GAINWARD ATI USERS CLUB - All Welcome, News, Info, Queries, Support, Hot Pics

lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 11:09 AM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(ahhann @ Oct 23 2008, 10:58 AM)
FINALLY ! i going to make a jump from Nvidia8600 to ATI4850GS (Is this jump worth the price?)

The only reason for me to do so is because of ....... FAR CRY 2 !
Can't wait to play it on nice eye candy, but that depend on Lehteck got stock or not on tonight (sorry for the rush lehteck ....)

1 inquiry - Do i have to uninstall my Nvidia driver 1st before i plug in the 4850? will the drive conflict if i didn't uninstall the old drive?
If possible wait until the game launch and see what other ppl said when playing FC2 with 4850GS.
I play Crysis Warhead at max setting is laggy with a 4850GS. Kinda dissapointed since original Crysis is quite smooth, though.

Jumping from 8600 to 4850GS is really a big jump. 4850GS should be at least 3 times faster than 8600 (but also depends on games)
lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 11:34 AM

1,367 posts

I'm using driver 8.6 and will install 8.10 tonight and see how it goes.
BTW, I play at Enthusiast setting. Even Gamer is laggy and got wash out graphic at certain place.
lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 12:02 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 23 2008, 11:43 AM)
8.6 gg, miss out so much Crysis optimization on the drivers. Mine's alright biggrin.gif. Playing Far Cry 2 on everything Ultra High. 1280x1024 only though. Manage to keep the FPS above 30 at all times.

EDIT : No AA/AF yet. Was messing around with it. Damn truck ride was SOOOO long.
FC2 and CW graphic which one better?
lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 12:05 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(_707027_ @ Oct 23 2008, 12:03 PM)
people starting get their hands on farcry 2..i'm jealous  sweat.gif
the game already arrived at my house,but me still stuck at college doh.gif
next week i can lay my hands on it.

Added on October 23, 2008, 12:04 pm
i played warhead, and from farcry2 gameplay,
i believed warhead graphic is better rite?
Study more important tongue.gif
lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 12:11 PM

1,367 posts

Some forummer said DX9 is faster than DX10 in WC on 4850. Is it true? If yes, how to make it run with DX9?
lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 12:25 PM

1,367 posts

sorry typo:

Crysis Warhead and Far cry2 graphic which one better?
lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 12:37 PM

1,367 posts

The Fan speed for the new batch of 4850GS always stuck at 50%?
I never saw it increase b4 although I'm using auto fan speed setting.
lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 02:02 PM

1,367 posts

Wow... 400W running 4850GS with CPU OCed plus 3 HDDs.
lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 02:38 PM

1,367 posts

Serigala: Your Odin 550w peak output can go until how much?
lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 04:47 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(Siu_Keong @ Oct 23 2008, 03:02 PM)
Yes the Graphic Card is draw from the +12v rail power and don't be forget the hard disk, floppy disk and fans and all is draw for the +12v rail as well. And what interesting is the Pentium 4 and above processor also is draw from this +12v rail also, so it show how important is this baby will affect our whole rig.  smile.gif 
Ya practically the 450watt is enough for the 4850 or 4850GS by depend what component in the rig, and i know there is a lot proven statistic and result on that. But is it those result is temporarily using or for benchmark testing only, how bout if running at 24/7?  hmm.gif  I doubt we lack of this result and somemore jimmy_none bro is operating his rig at 24/7 same as i did, so if really something happen in PSU then there will very dangerous.  sweat.gif
If not mistaken someone in this club using his GC for Folding 24/7 with small PSU without problem.
lotiman2003
post Oct 23 2008, 06:08 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(Siu_Keong @ Oct 23 2008, 04:55 PM)
Oh, glad to heard tat but anyway is it he using the PSU to operate the GC only or operate the whole system? And how many components it have in the rig, as long as which PSU he is using?  Just for my curios and knowledge gain. smile.gif
I not sure who the one that said he using it for folding but I think I read it from this thread. If not, then it must be from ATI 4000 series thread.
Maybe you can read back the previous posts for confirmation.
lotiman2003
post Oct 24 2008, 01:01 AM

1,367 posts

Why Fc2 dizzy? The game pace is too fast? Or the camera angle problem?
lotiman2003
post Oct 24 2008, 12:34 PM

1,367 posts

Direct go Lowyat buy cannot?
lotiman2003
post Oct 24 2008, 05:56 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(ulwan25 @ Oct 24 2008, 05:19 PM)
soon i'll join Gainward ATi club, tomorrow maybe, but too bad its just 4670 duh
Nevertheless, 4670 is also a Gainward card.
lotiman2003
post Oct 24 2008, 11:45 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(humanoid86 @ Oct 24 2008, 09:41 PM)
yup no matter wut...it also belongs to the gainward big family smile.gif
BTW do u guys noe whch catalyst is better...8.10whql or the newly released 8.11 beta rc1...in terms of in-game perf,benchmarking maybe
i benchmarked using vantage jst now and manage to get 9455,3dmark06=15xxx(only 1k+ improvement compared to 8800gt)
u guys noe how can i push it further and get better scores
8.10 is great. I tried 8.6 on crysis warhead and it is laggy but once I install 8.10 then the game become very smooth.
lotiman2003
post Oct 26 2008, 02:09 PM

1,367 posts

Buy the new card now and enjoy it now.
lotiman2003
post Oct 27 2008, 10:41 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(twopiece @ Oct 27 2008, 09:58 PM)
hey guys...i wanna ask that whether PSU strider st50f is enough to support HD 4850 ?

My Specs are

Core2Duo E4500 2.2ghz
4Ghz 667 Ram
1 HDD
1 DVD Rom
2 Fans
More than enough
lotiman2003
post Oct 28 2008, 03:13 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Oct 28 2008, 03:00 PM)
gonna join in soon enuff....
need to wait a couple of weeks...
maybe when GTA IV launch i'm gonna get one oso...

hope d price will drop as hell go 4850GS!!!
Hard to drop lah. The price of 4850GS and normal 4850 still holding very steady unless Nvidia give some competition else no point for ATI to drop the price.
lotiman2003
post Oct 28 2008, 03:52 PM

1,367 posts

Bad news for those who still don't have a 48x0GS but good news for those who already have it since our investment is more worth it.

No offence smile.gif
lotiman2003
post Oct 28 2008, 04:55 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(NetRaid @ Oct 28 2008, 04:37 PM)
Your 4850 GS has silver (nickel plated) or golden (copper) heatpipes? Please run 3DMark06 and see if it hangs?

If golden heatpipes and it hangs, please PM us and tell us who you bought it from? You might be having a first batch card. Sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Wow, still got 1 to 1 exchange? That's great. Or it is normal RMA?

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0468sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:33 PM