need help with cymbals !, sabian solar ? paiste 101 ? stagg dxj ?

TSbLinKie
post Sep 15 2008, 07:52 PM, updated 18y ago

134 posts

Hie ppl, i need help with choosing an entry level set of cymbals for my music club.

My budget is around 700-800, and the 3 quotations i got are for these 3 sets, sabian solar, paiste 101, & stagg dxj.

All more or less around the same price for 16" crash + 18" crash + 20" ride + stands.

Anyone mind helping out with some suggestions as to which is better ?

i seriously don't know sht about cymbals cause i'm a guitarist, so don't go all technical on me allright ?

If anyone has anything better to recommend, my budget can go up to 1k.

Thanks in advance !
nimrod2
post Sep 16 2008, 09:09 AM

the imba one
2,521 posts

hmm i think the budget ones for sabian dont sound too well, unless u have tried them out and you like the way that they sound ( or u got lucky n got some nice ones ).

for the paiste, i dont think i have heard any nice paiste cymbales before. either they suck or i just havent heard nice ones.

for the stagg, i think that sometimes they have really good sounding stuff for affordable prices. but you still have to try them out first. i guess all boils down to u trying them out first. if u're lucky then good for you biggrin.gif

but what i'm saying is i guess go for the stagg biggrin.gif
echobrainproject
post Sep 16 2008, 01:56 PM

4,765 posts

i'd say the staggs are still the best sounding ones from that list. as for paiste, only the higher end ones sound nicer.
Namqul
post Sep 16 2008, 02:13 PM

790 posts

hmmmm, budget 600-700 = used cymbals. or staggs, but i doubt u can get all, hats, crash n ride. good luck~
nkphnx
post Sep 16 2008, 02:58 PM

390 posts

Solar cymbals are too thick and sound dull but the ride sounds nice.. Why don't you try the Sabian B8 set.. they have nice clarity and sizzle..
nimrod2
post Sep 16 2008, 07:06 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

best bet would be staggs or 2nd hand ler if u dont mind.

try posting in the garage sales to see anyone wanna sell or not lor. maybe their 2nd set of cymbals or something.

u may get lucky thumbup.gif
pokgaizai
post Sep 16 2008, 07:38 PM

684 posts

isit Stagg CXJ or DXJ....

This post has been edited by pokgaizai: Sep 16 2008, 07:46 PM
TSbLinKie
post Sep 17 2008, 01:33 AM

134 posts

hmm thanks ! i don't need hi-hats, just 2 crashes & a ride.

don't really have the time & energy to go searching for 2nd hand ones cause like i said, it's for a club, and lazy go thru all the hassle =P

@pokgaizai : dxj la ... kan said di up there ... lol

so i think staag has the most votes so far ?
pokgaizai
post Sep 17 2008, 04:22 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(bLinKie @ Sep 17 2008, 01:33 AM)
hmm thanks ! i don't need hi-hats, just 2 crashes & a ride.

don't really have the time & energy to go searching for 2nd hand ones cause like i said, it's for a club, and lazy go thru all the hassle =P

@pokgaizai : dxj la ... kan said di up there ... lol

so i think staag has the most votes so far ?
haha, ok... 1 more vote from me... tongue.gif
don8ld
post Sep 17 2008, 09:35 AM

R.I.P Gary Moore
1,267 posts

go for stagg cheap and good , you wont regret
Namqul
post Sep 17 2008, 01:45 PM

790 posts

owh no. dont go with stagg dxj. what i meant when i suggested stagg up there, is at least to go with SH. you dont need hi hats? then, go for 1 DH ride and a crash. 800 is enough.
RaymondT
post Sep 17 2008, 02:11 PM

308 posts

If you need to test out Stagg, there's a shop in Cheras is selling it. I dunno what's the inventory like.......they have drum sets like traps and all that too.....PM me and I'll give you their contacts if you don't have......
pokgaizai
post Sep 17 2008, 03:23 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ Sep 17 2008, 01:45 PM)
owh no. dont go with stagg dxj. what i meant when i suggested stagg up there, is at least to go with SH. you dont need hi hats? then, go for 1 DH ride and a crash. 800 is enough.
awh, he needs 2 crash ....
u tried dxj b4?
TSbLinKie
post Sep 17 2008, 09:51 PM

134 posts

man so confusing ! argh ..
don't think i can go down to cheras cause i'm studying in malacca ...
and yea i need at least 2 crashes =P
nimrod2
post Sep 18 2008, 12:02 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

QUOTE(bLinKie @ Sep 17 2008, 09:51 PM)
man so confusing ! argh ..
don't think i can go down to cheras cause i'm studying in malacca ...
and yea i need at least 2 crashes =P
lol then where do u plan to get your stuff from?

i guess u pretty much have to come down to kl unless u can get them at melaka?
RaymondT
post Sep 18 2008, 12:47 PM

308 posts

Oh....heheheheh.....I have a friend in Melaka and he open a jamming studio. He said he got sell some MI stuff......I dunno he got any cymbal or not.....his shop in Melaka Raya, on top of Yong Tau Fu shop, Xuan Music Station.
Namqul
post Sep 18 2008, 01:13 PM

790 posts

dxj = brass pack, and its highly not recommended. if you want a ride with two crashes for 800, is a bit hard. try burgercis in the music garage sale section. hes selling stagg there. pricing is there two.
TSbLinKie
post Sep 19 2008, 07:11 PM

134 posts

well i stay in pj, so can come back often,but dont have the time to go all the way to cheras to test the cymbals & back again.

besides, i dont play drums, so if i go test also no use. hafta bring someone else to tolong.

xuan music station ? steven ka ? =P
Virgle
post Sep 20 2008, 02:58 PM

►死神 Shinigami◄
683 posts

Stagg or Sabian B8
RaymondT
post Sep 21 2008, 11:54 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(bLinKie @ Sep 19 2008, 07:11 PM)
well i stay in pj, so can come back often,but dont have the time to go all the way to cheras to test the cymbals & back again.

besides, i dont play drums, so if i go test also no use. hafta bring someone else to tolong.

xuan music station ? steven ka ? =P
Kekekekek Yep Steven.

0.0196sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:54 AM