I know the TV engine (Bravia, Viera or whatever) is supposed to compensate but still...
ah, oh well, I don't know what to say.. as long as it looks good...its ok.
QUOTE(vex @ Oct 15 2008, 03:42 PM)
Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?
Oct 15 2008, 04:27 PM
1,219 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Yes but does it bother u that most of your 720p movies have a resolution of 1280 * xxx(720 or less) and the Panny is 1024 * 768?
I know the TV engine (Bravia, Viera or whatever) is supposed to compensate but still... ah, oh well, I don't know what to say.. as long as it looks good...its ok. QUOTE(vex @ Oct 15 2008, 03:42 PM) |
Oct 18 2008, 09:04 AM
Panasonic suggests a "break-in" period for the first 100hrs to reduce image retention.
QUOTE 4. What is the "break-in" period and what should I do during the break-in period to minimize any risk of image retention? When your plasma TV is initially installed, the first 100 hours of use is known as the "break-in period." During this time, to minimize any risk of image retention, you should: Source : http://www2.panasonic.com/consumer-electro..._CNT_001993#tv41. Make sure the plasma TV is in a viewing mode (aspect ratio) that completely fills the screen. The panel is shipped in this condition, in what is called the "Just" mode. 2. Turn down the Picture setting (in the Picture menu) to +0. 3. Briefly engage the 4:3 mode and confirm the side bars are set to "Mid", or "Bright". This can be adjusted in the Set Up menu. 4. Always return the display mode that fills the screen (such as Just, Zoom, Full, or H-FILL). 5. Try not to view channels with stationary backgrounds or logos for extended periods of time. 6. Avoid extended display of static images (video games, computer images, DVD title screens, etc.). Incidentally, I found a pretty site for Plasmas http://www.plasmadisplaycoalition.org/main.php |
Oct 27 2008, 09:41 AM
^ Its design that way..
16:9 is 1280 * 720 BTW. That's where the TV's image engine comes in, (in this case, Vierra). The engine will optimize your image so that what u view on screen looks good. What i fail to understand is why make a Plasma with 1024 * 768 pixels when "most" HD content has 1280 vertical lines? |
Oct 30 2008, 06:24 PM
Nov 5 2008, 12:14 PM
When u say PC, u meant using VGA? I connect my PC to my PY800 using HDMI and I get 1920 x 1080 with no problems.
Graphics card : Radeon 2400 HD Pro with HDMI QUOTE(pspfan @ Nov 5 2008, 08:36 AM) one warning- if u wanna connect pc- py800 then its 1024x768..... thats the main reason why i sold my py800 for samsung 9 series This post has been edited by welwitchia: Nov 5 2008, 12:17 PM |
Nov 5 2008, 02:19 PM
^ Yep Sold the Sony W400 about 2 months ago. No more backlight bleed for me. Yay!! :-)
Nov 5 2008, 05:47 PM
^ Means u have to make sure whatever u watch, its all in full screen without the black bars at either of the 4 sides.
U break in to age the "phosphors" evenly.. kinda tedious. I gave up after about 100hrs. |
Nov 18 2008, 08:15 PM
^ I think its kinda hard to "enjoy" HD material with a 24" even if u sit close up.. that's my opinion.. others might beg to differ.
No.3 : If u connect via S-Video, then u might as well don't bother. U'll get really crappy PQ. Just use your HDMI out from your lappy. |
Nov 18 2008, 09:53 PM
I put my 42" Panny in my room and I sit about 1.5m away.
QUOTE(99below0 @ Nov 18 2008, 09:35 PM) I watch my 32" LCD TV from 5' away and feel it's a little small. Sometimes I even sit at 4' away just to get a more cinematic effect. The purpose of a widescreen is to make it feel more like a cinema screen rather than a CRT TV. I'd go for a minimum 32" even in a small room. A number of our forumers put their 42" Pannys in their bedroom even. |
Nov 21 2008, 12:47 PM
I might be wrong but the problem u described sounds like backlight bleeding / clouding. What the size of your Panny LCD. If it is backlight bleeding problem, I'm afraid you'll have to live with it.
One solution would be to turn the brightness down but that will decrease the overall PQ. Its really easy to detect. Just turn of all the lights at night and play the rolling credits from a movie (usually white text on a black background) and if its there, u'll noticed it right away. Also make sure the TV has been turned on for about 30-40 mins before looking for it. Most bleeding issues will only be apparent after the TV has "warmed" up which makes it even harder to detect when making a purchase at the shop. QUOTE(sharp56 @ Nov 21 2008, 12:33 AM) Wait a minute..... I just noticed that my Panasonic LCD TV which was just delivered 2 days ago has a noticeable triangular white discolouration about 3" x 3" in length on the lower left edge of the TV screen. I didn't notice until today when at the end of a movie the screen faded to a black screen, the white discolouration was q |
Nov 26 2008, 05:23 PM
I don't think he's referring to the Dynamic Mode.. I guess what matters is the Native Contrast Ratio and not the Dynamic Contrast Ratio.. Heck, the PV80 has 1,000,000 DCR. If I'm not mistaken, the new Samsung Series 9 has a whopping 2,000,000 DCR.
QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 26 2008, 04:06 PM) |
Dec 20 2008, 10:00 PM
Dec 21 2008, 01:09 AM
Dec 21 2008, 08:54 AM
Dec 21 2008, 02:25 PM
^ Think its the PV70 Series..but please don't quote me on it.. What i do know is that they have a unit on display at Bangsar Village.
Dec 21 2008, 09:10 PM
It depends on the movie format. LCDs and Plasmas have a screen ratio of 16:9 so if the movie you're watching is in the same format, then u get a full screen display. Problem is "most" movies these days are in 2.35:1 format which gives u black bars that u mentioned even on a wide-screen display. FYI, CRTs / Astro are in 4:3 format.
QUOTE(robertngo @ Dec 21 2008, 08:21 PM) today i gone to shop to test out some LCD tv, even with 1080p upscalling dvd player the display still have black bar on top bottom when the tv is displaying at 1920x1080 resolution. why is the tv not displaying the signal at full screen even when it is accepting 1080p signal? is this a problem with dvd upscaling? the salesman is not much help so asking the sifu here. This post has been edited by welwitchia: Dec 21 2008, 09:15 PMActually aiman04 gave a better explanation than what I gave below. I'll quote him here : QUOTE You're seeing black bars (letterbox) because the movie has a wider aspect ration than your TV. Your widescreen TV is actually 1.78:1 aspect ratio, but some movies are wider than that, 2.40:1 or 2.35:1 and some at 1.85:1 which is close to your TV's ratio. For animations, the director can frame it at whatever ratio he want. How do they come to this different aspect ratios? That will then depends on the camera and film stock, and lately the HD cameras. On 35mm, they can shot anamorphically using Panavision cameras, the image will be squeezed into the 1:33 ratio film stock, so this way the ratio can only be 2.35/2.40:1. To make it full screen on your TV, they will have to do pan and scan and crop at the sides. For Super35, the image captured is exactly 1.33:1, so when they transfer to cinemas, they're cropped top and bottom to make it widescreen. The ratio can basically whatever they want. For movies shot this way, they can open up to make it full screen to your TV, which will actually make we see the top and bottom that we didn't see in the cinema. |
Dec 21 2008, 09:17 PM
Yes, the dvd-movie must be in 16:9 or 1.78:1 (like aiman04) said.
"Most" cartoons are in 16:9 This post has been edited by welwitchia: Dec 21 2008, 09:21 PM |
Jan 4 2009, 12:40 PM
Dead pixels are not rare in Plasmas. When I went to the shop to purchase my PY800, the first unit that the took out has more than 10 (yes 10!) on the right side of the panel. Good thing I connected my notebook to test for dead pixels.
On the other hand, image retention is supposed to be normal and will go away after sometime.. The problem is, all these astro and RTM logos (especially these dumb a$$ RTM logos) are fully opaque. Why can't they follow other countries where their logo is semi-transparent and not so HUGE. |
Jan 4 2009, 04:36 PM
Well, I don't really bother about that. After all, we're supposed to be enjoying our new TVs..not constantly worrying about image retention. Having said that I don't never use my PY800 for Astro. Its only for my PS3 and HTPC. My Astro is paired with a Samsung LCD and the quality is appalling. My only wish is that they go HD this year.
QUOTE(Gilthoniel @ Jan 4 2009, 03:23 PM) |
| Change to: | 0.1083sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:22 PM |