Hi-Fi Harbeth Owners/Fans

TSRobA4
post Sep 6 2008, 10:56 AM, updated 3y ago

190 posts

I'm sure there are quite a few out there.

Pls reveal yourselves and what Harbeth speakers you own or at least aspire to own.

I've got a pair of old Mission 780s and am thinking of upgrading to Harbeths.
nicholas_1213
post Sep 6 2008, 11:00 AM

Music is how feeling sounds like..
1,140 posts

Owh Harbeths.. I'm longing to have one hehe, just that it's way out of my budget even the used one.. till now didn't even have a chance to audit them yet cry.gif
gabanyayaya
post Sep 6 2008, 12:17 PM

Audiophedophile
1,143 posts

QUOTE(RobA4 @ Sep 6 2008, 11:56 AM)

Pls reveal yourselves and what Harbeth speakers you own or at least aspire to own.

RobA4, how does the Mission sounds now? I bet that speaker is good old one....
TSRobA4
post Sep 8 2008, 05:59 PM

190 posts

My Mission actually sounds quite good to my ears. On the warm side but not that detailed. Budget speakers mah......

My dream would be to have the Compact 7s. Slurp!!!!!!
PcWork
post Sep 9 2008, 12:09 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

i am currently eyeing on Harberth P3 . looking for second hand pair for my night time listening.
sleme
post Sep 9 2008, 03:32 PM

39 posts

As an ex owner of a pair of HLP3 and current owner of a pair of Compact 7, I can vouch that they are worth the money. Best real world speakers out there..Beautifully finished and made to last. That is why it is rare to get a second hand pair. A possibility is to check with Tropical Audio, Sam may have some second hand pairs from time to time. Harbeth owners usually upgrade to another Harbeth..... smile.gif
bsl555
post Sep 9 2008, 03:50 PM

8,046 posts

If anyone at Subang Jaya, goto Rock Corner Subang Parade. Hear a modded the 1st generation Harbeth HL-5 all you want. Sorry, I don't know with what amplifier its mated with but I always enjoy the sound anyhow. It was acquired lock, stock and barrel from previous owner Pennylane Music. Sorry too, I personally don't favor mini speakers like HLP-3. They just don't have the scale and dynamics of its bigger brethren.
BTW, don't waste your money on the Compact 7..go for the Super HL-5 if you splash more $$. go all the way..not compromise.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Sep 9 2008, 03:51 PM
Tachikoma
post Sep 9 2008, 03:52 PM

Dot
2,864 posts

Do they still have a special listening room in there? I thought they demolished the walls to make more room for crappy CDs.

I liked the old store sad.gif
sleme
post Sep 9 2008, 04:32 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Sep 9 2008, 03:50 PM)
BTW, don't waste your money on the Compact 7..go for the Super HL-5 if you splash more $$. go all the way..not compromise.
Disagree with you there. I dont think the Compact 7 is a compromise (neither does Alan Shaw the owner/designer for that matter). I prefer the Compact 7 to the HL-5 which has a sweeter mid-range but lacks the punch and drive of the Compact 7. Price wise, both are about the same.
To choose between these two, a demo is essential.

With regards to the HLP3, again I have to disagree if you. One thing that the HLP3 does not lack is scale. It sounds way bigger than its size. It is brilliant in a small to medium size room. If the room its too big it may start to struggle. One thing is for sure, so long as the electronics are decent (does not need to be expensive), the HLP3 can really sing and 'disappear'.

This post has been edited by sleme: Sep 9 2008, 04:37 PM
SaifulAJ
post Dec 22 2008, 10:25 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(bsl555 @ Sep 9 2008, 03:50 PM)
mini speakers like HLP-3. They just don't have the scale and dynamics of its bigger brethren.
I have the first generation P3. In the right room and with the right equipment, the P3 just shine in the dynamic and scale segments and the way they reproduce vocals is seductive smile.gif

Harbeth speakers are very special. They might not have the biggest soundstage, the tightest bass, the sweetest treble etc but they just play the music right - everything else does not matter.

I have for many times listened to both 7ES3 and SHL5. Both are very special and really worth the price.
BCurve
post Dec 22 2008, 10:59 PM

1,271 posts

I prefer the Compact 7, suits my listening area where I listen mostly at low volume for as long as 7-9 hours. The Super 5 is too big and overkill especially since I don't play them loud. The 3rd generation 7s has newer driver etc, no bi-wire.
bose00
post Dec 23 2008, 06:23 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(BCurve @ Dec 22 2008, 10:59 PM)
I prefer the Compact 7, suits my listening area where I listen mostly at low volume for as long as 7-9 hours.  The Super 5 is too big and overkill especially since I don't play them loud.  The 3rd generation 7s has newer driver etc, no bi-wire.
i did not know this thread does exist.
btw i am a proud owner of Harbeth C7 es3 Tiger Ebony 30th Anniversary Edition.

i do listen to certain rock/ country rock song ~ personally C7 is more to my liking ~the attack is fast, the timing is right and it suits my room size.

The HL5 has more warmth to the mid, better highs and bigger sounstage.

TSRobA4
post Dec 23 2008, 06:54 PM

190 posts

I have since gotten meself a pair of Compact 7ES3 and I'm well chuffed with it.

It is the most natural sounding speakers I've ever owned and who says Harbeths cannot play rock? It does all the Led Zeps and Pink Floyds easily, well, in my room anyway.
bose00
post Dec 24 2008, 09:30 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(RobA4 @ Dec 23 2008, 06:54 PM)
I have since gotten meself a pair of Compact 7ES3 and I'm well chuffed with it.

It is the most natural sounding speakers I've ever owned and who says Harbeths cannot play rock? It does all the Led Zeps and Pink Floyds easily, well, in my room anyway.
RobA4, mind to tell which amp are using to drive yr C7 ?
i am currently using a valve amplifier using quad kt88 tubes which has the punch and added warmth to the mid. but as time goes, its just too hassle to find the matching tubes and not to mentiont its scare & overly expensive~ sad to say my spares are running out and the new production tubes is not as musical as the NOS tubes.

indeed i am looking for a SS amplifier preferably Quad 606 (<5 years, i doubt i can) or i'll just save up for a year or two for a brand new pre/power Quad 909.

This post has been edited by bose00: Dec 24 2008, 09:31 AM
BCurve
post Dec 24 2008, 09:40 AM

1,271 posts

Save the money, Compact 7s are easy to drive. Even with my old A&R Cambridge A60 with cables costing only a few bucks a foot. Any decent amp should make them sing. Why not just bring yours into the shop for a test. smile.gif

This post has been edited by BCurve: Dec 24 2008, 09:46 AM
bose00
post Dec 24 2008, 10:31 AM

214 posts

QUOTE(BCurve @ Dec 24 2008, 09:40 AM)
Save the money, Compact 7s are easy to drive.  Even with my old A&R Cambridge A60 with cables costing only a few bucks a foot.  Any decent amp should make them sing.  Why not just bring yours into the shop for a test.  smile.gif
will think about it .
previously i brought my LE rosewood rogers ls35a to a friend 's place for comparision test. i ended up getting a slight dent at the edge of the speaker, its like a knife stab in my chest.

SaifulAJ
post Dec 24 2008, 11:18 AM

41 posts

Bose00 (You may now change your username to Harbeth00),

The Quad 606 and its more modern sounding sibling, the 909 is a good and inexpensive amp for the Harbeth. You may want to explore the Quad CDP-2 driving the 909 directly and I rather like the outcome.

Another good alternative is the chrome bumper Naim 32.5, Hicap power supply and NAP250 or even the 42.5 and 110 or 140 to save cost. Unlike the olive green Naim, the eldest generation does not shout at you but deliver musicality in spades. I have limited experience in the current Naim though.

LFD amps are also reportedly to be a match made in heaven for the Harbeth. The MkIII version of the LFD Zero Integrated receive great praise from Harbeth dealers in UK and US and some fans in Singapore. I would like to have a listen but there's no LFD dealer in KL that I know of.

Having said these, any good Brit amps like the A&R stated earlier, the Creeks and Exposures are also good SS alternatives for the Harbeth.

If money is no object one day, have a listen to Reimyo CD player, FM Acoustics amplifiers and Monitor 40. It is one of the best system I've ever heard at least as good as full Naim active systems, properly equipped Shahinians speakers and Quad electrostatic.

Just my 2 sen.

This post has been edited by SaifulAJ: Dec 24 2008, 11:22 AM
bose00
post Dec 24 2008, 04:55 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(SaifulAJ @ Dec 24 2008, 11:18 AM)

The Quad 606 and its more modern sounding sibling, the 909 is a good and inexpensive amp for the Harbeth. You may want to explore the Quad CDP-2 driving the 909 directly and I rather like the outcome.

Another good alternative is the chrome bumper Naim 32.5, Hicap power supply and NAP250 or even the 42.5 and 110 or 140 to save cost. Unlike the olive green Naim, the eldest generation does not shout at you but deliver musicality in spades. I have limited experience in the current Naim though.

LFD amps are also reportedly to be a match made in heaven for the Harbeth. The MkIII version of the LFD Zero Integrated receive great praise from Harbeth dealers in UK and US and some fans in Singapore. I would like to have a listen but there's no LFD dealer in KL that I know of.

Having said these, any good Brit amps like the A&R stated earlier, the Creeks and Exposures are also good SS alternatives for the Harbeth.

If money is no object one day, have a listen to Reimyo CD player, FM Acoustics amplifiers and Monitor 40. It is one of the best system I've ever heard at least as good as full Naim active systems, properly equipped Shahinians speakers and Quad electrostatic.

Just my 2 sen.
listening to the Quad & Harbeth combination, i can't tell what is wrong! every musical note & pace just sounded so right.

i've listened to Nait 5iv2 driving proac response speaker ~good music reproduction but not 2 impressive to my ears. i've yet to listen to the combination of Naim & Harbeth, looking forward to it.

as for CD player, i don't think i'll replace my rega apollo anytime soon , it work flawlessly & play beautifully.
TSRobA4
post Dec 24 2008, 05:28 PM

190 posts

I use a Mac tube amp, the MA2275
bose00
post Dec 28 2008, 05:36 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(RobA4 @ Dec 24 2008, 05:28 PM)
I use a Mac tube amp, the MA2275
nice ! harbethians, mind to share & post yr setup ? i will share once i get a hold of the camera.
would like to collect Harbeth setup picture smile.gif
TSRobA4
post Dec 28 2008, 09:09 PM

190 posts

Here's a posted-before-shot of my office set-up with the said Harbeth C7s.

poison arrow
post Dec 29 2008, 07:34 PM

75 posts

i started with a HL5 and later upgrade to SHL5 30th anniversary paired with LFD mark111.
if you are near Penang, you are welcome to listen.
churz.....
bose00
post Jan 4 2009, 04:24 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(poison arrow @ Dec 29 2008, 07:34 PM)
i started with a HL5 and later upgrade to SHL5 30th anniversary paired with LFD mark111.
if you are near Penang, you are welcome to listen.
churz.....
poison arrow, thanks~if i have chance i would be more than happy to audition the SHL5 w/ LFD Amplifier.
currently, i am in KL .

this is my humble system :

Harbeth C7 w/o speaker grill on.

Btw any user here listen w/o the speaker grill on ?
personally i'll prefer with the speaker grill on, esp the highs are smoother and less noisy.

This post has been edited by bose00: Jan 16 2009, 08:59 AM
TSRobA4
post Jan 4 2009, 04:59 PM

190 posts

bose00,

I prefer with the grilles on, somehow the sound seems marginally more natural and musical, dunno why.

BTW... those look like Naim Allaes at the back, are they?

And do you find the close proximity to the side walls where your HL5s are result in a boomy sound?
bose00
post Jan 4 2009, 05:20 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(RobA4 @ Jan 4 2009, 04:59 PM)
bose00,

I prefer with the grilles on, somehow the sound seems marginally more natural and musical, dunno why.

BTW... those look like Naim Allaes at the back, are they?

And do you find the close proximity to the side walls where your HL5s are result in a boomy sound?
those are Pioneer HT Speaker, almost 15 years old.

btw its Compact 7 smile.gif

This post has been edited by bose00: Jan 16 2009, 08:59 AM
bose00
post Jan 4 2009, 10:08 PM

214 posts

Lastest newsletter from Harbeth :

HL Compact 7ES3 - No1 in Japan's Stereo Sound

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy New year to all our members and great news from Japan, one of Harbeth's best markets.

The listening panel at Stereo Sound, the prestigious Japanese audio-only magazine has voted the HL Compact 7ES3 No1 in the medium price speaker category in the current 'Winter 2009' edition, released December '08. Harbeth's Alan Shaw comments ...
"It's incredible to think that twenty years after the original HL Compact was voted No.1 in Stereo Sound, it's grandson The HL Compact 7ES3 is back again in pole position. Thank you very much to all our friends in Japan for their continuing support. It just proves the importance of offering traditional value and retaining our core philosophy. "

As Alan said, his very first speaker, the HL Compact, was an immediate success in Japan where it offered excellent sonics in a box very convenient with Japanese homes. With a definite family resemblance between grandfather and grandson the main difference is that the HL Compact 7 was the first Harbeth to use the Harbeth-exclusive RADIAL cone. It's a tribute to the Harbeth values and long-term product stability that twenty years after their launch the latest model is even more revered than its illustrious predecessor.

This post has been edited by bose00: Jan 16 2009, 08:58 AM
poison arrow
post Jan 30 2009, 07:21 PM

75 posts

hi bose,

too bad my system is set up in Penang. But i live in Kajang. if u ever happen to drop by, please let me know and i want you to experience harbeth +LFD

seems that you are pairing your harbeth C7 with a valve amp? how do you find it? a little laid back? i used to pair valve amp with my old HL5 and i still love it so much.......

there aren't many harbeth owners joining this forum huh.......
bose00
post Feb 13 2009, 08:57 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(poison arrow @ Jan 30 2009, 07:21 PM)
hi bose,

too bad my system is set up in Penang. But i live in Kajang. if u ever happen to drop by, please let me know and i want you to experience harbeth +LFD

seems that you are pairing your harbeth C7 with a valve amp? how do you find it? a little laid back? i used to pair valve amp with my old HL5 and i still love it so much.......

thanks for the invitation, poison arrow.
really curious to know how the LFD + harbeth speaker sounds .

mind if i ask which model of the LFD ?

i kinda like the Quad 606 + Harbeth C7 combination.. its very dynamic, fast and added warmth to the mid.
btw i 've got a dedicated room for listening, will update.
tinears
post Feb 14 2009, 08:21 PM

Hi all

Harbeth P3 and Quad 306 owner from Pennag checking in smile.gif
Had my P3 since 1993, I'd love to hear the C7ES3 and SHL5.

cheers to all.
Tak-one
post Feb 14 2009, 11:13 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Sep 6 2008, 11:00 AM)
Owh Harbeths.. I'm longing to have one hehe, just that it's way out of my budget even the used one.. till now didn't even have a chance to audit them yet  cry.gif
Maybe this year again you may visit the KLAV show held in marriot Hotel sometime july

Added on February 14, 2009, 11:18 pm
QUOTE(bose00 @ Feb 13 2009, 08:57 PM)
thanks for the invitation, poison arrow.
really curious to know how the LFD + harbeth speaker sounds .

mind if i ask which model of the LFD ?

i kinda like the Quad 606 + Harbeth C7 combination.. its very dynamic, fast and added warmth to the mid.
btw i 've got a dedicated room for listening, will update.
Wow....this is just great for you with dedicated listenning room...envy you lah.
Well i thinking LFD seems highly regarded by many Harbethian user partnering this amp in S'pore
It's a nice combi for both Quad 606 & C7.

Added on February 16, 2009, 12:06 am
QUOTE(RobA4 @ Dec 28 2008, 09:09 PM)
Here's a posted-before-shot of my office set-up with the said Harbeth C7s.
Hey...Rob4

Tis awesome set-up for your Harbeth....lei
great combi for your C7 with Mac.

This post has been edited by Tak-one: Feb 16 2009, 12:06 AM
kkthen
post Mar 15 2009, 04:20 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(poison arrow @ Jan 30 2009, 07:21 PM)
hi bose,

Can I get the LFD zero LE amp in Malaysia or not?
poison arrow
post Mar 27 2009, 05:43 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ Mar 15 2009, 04:20 AM)
Can I get the LFD zero LE amp  in Malaysia or not?
i do not think so, however pls try cal keith 02 96482085
he is more than willing to help
just quote that you wants to know more abt LFD amp and he will direct you to
DR Roland ( i do not have the number ) Dr Roland is the sole importer for
LFD in South East Asia.

churzzzzz
Tak-one
post Mar 27 2009, 10:00 AM

387 posts

Just my 2 sen.
Yea...Saiful the 909 is different from 606. 909 is faster.

LFD....well there isn't any dealer in Malaysia.Perhaps over the causeway check it out with Dr.roland..a friendly chap.
Afterall either Harbeth or Spendor....not that difficult to drive.

Wow....remiyo/fm acoustics driving M40? better drive in X1/2 lah or YG Acoustics..kipod to start. can't agreed more with that

Added on March 27, 2009, 10:12 am
LFD.....you may contact him directly...+65- 9765 0136 Dr.Roland

This post has been edited by Tak-one: Mar 27 2009, 10:12 AM
poison arrow
post Mar 28 2009, 09:49 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Tak-one @ Mar 27 2009, 10:00 AM)
Yea...Saiful the 909 is different from 606. 909 is faster.

LFD....well there isn't any dealer in Malaysia.Perhaps over the causeway check it out with Dr.roland..a friendly chap.
Afterall either Harbeth or Spendor....not that difficult to drive.

Wow....remiyo/fm acoustics driving M40? better drive in X1/2 lah or YG Acoustics..kipod to start. can't agreed more with that

Added on March 27, 2009, 10:12 am
LFD.....you may contact him directly...+65- 9765 0136 Dr.Roland
indeed Dr Roland is a nice guy.

kkthen
post Apr 13 2009, 09:42 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(poison arrow @ Mar 27 2009, 05:43 AM)
i do not think so, however pls try cal keith 02 96482085
he is more than willing to help
just quote that you wants to know more abt LFD amp and he will direct you to
DR Roland ( i do not have the number ) Dr Roland is the sole importer for
LFD in South East Asia.

churzzzzz

Thanks your information, SO I need to contact Dr Roland in Singapore to order LFD amp. Keith is also in singapore??
Tak-one
post Apr 13 2009, 10:32 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ Apr 13 2009, 09:42 AM)
Thanks your information, SO I need to contact  Dr Roland in Singapore  to order LFD amp.  Keith is also in singapore??
Yup....jz contact him directly in S'pore.Keith is a M'sian but residing in S'pore.
So which harbeth are you using now?
keithwwk
post Apr 13 2009, 09:01 PM

41 posts

Hi all Harbethians!

My fist post here. Very glad to see a Harbeth thread here.

I am Harbeth user too. Currently I got SHL5 and old Compact 7. My amp is LED Zero LE III and Marantz CDP. My friend old p3 is resting in my room too.

How you guys thought abt Harbeth? To me, Harbeth is my last and final speaker rclxms.gif

PS: Still got a wish : own a pair of M40.1..I wish I can laugh.gif

Added on April 14, 2009, 7:39 am
QUOTE(kkthen @ Apr 13 2009, 09:42 AM)
Thanks your information, SO I need to contact  Dr Roland in Singapore  to order LFD amp.  Keith is also in singapore??
Hi kkthen,

Tak-one is right. You can contact Roland directly or if you come to Sg we can visit him together.
I will visit him this Sunday to listen to LFD + SHL5..A simple "bath in the music" gathering...

PS: Thx Hakka Bro, poison_arrow for the kind words.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by keithwwk: Apr 14 2009, 07:39 AM
Tak-one
post Apr 14 2009, 09:51 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Apr 13 2009, 09:01 PM)
Hi all Harbethians!

I am Harbeth user too. Currently I got SHL5 and old Compact 7. My amp is LED Zero LE III and Marantz CDP. My friend old p3 is resting in my room too.

How you guys thought abt Harbeth? To me, Harbeth is my last and final speaker  rclxms.gif

PS: Still got a wish : own a pair of M40.1..I wish I can  laugh.gif

Hi kkthen,

Tak-one is right. You can contact Roland directly or if you come to Sg we can visit him together.
I will visit him this Sunday to listen to LFD + SHL5..A simple "bath in the music" gathering...

Yeah..M40.1 great speakers if space and $$$ no issue.You shud have taken the pair from Tropical then M40?
Meibe you can share some of view on LFD amp combi with Harbeth here.Enlighten us...
Dr.Roland is like a user friendly...quite accomodating i wud say...great chap.
So shower us more on LFD amp then..

Added on April 14, 2009, 12:14 pm
Hi all Harbethians!

How you guys thought abt Harbeth? To me, Harbeth is my last and final speaker  rclxms.gif

PS: Still got a wish : own a pair of M40.1..I wish I can  laugh.gif

Hi kkthen,

Keithwwk, perhaps for the moment you may switch over here as echoloft site is temprory download....
Meibe Jason updating the site again....

This post has been edited by Tak-one: Apr 14 2009, 12:14 PM
poison arrow
post Apr 14 2009, 08:36 PM

75 posts

hakka bro keith,

you wanna start a long tread here just like what you start in LOFT?
how i wish more music lovers can experience Harbeth.
hakka bro.......any latest toys?
hope to see more of your posting + pictures.
kkthen
post Apr 15 2009, 12:51 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Tak-one @ Apr 13 2009, 10:32 AM)
Yup....jz contact him directly in S'pore.Keith is a M'sian but residing in S'pore.
So which harbeth are you using now?
not yet. But I love harbeth hl5 sound.

Added on April 15, 2009, 1:05 pm
Hi kkthen,

Hello, keithwwk. After i contact Roland, he said cannot demo LFD zero LE & harbeth because don't have any stock of LFD zero. He recommend me to contact you. May I know your system in JB or Singapore, can I visit you for audition? I want to know how musical of LFD+harbeth combo, thanks.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Apr 15 2009, 01:07 PM
poison arrow
post Apr 16 2009, 03:13 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ Apr 15 2009, 12:51 PM)

Hello, keithwwk. After i contact Roland, he said cannot demo LFD zero LE & harbeth because don't  have any stock of LFD zero. He recommend me to contact you. May I know your system in JB or Singapore, can I visit you  for audition? I want to know how musical of LFD+harbeth combo, thanks.
hello there kkthen,

where are your exact location? if you are around northern area, i am more than willing to show you the LFD Zero 111 and Harbeth shl5 ( 30th anniversary ) I am located in Penang and give me a tinkle when you have time.

ps: my listening room might not be perfect but you can feel the difference

churz

Added on April 16, 2009, 4:28 pm
QUOTE(kkthen @ Apr 15 2009, 12:51 PM)

Hello, keithwwk. After i contact Roland, he said cannot demo LFD zero LE & harbeth because don't  have any stock of LFD zero. He recommend me to contact you. May I know your system in JB or Singapore, can I visit you  for audition? I want to know how musical of LFD+harbeth combo, thanks.
hello there kkthen,

where are your exact location? if you are around northern area, i am more than willing to show you the LFD Zero 111 and Harbeth shl5 ( 30th anniversary ) I am located in Penang and give me a tinkle when you have time.

churz

This post has been edited by poison arrow: Apr 16 2009, 04:28 PM
kkthen
post Apr 17 2009, 02:41 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(poison arrow @ Apr 16 2009, 03:13 PM)

churz
:) I am From KL. IF i got time, I am sure to go Penang to visit you. Can you pm your phone number to me, I have many question to ask you. actually I am planning to visit my friend at JB next month. IF someone can show me the LFD Zero 111 at Johor & I like it , I will direct go to singapore to get one from roland.

aawcy
post Apr 17 2009, 02:55 PM

179 posts

How was the bass extension for C7 ES-3?Can it comparable to floorstander?i love deep and tight bass...i wonder if C7ES-3 excel in that area...
keithwwk
post Apr 17 2009, 10:17 PM

41 posts

Hi take-one and hakka bro,

I will share more Harbeth/LFD combo here when I got time. Recently I am very buzy. smile.gif

Hi kkthen,

I saw your post here and echoloft pm. I replied you thru pm too. Pls check.
Due to busy work, weekend support and also Queen reason (my wife, I mean sweat.gif ), I need to know will you come alone and what time will you coming because I need to pre-arrange my work and talk to my wife 1st before I can commited to you on the date. Pls take this off line.

IMHO, as for the LFD sound, I must say, if you really want to know the LE III full potential, you shld visit Roland directly. His listening hall is really good enough for every one to judge LFD sound due to zero booming in bass in that hall. According to Roland, new LE III shippment will arrive by next month (May). It is really worth for you to make a trip down to visit him.

Allow me to talk a bit...as for Harbeth + LFD sound, Harbeth was paired with LFD in recent hifi shows like the M40.1 with LFD PA3 and the new LFD NCSE amp in CES with Harbeth new P3R. UK stereonow still demo the M40.1 with LFD and now the M40.1 is back ordered. There is a real synergy betwwen Harbeth and LFD.

Cheers smile.gif

HFW article: see attachment (Below)

LFD with P3R
http://www.my-hiend.com/vbb/showpost.php?p...4&postcount=677

Added on April 17, 2009, 10:49 pm
QUOTE(aawcy @ Apr 17 2009, 02:55 PM)
How was the bass extension for C7 ES-3?Can it comparable to floorstander?i love deep and tight bass...i wonder if C7ES-3 excel in that area...
Hi aawcy,

I can not share you much on this due to huge difference in our taste. I am a 90% classical musics + 10% of Jazz and vocal listener.

But, to allow me to talk a bit... sweat.gif

IMHO, the way Harbeth play Rock or Techno is very very differnet from what you heard (if any) from US, France or Canada speakers. Harbeth will not give you chest whacking mid bass and ground shaking deep bass. If you like deep and tight bass, my adivse for you is to look else way. I know few Harbethians like to play Rock, but, to me, Harbeth rock in very civilised way that some Rockers can not appreciate.

If you value "correct" or "right" timbre accuracy and tonal purity of instrucments (e.g, color of sax, violin, wooden feeling of cello, skin tighness of a drum) and human voices, Harbeth is for you. If you value only bass whacking and deep low bass to shake wall or floor, you need only US or Canada speakers like JBL or PSB.

Bring all your favourite albums to Tropical Audio there is the best way for you to know the answer.

Cheers!

This post has been edited by keithwwk: Apr 17 2009, 10:50 PM

aawcy
post May 10 2009, 10:24 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Apr 17 2009, 10:17 PM)
Hi take-one and hakka bro,

I will share more Harbeth/LFD combo here when I got time. Recently I am very buzy.  smile.gif
Hi kkthen,

I saw your post here and echoloft pm. I replied you thru pm too. Pls check.
Due to busy work, weekend support and also Queen reason (my wife, I mean sweat.gif  ), I need to know will you come alone and what time will you coming because I need to pre-arrange my work and talk to my wife 1st before I can commited to you on the date. Pls take this off line.

IMHO, as for the LFD sound, I must say, if you really want to know the LE III full potential, you shld visit Roland directly. His listening hall is really good enough for every one to judge LFD sound due to zero booming in bass in that hall. According to Roland, new LE III shippment will arrive by next month (May). It is really worth for you to make a trip down to visit him.
Allow me to talk a bit...as for Harbeth + LFD sound, Harbeth was paired with LFD in recent hifi shows like the M40.1 with LFD PA3 and the new LFD NCSE amp in CES with Harbeth new P3R. UK stereonow still demo the M40.1 with LFD and now the M40.1 is back ordered. There is a real synergy betwwen Harbeth and LFD.

Cheers  smile.gif

HFW article: see attachment (Below)
LFD with P3R
http://www.my-hiend.com/vbb/showpost.php?p...4&postcount=677

Added on April 17, 2009, 10:49 pm

Hi aawcy,

I can not share you much on this due to huge difference in our taste. I am a 90% classical musics + 10% of Jazz and vocal listener.

But, to allow me to talk a bit... sweat.gif

IMHO, the way Harbeth play Rock or Techno is very very differnet from what you heard (if any) from US, France or Canada speakers. Harbeth will not give you chest whacking mid bass and ground shaking deep bass. If you like deep and tight bass, my adivse for you is to look else way. I know few Harbethians like to play Rock, but, to me, Harbeth rock in very civilised way that some Rockers can not appreciate.

If you value "correct" or "right" timbre accuracy and tonal purity of instrucments (e.g, color of sax, violin, wooden feeling of cello, skin tighness of a drum) and human voices, Harbeth is for you. If you value only bass whacking and deep low bass to shake wall or floor, you need only US or Canada speakers like JBL or PSB.

Bring all your favourite albums to Tropical Audio there is the best way for you to know the answer.

Cheers!
Thanks for such detail reply...i understand what u mean...since C7ES-3 & SHL5 use 8" mid/bass woofer, will SHL5 produce greater bass due to larger internal volume? i suppose it's the way. How deep is the speaker excursion?
Is it very flexible or rigid? thanks again...

keithwwk
post May 11 2009, 10:47 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(aawcy @ May 10 2009, 10:24 PM)
Thanks for such detail reply...i understand what u mean...since C7ES-3 & SHL5 use 8" mid/bass woofer, will SHL5 produce greater bass due to larger internal volume? i suppose it's the way. How deep is the speaker excursion?
Is it very flexible or rigid? thanks again...
Hi aawcy,

1stly, I am sorry have to repeat again, guess from the musics you mentioned, Harbeth is really not suite you. Harbeth is best for close up enjoyment with moderate volume. It is not to play loud with chest whacking bass musics. The cone movement is combined with Harbeth "loose cabinet" to produce true midrange or human voice with warmth bass.

2ndly, my meaning of greater bass is different from yours, for sure. Do my ear, SHL5's bass is greater than C7es3 because it play better texture bass, better color bass, more extended, details, more volume and affortless.

If you need large speaker excursion, long-thru coil with solid hard bass, go for solid cabinet design like B&W, Focal/JMlab, Monitor Audio, Paradigm, Totem, Chario, JBL, Thiel or any other USA speakers. There are many 8" driver speakers can give the bass you want but not Harbeth's true midrange.

Sincerely.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by keithwwk: May 11 2009, 10:50 PM
poison arrow
post May 21 2009, 08:21 PM

75 posts

bumpz to the tread.......
harbeth owners, any new gadgets to share or new listening experience
kkthen
post Jun 15 2009, 10:00 AM

572 posts

I have test the krell cd player + LFD zero mk3 int amp + harbeth SHL5 in my new friend , match like heaven, everything is sound just right, can play all kind of music include rock. Now I am understand why many harbeth owner like this combination, but my small room 8' x 14' not suitable for harbeth SHL5. If not, I sure to put harbeth SHL5 into my upgrade list.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Jun 15 2009, 10:01 AM
PcWork
post Jun 15 2009, 11:53 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

SHL5 now selling at what price????

kkthen
post Jun 15 2009, 12:04 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(PcWork @ Jun 15 2009, 11:53 AM)
SHL5 now selling at what price????
last time price should be around 10K include original stand.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Jun 15 2009, 12:14 PM
PcWork
post Jun 15 2009, 01:39 PM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

sigh.......... way way way out of budget..

poison arrow
post Jun 15 2009, 09:23 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ Jun 15 2009, 10:00 AM)
I have test the krell cd player + LFD zero mk3 int amp  + harbeth SHL5 in my new friend , match like heaven, everything is sound just right, can play all kind of music include rock. Now I am understand why many harbeth  owner like this combination, but my small room 8' x 14' not suitable for harbeth SHL5. If not, I sure to put  harbeth SHL5 into  my upgrade list.
my listening room is only 7 X 14 feet. and it sound fabulous with my LFD + SHL5 thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
should not be a problem tongue.gif
kkthen
post Jun 15 2009, 11:58 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(poison arrow @ Jun 15 2009, 09:23 PM)
my listening room is only 7 X 14 feet. and it sound fabulous with my LFD + SHL5 thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
should not be a problem tongue.gif
Poison arrow bro, really blink.gif ? If I got a chance, I am sure to go your place to listen your system. your room treatment must be very good. biggrin.gif what is the distance from back wall to your speaker.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Jun 16 2009, 12:07 AM
skydna
post Jun 16 2009, 08:17 PM

236 posts

Halo to all harbeth sifu, i am still considering a new small bookshelf for my naim nait 5i
i am listening to pop, vocal and jazz most of the time eg, Koda kumi, olivia ong, emi fujita, is HL-P3ES2 can handle it?
i am still not sure to go harbeth ,sonus or ATC as i havent try with my own amp
how much is the new HL-P3ES2 price now? and what is the improvement over the 1st genereation HL-P3 ?

Ah sorry for many weird question thanks in advance sifu~~
aawcy
post Jun 16 2009, 09:39 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(skydna @ Jun 16 2009, 08:17 PM)
Halo to all harbeth sifu, i am still considering a new small bookshelf for my naim nait 5i
i am listening to pop, vocal and jazz most of the time eg, Koda kumi, olivia ong, emi fujita, is HL-P3ES2 can handle it?
i am still not sure to go harbeth ,sonus or ATC as i havent try with my own amp
how much is the new HL-P3ES2 price now? and what is the improvement over the 1st genereation HL-P3 ?

Ah sorry for many weird question thanks in advance sifu~~
go for at least C7ES-3 ar... rclxms.gif

Added on June 16, 2009, 9:40 pm
QUOTE(kkthen @ Jun 15 2009, 11:58 PM)
Poison arrow bro, really  blink.gif ? If I got a chance, I am sure to go your place to listen your system. your room treatment must be very good.  biggrin.gif  what is the distance from back wall to your speaker.
if you go to harbeth forum, according to Alan, SHL5 can works wonderfully in small room too.... nod.gif

This post has been edited by aawcy: Jun 16 2009, 09:40 PM
poison arrow
post Jun 18 2009, 09:21 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(kkthen @ Jun 15 2009, 11:58 PM)
Poison arrow bro, really  blink.gif ? If I got a chance, I am sure to go your place to listen your system. your room treatment must be very good.  biggrin.gif  what is the distance from back wall to your speaker.
really......no lie here.
distance from back wall is only 1 feet away.
my room is fully carpeted and it helps.

you are most welcome to visit.... rclxm9.gif
keithwwk
post Jun 23 2009, 09:23 PM

41 posts

Hi skydna,
The P3ES2 sound a bit more transparent than the old P3. To my ear, the old P3 sound a bit more musical or "Wei Dao" then the P3es2.

The P3R with radial cone is out soon. You can consider too.

Btw, how big your room is?

Cheers!

Added on November 16, 2009, 11:12 pmCame across this review just now:

[ZT]迄今看到最感人的器材评价-Harbeth C7ES-供有耐心且懂英文的朋友慢慢看

[转贴]雨后初晴 Compact 7 ES 的评价
作者在一次意外中身受重伤后,生命中带来欢乐和希望的是Harbeth C7 ES。。。

Harbeth C7 ES-2 review

Summary:
What I will disclose herewith is the truth , the whole truth and nothing but the truth. On September 2, 2003, life gave the most surreal wake up call imaginable as I suffered a massive and near fatal stroke to the right hemisphere of the brain, When I arrived at the hospital 16 hours later I was in a deep coma and in severe respiratory distress , a tracheotomy was performed in my throath permitting me to breathe thru a tube. I did not see a blinding light or my life flashing in front of my eyes. It was simply a total void of will I survive or will I be a vegetable. 3 weeks later I emerged and had the entire neurological staff at my side with their inferior jaws almost touching the ground. They pronounced me a miracle. I had absolutely no clue that I had just entered the twilight zone of the mentally unwell. The following 6 months was wall to wall therapy facing the rest of my life confined in a wheelchair. I was fighting a battle against the most complex entity in the universe, and it possesses a door lock for which there is no key. I have to become my own locksmith. To this day I have not witnessed a single hint of improvement Given my total incapacity to climb stairs I had no other alternative but to terminate my lease and take my entire life savings and purchase a condo unit in a building with elevator service. As if a stroke was not enough on May 5th 2004 I suffered my first of 10 epileptic seizures that will require that I be medicated for the rest of my life. being denied the permission to drive a motor vehicle.I needed that like I needed a bullet in the head. Given that my condo floors are made out of reinforced concrete doing physical therapy with an epilepsy condition becomes a very risky endeavor. Imagine living the rest of your life with a 2 by 4 instead of a left leg .I am the proverbial leaf in the wind. For me walking 200 feet with my quadripod cane is like running 5 consecutive Boston marathons. I wake up every morning seing life in a foreign brain with emotions that I dont recognize. Thank god for me in 1998 I had the foresight to upgrade my Rogers LS7t speakers for a pair of Compact 7 SE2.I also had the foresight to upgrade my YBA Integre DT integrated amp, to the then brand new YBA Integre Passion integrated. The foundation for pure musical nirvana was in place.I think of these 2 components as the Romeo and Juliet of high end audio. The radial driver is an exceptional piece of acoustical engineering. Specs claim 46 Hz to 20 Khz. With my YBA amp the bottom end feels much more like 40 Hz. When using the fine YBA Diamond speaker and interconnect cables in a by wired configuration. They will melt the harshest heart on earth. You will be very hard pressed to find a more pleasant and pristine sound. At any price. These speakers are not to be analyzed but appreciated as exceptional musical instruments. Need I say more we are in presence of greatness here.Wait until you listen to Yo Yo Ma. You will recognize genious and passion for the artform. Put your seatbelt on as you will be jumping with joy and have entered the qualitative dimension of the universe. Close your eyes and immerse yourself in the ocean of wellbeing and serenity.

Strengths:
Cello's wind intruments, classical guitar , harp are to die for. Piano is not an orphan with these speakers, piano peddles have a gorgeous weight and piano keys exhibit exemplary behavior with a beautiful and progressive decay. Dont imagine that this investment is of service to classical music only. Kenny G. will send shivers down your spine. Wait until you listen to Andrea Bocelli and Sarah Brightman, you will fall in love again. These speakers are only meant to do service to humanities greatest legacy and invention by bringing order to chaos and removing all the clutter and noise we hear every day. From now on everything musical will be immensely coherent to your ears.These speakers are also meant to remind us to stop and smell the roses to truly appreciate the wonders of life. I would never have believed that audio gear could have brought me to tears but It as on numerous occasions.The compact 7 is the most engaging and hypnotic instrument I have ever heard in my life. I can listen to them 24 hours a day, they are musical windows to my soul.They give and give and never ask anything in return. When I play my Loreena McKennitt The visit CD I am transported to the lush green pastures of the Emerald Isle. They are today the most cherished presence in my life. I could not live without them. Intimacy and neutrality is the operative word. Break in is short. They are like the finest bottle of red wine improving with time. I am on cloud nine with these babies.Performance to price ratio is expressed in stratospheric terms. Best physical placement is 5 feet from the rear boundary and 9 or 10 feet apart. I matched mine with top of the line Sound Anchors Pro Monitor stands wheighing about 100 lbs each and dampened. A very beneficial addiction is the dividend this investment pays to it's enlightened owner.

Weaknesses:
None whatsoever.

Similar Products Used:
Why bother I am in pure musical nirvana as it is.

This post has been edited by keithwwk: Nov 16 2009, 11:12 PM
rcmf2u
post Nov 18 2009, 09:34 PM

QUOTE(RobA4 @ Sep 6 2008, 10:56 AM)

I'm intending to sell my Harbeth 7ES Anniv model & it's only couple of months old. In excellent condition, and the only reason for my selling, is I'm upgrading to the SHL5. Not that theres anything wrong with the 7ES, just that my room size suit the higher model better. Have not decided my price yet but if any serious buyer can come up with an offer, we can always nego on the price. Can call me on 0198841802 - Ron
KLau
post Nov 20 2009, 09:13 AM

13 posts

Hi Guys,

I have just listen to as HLP3ES.
Not much have been mention.Anyone try it out.How it compare with the older model P3?
You can have a look here.

http://h1f1.blogspot.com/search/label/Harbeth

cheers
KLau

keithwwk
post Nov 21 2009, 10:27 PM

41 posts

hi bro,
From out side, most obvious change from P3 to P3es was the front panel. In term of sonic, the p3es is a little bit open and smoother than p3. The different is not significant. I heard the P3, P3es and P3ES2. The overall sonic is still very very close.

Cheers~

This post has been edited by keithwwk: Nov 21 2009, 10:34 PM
KLau
post Nov 23 2009, 08:26 AM

13 posts

I have a niuce memory on P3 after listening it in tropical audio very long ago.Maybe i should give this speaker another chances.I have a Quad 606 to partner it.

cheers
KLau

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Nov 21 2009, 10:27 PM)
hi bro,
From out side, most obvious change from P3 to P3es was the front panel. In term of sonic, the p3es is a little bit open and smoother than p3. The different is not significant. I heard the P3, P3es and P3ES2. The overall sonic is still very very close.

Cheers~
ora-ito
post Nov 24 2009, 08:48 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(tinears @ Feb 14 2009, 08:21 PM)
Hi all

Harbeth P3 and Quad 306 owner from Pennag checking in smile.gif
Had my P3 since 1993, I'd love to hear the C7ES3 and SHL5.

cheers to all.
bro i also have a Quad 306 and have plans to pair it with a Harbeth C7 or SHL5
care to share what pre-amp you using? would like to get some reviews and points from your system smile.gif

This post has been edited by ora-ito: Nov 24 2009, 09:38 AM
KLau
post Nov 28 2009, 08:31 AM

13 posts

I have only heard harbeth partner with quad 606 + 34.
i think you should search for quad 34 before looking for others.

KLau

QUOTE(ora-ito @ Nov 24 2009, 08:48 AM)
care to share what pre-amp you using? would like to get some reviews and points from your system smile.gif
tinears
post Dec 27 2009, 06:54 PM

Hi
Sorry for the late reply.
I am using a passive potentiometer for the Pre.
It sounded ok at first, but more listening showed that it
lacks dynamics and the pot is now noisy, even though
it is an Alps Black Beauty type.
I would certainly recommend that you use an
active preamp.
The Quad34 is somewhat dull, but it has the
useful Quad tone controls.

If you are ever going to upgrade to new Harbeths,
make sure it has a Radial or Radial2 cone. My P3 does not.
I heard the SHL5 with a tube amp, I think it is great and I
think in that particular session, it exposed the weakness of
the tube amp's bass. My next upgrade plan, if plans
are ever going to happen, is a larger speaker.
Small speakers have their charms, but for larger
orchestras, they just don't cut it, even if you
sit close to them (although that helps).

happy listening.

QUOTE(ora-ito @ Nov 24 2009, 08:48 AM)
panditji
post Nov 23 2010, 07:24 PM

Hi All

Looking to buy a used Harbeth Compact 7 ES3 pair. Please contact me at panditr@yahoo.com if you do come across anybody looking to sell.

Warm regards
Rahul Pandit
storm7752
post Oct 15 2013, 03:00 PM

36 posts

Looking for used Compact 7. Anybody wanna let go ? Please PM me
storm7752
post Oct 15 2013, 03:01 PM

36 posts

Looking for used Compact 7. Anybody wanna let go ? Please PM me
billypmng
post Dec 22 2013, 08:43 PM

Hi guys, this is Billy from KL. I'm interested in buying a pair of Harbeth HL-P3ES2 Speaker. Any1 who would like 2 let go the above model, pls email me: billypmng@gmail.com 4 further nnegotiations. Thx. Cheers.

feelfree
post May 30 2014, 03:37 PM

174 posts

Anyone using P3ESR? Could you please let me know what do you feel about this little tiny speaker, what kind of amplifier you are using to drive it and do you like this speaker??
infin
post Nov 7 2017, 11:31 AM

274 posts

Harbeth fans where are you?

Does anyone still own their Harbeth or have you jumped ship already?

I still love my P3ESR to bits biggrin.gif
TSRobA4
post Nov 7 2017, 02:58 PM

190 posts

Still got my Compact 7s and loving them.
j22
post Nov 7 2017, 09:23 PM

43 posts

Enjoying my SHL5+
Slash21
post Nov 10 2017, 02:41 AM

214 posts

Hi All,

Having never heard a Harbeth before I am just wondering... I hear they are excel very well for vocals and acoustic instruments. I was wondering if they work well also for movies/video? Or even pop or some electronic house music?

Sorry if this is a dumb question but I like the look of Harbeths but not sure if they are an 'all rounder' in this sense?

TSRobA4
post Nov 10 2017, 04:15 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Slash21 @ Nov 10 2017, 02:41 AM)
Hi All,

Having never heard a Harbeth before I am just wondering... I hear they are excel very well for vocals and acoustic instruments. I was wondering if they work well also for movies/video? Or even pop or some electronic house music?

Sorry if this is a dumb question but I like the look of Harbeths but not sure if they are an 'all rounder' in this sense?

Harbeth speakers, to my ears, give accuracy and musicality and especially in the midrange. Most people say it's great with jazz and classical but I find no issues with listening to my Compact 7s to Velvet Underground or Radiohead.

Best way is always to audition them for your purposes.
j22
post Nov 11 2017, 11:50 AM

43 posts

QUOTE(Slash21 @ Nov 10 2017, 02:41 AM)
Hi All,

I've had multiple pairs of pricey speakers in my movie room and the Harbeths are as good as any. They excel at producing clear dialogue and have a wide dynamic range even when driven by real-world amplification (e.g. AV receivers). They are also well suited to pop/rock. Electronic/house perhaps a bit more taste dependent...

jimbet1337
post Nov 22 2017, 07:47 PM

meh
2,672 posts

QUOTE(infin @ Nov 7 2017, 11:31 AM)
Harbeth fans where are you?

Does anyone still own their Harbeth or have you jumped ship already?

I still love my P3ESR to bits biggrin.gif
Hi bro, what amp do you use to drive your P3ESR?
infin
post Nov 29 2017, 04:42 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Nov 22 2017, 07:47 PM)
Hi bro, what amp do you use to drive your P3ESR?
Right now, my Audio-gd Precision 1 integrated amp. Am interested in Rega Elicit-R but I want a Super HL5+ first.
keithwwk
post Mar 11 2018, 09:53 PM

41 posts

I am still with Harbeth. My SHL5 is over 10 yrs old now lol. Wonderful musical partner. smile.gif
engtteo
post Mar 16 2018, 11:32 PM

im happy with my harbeth spk . compare to the atc it much more ez to drive ......
keithwwk
post Apr 7 2021, 02:48 PM

41 posts

Hello....any one here still listen to their Harbeth? Any new owner?

I am still enjoying my 30th Ann SHL5 to bit. Time flies, 14 years of ownership till date....All the best guys!

This post has been edited by keithwwk: Apr 7 2021, 02:49 PM
TSRobA4
post Apr 7 2021, 03:19 PM

190 posts

Still using my C7s.

touristking
post Apr 7 2021, 03:44 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(RobA4 @ Apr 7 2021, 08:19 AM)
Still using my C7s.
Used to attend those HiFi shows. Seen some very expensive stuff. But for vocal easy listening, the most memorable I heard was a Harbeth in a simple setup by an older man who have this "couldn't-care-attitude". It sure is not sexy looking but the sound is really something to remember.

keithwwk
post Apr 8 2021, 10:28 AM

41 posts

The older Harbeth surely sound something special which might not impress but slowly creeping in your mind, like it or not is another matter. Not sure on newer Harbeth from "plus" onward.. some commented it is more transparent or some said bright. The is also comment on DX sound duller...Very subjective indeed.

Due to my hall size, I am listen with full tuning in and grill on. This is the best position I get good bass augment and spacious sound stage with good snap on vocal image. Bare wire direct in to the speaker pot with great result.
gobiomani
post Apr 9 2021, 05:54 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(keithwwk @ Apr 8 2021, 10:28 AM)
The older Harbeth surely sound something special which might not impress but slowly creeping in your mind, like it or not is another matter. Not sure on newer Harbeth from "plus" onward.. some commented it is more transparent or some said bright. The is also comment on DX sound duller...Very subjective indeed.

Due to my hall size, I am listen with full tuning in and grill on. This is the best position I get good bass augment and spacious sound stage with good snap on vocal image. Bare wire direct in to the speaker pot with great result.
With all the modern speakers now, do the old (or new) Harbeths still compete especially since they are so expensive whether old or new.
Does the LS50 sound better since it's supposedly inspired by the original BBC monitors?
keithwwk
post Apr 10 2021, 12:23 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Apr 9 2021, 05:54 PM)
With all the modern speakers now, do the old (or new) Harbeths still compete especially since they are so expensive whether old or new.
Does the LS50 sound better since it's supposedly inspired by the original BBC monitors?
This is very subjective have to ask oneself. There is no correct answer. As the old say follow your heart.

This post has been edited by keithwwk: Apr 10 2021, 12:24 PM
keithwwk
post Nov 25 2022, 11:22 AM

41 posts

Hey guys....times flies 2022 coming to end soon...how you all doing? Still enjoying music with your Harbeth?

Yes, I am still with my SHL5 30th Ann. Loving it. Just recently added a Marantz NA-11S1 use as DAC listen to my CD collection. What a worthwhile piece of equipment to acquire it let my 5s sing even better than ever. rclxms.gif One of my friend being poisoned and bought a same DAC as well devil.gif devil.gif

Stay safe and enjoy music with good health to all cool.gif

Listen with grille on thumbsup.gif

TSRobA4
post Dec 30 2022, 10:43 AM

190 posts

Hi all, time sure flies.

So I suddenly had the urge to upgrade from my C7s, then I saw the price for the latest SHL5.

Wow!!!

Is it worth it???

keithwwk
post Sep 1 2024, 10:49 AM

41 posts

Hello guys!

Time flies! 2024 is going to end soon.

Yes, I am still with my Harbeth Super HL5 30th Ann. How's yours?
Last year changed my amp to a Marantz PM-KI Ruby and added an Eversolo A6 MA, fine tuned speaker main tweeter's height to match with my seat ears height. Worthwhile effort and get very good result. Beside power, height is very import. Try it if you haven't done before.

Wishing you guys happy listening with good health!

Cheers!

sonerin
post Sep 19 2024, 07:29 AM

8,740 posts

Home theater and Hifi Malaysia FB group
wusplay P
post Oct 4 2024, 03:11 PM

Probation

My M30.2XD desktop setup

keithwwk
post Nov 10 2025, 12:33 PM

41 posts

Hey guys,

Again, time flies. 2025 is going to end. How you doing?

Yes, I am still enjoying my 18 years old Super HL5. Stil keep amazed and surprises me thru its ability to do music. How's yours? Any new comer?

The old Harbeth, which still sound fairly decent even in today standard, is getting cheap in used market now. Very good value. So good for whom wanted to try Harbeth sound. Feed it with at least 100w clean power, a value but decent all in one streamer, set it up on a stable stand, spike is best cheap way to stable a stand, proper placement and correct tweeter height while listening that's all to enjoy beautiful music for years.

I am wishing you guys happy listening with good health ahead! 🙂💪

Cheers!

0.0443sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:56 AM