How much would you charge THESE!?, 3d freelance

eejey
post Sep 9 2008, 10:01 PM

111 posts

I got some time to spare,
so I'll explained how I do it.... (I used to do some freelance)

----------------------------

after discussion with the client and got all the necessary infos..

ask 50% before doing anything...

-----------------------

1st

start modeling, texturing.....etc.

interior for 1 area, for me took from scratch to final render & touch-up, about 2 days / or 1 whole day (if I don't sleep.. well.. I rarely sleep for days.)
for exterior 2-3 days.

render is really not a problem, with the right settings, for a high-resolution image the longest time it takes is around 1 hour.
I use 2 pc, 1 for render and other one for work (sometimes render when I'm not using it).

--------------------------

2nd give the client a preview

-for a preview I do a 6 angle camera shots, brought into photoshop and combine all into 1 big image and email to them in jpg.
(no compositing in photoshop whatsoever.... just a normal low-res render.)

low-res render (1000 x 750) x 6 (camera shots) per area

---------------------

3rd (estimated time, 1-2 days)

high-res version (5000 x 3750) x 1 (selected angle from client) per area

usually at this stage I rendered the visual and do some touch-up & compositing in photoshop,
for example, an exterior render of a new shopping complex, in photoshop I put some real people, sky, cars, plants (landscaping)... etc.
skip unnecessary modeling for anything you can do in photoshop, those extra polygons = extra render time (and sometimes won't even render).

-------------------

4th

second preview. email them the final look (but low quality resolution)

when got an A-okay from the client,

next step :

done. ask the remaining payment before giving the final product. (no money no talk.)

if not, do some correction/alteration... changing idea..? thats gonna cost extra.. (first changes is free)

-----------------

well.... different people, different way of doing stuff..

about the payment,
usually I gave them the base price for the service (modeling, compositing..etc) (not including render per piece, that's another price.)
I don't charge according to how many hours/days, and I rarely charge them base on complexity cause I always do my best even for a simple job.
(I hate doing a half-4ss job)

if they say.. "wahhliau weyyy... damn expensive mehh...?"
if that happens, most of the time, I just ask them what's their budget, and we go from there.
(you can always decline the work though.)

wahsaiii... long post already. biggrin.gif

anyway, good luck in your job.

eejey
post Sep 11 2008, 12:23 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(Core- @ Sep 10 2008, 03:58 AM)
this is basically how i do as well

btw dude, mind if i ask how u ask ur client to pay u 1st before u hand him final product???
as in... how u say to him??
"after u pay me i will send u the final file..."
or or? how u say??? usually i just giv them my files 1st then wait for them to pay me. @.@ so far nvr kena cheat yet la. doesnt mean that i wont in future, but tats why wanna know how usually u guys ask them to pay 1st? lol... tongue.gif
I used to ask them to pay me only after I delivered the final files.
because of that I got cheated twice in the same year... sweat.gif

but I managed to get them to pay me the rest of the money... flex.gif
(its a long story)

after that I change my strategy.

every time there's a new job, I will always tell them before we even made any deal,
that I will only send them the final files after I received the rest of the payment,
and of course after I showed them the final low-resolution one...
that's just how I do things...

If they are ok with it, then we have a deal...
if not... well.. pls feel free to find someone else. tongue.gif

basically when the deadline is near, I will remind them again, that the final product will only be send after I received the rest of the payment.

0.2983sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:06 PM