12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Compaq Presario CQ40 AMD Series V1, Turion X2, HD 3450, RM2k!

TSshady
post Sep 22 2008, 05:23 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(iq_myst @ Sep 22 2008, 04:17 PM)
anyone mind to tell the vista Experience index for this CQ40-125AX lappy?
Mine is 4.0. Graphics is the lowest score.
TSshady
post Sep 22 2008, 08:48 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(shadowglow @ Sep 21 2008, 12:04 PM)
about the heat issue,some posted idle 50-60C,try install those amd driver for it,there are few from the web,
think u're funning at full speed on idle
mine 35 idle but not full clock speed,but if u were to convert video at full clock,yes the core temp 70,cpu temp arnd 59 to 61
Which driver u mean?

Btw, did i missed anyone on the user list?
TSshady
post Sep 23 2008, 05:59 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(vincentyiam @ Sep 23 2008, 11:27 AM)
how come the GPU got only 4.0?
I thought this is a better GPU......??????
Should score better than HD3200
That is the lowest score. How much HD 3200 can score? The only difference between HD34xx and HD3200 is dedicated VRAM and faster clockspeed.

QUOTE(avantgardeo @ Sep 23 2008, 12:04 PM)
I have several questions for the owners of the CQ40 with AMD CPU and Radeon 3450 discrete graphics.

1. What is the chipset used in this laptop? Is it M780G or is it not? Can someone check it with CPUZ or other similar utility to confirm it?

2. If it's using the M780G chipset, then it should be able to run PowerXpress . Can someone check if it's possible?

3. Can you run Hybrid CrossFire as well?

I think the price for this model is just too attractive, especially with the HD3450 graphics and 250GB HDD. But if the true potential of the PUMA platform, in this case the PowerXpress feature which switches between the IGP and the discrete graphics card, cannot be realized, then I guess it's a lot less charming.
1. According to CPU-Z, its M780G. Everest couldnt detect the mobo though. According to service manual its M770. Anyone can open up and confirm?

2. I couldnt it. But power saving is available. At idle, it runs at 110mhz but doesnt switch to chipset.

3. I dont think so although I hoped it could. tongue.gif

Yeah, the price is attractive for the specs but dont expect good performance and long battery life.

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Sep 23 2008, 05:19 PM)
can this laptop run 800Mhz DDR2?
Yes, that would be the optimum speed.
TSshady
post Sep 23 2008, 09:29 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(avantgardeo @ Sep 23 2008, 08:52 PM)
Thank you Shady for the info. Wow, that's kind of disappointing... I thought it would at least be able to run PowerXpress. But according to AMD, the switching happens automatically, mmm. What a shame. What's the point of putting in the HD3450 if it cannot run PowerXpress and Hybrid Crossfire?

Hope there's evidence to the contrary....
HD 3450 have dedicated 256MB video memory, supports DX10.1 whereelse HD 3200 uses shared memory and DX10. I feel 250GB HDD, BT module and dedicated VRAM is worth for a notebook in RM20xx range.
TSshady
post Sep 24 2008, 07:39 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(avantgardeo @ Sep 23 2008, 10:01 PM)
Have you tried using the Catalyst driver and the Catalyst Control Panel to see if you can actually run powerxpress or hybrid crossfire?
Tried. It doesnt work. Only powerplay available. HD 3200 is not avail.

QUOTE(vincentyiam @ Sep 24 2008, 03:27 AM)
Shady bro,

Why don't you open up to confirm about the chipset?

Really appreciate if you can do that.....
What do mean? don't expect good performance?
Shouldn't it better than Intel C2D...P8400

Cause I'm planning to buy CQ40-125AX or CQ20.......but prefer AMD
No time to do that. Maybe it comes with 780G chipset but HP disabled HD3200. Dell Studio 15 which uses AMD 780G and HD 3450 doesnt have crossfire too. No way AMD can match with Intel. Even Turion X2 Ultra cant keep up with first generation of Core 2 Duo. P8400 is much faster than any AMD mobile CPUs. AMD is for budget users.
TSshady
post Sep 24 2008, 01:30 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

Thats very good score emkay but in real life I think HD 3450 is faster. Btw, HD 3450 is running at 64bit interface compared to 9100M.

This post has been edited by shady: Sep 24 2008, 01:31 PM
TSshady
post Sep 25 2008, 10:30 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(name @ Sep 25 2008, 09:00 AM)
i did install for few CQ40-115AU
and CQ40-125AX

and i recommended Vista

the common problem both on Vista and XP is the "Tett" sound
just XP the sound quite irritating and for Vista just smooth sound

for drivers.
i will try update you all regarding it soon smile.gif
just want to share..

and one more thing..
while i was installing CQ40-125AX in VIsta
there is 2drivers not available for Vista
Wireless - Broadcom
Webcam - Cyberlink Youcam
QUOTE(azimx7 @ Sep 25 2008, 10:15 AM)
u must find the alternate driver or try to force it....
The complete driver set is found here.

CQ40 Vista drivers
TSshady
post Sep 25 2008, 05:05 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(developer @ Sep 25 2008, 03:26 PM)
well even the compaq c770 pentium dual core does 55 on idle and can shoot up to 75 after i playing warcraft... i am considering switching to compaq cq40-125ax. do you all recommend me to change to this laptop or stay with c770tu?
Wat is the full specs?

TSshady
post Sep 26 2008, 12:25 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(developer @ Sep 25 2008, 11:58 PM)
intel pentium dual core 1.73ghz codename merom.
ram 2gb because i have upgraded.
chipset intel965
graphic intel x3100 384mb. (this has let me down...)
10/100mb lan, wireless
160gb hdd.
its the budget laptop from compaq too... haha
actually i quite like the laptop too, the processor is fine. only the onboard graphics is the problem.
today when i go see the cq40-125ax, i found that inside bios got a menu that let you to enable the fan all the time.... fan always on. i love that fuction. i always wanted my laptop fan to be turn on to avoid overheating. the bench laptop i test just now the temp idle is about 45 44celcius under vista. well i quite like that laptop especially the HDMI output and the dedicated graphics of 256mb. sorry for my English, i don't know how to construct word properly haha.
so you bought that c40? how was it? yeah the hd 3450 and hdmi is the selling point for this model. i hv tried connect to lcd and able to play 1080p with 5.1 audio. thumbup.gif i agree x3100 is a letdown. pent dual core is quite good too.
TSshady
post Sep 26 2008, 05:25 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(vlnx @ Sep 26 2008, 11:41 AM)
sry.. newbie here.. just wanna ask which one is better, CQ20-125TU or CQ40-125AX? i mean overall. not only graphic cards. batt life, heat, weight n etc. need help cos don't know which one to buy.

CQ20-125TU spec
Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26GHz
1GB ram, 12.1", GMA X4500
CQ20 is faster on general apps but CQ40 will be faster for games thanks to the HD 3450. Battery life, CQ20 comes with 4 cell, CQ40 6 cell but CQ20 should be able to last at least 2hrs. Weight, CQ20 wins hand down because 12 inch compared to 14 inch CQ40.

Depends on wat u want the laptop for. Portability go for CQ20. Wana do some light gaming, go for CQ40.

QUOTE(developer @ Sep 26 2008, 12:52 PM)
acctually i got one for benchmark and review.. 1 month in my hand before i return it to hp Kuantan... the laptop quite nice too... if i didn't turn the fan always on feature, it will idle at 55 or 60 Celsius. well if my c770 have that feature, i may still continue using it.. the hd3450 really didn't let me down because of the graphic performance is quite high for a laptop. i even can play the command & conquer tiberium wars at widescreen and resolution medium without any problem. playing warcraft 3 on this laptop also not bad.. i found out that the hot air outlet is at behind, not at side as those v3000 series laptop..

so far i still dont have problem with the cq40-125ax yet.. heat seems to not be an issue for it if u turn the fan always on but it drains battery fast..

well you are true.. pentium dual core is quite good and infact, i have never use amd processor in my life...
Yup. Maybe the battery cant even last for 2hrs. Pent dual core are using Core 2 tech. just cut down cache to 1MB. Even with 1MB it should be faster than Turion X2, clock to clock.
TSshady
post Sep 26 2008, 06:41 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(eudoradeep @ Sep 26 2008, 06:34 PM)
Guys, I just got my CQ40 125AX yesterday and it's working great! Only that, it has really bad blurry video playback. But it looks fantastic on games and websites. Any idea why is this happening?

And the battery, what is the way to preserve a li ion battery? I just charged it all the way up, and drained it. Now it's fully charged again. I think I will work it to 40% and keep it.. And when it's full, leaving it in the machine will lower it's life cycle?

I got mine for RM2399. 2GB ram and OEM Windows home Premium.

I'm still considering the warranty at RM259 for 3 years. Hmmm. What do you guys think?
What type of video and resolution. What software are you using? To preserve, never drain it to 0% and keep it at full charge all the time. Good price there. if you plan to use for more than a year, y not upgrade to 3 years.
TSshady
post Sep 26 2008, 07:10 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(eudoradeep @ Sep 26 2008, 07:01 PM)
AVI and DAT .. reso is at 1280x800 . I'm using klite codec pack and windows media player to play. For the batt, luckily I charged it up at 10%. Argh, damn. Oh well.
Oh, anyway, any softwares to check the temperature for this model? heh.

Thanks for replying shady,

cheers mate!
not sure why your video is blurry. Maybe the bitrate is low. BTW, i played 4GB HD movies and all looking super sharp with nice sound. Use HDMI and plug to LCD TV more cunn thumbup.gif

I use Everest to check. Hardware monitor also can support I think.
TSshady
post Sep 27 2008, 06:45 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(eudoradeep @ Sep 26 2008, 07:37 PM)
Nice sound!? Dude, you sure!? from the speakers? the speakers are just, mediocre i think. Anyway, I just downloaded a HD sample from microsoft, and yes. It's all crisp and nice.
Altec Lansing speakers is a bit better than non branded speakers found on other notebooks. Of course compared to normal desktop, they are still far behind.

QUOTE(chanaka001 @ Sep 26 2008, 09:52 PM)
Hi Guys,

Can any 1 have the Windows XP SP2 Drivers for COMPAQ CQ40-115AU
If you have please send me the links...This Laptop is killing me.
There is no official drivers from HP but some people from HP forums managed to get those drivers. Drivers from the link below are compatible with 125AX.

HP Forum

QUOTE(developer @ Sep 26 2008, 10:08 PM)
that's why i am thinking.. should i let go this c770tu for a cq40-125ax..  afraid later regret... but it seems application launch are abit slower in the amd.. and i do have game.. just did't play them much. i have 10 games installed in my computer but in 1 month i only launch the game no more than 3 times when i am really boring.....

Added on September 26, 2008, 10:27 pmwell, after some digging through the internet, i found out that the c770 dual core processor is ranked at 75 while this cq40-125ax processsor is ranked at 48 among notebook CPU. source from
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Proces...ist.2436.0.html
I think Intel processor is still faster on daily apps even though running on lower clockspeed. They consume less energy and have better power saving capabilities. Turion X2 and HD 3450 combination is sucking lots of power because Dell Studio 15 with Core 2 an HD3450 can run more than 2 hours.
TSshady
post Sep 28 2008, 06:46 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(new in IT @ Sep 28 2008, 12:32 AM)
By the way, does the CQ40 with HD3450 graphics comes with Hybrid Graphics Tech? Which means 2 graphics card run together?

Is it possible to switch to integrated graphics when the power plug is unplug?

Hope there will be answers for it.
No hybrid graphics. Either HP disabled the integrated graphics or the chipset used is not M780G.
TSshady
post Sep 28 2008, 01:41 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(vincentyiam @ Sep 28 2008, 07:14 AM)
This Hybrid function should be available soon.......as the current driver can't support it yet.

The Chipset is confirm a 780 series.......it is also a true PUMA Platform series......
But, lower spec than the ULTRA series.

This is confirm by my friend who work in AMD.

In fact, just got a unit on friday........works great.....
better than my previous Dell Inspiron 1410 and Vostro 1400. (my friend from Dell, call it HELL) icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
I think its a 780 too. But according to Compaq's service manual, it might be 770 series. If its a 780G, I'm looking foward to Hybrid graphics and Hybrid Crossfire thumbup.gif

Can u ask your AMD friend when drivers will be available? Btw, congrats on your new lappy! smile.gif
TSshady
post Sep 28 2008, 04:11 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(iq_myst @ Sep 28 2008, 04:02 PM)
WAH!! shocking.gif  is this confirmed? RM2099 for hybrid graphic card?  notworthy.gif
it is not that i doubt your statement, but i amazed with it and hoping that your statement is true as i just booked this lappy just now. rclxm9.gif  the price is RM2099 with PenDrive Envo 4GB, Antivirus & Multimedia headset as freebies. will get it on tuesday but do balik kampung for raya already. only can play with this new lappy next friday.. laugh.gif
Not sure what chipset is inside. According to HP's service guide, its RS770 which doesnt have HD 3200 inside. According to Everest, the chipset is RS780 but HD 3200 is not available. If it's available, HP must have disable it through BIOS. Hopefully HP can release a BIOS update to enable the onboard HD 3200. Drivers wise, Hybrid Crossfire is alraedy supported since Cat 8.3.

Btw, nice price u got there. thumbup.gif
TSshady
post Sep 28 2008, 04:15 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Sep 28 2008, 04:11 PM)
Hi, how do hybird graphics works? is it can buy add-on and slot to ExpressCard? thanks
AMD Hybrid Graphics

This lappie is based on Puma Platform and comes with a dedicated Mobility Radeon HD 3450. If the onboard HD 3200 is available, hybrid graphics function can be used.
TSshady
post Sep 28 2008, 08:24 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(iq_myst @ Sep 28 2008, 04:51 PM)
guyz, i found this one website listing the Windows Experience Index for almost ALL PC system. one laptop using Ati Mobility Radeon 3400 series(i believe it is 3450 as 3470 has its own category) scores 4.6. all CQ 40 users here obtained 4.0 rite? i think this lappy using updated driver to get higher rating.

http://minpaso.goga.co.jp/pc.php?id=12059

Added on September 28, 2008, 5:00 pmfound link to ATI 3400 series driver but for lenovo laptop. anyone mind trying as the driver given in HP website is for 3200 series rite?

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss...ocid=MIGR-70367
Why dont u try the drivers and report back here? Btw, I used HP's HD 3200 driver but my GPU recognised as HD 3450. That is the only driver working for my laptop so far.

QUOTE(developer @ Sep 28 2008, 07:14 PM)
wow so fast and add me to userlist already? i note that there is another compaq presario cq40 series thread at here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790607 haha

Added on September 28, 2008, 7:16 pmbtw does yours come with infrared receiver?
Scared later forget. tongue.gif Yeah, that is for general CQ40 but I can see CQ45 users there too. This thread is only for 125AX. Not sure whether should keep this thread active or switch to there. I dont think CQ40 comes with infrared. Only CQ45 and dv4 series. Who needs infrared when there is Bluetooth nowdays.
TSshady
post Sep 29 2008, 06:43 AM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(vlnx @ Sep 29 2008, 01:15 AM)
ehhh.. shadyyy... CQ40-125AX.. which drivers shud i put? the 32bit one or 64bit? i just bought it today
Depends on which version of Windows you are installing.

QUOTE(lordskarn @ Sep 29 2008, 05:25 AM)
Hi fellow CQ40-125AX users.. I just bought mine around 9pm just now from Compu-Zone lowyat.. RM2099, 0% interest easy payment for 1 year using RHB cdt card (they say support Maybank and Ambank too) around RM175 per month..

But because use easy payment, no freebie at all.. it's rm2099 plus rm200 for 4GB ddr667 ram (ddr800 is rm145 a piece just now so cant really afford)

currently I'm installing Windows Vista Ultimate 64bit retail version, and the drivers seem to be a hassle.. the official link of http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwar...product=3805640 for Vista 64bit does seem to be missing the webcam and wireless card drivers..

I'll try to force the x86 drivers or contact HP about this.. I'll post the Windows Experience index later..

One thing I do notice is that the lappy is hot, even during installation of Vista. however my desktop rig of AMD Phenom + ATI HD3870 is also running quite hot, so I think it's standard for AMD/ATI platform.. dont you think?
DDR800 is the optimal speed but shouldnt be much difference. 4GB is nice thumbup.gif For drivers, I think webcam is included in Windows and wireless card is from Broadcomm. Try to access CQ40-100CTO's driver page for a complete set of drivers.

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Sep 29 2008, 05:31 AM)
May I know is there lower price if we buy using cash ? Planning to get the same model too.
Should be cheaper or at least some freebies.

TSshady
post Sep 29 2008, 12:03 PM

The Real Slim Shady
2,818 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Sep 29 2008, 06:50 AM)
Thanks Slim Shady. May I know, where's the cheapest place to get lappy ? Im not rilly knowledgble about lappy after years of desktop tho. Planning to get one for my sis and after review and research I decided to go for compaq CQ40-125AX.

Forgot to state, Im from KL. So any particular shop I can get with good price ?
Not sure in KL. Maybe lowyat or some IT Malls. This is my first laptop and first AMD CPU in since 486. Quite satisfied its cheap for the specs and quite light compared to other 14inch. Only the battery life is abit dissapointing.

QUOTE(lordskarn @ Sep 29 2008, 06:54 AM)
Looks like not as much problem as I first suspected.. install the LAN driver, plug it into the Internet (After installing an antivirus!) run Windows Update (for Vista)- and the Broadcom wireless driver + some internal dialup modem driver is there on Windows Update.. yay.. letting it do the updates now as I catch some Zzzz..
The complete set of drivers is available on CQ40-100CTO driver page. Some are outdated though.

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:57 AM