AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V4, Just added: HD4830 benches!

blindbox
post Nov 7 2008, 12:11 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

I've just noticed, Palit/Gainward's custom PCB for R700 is red o.O instead of black. Hmmm...
blindbox
post Nov 7 2008, 02:16 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Nov 7 2008, 09:31 AM)
blink.gif 

3slot~  so waste the space hmm.gif
You can still do quadfire. Of course, you need a compatible mobo or a casingless setup. Something like this.. I believe some x58 has this design(and x48.. and most P45(though pci-e 2.0 x8 will bottleneck R700 CFX)).
pci-e
slot
slot
pci-e
slot
slot
7th slot top or bottom doesn't matter.

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Nov 7 2008, 09:33 AM)
like it or not, depends on user. The graphic card remains in casing, unless ur rig is demo rig(sure want to show off ur gc in more awkward way).

What do gamers care is for the graphic performance not the graphic card physical appearance. It doesn't matter, unless ur talking about the cooling. tongue.gif
Gainward=Palit. Both coolers are exactly the same, gainward is a subdivision of Palit. Since they're both the same, I really wish I have the Palit's choice of Revolution R700. I agree with you however, it's the performance that matters the most, not the looks.

EDIT: Plus, Core i7 is almost out, so cpu bottleneck is lessen(but not fully lifted) brows.gif
EDIT2: The only thing bad about Revolution R700 would be the lack of two dvi-ports. Instead, they put a vga port, which almost nobody uses anymore. Just use a converter(I know, cost issues, but if you don't want to put it, then don't, we can buy it separately). You better find a monitor with HDMI or DisplayPort support tongue.gif(the middle port is hdmi I believe, and the left most port is displayport.. I think).

This post has been edited by blindbox: Nov 7 2008, 02:22 PM
blindbox
post Nov 10 2008, 10:22 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Nov 10 2008, 03:51 AM)
Thats good enough for human being because we only can see about 24fps. Anything more than that is unnoticeable.
Not really, our threshold is more around the 200fps. However, the graph uses an exponential scale.

You won't see any difference between 24 fps to 30 fps, but you will see if it is a bump from 24 fps to 60 fps, 60 fps to 100 fps and 100 fps to ~200 fps. Try and see the difference, the fluidity is awesome.
blindbox
post Nov 14 2008, 08:27 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

Lovely, free hardware transcoding for everyone o.O!!
blindbox
post Nov 14 2008, 09:20 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

It's here! Revolution R700. The review is here 3 days ago, wonder why nobody noticed.

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Palit/Revolution_R700/
blindbox
post Nov 15 2008, 12:27 AM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(pikacu @ Nov 15 2008, 12:25 AM)
http://techreport.com/articles.x/15559
i think maybe a little, but 4850 CF will sure win 3870x2
HD 4830~= 8800gt/9800gt

CF HD 4830(2 cards) ~= SLI 8800gt/9800gt(2 cards)~= 1 gtx280. Of course 4830 CF sure win against 3870x2 zzzz.

Added on November 15, 2008, 12:30 am
QUOTE(amirisme @ Nov 14 2008, 03:43 PM)
Hey, fellow ATI users! I got a problem with my crossfire setup ley!

For awhile now ive been using crossfire mode, but then suddenly a few weeks back suddenly crossfire turned itself off! The option to turn on crossfire in CCC doesnt exist anymore and in CCC can only detect 1 card. but then if i right click the ATI icon in the taskbar there, got display 2 cards, but can't do anything with the 2nd card.

I went into the device manager, it says my 2nd card driver got error. so i go uninstall driver, download latest CCC driver and install. still not working. So i uninstall both card driver and reinstall the CCC drivers. worked for about a day, then not working again...

help?

I nak migrate gi 27" screen soon... if kenot use XF, then kacau wor....
Switch cards location? Try reverting to an older driver?

This post has been edited by blindbox: Nov 15 2008, 12:30 AM
blindbox
post Nov 27 2008, 01:46 PM

Meh
1,705 posts

QUOTE(j1h4dj4ck @ Nov 26 2008, 09:28 PM)
I was just about to buy 1gb hd 4870 tomorrow

i heard the card overheats a LOT

any advice on this ?

Or should i just get Asus GTX 260 which is slower but quiet n cool
Running the card at 75C to 80C is deemed A-OK(perfectly fine) for AMD. No problems there.

For 4850, even greater. They say 85C~90C is A-OK(perfectly fine..just had to use it) for them. I believe I heard these cards shut down at 120C(doesn't mean that you can OC it to 100C). Their thermal envelope is impressively high.

0.0395sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:45 AM