Compaq Presario CQ40 AMD Series V1, Turion X2, HD 3450, RM2k!

dattebayo
post Apr 12 2009, 11:05 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Apr 12 2009, 06:21 PM)
first of all, there's no ori vista CD and drive CD included because there is HP Recovery Manager software inside your notebook.  Once you open your My Computer, you will see that there is a recovery partition there, in case your windows crashed, you can just press f11 during your boot up then it will lead you to the system recovery.  After the system recovery, your windows will be same like day 1 you received it. and you can also burn your own restore disc, refer to your guidelines given in the red box

about the speaker problem, it was once i on my notebook, the speaker was no functioning, after i restarted it, it works fine again
this only applies to model with OEM Vista included?

Added on April 12, 2009, 11:11 pmAnd the recovery manager isn't found on FreeDos models, where can download it?

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Apr 12 2009, 11:11 PM
dattebayo
post Apr 16 2009, 01:37 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Apr 15 2009, 01:09 AM)
is that a big difference with 256mb ans 512mb for ati 3450 to ply l4d?
by common sense, 64-bit memory bus width and DDR2, it won't make much difference, or can say the difference is minimal

QUOTE(bL4cK_73dDy @ Apr 16 2009, 01:31 AM)
i tried with a few d T_T
n how long does it take on the "completing installation" step?
my fren's stuck there
erm, try perform a thorough format of the HDD
dattebayo
post Apr 16 2009, 01:50 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(bL4cK_73dDy @ Apr 16 2009, 01:41 AM)
i think its the lappy's problem d.
thanks guys icon_rolleyes.gif
if u got win7 installer disc, try install it first, then if it successfully installed, then u can try install vista afterwards,

dattebayo
post Apr 16 2009, 02:19 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Apr 16 2009, 02:13 AM)
but the proc is amd wo.. although is ati3450 gc..
if u want to game on the laptop, then AMD is nice choice
if just regular office, work, study use, Intel is urs coz better battery life and cooler
it really depends, btw both intel and AMD models also can decode H.264 video by bitstream.
dattebayo
post Apr 16 2009, 06:26 PM

5,366 posts

hi, I got some questions on the extended warranty

-how to purchase for extended warranty? I bought the laptop for around half a month alrdy
-what is the price ?
-how to check for warranty status online?

Added on April 16, 2009, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(nothingz @ Apr 16 2009, 10:01 AM)
i mean the 401/402AX comes with 512mb ATI3450, RM2000 is not cheap at all.

PC Fair brochure stated that it costs RM1899 with 1gb ram.  I think an extra 2gb ram does not cost RM101

Added on April 16, 2009, 10:01 amyou read the laptop cooler/table fan thread, it seems like the laptop is not any better compare with your table fan laugh.gif
2 GB SODIMM module sell for RM80 in LYP
in melaka usually is abit more expensive lo

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Apr 16 2009, 06:34 PM
dattebayo
post Apr 16 2009, 06:46 PM

5,366 posts

home premium is good enough, ultimate only got some candy stuff, but it runs 1000 threads at idle, --- home premium only 8xx

Ultimate got the most services, processes and threads, which in the long run will affect battery life coz CPU more busy at idle

dattebayo
post Apr 16 2009, 07:09 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Apr 16 2009, 06:55 PM)
extended warranty can be purchased through the shop or you can call HP Hotline 1800 88 6998
the normal carrying in warranty is RM199 or RM249 for on-site pick up for a total of 3 years labour & parts warranty
here

i'm looking for 2gb CL6, whereas most of them in the market is CL5
vista home premium is enough for normal use
even after the laptop had been bought for 4 weeks?

Added on April 16, 2009, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Apr 16 2009, 07:07 PM)
vista ultimate best for gaming oso?
for gaming, all editions of vista are the same, even Home Basic can run Crysis no problem

there is some M$ games like texas hold'em poker which is only available through Ultimate Extras...

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Apr 16 2009, 07:10 PM
dattebayo
post Apr 16 2009, 07:41 PM

5,366 posts

thank you for the info.
I bought my set at Tesco, the receipt didn't show serial number (just show the inventory #) , not sure HP will recognize it or not

I think I straightaway head to HP center in Midvalley or outside LYP there, can buy over there rite?
dattebayo
post Apr 17 2009, 02:44 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(jerren @ Apr 16 2009, 10:48 PM)
dun use kaspersky internet security 2009.
i had bad experience with my 401AX
it should be the OS problem, AV software has never have problem with system's hardware

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Apr 16 2009, 11:22 PM)
eh bro, i installed vista ultimate. the ati 3450driver where to dl? my spec is amd 2.2ghz 401ax
HP website, search for your model no.

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Apr 17 2009, 01:46 AM)
anyone knows where to get 401ax lan driver?
either HP website, or u can wait till it appeared in Windows Updates for download
dattebayo
post Apr 18 2009, 03:13 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(carbon14 @ Apr 18 2009, 05:41 AM)
I wanna ask if anyone tried upgrading their model's proc to this one:

Turion Ultra ZM-85
2300 MHz 
2 x 1 MiB 
2200 MHz 
11.5x 
35 W 
Socket S1G2 

Socket wise, its compatible and its workable. Theoretically should be able to upgrade but are mobile processors sold in single packages? Haha
it still needs to depends on whether the laptop's BIOS able to recognize the new processor or not
and... for sure it will void the warranty
dattebayo
post Apr 18 2009, 10:07 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ Apr 18 2009, 09:12 PM)
hello guys please help me out here

I am very Interested in CQ40-308TU with p8600 proc+ intel x4500 rm 2600

also another model of compaq is P7350 Proc+Intel x4500 igp. rm 2200

I will NOT DO Gaming. Now I know that intel 4500 mhd  supports decoding of 1080p videos so i know know from you guys who have x4500 graphics did you play 720p and 1080p mkv files of blu ray rips in your laptops? Using Media player Classic and Vlc what was the cpu usage? did it play smoothly without stutters or lagging? Did the laptop got very hot and shut down?

What was the max cpu usage? and Cpu + IGP max temp?

Should i get a laptop with x4500 IGP to watch 720p and 1080p mkv files smoothly? will it work?

also should i get the one with p7350? or with p8600? will it matter that much in terms of viewing 720p/1080p mkv video files in order to play them smoothly using hardware acceleration?

I dont want to get a laptop with discrete graphics because with discrete graphics the laptop gets very hot
MKV container with H.264/MPEG-4 is supported by hardware acceleration in 4500MHD
someone recommended me Media Player Classic - Home Cinema, google for it, the homepage there will have instructions on how to enable DXVA acceleration, though it only mentioned the ATi/Nvidia graphics, but no Intel. If 4500MHD can support bitstream MPEG-4 decoding, then supposedly it can run 100% on MPEG-4 decode without using CPU resource (CPU will just use to handle the app interface, below 15%)

if u can consider AMD based models, then 100% guarantee it can hardware decode even 1080p H.264

with H/W acceleration enabled, even on batt mode u can view the 1080p smoothly, and have minimal impact on battery life. Without H/W acceleration, even a 2GHz can have real hard time decoding 1080p video, 720p perhaps ok but not 1080p, sure got some frame stuttering on fast paced scenes

This post has been edited by dattebayo: Apr 18 2009, 10:11 PM
dattebayo
post Apr 19 2009, 12:53 AM

5,366 posts

I am using AMD based model, the HD3200 is already capable of fully decode H264 video at 1080p. I dunno how to assess the chipset's temp, but for sure is the CPU temp drop alot as it just been utilized lesser than 20% -- CPU is much cooler using H/W acceleration.

when the graphic chip is used to decode H264 video, very little CPU time is needed, so the processor speed doesn't matter in this situation. Take note however that NOT ALL MKV files are supported by H/W acceleration, only H264 is able to get H/W accelerated. So Youtube HD is Flash based afterall, mean that no H/W acceleration for that.

as for 4500MHD, I dunno how that thing can or cannot fully decode H264, I only know ATi based HD3xxx definitely can wink.gif u can direct this question to Software>Multimedia subsection, more pro people there can answer you.
dattebayo
post Apr 19 2009, 04:08 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(thistle @ Apr 19 2009, 10:35 AM)
What's the CPU usage when playing H264 videos with hardware acceleration enabled? The CPU usage is 70 - 80% for me on 402AX when playing videos. I followed this guide: http://nunnally.ahmygoddess.net/watching-h...eos-using-dxva/ I don't think I used the right settings.
that link is too complicated, I just followed the instructions here, http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net/DXVASupport.html

playing back Rambo 4 1080p just use about 10% of CPU time, using MPC HC.

one thing u need to be sure of is to avoid VobSub/FFmpeg from loading during the playback, either disable them, or uninstall them.
dattebayo
post Apr 20 2009, 01:40 AM

5,366 posts

will damaged card reader void warranty?
coz I just damaged the card reader, while trying too hard to remove the stucked MSPD inside doh.gif

now the pin inside the reader is loosen, can't use alrdy sad.gif
dattebayo
post Apr 20 2009, 11:07 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(robix86 @ Apr 20 2009, 08:27 PM)
CQ40-401AU driver for window 7 same with window vista ?
windows 7 no need driver, except maybe the touchpad driver to enable the vertical scrolling area
dattebayo
post Apr 21 2009, 11:03 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(KucingKelabu @ Apr 21 2009, 10:38 PM)
Hey guys,

I just got CQ40-401AX, im using fresh genuine Vista SP1, and I can't seem to install the ATI Driver. The installation shows complete without errors, but it only seems to install the Catalyst Install manager, but the display driver is not installed.

Does anyone have any pointers to this? i've tried googling but I dont really know which keyword to choose, i keep on being directed to ATI download page.

Help Please sad.gif
if u downloaded the driver from ATi website, u need to download it from HP
as the version for the laptop is slightly different, it has been optimized for HP
dattebayo
post Apr 25 2009, 03:02 AM

5,366 posts

Vista and Win 7 Aero effect seems stutter on the onboard HD3200
not that smooth compare to my desktop graphics. How about the owners of HD3450? unsure.gif

0.0488sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:06 PM