GAINWARD ATI USERS CLUB - All Welcome, News, Info, Queries, Support, Hot Pics

kevyeoh
post Oct 8 2008, 10:33 PM

4,717 posts

they can sort the chips by binning the speed, hence handpicking... wink.gif

all automatically tested and sorted according to speed... won't slow down anything....

QUOTE(Lacus @ Oct 8 2008, 10:30 PM)
dude, no such thing as hand pick gpu core.who the heck gonna handpick like 10000 units of rv770?better batch maybe..it's also depends on the board design. GS cards r much stable due to the phase power thingie and it is powered by 8 pin pcie.
kevyeoh
post Oct 14 2008, 01:14 PM

4,717 posts

woo hooo! just received my 4870 1GB today... so with this, i guess i already join Gainward ATI users club right?
hehehe...

for a start, what should i do? any special drivers i should be downloading?

kevyeoh
post Oct 14 2008, 03:48 PM

4,717 posts

ya ya...i wanna know as well how to get the gainward t shirt? can we get it for free ar?

QUOTE(hahn87 @ Oct 14 2008, 11:30 AM)
after so long i finally get my free prize... but unfortunately the mp3 player came with a broken charger and defect LCD... but never the less it's free so i dun mind oso lar ahhahha. how can i get gainward t shirt and mousepad... missed a lot of thread..

netraid: do you have team fortress 2 or the half life 2 orange box on discount? kinda interested.
kevyeoh
post Oct 14 2008, 04:51 PM

4,717 posts

i only saw one 8.10 file for downloading and it's stated for vista 64....
doesn't work with vista 32 right?

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 14 2008, 04:37 PM)
Damn, downloaded the 8.10. Uninstalled 8.9, reboot in safe mode to clean the drivers. Boot back into windows only to find out that file I downloaded isn't complete ._. Now driverless and downloading it again sad.gif.

aric_68, more silent definitely, more cool I'm not sure >.< lol. Seems the same as my previous one though.
kevyeoh
post Oct 15 2008, 10:48 AM

4,717 posts

guyz...

may i know what's the safe OC range for my current gainward 4870?
Tangan gatal wanna OC but i think better ask the 'safe' range before i try to push gila gila...

thankx!
kevyeoh
post Oct 15 2008, 01:15 PM

4,717 posts

haven't tried yet...now at opis working...later tonite try...
i can simply OC using CCC right?

also, where i can check my graphics card temp ar? CCC menu inside got options to check temp?
sorry eh...i just installed my card last nite...haven't really explored fully....

QUOTE(serigala @ Oct 15 2008, 01:12 PM)
so..kevyeoh..how ur OC result?
any OC tips from experienced users?
kevyeoh
post Oct 15 2008, 07:43 PM

4,717 posts

my gainward 4870 1GB benchmark result for 3Dmarkvantage:

P7207 3DMarks

Normal ar?
kevyeoh
post Oct 15 2008, 08:03 PM

4,717 posts

kinda blur right now and hopefully any sifus here can help me out.

1. my current clock settings is 500Mhz for GPU and memory clock is 950Mhz... so i click Enable ATI Overdrive and then set to 770Mhz CPU and 975Mhz for Memory...that means i am already overclocking my card? how come the current clock setting so low? i tot gainward clockspeed is higher in stock settting?

2. How do i change the fan speed? need special software to hack the fanspeed?

Thanks!
kevyeoh
post Oct 15 2008, 09:32 PM

4,717 posts

performance setting...

QUOTE(rd33 @ Oct 15 2008, 08:29 PM)
On what setting u run the benchmark?  entry ? performance? high ? extreme ?

Added on October 15, 2008, 9:33 pmwah...means i have to increase the fan speed a lot lor...
anyway, my highest for GPU is 790...but for memory...highest i can go is 1050 only also....means cannot hit 1100...
i'm using CCC...

QUOTE(serigala @ Oct 15 2008, 08:50 PM)
GC at idle do lower their speed a bit...
shutdown..flip the switch to turbo and u will run at factory OC speed..try to hit 790 core and 1100 mem..
This post has been edited by kevyeoh: Oct 15 2008, 09:33 PM
kevyeoh
post Oct 15 2008, 10:12 PM

4,717 posts

what's the resolution you using?
weird eh..your 512MB how come higher score compared to mine?

or is it because of your overclock settings?

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Oct 15 2008, 09:59 PM)
Depends on the whole pc specs
My 4870GS 512MB @ 750/1000Mhz score:
kevyeoh
post Oct 15 2008, 10:30 PM

4,717 posts

anyone who is experiencing very slow shut down as well as very slow boot up time after installing the graphics card?

somehow i feel my shut down and boot up time become very very very very slow after i install my card...dunno what is wrong...driver kacau perhaps?

but after boot up...everything ok... damn weird...
kevyeoh
post Oct 15 2008, 10:59 PM

4,717 posts

Catalyst 8.9

didn't download 8.10 yet though...

QUOTE(rd33 @ Oct 15 2008, 10:41 PM)
maybe ur PSU or driver...?

but i think maybe it is driver issues, u install which driver ? latest one ?
kevyeoh
post Oct 16 2008, 08:49 AM

4,717 posts

har??? seriously...this is the first time i've heard that PC not enough juice will impact the shutdown or boot up time...
anyway...my temp measure now is to use hibernate....

until i find out why the boot up time become so super slow...

or i might reinstall my OS...hehe...

or is it because of vista? but couldn't be cause u guys also using vista....

hmmm...

QUOTE(picksickrick @ Oct 15 2008, 11:12 PM)
Boss; i believe your psu not enuff juice lor... that's my opinion lah...
kevyeoh
post Oct 16 2008, 09:54 AM

4,717 posts

52c at full load? Cool!

Well for my card... i was getting around 61'C at idle before i change the fan speed...now able to achieve 45'C at idle....

currently i'm able to achieve 790 for Core and 1000Mhz for memory... everything stock and did not add in any hardware cooling stuff...

weird thing is...i think my card performance still losing out to one guy's card even though mine is 1GB compared to his 512MB... forgot his nick...earlier posting...

QUOTE(serigala @ Oct 16 2008, 09:18 AM)
last nite done OC my gc..damn hard..the memory clock reached it limit 1st..later need to refine tune the mem clock so i can get the max speed..

what impress me is the core temp would not go more than 52c
kevyeoh
post Oct 16 2008, 11:10 AM

4,717 posts

could it be due to the system? maybe like his system support PCIE 2 vs my system only supporting PCIE 1?
QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 16 2008, 10:01 AM)
serigala using WC setup. So can't really compare.

owikh84's 4870GS set at 750/1000. Kev, your 790/1000 lower score than owikh84's?
kevyeoh
post Oct 16 2008, 01:47 PM

4,717 posts

although u didn't ask me but i tumpang answer here...

game i play so far is fifa09, crysis and COD4.... 4870 1GB should be good enough right? but after running 3dmarkvantage...feel like not satisfied cause i see the graphics not smooth during benchmark...but play games ok la...hehehe....

so not quite satisfied for me....i want more !!!!
QUOTE(serigala @ Oct 16 2008, 01:42 PM)
yes u may?what game u play?framerate?benchmark?ur point of view?
what GC u use before this?so..satisfied?
kevyeoh
post Oct 16 2008, 04:04 PM

4,717 posts

damn... serigala is one guy i should try to stay away from... too much poison...now makes me wanna try WC OC pulak... yummy... *slurrp*....
kevyeoh
post Oct 17 2008, 12:19 AM

4,717 posts

how come u guys punya 4850 like lose to my 4870 by a bit only ?
dang...

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 16 2008, 10:10 PM)
I just did a Vantage on stock, 700/1100

My CPU really -.- lol.
kevyeoh
post Oct 18 2008, 12:17 AM

4,717 posts

for crysis using 1680 x 1050 settings, what average fps should i be getting...trying to get a general number here to compare with my own benchmark...

thanks!
kevyeoh
post Oct 18 2008, 12:56 AM

4,717 posts

at high settings... doesn't seem to be smooth at very high...

is my 4870GS 1GB capable of running at very high setting 1680 x 1050?

wondering if i setup my card correctly...

0.0340sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:03 AM