12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Compaq Presario CQ40 AMD Series V1, Turion X2, HD 3450, RM2k!

TSshady
post Oct 14 2008, 12:55 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Oct 14 2008, 12:03 PM)
if format to win xp .if lazy  find driver then go to service centre ask them to give?- -
XP is not officially supported so I dont think u will get that. For Vista they should have given driver CD instead of asking customers to download.
TSshady
post Oct 14 2008, 01:47 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(Vernon @ Oct 14 2008, 01:02 PM)
i do notice when you push the wifi/bluetooth button on the laptop, both will activate, anyone know if i only want any of it to be activate but not both at the same time.
You need to download HP Wireless Manager, change the options. U can disable either oneor switch on manually. Too bad there is no separate button for wifi and BT.
TSshady
post Oct 14 2008, 05:34 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(lmsf4ever @ Oct 14 2008, 04:51 PM)
where is the setting locate? in the control panel? better switch off to while using wifi only... please advise...n laugh.gif
You need to download and install HP wireless manager then load it thru control panel. settings are inside the manager.
TSshady
post Oct 15 2008, 12:23 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(mfashraf @ Oct 14 2008, 07:35 PM)
None i think. Use the vista power saver i guess. Battery lasts for 2 hrs max. Anyone bought a bigger battery? How's d battery life of it?
Accord HP's specs sheet, there is 12 cell battery for this model. I dont think this model can reach 2 hrs. HD 3450 is really power hungry.
TSshady
post Oct 15 2008, 01:22 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(lmsf4ever @ Oct 15 2008, 12:27 PM)
mr shady, i can't get HP wireless manager as wht u said. and u know HP got a software to check the battery, can u get it?
HP Wireless Assistant

Sorry it should be HP Wireless Assistant. Not sure what software to check battery. How does that function?
TSshady
post Oct 15 2008, 02:45 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(Vernon @ Oct 15 2008, 02:03 PM)
found a website for the review with benchmark of this notebook, for those who want to know the performance of this notebook can see see. but only in chinese, maybe can use google to translate.

http://www.zdnet.com.tw/review/notebook/0,...20060095,00.htm

Added on October 15, 2008, 2:05 pmya, this notebook got softstylus like writing pad, but have to go find the software. tonight will try out how smile.gif
Thanks for the review link. Not a bad score for budget notebook. Pls update us on softstylus software. Thanks.
TSshady
post Oct 15 2008, 05:26 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(DaRust @ Oct 15 2008, 04:48 PM)
This CQ40-125AX model is really not bad. 250HDD and a class 3 ATI HD3450. Just wondering will the price drop? Just like Compaq V3000 series last time. So wondering should i buy it now or wait? haha.
price drop maybe when next generation amd notebook come out or until next gen intel notebook come out. AMD is already cheap and they only AMD will drop price only after Intel drop price for the Centrino 2 platform. Btw, this notebook is already cheap and I think the resale/2nd hand value would be quite good. for price/performance I dont think many laptop can reach this model. Some laptop with Centrino 2 and Geforce 9300 or ATI HD 3450/3460 cost almost RM4k but performance wont be twice even though you pay double.

If you have money, I seriously suggest u to go for Core 2 but if you want a short term laptop or looking for budget/AMD notebook, this is the one you should aim for. smile.gif
TSshady
post Oct 16 2008, 02:25 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(h.buster @ Oct 16 2008, 01:40 PM)
hello everyone

im really intersted on buying this laptop so here is noob question (sry) but i need some advice on this laptop....

can the Ati radeon HD3450 on this laptop run 3d/2d application softwares in the likes of AutoCad, 3dmax, photoshop etc etc reasonably well?

if not is there a simialrly spec compaq that can run them within the same price range?

please help
Pls check the system requirements for those software before deciding. I think should be able to run but please upgrade your RAM to at least 2GB or 3GB. Better if you get 4 GB and install 64bit Windows because some apps are optimised for 64bit OS.
TSshady
post Oct 16 2008, 03:49 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(Vernon @ Oct 16 2008, 02:55 PM)
anyone know where to get the softstylus software?? i can't find in the internet. or someone can try install the software on this notebook and try see if it works.

about the hybrid crossfire, i can't any info also. i think we will need the official bios to enable this function, if they dun want to enable this function, i think its not worth. cos since we got the hardware but we are not able to fully utilizes all the function this notebook able to, its a waste.....sad.gif
Soft stylus is supported by almost all notebook. Just need the software. I think that software is bundled for users in East Asian countries like China, Taiwan, Korea and etc. The only way to get it is to ask them for a copy. It maybe illegal though.

For hybrid crossfire, hardware wise this notebook supports it. If its enable, not only battery life will be longer, gaming performace will get a boost. Too bad HP disable this fuction. I think the main reason is beacause of high power consumption and heat. Ventilation and cooling for this model is poorly designed because no vents below the notebook. There is virtually no intake for cool air. Enabling hybrid xfire would add more heat and kill the whole system.
TSshady
post Oct 17 2008, 04:26 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(Vernon @ Oct 17 2008, 04:04 PM)
just received my new notebook that exchange with them. the bios ver is F.22 but still theres no option/setting for graphic card...sad.gif
That is good news, at least HP is still developing and fixing bugs. For crossfire, I dont think we will get hybrid graphics. Just hope American dv5z users will keep on requesting that feature.
TSshady
post Oct 18 2008, 02:45 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

Anyone using dual boot with this laptop? Currently I'm using Vista 32bit but thinking of switching to Vista 64bit and dual bood XP 32bit.
TSshady
post Oct 18 2008, 08:00 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(mfashraf @ Oct 18 2008, 07:53 PM)
Is it me or does anyone have any problem with installing Photoshop CS3. Mine have a problem closing and hangs sometimes and I can't install Illustrator as well. Is the problem with the computer or with my windows vista?

I have a 3GB ram but is on Vista 32-bit. Will there be any difference if i change to 64 bit vista?

Edit: Tested lightscribe on the computer. I think they have software on lightscribe website. Nero also have lightscribe creator. Try using Nero.

Here's the link. Check on the Labeling software section
http://www.lightscribe.com/DownloadSection...dows/index.aspx
In terms of amount of usable RAM, no difference. But if you want to run 64bit apps, go for 64bit Vista. More stable. In fact AMD runs faster on 64 bit optimised apps. And 64bit vista is compatible with 32bit.
TSshady
post Oct 19 2008, 11:09 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(tcchuin @ Oct 19 2008, 10:59 AM)
bro..if i buy this computer...and then i upgrade to 3 years warranty...then shld i buy the ucare warranty?

http://ucare.com.my/ (not advertising..just asking)

btw...the RM2099..with FOC upgrade to 2GB ram.....1 mouse and notebook lock..and free 1 4.7GB DVD-RAM(=.=+..and add RM 70 if add to 3GB....is it worth?
if u wana get ucare, i think no need to get hp extended warranty.

2GB of ram is enough for normal use. of course 3gb is ideal.
TSshady
post Oct 20 2008, 08:06 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(yu_wang @ Oct 20 2008, 07:21 PM)
CQ40-125AX user reporting in! Add me to list ya, thanks.

Great laptop for everything up to moderate gaming, including 3D modelling since I'm a Blender user. My biggest complaint is the terrible battery life, about 1 3/4 hours only with maximum power savings. I'm very interested in a battery upgrade. Also, the front cover design is way too glossy. Heartache everytime I see the scratches on it.

And just to throw in a bit more poison...  laugh.gif
HD Trailer from Apple.com
nice setup there. thumbup.gif

did u get audio too?

TSshady
post Oct 20 2008, 09:46 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(h.buster @ Oct 19 2008, 05:25 PM)
how much did you guys buy the extra ram? which type and shop you recommend?

Please advice'  icon_question.gif

Btw, I just came from lowyat, and most sellers are telling me the CQ40-125ax with the ATI HD radeon 3450 is actually 256mb shared, not dedicated.....is this true? IM SO CONFUSED NOW............ cry.gif

Im actually looking for the one with windows vista (CQ40- 126AX) could you please guide which shop i buy from and how much it is (plus what freebie i shud be getting?)

your help is much appreciated
RAM is dedicated. 256MB GDDR2 RAM. Of course up to 1.5GB can be shared depending of RAM configuration.
TSshady
post Oct 22 2008, 11:13 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(iq_myst @ Oct 22 2008, 10:51 AM)
urm, is it the same with Optiarc DVD RW AD-7561s scsi? coz i check mine is not the samsung one. am i being cheted by the shop?
HP have many parts so as long as its compatible and come with the same features it should be ok.
TSshady
post Oct 23 2008, 02:27 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(eudoradeep @ Oct 23 2008, 01:21 PM)
hey, I just want to know whether this is normal or not. I did this test on everest ultimate.

GPU Clock : 100Mhz (original 500MHz)
RAMDAC Clock : 400MHz

Hmm?
Yup. Because u activated powerplay. Default clock is 500mhz. Power saving is 100mhz. RAM runs at 500mhz all the time.
TSshady
post Oct 24 2008, 06:24 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(pohcheok @ Oct 23 2008, 10:28 PM)
can this laptop ......Ram be upgrade to 3GB or 4GB..thanks....as there mention up to 2GB only...thanks

Added on October 23, 2008, 10:31 pm
can this laptop..be upgrade the  Ram to 3 or 4 GB....as the spec mention only up to 2GB. thanks
Yup, up to 4GB supported. The optimum RAM speed is DDR2-800

QUOTE(mfashraf @ Oct 24 2008, 07:18 AM)
i think it needs to be d same manufacturer, same speed and same model for dual channel. am i right? correct me if im wrong.

anyway. is it okay if i install vista 32-bit drivers on my vista 64-bit?
No need same manufacturer, as long as same speed and same latency.

QUOTE(shadowglow @ Oct 24 2008, 05:00 PM)
about the battery life..just dl the amd driver's and install notebook hardware control

can last 2 hours 45 minutes with wifi...
I dont think NHC can support this laptop yet. Mine sharing how you did that?

QUOTE(ReAcTiVo @ Oct 24 2008, 06:11 PM)
just come to my shop today.. just one to know, does this notebook is standard 2.4kg with the battery??
Actually lighther. 2.36kg

QUOTE(mfashraf @ Oct 24 2008, 06:19 PM)
did any of you guys get the webcam icon available in my computers? talking bout vista right now. webcam works fine but the icon is not available on my computer
What do you mean? You want to snap pics? If yes, I suggest you install Cyberlink You Cam software.

TSshady
post Oct 24 2008, 08:44 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

RAM Latency. Default RAM is rated at DDR2 667 CL5. So the latency is 5.
My RAM runs at DDR2 800 CL5. So at the same latency, the RAM runs faster so more data can move at the same time resulting more system responsiveness.
TSshady
post Oct 28 2008, 11:13 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(NtahX @ Oct 26 2008, 06:05 PM)
Help me decide  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

CQ40-125AX

or

HP Pavilion DV2922TX

-Intel Core 2 Duo processor T5750(2.0GHz)
-250GB(5400RPM) Hard Drive
-1GB DDR2 SDRAM (1 Dimm) / Upgradable to 4GB max
-LightScribe Super Multi 8X DVD +/- RW with Double Layer Support
-Windows Vista Home Basic (32-bit) with Services Pack 1
-14.1" Diagonal WXGA High-Definition BrightView Widescreen Display (1280 x 800) with Build-in HP Webcam
-nVidia GeForce 8400 GS with 128MB DDR dedicated graphics memory
-802.11b/g WLAN & Bluetooth
-5 in 1 Digital Media Reader
-ExpressCard/54 PC Card Slot x 1
-Expansion Port 3 x 1
-USB 2.0 Slot x 2
-IEEE 1394 Port x 1
-S-Video-out Jack x 1
-External monitor(VGA) Port x 1
-HDMI Port x 1

Package includes:

-HP Carrying Case x 1
-HP Mobile Remote Control x 1
-HP Notebook AC Adapter x 1
-6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery x 1

In term of stability Intel come across but following this issue ( http://www.google.com.my/search?hl=en&q=nv...le+Search&meta= ) is it worth a try?  sweat.gif
For performance vs price wise what should i get? (around 2k - 2.3k)
Dedicated GFX is a must coz playing game (dota n call of duty 4)
Dual boot (XP for games/words office & *nix for work) p/s: vista sucks!

any other compaq or hp notebook that can match this 2 specs within my budget? or any other seller want to offer me best price biggrin.gif  rclxms.gif
specs look good. CPU is definately faster than this AMD model while GPU is slightly slower. Performance wise, it will be close but Intel system might be snappier. Battery life wise, this Intel model will get at least 2 hrs minimun but AMD cant even reach 2 hrs.

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Oct 26 2008, 07:11 PM)
That's what the seller told me, charge it 8 hours for the first time in order to get the most out of the battery.

Added on October 27, 2008, 2:33 amTo those who have updated their ATI driver to the latest one from AMD's website (via some modification to the setup files since it won't work directly), do you actually get better benchmark scores, fps, etc?
Actually lithium ion dont need to charge 8 hrs first time use because its already been charge in factory.

To use ATI driver, you need to use driver heaven's mobility modder to mod the inf. There might be some minor performance improvements and bug fixes. It's always good to update to latest drivers.

QUOTE(developer @ Oct 27 2008, 09:38 PM)
i feel that is just the same. well xp booting for this laptop is extremely slow but vista boot extremely fast
I thought XP should be faster. Are you sure?

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:46 AM