice games~ tongue.gif

wonder how much is gundamalpha letting go him mvs collection... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by 3rotor: Oct 6 2017, 09:22 AM
3rotor
post Sep 21 2008, 02:39 AM

27 posts

The MVS system looks sweet drool.gif ~ but too bad i can't afford one, thanks for sharing the pics,
i enjoyed seeing other people's collection especially collectors from malaysia... thumbup.gif
quite a few rare stuff you having there, the cdz, duo-r, multi-mega, sfc jap ver, neogeo stick 2,
and also the amount of original games, juz wow! notworthy.gif

The 2 boxes beside my n64 are Virtualboy and NES, will share more pics of my collection soon. smile.gif
3rotor
post Sep 21 2008, 02:19 PM

27 posts

PhatPunk, as a gaming machine the Virtual Boy truly suck, but i just cannot resist the temptation to own one bizarre looking console, and i find myself liking it very much tongue.gif
I am having more than 1 MD and N64 because i came across some garage sales bundle with accessories and games that i really wanted with a fairly good price, so no harm keeping extra units in case my current working console spoil. And i saw the 64DD unit in stock at PA 1 time, the price was around 1k-1.2k if i'm not mistaken, no $ buy~

gundamalpha, i was outbited several times for that scart-component converter, i was trying my luck putting the minimum reserve price, maybe the seller don't feel like selling it at the lowest price i'm not sure, will keep trying. smile.gif

This post has been edited by 3rotor: Sep 21 2008, 02:27 PM
3rotor
post Sep 23 2008, 12:07 AM

27 posts

no love for retro gaming ? huh.gif

updated with some pics,

Boxed consoles.

Handhelds and some loose consoles.

Boxed consoles, controllers and some vintage handhelds.

I like arcade sticks but i suck at using them... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 3rotor: Oct 6 2017, 09:23 AM
3rotor
post Sep 23 2008, 12:36 AM

27 posts

the consolized mvs is no doubt rare shit, but no $ to buy la, if i strike toto then will definitely get it~ tongue.gif
3rotor
post Sep 26 2008, 11:28 PM

27 posts

there is a lot of units available for auction on ebay right now.
3rotor
post Oct 2 2008, 08:11 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Oct 1 2008, 10:24 AM)
The Genesis 2 and SNES console look very awfully familiar wink.gif
especially that sticker on the snes tongue.gif

3rotor
post Oct 7 2008, 03:59 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Oct 6 2008, 04:58 PM)
Interesting collection on the Joysticks. I like the Red Mai Box. Can you show us the content in that box? What's the difference between ver.2 & 3?

Where's all the games? I spotted a Panasonic 3DO. I also had the Slime Controller was on offer. Couldn't find the original blue ver. though. Did you get the PS2 Neo Geo Pads (bundled with KOF94) and Fighting stick?

I almost got the NeoGeo CD but instead ended up with the 3DO. Playstation was also among the choice but oh well... I like to Neogeo gamepad color combination.

One question how you import old Consoles with box? Won't the custom give you headache? I saw a shop selling loads of new Sega Megadrive consoles, not sure it they are China bootlegs during my trip to Sarawak.
ver3 is a litter bit heavier than normal ps2 neogeo stick (ver2), the color has been changed to red and white instead of normal pure black color, sorry don't have the picture at the moment smile.gif .

Never own ps2 neogeo pad, saw it ex-stock at PA one time, but sold out very fast sad.gif . I don't have a lot of games, will try to take pics when i am free.

Normally custom won't check the parcel if the value of the items+shipping fee is not more than RM500, discuss with the seller, ask them to declare it as a gift and value not more than RM500 then NORMALLY you wont get any problem, but no guarantee la tongue.gif . i have seen shops selling brand new MD2 in kl too, the seller told me those are china bootlegs.
3rotor
post Oct 7 2008, 09:00 PM

27 posts

The neogeo sticks is for collection only biggrin.gif , in terms of performance, nothing can beat HRAP except the Sega arcade stick for ps3, heard that one is even better than hori. There is a HRAP for the 360 as well, PA were accepting pre-order last time, but don't know why it is always out of stock, and has never been restock, weird.... I wanted to get Raiden 4 as well, Jap ver is expensive, maybe wait for the best version.
3rotor
post Oct 7 2008, 09:36 PM

27 posts

Is Sega Astro City cabinet using seimitsu buttons too ? i like the feel of the arcade buttons, more responsive compare to HRAP. My ps2 HRAP has a problem, the joystick has a square shape restriction plate instead of round or octagonal one, making me very hard to execute moves like the fire ball and shoryuken, been doing research on the net, found one website selling octagonal shape restriction plate for the Sanwa JFL series joystick, haven't check mine though, hope it can be replaced with the octagonal plate. 1000yen for a complete set of saturn virtual stick is a very very good deal wo drool.gif , but how much did the shipping cost ? it won't be cheap if ship direct from japan...

i read from hk forum stated that Raiden 4 DLC is region locked right ? they were unable to download the 2 extra fighter jets.

This post has been edited by 3rotor: Oct 7 2008, 09:42 PM

0.0295sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:12 AM