AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V4, Just added: HD4830 benches!
S4PH
Oct 30 2008, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(superpc @ Oct 30 2008, 02:44 PM) so i attempted to overclock without flashing bios, can't even manage 790/950?crash when running 3dmark vantage, im expecting something better... or maybe i will need other tool to OC? tried asus smart doctor and amd ccc did u push ur fanspeed higher? coz my stendet sapphire 4870 can manage 790 and 1195 speeds without any bios mods or anything,ur PSU enough juice onot?
S4PH
Oct 30 2008, 05:49 PM
no matter how high i oc my gpu my amd x2 is bottlenecking my 4870 huhuhuhuhuhu
S4PH
Oct 30 2008, 06:09 PM
4870x2 so xpensive cant afford,i guess a 4850x2 is more bang for bucks what bout power requirements u guys will the 4850x2 suck more power than a single 4870?
S4PH
Oct 31 2008, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Oct 31 2008, 12:50 AM) i can giv benches @ 865, can't OC 877 @ vista 64 coz cannot use ATI tray tools..............x_x..........................must tweak the voltage. may b later i'll tweak the bios myself............. kinda regret using vista 64bit....................shud hav go for 32 it..................... bro how to tweak the voltage for 4870 bro is there a utility 2 change voltage or need to goto bios and adjust PCIE voltage?
S4PH
Oct 31 2008, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 31 2008, 11:26 AM) meaning i have to edit the bios and flash new voltage settings?
S4PH
Oct 31 2008, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(pikacu @ Oct 31 2008, 01:19 PM) yep  thanks bro will try it out soon
S4PH
Nov 18 2008, 08:02 PM
sifus out here just wanna ask that gigabyte 4850 izit worth buying the cooling system that gigabyte offer izit good? its not a dual slot cooler can the fan by gigabyte cool down the 4850 efficiently?
S4PH
Nov 18 2008, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(apis @ Nov 18 2008, 09:13 PM) Buy HIS brand,it's cooler is reliable. as i know HIS 4850 ICEQ turbo quite pricy,but compared to gecube 4850 single slot cooler not so good izit?
S4PH
Nov 19 2008, 12:12 AM
is gigabyte 4850 cooling as good as ICEQ but gigabyte does not have good appearance as other cards.
This post has been edited by S4PH: Nov 19 2008, 12:13 AM
S4PH
Nov 19 2008, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Nov 19 2008, 12:31 AM) Sure bor? http://www.guru3d.com/article/gigabyte-rad...85oc1gi-review/It dont have good appearance? Im not sure you want a good appearance cooler or one that does what it does best. Idling at 46~47C and it comes overclocked from factory, 700MHz core. damn cool bro idle at 35 degrees but 1 thing the rams got no cooling dats a drawback.
S4PH
Nov 19 2008, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Nov 19 2008, 12:47 AM) Unless you wanna overclock. IMO, there is no use overcloking card anymore. Basically, most games are able to run 60-70FPS and some are able to break 100++ FPS. Only few games like Flight Simulator, Commander of the sea, Crysis and Crysis Warhead are unable to run well on 4850. However, the frame rate it too low to justify the reason to overclock it as it wont even push pass 30FPS on average. So why bother overcloking. but the xtra framebuffer really helps for crysis,even 4870 is outbeaten at lower resolution.In guru3d also stated the oc potential of gigabyte card is quite impressive 811 core,btw i din know it was zalman cooler.
S4PH
Nov 23 2008, 12:54 PM
just wana ask all the sifu's here,can a 1GB 4850 run games more smoothly at higher resolution compared to 4870 512mb,as the frame buffer at 1gb is higher but 4870 is using 512DDR5,i know doesnt mean that higher frame buffer results in better frame rate,but as i c in crysis when i push the detail higher i see that the hard drive is always busy meaning that im out of frame buffer.