GAINWARD ATI USERS CLUB - All Welcome, News, Info, Queries, Support, Hot Pics

kevyeoh
post Oct 18 2008, 08:50 AM

4,717 posts

i'll retry playing at very high setting again...

btw, last nite when i play...suddenly my screen got blackout and then my PC restarted...i don't know if it's due to my system temperature high causing it to crash and then restart...

i hope it's not the card issue... cause i read somewhere before got kena black screen issue?

QUOTE(_707027_ @ Oct 18 2008, 01:06 AM)
well, i believe ur GC can go well at that reso with very high setting.
correct me if i am wrong.
have u tried it? suffered lagging or not?

Added on October 18, 2008, 9:17 ammy 3dmark06 benchmark result...not really that good compare to other 4870 out there... guys, what do you think is my system's limitation right now? is my card got problem causing low benchmark result or it's because of my settings?

This post has been edited by kevyeoh: Oct 18 2008, 09:18 AM
kevyeoh
post Oct 18 2008, 02:43 PM

4,717 posts

yaya...my resolution is 1680 x 1050 for the benchmark setting...

run using stock setting means whatever stock resolution inside the 3dmark06, i just leave it as it is?

cause my monitor now using 1680 x 1050...so i tot have to use the same resolution...

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 18 2008, 11:41 AM)
Weird, why is your 4870GS scoring so low? Shouldn't be a processor bottleneck, and it scores lower than my E8400 + 4850GS @@. What interface are you running on? x16 pci-e?

EDIT : I just noticed.. you changed the resolution and stuffs? run using the stock setting.
kevyeoh
post Oct 20 2008, 09:20 AM

4,717 posts

hehe...hey bro...the game that triggered me to upgrade my GC is fifa09 also...kekeke...
so far so good.... enjoyed fifa09 a lot...graphics all damn nice...

QUOTE(desmond1310 @ Oct 20 2008, 02:45 AM)
^ Next week I hope and hopefully everything turns out well.
The urge to do abit of FIFA09 is building quite quick.. and I've already finished Season 1 of Big Bang Theory. May start on Family Guy next.

Added on October 20, 2008, 2:48 amOn second thought, i better do some outdoor stuff. Waiting for a GC sure proves to be suffering.
kevyeoh
post Oct 31 2008, 11:17 PM

4,717 posts

guys
my pc recently started to hang when playing games... nowadays i play fifa09 a lot...and sometimes play halfway...it just hang....and everything freezes....

this happens after i start using my gainward 4870 card...could this be the problem?

previously my old nvidia 7600GS card never got this problem...

sigh...
kevyeoh
post Oct 31 2008, 11:59 PM

4,717 posts

so how do i solve this driver conflict problem?

thanks in advance...

actually now my windows screen is totally blank.... just right after bootup and when going into windows..my screen just goes blank...

so what should i do now?
i can't even go into windows....

kevyeoh
post Nov 1 2008, 01:33 AM

4,717 posts

tried that but not sure if it's completely removed...

aih...worst case i'll reinstall my PC....dang...

how come this driver conflict stuff can just appear out of nowhere? could be other problems...hmm... but since can't troubleshoot it...i hope a clean install will help la..
thanks bro...

QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 1 2008, 12:04 AM)
if u can enter safe mode.. remove the driver there n install the latest driver..
recommended to use drivercleaner..
kevyeoh
post Nov 1 2008, 12:22 PM

4,717 posts

fed up...end up reinstall windows and so far everything is smooth, startup very smooth also....

and i dare not use the latest ATI driver...i just use back original gainward driver provided inside the CD....
who knows...maybe it's the new driver that is causing problems on my PC...hehe....

not yet install games.... will try that later....

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Nov 1 2008, 07:31 AM)
Too general to say. May be it could be other prob. Reinstall windows is the final but best solution in ur case.
Or try the gc on other pc, just make sure old driver is removed 1st.

Added on November 1, 2008, 12:23 pmdude...
me also tried driver 8.10 and then problem starts to crop out...but then the problem only started very long after i install 8.10 driver...
i dunno what is the exact problem for my system...

but why not u try reinstalling windows also? although sure got lots of hassle la.... need to reinstall back many things...

QUOTE(king99 @ Nov 1 2008, 12:11 PM)
Tried 8.10
This post has been edited by kevyeoh: Nov 1 2008, 12:23 PM
kevyeoh
post Nov 1 2008, 11:38 PM

4,717 posts

just wondering...you guys using vista or XP?
i tried reinstalling vista...then at first ok...after that my system becomes unstable again... very weird...this thing only happen after i got my new graphics card... is ATI driver for vista not stable ar?

now i give up liao... back to XP for now....will monitor somemore and see if my system gone cuckoo again...always hang etc....
kevyeoh
post Nov 1 2008, 11:40 PM

4,717 posts

what's the hotfix thing about?
do i need to run the special hotfix after i install my video card?
kevyeoh
post Nov 2 2008, 10:56 PM

4,717 posts

dude...
i just realized that gainward's GS heatsink design should be pretty good cause i don't think my card is hot afterall after benchmark with other users....
so you d'nt hve to worry bout the card being stable or not.... u should not downclock it in fact cause you're paying for a GS, which is suppose to be a overclock sample... unless i'm wrong about it...hehe...

QUOTE(legendofvoodoo @ Nov 2 2008, 10:10 PM)
Hi to all! first of all sorry for my bad english I am asian but living in Spain.

I'm happy to found this forum&topic, cause I ordered a 4850 Golden Sample, I did it 31-Oct, could I receive the first batch of this card? I'm purchasing it at a "famous" online component shop in Spain.

All you guys have 4850 GS, is this card stable at those high core/mems clock? or Should I downclock it a bit while I just doing light work as can be internet-word-movies

Thank you all and when I receive my 4850GS card (probably this week) Ill tell you my experiences.Goodluck!
kevyeoh
post Nov 3 2008, 09:40 PM

4,717 posts

no need buy from shop la...buy from lowyat seller over here... very fast and efficient....
bought from lehteck...got it within a day or two....

QUOTE(cyew86 @ Nov 3 2008, 09:10 PM)
PC Zone is still a seller, businesses do not do charity
i heard that Gainward 4850 and 4870 GS everywhere out of stock, i suspect is because of those sellers keeping the stock now and sell it when price increase
kevyeoh
post Nov 3 2008, 10:03 PM

4,717 posts

weird...i just played fifa...and it hangs halfway again...
any idea how to check if it's my graphics card problem?
cause this same problem happens even when using XP...

Added on November 3, 2008, 10:04 pmbut the symptom a bit different now...previously on vista...the whole program will just hang...

but now using XP hor...windows pop up a message saying the program encountered error and have to shut down...

sigh....

This post has been edited by kevyeoh: Nov 3 2008, 10:04 PM
kevyeoh
post Nov 3 2008, 10:24 PM

4,717 posts

well...i finish playing COD4, quit crysis halfway back then when using vista and now current hot game is fifa only...kekeke....
weird thing is this 'hang' thing doesn't happen previously until last week i guess....
when i first got my card and when i first install and play games... nothing wrong...

QUOTE(Siu_Keong @ Nov 3 2008, 10:08 PM)
@kevyeoh bro, only the FIFA game hang? How bout other games? Maybe is the game error and not properly install.  hmm.gif
kevyeoh
post Nov 4 2008, 04:52 PM

4,717 posts

guys...what is the clock speed when i switch to Turbo mode?
u now the small switch at the back of the card?

maybe my system hang after i switch it to turbo mode....
now i switch back to normal and will monitor and see...

0.0375sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:39 AM