Apple says get ready for Sept. 9, lauch of new ipods? FW 2.1? discuss

TSharmeet15
post Sep 3 2008, 05:18 PM, updated 18y ago

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

As expected Apple is inviting people out Sept. 9 for a "special event" in San Francisco to hear the latest in product news.

The e-mail just went to journalists and analysts with the words: "Let's Rock." The event will be held at 10 a.m. at the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts.

So what to expect: A number of rumor sites have been suggesting the idea of a $129-a-year subscription service for iTunes. That idea's been floating around for a long time but maybe it's coming in for a landing.

MacRumors.com reported the yearly subscription service rumor along with some upgrades to MobileMe, Apple's online service. The site said about half of the iTunes library would be available for the subscription service when it launches in October.

With the imagery on the invitation, featuring the same familiar iPod advertising silhouettes, it would seem obvious that the event will also talk iPods. But it's unclear if this will involve some large updates or just more cosmetic changes.

Analyst Michael Gartenberg of JupiterMedia said if Apple goes the subscription route, expect them to tweak the model to make it unique. He said the challenge is to get consumers who normally enjoy their own set musical tastes to explore more in order to make the most of the subscription service. Otherwise, it may not be that successful.

Gartenberg said he hopes to see new innovation in musical devices but he said it's possible Apple might throw in other non-music news, perhaps some MacBook updates even though the back-to-school season has already started. The best bet, he said, is for Apple to keep up its winning ways.

"Apple at the end of the day will delight customers. I expect that to continue," Garternberg said.

So what are you hoping to see on Sept. 9?

Shoki
post Sep 3 2008, 05:23 PM

2,139 posts

This related to iPhone??
rawn
post Sep 3 2008, 05:24 PM

148 posts

dude, i feel this should relate more in the apple byte forum.

anyway, am waiting for a new macbook.
Jermaine
post Sep 3 2008, 05:31 PM

59 posts

Time for new iPods ?
TSharmeet15
post Sep 3 2008, 05:34 PM

2,729 posts

im nt sure if is shud be in here or AB...
they wud announce everyting i suppose...
applicable 2 iphone and ipod...
up 2 da mods 2 decide
SUSMike3300
post Sep 3 2008, 05:40 PM

6,866 posts

Apple usually updates the iPod during near holiday seasons, so expect new Nano and Touch, who knows Classic might be revamp. Rumors claimed that new Macs won't be updated until October, fair enough as this is Music Event. We will see what's in Apple's sleeve in a few days time.

Added on September 3, 2008, 5:40 pmAlso rumored: iTunes Music Subscription, iTunes 8, and new firmware.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Sep 3 2008, 05:40 PM
Corvinux
post Sep 3 2008, 05:56 PM

Absolutely Absolute
682 posts

32G 3G iphone with 5M camera ++ higher speed processor !! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif laugh.gif whistling.gif
mikelee
post Sep 3 2008, 06:01 PM

1,419 posts

The new iPod Nano, thats for sure.
stringfellow
post Sep 3 2008, 06:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Should be the new iPods, especially iPod Nano. The cases are already out at IFA '08, so that is already a given.

Anything else, is up in the air. Not too hot for the subscription-based iTunes, unless I get to keep the tunes I get, rather than "renting" it. Please bring out iTunes 8.0, the current version is bloody buggy. Also welcoming the Firmware 2.1.

Speculations abound about the new Macbook clad in aluminium, and changes on the trackpad to glass trackpad ala iPhone on higher spec-ed Macbook Pro but that may not get announced until October, after the Back To School offer expires.
TSharmeet15
post Sep 3 2008, 06:47 PM

2,729 posts

tat time of the yr again...
new ipods, all da hype...
wud hv 2 go n cari stock la...smile.gif
da macbook trackpad ala touch has been rumored quiet sm time...
string..hw da new nano or classic look like?
stringfellow
post Sep 3 2008, 06:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The new Nano is gonna look elongated, compared to the current Nano Fat. It is going back to its old "chewing-gum stick" look, but with a tapered edge to give the impression of being slimmer.

TSharmeet15
post Sep 3 2008, 07:10 PM

2,729 posts

sleek
stringfellow
post Sep 3 2008, 07:16 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Here's another look at the size comparison between the new Nano and the iPhone:-

cill
post Sep 3 2008, 07:30 PM

102 posts

the second pic looks odd, string... The nano is somehow been covered with casing, rather than having a new design. That is what my eyes perceived smile.gif
goldieboy
post Sep 3 2008, 07:52 PM

160 posts

I still wondering the photo that posted by stringfellow is new nano or new iphone nano? As i saw from some other forum saying is iphone nano 8g...
a bit confusing...
SUSMike3300
post Sep 3 2008, 08:04 PM

6,866 posts

There won't be an iPhone with Click Wheel, come on.

Rumors are speculating, the truth will be reveal soon so just be patient.
goldieboy
post Sep 3 2008, 08:11 PM

160 posts

true also...silly me...
paiseh...wakaka
frozzbyte
post Sep 3 2008, 08:46 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Haiya have to wait again in october (if its true) to get my MBP ... or maybe they bump aifontriji with 32gb whistling.gif brows.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 3 2008, 09:02 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The second pic I posted there is just a casing for the new iPod Nano. Manufacturer Hama had it displayed at the current IFA 08, and the Nano inside it is the old Nano, which makes it look awkward.
Kenix L
post Sep 3 2008, 10:11 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Sep 3 2008, 05:34 PM)
im nt sure if is shud be in here or AB...
they wud announce everyting i suppose...
applicable 2 iphone and ipod...
up 2 da mods 2 decide
Don't think Apple going to announce a new iphone again? drool.gif Since the 3G one just launched. Guess it would only apply to the ipod range.

Added on September 3, 2008, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 3 2008, 07:16 PM)
Here's another look at the size comparison between the new Nano and the iPhone:-

I am still pretty much in love with my "little fatty" compared to this new one... rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Kenix L: Sep 3 2008, 10:12 PM
aspire2oo6
post Sep 3 2008, 10:30 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

i prefer the current 1
friends
post Sep 3 2008, 10:37 PM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

Looking forward for Firmware 2.1 and iTunes 8.
As for iPod Touch.... should have new 'feature' integrated in it.

Few more days to go....

CODE

With Apple's announcement that the company will be holding a special media event on September 9th, we're reminded that Kevin Rose was the first source of the September 9th date.

Rose originally reported that we would see new iPod nanos and small cosmetic changes to the iPod Touch in September, but also revealed that iTunes 8 would arrive as a "big update" with new features. Later when he revealed the September 9th date, he described a new music recommendation feature within iTunes 8, but gave few details. An anonymous tip has since suggested that this "genius playlist" feature would be able to generate a playlist based on the qualities of a selected song, giving a Pandora-like experience with your own music library. This, however, remains unconfirmed and is published for interest only.

Finally, Rose said yesterday that iTunes 8.0 have new "trippy" visualizations with one described as "planet like objects wrapping around each other with stars/light streams".

Apple's media event takes place at 10am Pacific time on September 9th, and according to Cult of Mac, Apple has uncharacteristically told at least one journalist that the event is "a big deal and [he] should try to be there".

Source : MacRumors.com September 03, 2008 07:05 AM EST

This post has been edited by friends: Sep 3 2008, 10:40 PM
skylancer
post Sep 4 2008, 12:20 AM

196 posts

why not they launch for new ipod shuffle too...its quite old alrdy for ipod shuffle now~
stringfellow
post Sep 4 2008, 12:22 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I dont know how they are going to make the iPod Shuffle any more smaller or better than it is. Any smaller, and I might accidentally swallow it! laugh.gif
baretta
post Sep 4 2008, 12:34 AM

1,853 posts

@SF

Hai bulan poser pun nak telan ipod ker...ekekekekekek. I just wait for new macbook.
stringfellow
post Sep 4 2008, 12:41 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Dah kecik sangat, pastu laks nak buka puasa nyer pasal, dah lapar, kalu iPod Shuffle tu kecik sangat, mau tertelan skali ngan nasik tomato wei! laugh.gif
TSharmeet15
post Sep 4 2008, 12:42 AM

2,729 posts

lol...
seriously, hw smaller can they get?
frm a lighter 2 an eraser...now wat they planning..
10 sen coin?

frozzbyte
post Sep 4 2008, 01:47 AM

3,657 posts

lastly they will implant it in your head ... just shake your head to operate the thing.
zergg
post Sep 4 2008, 07:10 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Sep 4 2008, 01:47 AM)
lastly they will implant it in your head ... just shake your head to operate the thing.
then how to turn up the volume, pusing ur head?
lol laugh.gif
TSharmeet15
post Sep 4 2008, 07:18 PM

2,729 posts

they wud develop a way u can control it with ur mind..
just tink in ur head, tadaaa...volume up..tongue.gif
mamet
post Sep 4 2008, 11:01 PM

1/3 Sone
592 posts

iphone 3g price drops... perhaps??
or Apple release i3g unlocked @ KL??
huahuaha... in my dream... tongue.gif
bsn
post Sep 4 2008, 11:19 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 3 2008, 10:30 PM)
i prefer the current 1
Me too, but if new one look better i'd might consider drool.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 4 2008, 11:24 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

New photo emerges from Alibaba.com, reported by Macrumors. Take this with a pinch of salt.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 4 2008, 11:25 PM
rawn
post Sep 4 2008, 11:45 PM

148 posts

not sure i'm digging the new nano design.
skylancer
post Sep 5 2008, 12:25 AM

196 posts

why it like the previous design rclxub.gif
SUSMike3300
post Sep 5 2008, 12:34 AM

6,866 posts

That's why string_fellow already said, take this with a pinch of salt.

Kinda looks like the old plastic Nano with curvy design and long LCD, only 9th Sept will determine the truth of all as I can say.
maxizanc
post Sep 5 2008, 03:26 AM

5,909 posts

http://www.henshall.com/stuart/2008/05/14/...september-2008/

New Cheaper Ipods?

http://www.nbr.co.nz/article/new-cheaper-ipods-34829
baretta
post Sep 7 2008, 04:56 AM

1,853 posts

From macrumors, new itunes 8 and fw 2.1 will be release.
TSharmeet15
post Sep 9 2008, 01:02 AM

2,729 posts

Andrew Mager has posted (via iPhoneSavior) an image from outside the Yerba Buena Center in San Francisco where Apple will hold its "Let's Rock" media event on September 9th, 2008.

The large multi-story banner shows one of Apple's iPod silhouette ads clearly suggesting a major iPod-related event. Persistent rumors have predicted that Apple will introduce a tall iPod Nano, a new iPod Touch, as well as iTunes 8. There are also suggestions that Apple could introduce the 2.1 iPhone firmware with some previously unannounced features.

A few last minute tidbits:

- We've heard a few more reports of Apple telling reporters that this event will be a "big deal" and urging them to come. While it's hard to read too much into this sort of hype, it does not appear to be typical practice for Apple.
- DaringFireball suggests that there will be iPhone news at the event.
- While we won't be providing live web coverage, we will offer links to all available coverage as well as SMS updates via Twitter.
- The event will take place on September 9th, 2008 at 10 a.m. Pacific, 1 p.m. Eastern.
Despite having some initial doubts, Arstechnica now believes that Kevin Rose was correct and that iTunes 8 will be arriving on September 9th alongside the expected iPod updates.

Also expected is the iPhone 2.1 firmware which had been also reported with the original rumor.

One new tidbit, however, is that Ars was told that there are parts of the iPhone 2.1 firmware "that were specifically removed from developer seeds in order to keep them secret from the world." If true, that means there may be some surprise features that will be announced on September 9th.

Developers may note that Apple has ceased delivery of iPhone 2.1 firmware betas over the past few weeks, which is consistent with it having been declared Gold Master in anticipation of the upcoming release.

Apple is holding a special media event to announce their new products on Tuesday, September 9th.

iPod nano 4G leaked in actual, factual, really-real spy photo
Look, you know the drill here. This may be the painstaking result of some CAD-school-dropout's nights home alone, or the latest in cheapo knock-offs from the Far East. You may be looking at a Photoshop spackled together from newspaper clippings, puppy dog tears, and Steve Jobs' fever-dreams.

Or, this could be a really crappy, actual photo of the iPod nano 4G in its packaging. It sure looks enough likewhat we've been seeing lately to be any / all of the above. Regardless, we'll know the truth real, real soon.

friends
post Sep 9 2008, 01:19 AM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

new iTunes 8.0 preview.

Pic : MacRumors.com

@baretta
FW 2.1 for iPod Touch, not sure iPhone has or not.
Rose also recaps his previous rumors for tomorrow's event, which include:

- New design for the iPod Nano
- iPod price reductions
- 2.1 software on iPod Touch
- iTunes 8.0: New audio visualization, Genius playlist, Genius sidebar, Grid view
Superman7
post Sep 9 2008, 09:23 AM

11,086 posts

All rumors are saying iPhone 2.1 and iTunes 8.0..
we shall wait for tomorrow...
JasLyn
post Sep 9 2008, 09:53 AM

Kernel Panic
724 posts

Its today... sept 9...
rx330
post Sep 9 2008, 10:07 AM

11,811 posts

wat time is the party?
Superman7
post Sep 9 2008, 10:11 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 9 2008, 10:07 AM)
wat time is the party?
No no.. It's on Sept 10th 1am Malaysian time

Apple's 'Lets Rock' event

This post has been edited by Superman7: Sep 9 2008, 10:11 AM
rx330
post Sep 9 2008, 10:23 AM

11,811 posts

1pm US time la
mrbadrul
post Sep 9 2008, 10:24 AM

140 posts

This effect my MobileMe services as well. Demm.. Should ask for another 60days extension from Mr. Steve.

How about u guys? Experiencing the same thing? Or maybe there are solutions for this, Mirror server or something? Susah woo macam ni...

Aiyak wrong posting... This should be in "Apple Site Down" Topic smile.gif

This post has been edited by mrbadrul: Sep 9 2008, 10:32 AM
d3vilzzzz
post Sep 9 2008, 10:24 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

nth special oso hmm.gif
rx330
post Sep 9 2008, 10:42 AM

11,811 posts

mrbadrul, get themobileme, its worth it thumbup.gif
Seaedge
post Sep 9 2008, 10:58 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

lol.. so what's happening?
mrbadrul
post Sep 9 2008, 11:12 AM

140 posts

I'm still on free trial til this november, with the additional 60days. Hoping for another free additional 60days, so they wont charge my credit card.. But im a bit too depending on this mobileme rite now, Apple always love you to spend... Hmmm

But cant wait for this midnite. Looking forward to hear about itunes 8 and iphone f/w 2.1, and lastly, should i dump my ipod nano gen3 for the new gen4...

Let's rock!!
stringfellow
post Sep 9 2008, 06:23 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

16GB iPod Nanos, 32GB iPod Touches, Lots of Colors?

Last minute tidbits reveal a few more details about Apple's plans for later today. According to our sources, Apple will indeed be refreshing their entire iPod line at the media event.

Specifically, iPod Nanos are expected to be size-bumped from the current 4GB/8GB sizes up to 8GB/16GB models. As well, Apple will be introducing 9 different colors for each Nano (up from the current 6 colors). The additional colors are expected to be Purple, Yellow and Orange.

Sizes on the 2nd generation iPod Touch, however, will remain unchanged with 8GB, 16GB and 32GB options. Without size bumps, it's still unclear what other changes are in store for the iPod Touch.

Apple will be holding their media event Tuesday, September 9th at 10 a.m. Pacific, 1 p.m. Eastern.

http://www.macrumors.com/2008/09/09/16gb-i...lots-of-colors/

Damn! 16GB iPod Nanos?!? And price drops for iPod Touches? Less than 24 hours, we will know! rclxm9.gif
neekun
post Sep 9 2008, 06:33 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 9 2008, 06:23 PM)
http://www.macrumors.com/2008/09/09/16gb-i...lots-of-colors/

Damn! 16GB iPod Nanos?!? And price drops for iPod Touches? Less than 24 hours, we will know! rclxm9.gif
Yellow! Purple! Yummy!!!
stringfellow
post Sep 9 2008, 06:50 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Orange + Apple = That luscious orange-colored Apple iPod Nano 4G. Bonus for me if it goes up to 16GB. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 9 2008, 06:50 PM
SUSMike3300
post Sep 9 2008, 07:08 PM

6,866 posts

I want to hear Steve say, "Starting today Apple is gonna be releasing new updates (firmware) for the iPhone and it will be fully unlocked. So users can use any carrier that they want and it's gonna be great. We're taking lots and lots of orders on the iPhone for this holiday season.. and we're pretty excited 'bout this." tongue.gif

I'm setting my eyes on the Touch.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Sep 9 2008, 07:09 PM
samlee860407
post Sep 9 2008, 07:25 PM

4,631 posts

you "tan ku ku"
Seaedge
post Sep 9 2008, 07:32 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Sep 9 2008, 07:25 PM)
you "tan ku ku"
which means???
samlee860407
post Sep 9 2008, 08:07 PM

4,631 posts

means wait long long
davidgary73
post Sep 9 2008, 08:11 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

"tan ku ku"? Mandarin, Hokkien, Hakka??
SUSMike3300
post Sep 9 2008, 08:16 PM

6,866 posts

Hokkien, lol. I know that I'm wishful thinking but imagination keeps our thoughts act up.

Few more hours. rclxm9.gif
jakesean
post Sep 9 2008, 08:19 PM

1,361 posts

ipod touch to have the same backing as iphone 3g??? we'll know in 5 hrs time..
davidgary73
post Sep 9 2008, 08:23 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Sep 9 2008, 08:16 PM)
Hokkien, lol. I know that I'm wishful thinking but imagination keeps our thoughts act up.

Few more hours. rclxm9.gif
lol..Thanks mike. I learn a new word today..

few more hrs till we hear some news.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
SUSMike3300
post Sep 9 2008, 08:49 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Sep 9 2008, 08:19 PM)
ipod touch to have the same backing as iphone 3g??? we'll know in 5 hrs time..
Plastic material and glossy back? Hmm, we'll know soon enough. Be sure to see some curvy and sharp edges just like iPhone 3G.

No problem, David. smile.gif
jakesean
post Sep 9 2008, 09:57 PM

1,361 posts

or probably the ipod touch will be sold in a variety of colors? hmmm... interesting..
stringfellow
post Sep 9 2008, 11:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

These same sources say the new iPod nano will be available in 9 colors and include an orientation sensor. This sensor would provide landscape mode for video and coverflow. One source suggested that the iPod would play in shuffle mode when the user shook the iPod.
http://www.iClarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1806

Accelerometer! drool.gif
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 12:05 AM

2,729 posts

i believe its an hour to go according 2 this site?

pacific
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 12:07 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

For live coverage of Apple's Let's Rock event, head here:-

http://gizmodo.com/tag/appleletsrock

Added on September 10, 2008, 12:10 amBeen hitting "Software Update" to see if Apple releases iTunes 8.0 early, but still nothing new.

58 minutes to go.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 12:12 AM
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 12:18 AM

2,729 posts

im sitting and refreshing da page after 10am...
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 12:22 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

There are 5 other options if you dont prefer Gizmodo.

Gizmodo
http://live.gizmodo.com/

Engadget
http://www.engadget.com/2008/09/09/live-fr...-san-francisco/

ArsTechnica
http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20080...t-coverage.html

Macworld
http://www.macworld.com/article/135421/200...liveupdate.html

Fortune
http://bigtech.blogs.fortune.cnn.com/2008/...-keynote-10-am/

SlashGear
http://live.slashgear.com/

Take you pick, listing it in here in case one or any of them goes down because of server overload from all the hits they are getting. laugh.gif

38 minutes to go!

Added on September 10, 2008, 12:24 amBreaking news!

From Gizmodo, the new iPod Nano interface! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 12:24 AM
nokia2003
post Sep 10 2008, 12:33 AM

5,786 posts

downloading spore, asphalt and dynolicious now
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 12:36 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Download but dont install yet. Firmware 2.1 may be incoming.
nokia2003
post Sep 10 2008, 12:37 AM

5,786 posts

yup i know.

i am doing it over the vista itunes store now; will only dock later.

thanks for the heads-up nevertheless
rx330
post Sep 10 2008, 12:43 AM

11,811 posts

dun think i got the energy to tahan until 1 am.... mau tilo aredi
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 12:51 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

They are INSIDE!
nokia2003
post Sep 10 2008, 12:53 AM

5,786 posts

*jeng jeng jeng* (to the tune of mortal kombat starting up scene)
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 12:57 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Now playing Rolling Stone "Gimme Shelter"

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 10 2008, 01:17 AM
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:02 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Steve is up on the stage, talking about iTunes!
allvin
post Sep 10 2008, 01:02 AM

4,506 posts

js wan post that pic. really have a good lulz

"Liveblog nerds at the ready."

Added on September 10, 2008, 1:03 ambtw, anyone knows about audio streaming? last time wwdc got audio streaming sleep.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Sep 10 2008, 01:03 AM
lailaikatong
post Sep 10 2008, 01:03 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 10 2008, 12:43 AM)
dun think i got the energy to tahan until 1 am.... mau tilo aredi
Haha, tell me about it... It's 3am here in Aussie, timezone difference sucks.. But I don't mind staying awake that much for this event coz I can munch through my Sahur slowly until dawn tongue.gif

@string & davidgary
Might not be really appropriate to hotlink the photos directly from Gizmodo's servers...

This post has been edited by lailaikatong: Sep 10 2008, 01:04 AM
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:05 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

YES!!! HD TV Shows finally on iTunes! The last Hd TV show I had watched are "Lost" and "Heroes". Looks like I have to invest on bigger storage drives.
Acquiesce
post Sep 10 2008, 01:05 AM

355 posts

iTunes8 rclxms.gif\\

10:04 AM: iTunes 8. A ton of new stuff. Few main pieces: HD TV shows. Accessibility - requests for voiceover and other tech fulfilled. New browsing and Genius. Browsing of albums has been weak. Grid mode album covers now appear, and a bar at the top lets you pick albums, artists, genres, composers, just like in iPhoto. You can pick scale.

from iLounge.com

This post has been edited by Acquiesce: Sep 10 2008, 01:07 AM
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:07 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

iTunes 8 features scrubbing through artist albums, the same like how it is on iPhoto. thumbup.gif
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 01:07 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Genius: “Automatically make playlists from songs in your library that go great together - with just one click.” Essentially the rumor that we had before, with iTunes automatically making a playlist based on what music you already listen to.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 10 2008, 01:09 AM
nokia2003
post Sep 10 2008, 01:08 AM

5,786 posts

@ lailaikatong

eh come on la, stop being a buzz kill all the time. save your bloody self righteousness for the time being.

give it a break and let us enjoy the event alright?

sheeshh...

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Sep 10 2008, 01:09 AM
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:09 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Today they’re adding HD TV Shows. $2.99 for HD shows, $1.99 for regular SD shows. You can watch them on Apple TV and your computer.

And NBC coming back to iTunes! rclxm9.gif Finally! Heroes NEW SEASON, Battlestar Galactica, and The Office! In HD! *orgasms*

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 01:10 AM
zerokid
post Sep 10 2008, 01:09 AM

311 posts

baretta
post Sep 10 2008, 01:10 AM

1,853 posts

@SF

Where can get cheaper Apple TV ? heheheh
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:11 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

@baretta

Hong Kong. tongue.gif

Seriously though, I need to top up my credits in iTunes. I am going to be sooooooo broke after this. cry.gif

Added on September 10, 2008, 1:13 amAnd oh, that "Genius" sidebar feature as rumored by Kevin Rose is true after all. They are moving recommendations from the front page of iTunes to the side bar. We'll see how good this implementations works.

Show the new Visualization! Magnetosphere, please!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 01:13 AM
lailaikatong
post Sep 10 2008, 01:15 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Sep 10 2008, 01:08 AM)
@ lailaikatong
eh come on la, stop being a buzz kill all the time. save your bloody self righteousness for the time being.
give it a break and let us enjoy the event alright?
sheeshh...
buzzkill? all the time? wtf? I was merely politely saying that hotlinking photos isn't a good idea. Don't get me started dude. PM me if you disagree about photo hotlinking. Now let's get back to the topic...

JOHN MAYERRRRR!!! FRACKKK APPLE REALLY KNOWS HOW TO MAKE ME ORGASM... haha
baretta

1,853 posts

BENCI AKU KAT EPAL NIE......Arggggghhhhhhh...
Acquiesce

355 posts

10:13 AM: The demo is dragging a lot. Audience basically silent. iTunes 8 available today.

FUNNY!!! laugh.gif
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

There's even notification ala iPhone, that circular circle on top right of your SMS/Email when new content comes in. In this case, let say you purchased a season pass for Heroes Season 3, when new episodes are made available, the blue circle notificator shows up. Neat!

Added on September 10, 2008, 1:17 amGuys, anybody hit that "Software Update" on your Mac? Is iTunes 8.0 already made available as an update NOW? Nothing on mine .....yet.

Added on September 10, 2008, 1:19 amLooks like the Kevin Rose's new iPod Nano rumor is true as well. Tall Nanos everyone!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 01:19 AM
friends
post Sep 10 2008, 01:20 AM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

no updates yet for iTunes.... maybe after the Event ?
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:21 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The new iPod Nano - Curved glass screen, curved aluminium shell, advanced user interface, ability to create Genius playlist on the Nano itself, ......and accelerometer! Thinnest iPod ever!
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 01:21 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@ lailaikatong

relax bro..please don't use the word "wtf"..as a grown up and a respected person, you should know not to use it here. Just keep the word to yourself. Thank you and lets enjoy the liveblog.

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 10 2008, 01:22 AM
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:22 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

OMG! The interface is so beautiful! Viva la Vida artwork never looked so beautiful. And the curves..... wub.gif

Rotate sideway = Coverflow. Shake the Nano = Shuffle songs!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 01:23 AM
lailaikatong
post Sep 10 2008, 01:22 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 10 2008, 01:21 AM)
ability to create Genius playlist on the Nano itself
If the nano can do it, I'm expecting iPhone fw2.1 to be able to do it smile.gif
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 01:23 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

The new ipod nano look so cool..my next christmas gift to my girlfriend.
rx330
post Sep 10 2008, 01:23 AM

11,811 posts

i still haven sleep yet biggrin.gif
friends
post Sep 10 2008, 01:24 AM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

which website offers auto-refresh ? anyone.. .?
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Please announce it is 16GB on the top end. Please, please ,please!
zerokid

311 posts

auto refresh
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Sep 10 2008, 01:24 AM)
Gizmodo does.
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 01:25 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Sep 10 2008, 01:24 AM)

http://live.slashgear.com/
limchee
post Sep 10 2008, 01:26 AM

Sien
1,745 posts

shake to shuffle cool~
TSharmeet15

2,729 posts

nano looks amazing...
have to order new stock....yeahooo
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Price and storage size of the Nanos, please.
limchee

Sien
1,745 posts

waaaaaaaaaaa 16gb
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

lol.. everyone is staying up for this??? amazinggg!
limchee
post Sep 10 2008, 01:27 AM

Sien
1,745 posts

149/199 USD
davidgary73

Music Producer
4,903 posts

The nanos now come in a whole crapload of colors. Black, purple, blue, green, yellow, orange, red, violet BUT NO WHITE.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 10 2008, 01:28 AM
limchee

Sien
1,745 posts

OMG I LOVE THOSE COLOURSSSSSSSS
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

$149 for the 8GB model, $199 for the 16GB model.

The nanos now come in a whole crapload of colors. Black, purple, blue, green, yellow, orange, red, violet BUT NO WHITE.

YES! YES! YES! The Orange is SO MINE! rclxm9.gif 16GB as well! OH YES!
xzibit
post Sep 10 2008, 01:29 AM

289 posts

meh,no update for ipod classic..
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:29 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Microphone on the headphone headset, for recording! shocking.gif

New in-ear earphones for USD79. The old one sucks, not too excited on these new ones.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 01:30 AM
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 01:30 AM

2,729 posts

entire rainbow color line up...
SUSParamore

626 posts

QUOTE(xzibit @ Sep 10 2008, 01:29 AM)
meh,no update for ipod classic..
Dropping 160GB. 80GB upgraded to 120GB.

So, just 120GB model alone.
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

orange ipod is sooooo hot!!!!!!!!!!!
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:31 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yup, as rumored previously, looks like rainbow when clustered together. Nice!
jakesean
post Sep 10 2008, 01:31 AM

1,361 posts

purple is hot!
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 01:32 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

new headset!!!!!!!!! with 2 driver!!!!!!! OMG!!!!

can it do as it claims??? have to wait for ilounge...
jakesean

1,361 posts

yeap i was quite close! ipod touch to have similar backing with the iphone 3g! biggrin.gif
TSharmeet15

2,729 posts

i'll go with da blue
walk on the blue side
xzibit

289 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 10 2008, 01:30 AM)
Dropping 160GB. 80GB upgraded to 120GB.

So, just 120GB model alone.
that sounds like a downgrade instead doh.gif
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

New features on the new iPod Touch: Integrated volume and SPEAKERS! Apple listened!
davidgary73

Music Producer
4,903 posts

The iPod Touch is also being redesigned. The Touch now is thinner, with a contoured steel design. What’s the same? a 3.5-inch display, accelerometer, 802.11b/g and the app store. What’s different? An integrated volume control on the side, a speaker, and Genius playlist creation.
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 01:33 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 10 2008, 01:31 AM)
Yup, as rumored previously, looks like rainbow when clustered together. Nice!
now.. do you think any of us will buy each colour.. and next tt show it that way? hahahahahahah
lailaikatong

601 posts

sheesh Nike+iPod is built into the touch... I WANT IT IN MY IPHONE GAHHHHH
baretta

1,853 posts

My company colour=orange, my fav harley=orange, my fav colour=orange...
Acquiesce

355 posts

Touch is an art! notworthy.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:34 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

How the built the speakers into the already thin-as-wafer iPod Touch is a stroke of genius itself. I'm eager to see this.
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 01:34 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(xzibit @ Sep 10 2008, 01:32 AM)
that sounds like a downgrade instead doh.gif
yeah... kindda....

so guys grab ur 160gb now.. smile.gif
jakesean
post Sep 10 2008, 01:35 AM

1,361 posts

these new range would be really good for christmas presents..
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:35 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

HOLY SHIT! Nike+iPod built-in into the iPod Touch! No more excuse for me to be lazy. Awesome Apple!
Acquiesce
post Sep 10 2008, 01:36 AM

355 posts

for casual listeners wooo the speakers!

probably its some small earphones stuck together!

BTW tweeter and subwoofer for the earphones! NICE!
TSharmeet15

2,729 posts

New in-ear headphones. "We think we've finally got these right." Ship with three sets of earbuds, 2 drivers (woofer and tweeter) in each side. Sell for $79 in October.
rx330

11,811 posts

i love steve blush.gif
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I hope the Genius playlist being editable on the iPod means that I can finally swap around my songs into any playlist now. Been wanting that since ..ever!
jakesean
post Sep 10 2008, 01:37 AM

1,361 posts

for the nike+ thing, could it be the accelerometer that does all the work?? hopefully it is..
friends
post Sep 10 2008, 01:37 AM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

cool new iPod Touch....
Nike + iPod Touch.... dunno it's built in or upgradable to old iPod Touch....
arrg..... wanted his so much !
baretta
post Sep 10 2008, 01:38 AM

1,853 posts

I CAN FEEL NOW 2.1.....
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Wait, Steve didnt mention if there is a storage bump size for the iPod Touch did he? 32GB maintain, ...or *gulp*64GB?
Acquiesce

355 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 10 2008, 01:36 AM)
I hope the Genius playlist being editable on the iPod means that I can finally swap around my songs into any playlist now. Been wanting that since ..ever!
agree with you there string! the older playlist just...static!
jakesean
post Sep 10 2008, 01:39 AM

1,361 posts

okays im gonna sleep now, wake up probably at 8am, download the new items and probably new firmware for the iphone and play around with it.. wohoo..
TSharmeet15

2,729 posts

whr is 2.1.............!!!!!!!!!!!
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

New games coming up! rclxm9.gif

EDIt: Cheh, Spore aaa? Something different please.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 01:40 AM
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

i can holdback on my budget for headphonesssss
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 01:41 AM

2,729 posts

kinda cool down da tempo now..sad.gif
Acquiesce
post Sep 10 2008, 01:41 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Sep 10 2008, 01:39 AM)
i can holdback on my budget for headphonesssss
earphones USD79!!!!

*pengsan*
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:42 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

C'mon man! Stop the Spore demo and show us more new games!

Added on September 10, 2008, 1:43 amReal Soccer 2009 from Gameloft!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 01:43 AM
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 01:43 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(Acquiesce @ Sep 10 2008, 01:41 AM)
earphones USD79!!!!

*pengsan*
vibe duo at USD101... single drive...
of coz.. i wait for review...
baretta
post Sep 10 2008, 01:43 AM

1,853 posts

YEHAHAHAHAHA.... Real soccer...... abis la sen nak raya nie woooo
Acquiesce
post Sep 10 2008, 01:44 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 10 2008, 01:42 AM)
C'mon man! Stop the Spore demo and show us more new games!

Added on September 10, 2008, 1:43 amReal Soccer 2009 from Gameloft!
wow check out the D pads to control for Real Soccer!

IMPRESSIVE! icon_rolleyes.gif
lailaikatong

601 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Sep 10 2008, 01:37 AM)
for the nike+ thing, could it be the accelerometer that does all the work?? hopefully it is..
Don't think so, the accelerometer in the touch wouldn't play a part in measuring speeds/running pace.. The device that measures the speed is actually the small thingy in the shoe... The receiver which currently has to be attached is used just to receive information from the shoe sensor...

I'm not too sure what protocol the shoe sensor uses to communicate with the receiver.. If it's bluetooth then it shouldn't be too difficult to implement the same thing on the iPhone, but i have a feeling it uses radio frequency...
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

needforspeed:undercover~~~~
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 01:45 AM

2,729 posts

have to buy credit 2 buy new games.....
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

looks nice... for a phone game...

definitely way better than ngage...
jakesean

1,361 posts

need for speed.. if it comes out in appstore for the iphone tmr, im gonna get it.. muahahhaa! i just got my pay ! biggrin.gif:D
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 01:46 AM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Now Need For Speed: Undercover. Customize your car, deliver a package across town. Not too bad graphics, actually, in terms of 3D. No Maggie Q like on the console version though.

Need for Speed will be available in November.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 10 2008, 01:48 AM
baretta

1,853 posts

Who to buy my PSP ???
jakesean

1,361 posts

aiks.. hopes crashed.. november.. sad.gif .. good.. save money biggrin.gif
SUSParamore

626 posts

Graphics are nice, but the game itself is kind of buggy right now. Comes November to iPhone and iPod Touch.

The iPod Touch also works with the new headphones previously announced. Battery life is 36 hours for music, 6 for video.

Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 01:47 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

but its buggy as stated.. wait for november release...
jakesean

1,361 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 10 2008, 01:46 AM)
Now Need For Speed: Undercover. Customize your car, deliver a package across town. Not too bad graphics, actually, in terms of 3D. No Maggie Q like on the console version though.
pls dun copy n paste la..
TSharmeet15

2,729 posts

stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Damn, I'm gonna need to recharge my iTunes credit for all this. If I cant get from my usual suspect, then have to head to that Giant Kelana Jaya today.
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

The 8GB is $229, 16GB is $299 and 32GB is $399. All available starting today. Here’s an iPod Touch ad.

TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 01:48 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Sep 10 2008, 01:47 AM)
chill bro..
at this time we tend to do this as it is live
normal laa
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 01:49 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

8gb = RM779 /RM799
16GB = RM1017.9 /RM1099
32GB = RM1358 /RM1399?

is it too good to be true???

davidgary73

Music Producer
4,903 posts

The iPod Touch has software 2.1, which includes Nike+ and Genius playlists. First-gen iPod Touch owners get a free update from 2.0, but if you haven’t, it’s $9.95 to 2.1 from 1.x. Updates are available today.
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Is that a price drop or maintain for the new iPod Touch?
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 01:50 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

i wan touch 32gB!!!!
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That is the first mention of Firmware 2.1....but on the iPod Touch. iPhone punya mana weiiii?
davidgary73

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Sep 10 2008, 01:47 AM)
Sorry la..u update also la..i'll let u do all the talking ok icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 10 2008, 01:51 AM
xzibit

289 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Sep 10 2008, 01:49 AM)
8gb = RM779 /RM799
16GB = RM1017.9 /RM1099
32GB = RM1358 /RM1399?

yeah,cant wait!Too bad there's no 64GB tho biggrin.gif
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

i saw FW2.1~~~ for ipod touch~
friends
post Sep 10 2008, 01:51 AM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

wah.... how long the Events will take ?
darn.... have to work tomorrow morning somemore...

dun wan to miss the latest updates !
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

Jason Chen:

iPhone owners get a 2.1 software update that “fixes lots of bugs.” Significantly improved battery life, fewer call drops, crashing problems, increased speed for iTunes backups and various other fixes

jakesean

1,361 posts

new firmwaare.. i got all the info i want.. can sleep d.. nitenite!
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

firmware 2.1 for iPhone is this Friday! rclxm9.gif 2 more days!!!

iPhone owners get a 2.1 software update that “fixes lots of bugs.” Significantly improved battery life, fewer call drops, crashing problems, increased speed for iTunes backups and various other fixes.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 01:53 AM
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 01:52 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(friends @ Sep 10 2008, 01:51 AM)
wah.... how long the Events will take ?
darn.... have to work tomorrow morning somemore...

dun wan to miss the latest updates !
no idea... i am same boat as u man....
Acquiesce

355 posts

FW2.1

that;s about it??? hmm.gif
baretta

1,853 posts

Yehahahahahah 2.1......i smell already
davidgary73

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Friday .iphonw fw 2.1
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

faster backup is a good news for me... and others that has tonnes of free apps~
Kenix L
post Sep 10 2008, 01:53 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Sep 10 2008, 01:49 AM)
8gb = RM779 /RM799
16GB = RM1017.9 /RM1099
32GB = RM1358 /RM1399?

Serious ?? drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif I want a 32GB please laugh.gif
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Keynotes like these usually takes nothing more than an hour.
friends

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

free updates for iPod Touch... yea yea !

nokia2003

5,786 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Sep 10 2008, 01:48 AM)
chill bro..
at this time we tend to do this as it is live
normal laa
honestly, some people can get really !@$^ huh?
Acquiesce

355 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 10 2008, 01:52 AM)
Friday .iphonw fw 2.1
owwww....Friday then...ok tidur time!

nites guys!
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 01:54 AM

2,729 posts

This is a big update, it fixes lots of bugs. Fewer dropped calls, big battery life improvements. No crashes with Apps. Backing up is faster." Nice.

just da one line mention abt 2.1?
then bac 2 ipods?
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(Kenix L @ Sep 10 2008, 01:53 AM)
Serious ?? drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif I want a 32GB please laugh.gif
mine is live conversion.. but hope malaysian Taxes dun get too over....

RM1399 for 32GB is really good news... for me at least...
stringfellow

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Alamak! There's a singing session by Jack Johnson pulak! This may drag the keynote longer. vmad.gif
jakesean

1,361 posts

apple site has been updated..
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 01:55 AM

2,729 posts

2.1 software update as well. It's a big update: it fixes lots of bugs: fewer call drops, significantly improved battery life, not as many crashes, backing up to iTunes is "dramatically faster." And some new performance enhancements as well. Free to all iPhone owners, and it'll drop on Friday.
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 01:56 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

we iphone 1st gen might have to wait for JB/UL... u iphone3g are the lucky ones...
allvin
post Sep 10 2008, 01:57 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Sep 10 2008, 01:54 AM)
mine is live conversion.. but hope malaysian Taxes dun get too over....

RM1399 for 32GB is really good news... for me at least...
surely hike to RM1659 anyone? whistling.gif
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 01:57 AM

2,729 posts

hehe...
now onli a moment to breath...
stalling and delaying...
dev team wud cm up with da jb soon la..
nt 2 wurry
SUSParamore
post Sep 10 2008, 01:58 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Sep 10 2008, 01:57 AM)
surely hike to RM1659 anyone? whistling.gif
vmad.gif
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 01:58 AM

2,729 posts

as far as da pricing goes...
when da stock gets 2 our shores...i'll have an update
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:59 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Looks like I would have to bring my Macbook White to Frankfurt this Friday. Updating it while I'm there since it comes out on that day. Damn all this work!
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 01:59 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

if that price.. then we might have to look for lobang~

Added on September 10, 2008, 2:00 amuser posted image

This post has been edited by Seaedge: Sep 10 2008, 02:00 AM
neekun
post Sep 10 2008, 02:00 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

I wonder the nice music playing interface is applicable for iPhone as well once updated to 2.1.
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

lol... event wrapping up~

good night everyone.. wink.gif
TSharmeet15

2,729 posts

was it me or they din mention any significant updates on 2.1...
all da secret hype...whr laaa
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 02:01 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

lol... dunno.. genius playlist and nike+iphone...?
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 02:01 AM

2,729 posts

perhaps, they wud talk abt da genius playlist thing on 2.1 aso
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 02:02 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Sep 10 2008, 02:00 AM)
I wonder the nice music playing interface is applicable for iPhone as well once updated to 2.1.
It should be. Updating iTunes to 8.0 with those new features and not having them on the iPhone is a bit ridiculous to me.
Seaedge

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

JJ is singin another song... sweat.gif
zergg

383 posts

hmm, im just wondering, is it practical enough to have a nike+ in ipod touch...
the image of me running with a nike+ iin my ipod touch seems a little bit.....awkard..!
anyone?
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 02:04 AM

2,729 posts

nano is da best 2 use with nike+ipod
using touch, wud seem abt odd
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 02:04 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

not sure... did anyone really try ipod+nike during the ipod 5G?
jakesean
post Sep 10 2008, 02:05 AM

1,361 posts

QUOTE(zergg @ Sep 10 2008, 02:02 AM)
hmm, im just wondering, is it practical enough to have a nike+ in ipod touch...
the image of me running with a nike+ iin my ipod touch seems a little bit.....awkard..!
anyone?
you've got those handband.. to some that goes for leisure jog they wont really care since the ipod touch doesnt weight like a brick..
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 02:06 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Damn, over already. No "And One More Thing". sad.gif

Oh well, I have today to look forward to for stuff from Amazon, and Friday for the new firmware.

Good night folks! Gonna eat some sahur before dozing off.
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 02:06 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

arm band is needed for that... badly..

anyway.. gotta sleep..
nites all!
Balok
post Sep 10 2008, 02:07 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

finish oredi? sad.gif
SUSParamore
post Sep 10 2008, 02:10 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(jakesean @ Sep 10 2008, 01:54 AM)
apple site has been updated..

Added on September 10, 2008, 2:12 am
QUOTE(Balok @ Sep 10 2008, 02:07 AM)
finish oredi? sad.gif
I just found a live broadcast!
http://www.apple.com/letsrock

This post has been edited by Paramore: Sep 10 2008, 02:12 AM
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 02:12 AM

2,729 posts

this was like da most weird event la...
but still...
looking forward 2 friday
new firmware....
limchee
post Sep 10 2008, 02:13 AM

Sien
1,745 posts

why they keep on showing the side of the touch
i wanna see the back part
neekun
post Sep 10 2008, 02:18 AM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(Paramore @ Sep 10 2008, 02:10 AM)

Added on September 10, 2008, 2:12 am
I just found a live broadcast!
http://www.apple.com/letsrock
Hellloo...why the link u gave is pointing to Rick Astley "Never gonna give you up" video on Youtube hmm.gif
maxizanc
post Sep 10 2008, 02:18 AM

5,909 posts

When the iTouch will be sold?
SUSParamore
post Sep 10 2008, 02:21 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Sep 10 2008, 02:18 AM)
Hellloo...why the link u gave is pointing to Rick Astley "Never gonna give you up" video on Youtube  hmm.gif
http://yougotrickrolled.com/

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Sep 10 2008, 02:18 AM)
When the iTouch will be sold?
Maybe in a week when our Malaysia Apple gets it, I said maybe.
allvin
post Sep 10 2008, 02:39 AM

4,506 posts

itunes v8 online now

http://www.apple.com/itunes/download/
nokia2003
post Sep 10 2008, 02:47 AM

5,786 posts

download coming through!
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 02:49 AM

2,729 posts

thx bro..
downloading now
new ipods wud launch end of this work...
expected to reach asia end of the month
toby.c13
post Sep 10 2008, 02:58 AM

Please enter custom member title
1,580 posts

meaning would be available for sale by oct?
how much for the ipod nano 8gb and 16gb? tongue.gif
planning the get the black one..

This post has been edited by toby.c13: Sep 10 2008, 03:03 AM
nikeshock
post Sep 10 2008, 03:05 AM

561 posts

apple website is updated. the new ipod touch is. simply.... yum yum
allvin
post Sep 10 2008, 03:07 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(toby.c13 @ Sep 10 2008, 02:58 AM)
meaning would be available for sale by oct?
how much for the ipod nano 8gb and 16gb? tongue.gif
planning the get the black one..
got black color mer? i tot i only saw silver color sleep.gif

Added on September 10, 2008, 3:07 amuser posted image

This post has been edited by allvin: Sep 10 2008, 03:07 AM
toby.c13
post Sep 10 2008, 03:08 AM

1,580 posts

neh..
user posted image dry.gif
allvin
post Sep 10 2008, 03:11 AM

4,506 posts

oh my bad. i tot you refering to touch. lulz. i hyper for touch whistling.gif
toby.c13
post Sep 10 2008, 03:13 AM

1,580 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Sep 10 2008, 03:11 AM)
oh my bad. i tot you refering to touch. lulz. i hyper for touch whistling.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
already said nano..
haha.. laugh.gif
yujin86
post Sep 10 2008, 04:03 AM

1,740 posts

got news said that 2.1 FW will out on tis friday.....
extend battery life and more stable......
nikeshock
post Sep 10 2008, 04:17 AM

561 posts

i wanna pengsan looking at it.
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 04:35 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Using iTunes 8.0 now. A few observations:-

1 .The Genius feature requires you to sign into an iTunes account, otherwise it is disabled. You can make the Genius sidebar visible or not, by clicking its button on bottom right of iTunes.

2. HD contents immediately available NOW! This includes at least all of my previously purchased TV Shows such as Lost. Also ,welcome back NBC! Those season passes for The Office, Heroes Season 1 & 2, and Battlestar Galactica is teasing ME! cry.gif I need more credits before I can purchase them. They also include how much storage is required to buy them by seasons. For example, Heroes Season 2 is 14GBs in HD, but only 5.3GB in SD. I'm getting my TV Shows in HD on Blu-rays, only getting SD versions via iTunes.

3 .After agreeing with the terms and conditions for Genius, it will start gathering info on your iTunes library, and it takes a while too. Once done, a notification appears that says that you can start using Genius now. To use it, select a song, and on the Genius sidebar, a Genius recommendation, at the time of the writing of this post, based currently on the composer, appears. The Genius feature assumes you are interested in similar sounds from the currently selected song, and recommends it with links for purchase and details. Note that Genius only works for songs at the moment, and also Genius is evolving.........the more data it gathers from users as more and more users uses iTunes 8.0, the smarter it gets, and the better recommendations it gives. Creepy isnt it? Almost sounds like Skynet in Terminator.....

4 .A new Visualizer as promised. Magnetosphere is now available as the iTunes default visualizer when selected. Looks just as described by Kevin Rose, streaks of light jumping between spherical worlds or planet. Very trippy and beautiful. Also , ZERO lag on the visualizer, even when turn on to full screen. This is excellent for parties, gatherings and get-togethers while you turn on your HDTV connected to your Mac. Nice!

5 .Remember those blue notification bubbles on your iPhone? Now it serves as a way of saying that you have new unwatched episodes on your Mac, instead of what I initially thought as new episodes available. Refer to the screenshot below.

6. Genius Playlist, what is it? It is basically the Genius feature trying to second-guess what you would want to group your songs into and at the same time create a playlist based on those guesstimation. For example, if I choose the song "Dont Fear The Reaper" by Blue Oyster Cult, these songs are what Genius recommends I put inside the Genius playlist.

I choose a song based on a soundtrack, called "Little Things" by Danny Elfman from the soundtrack of "Wanted", it generates songs all based from soundtracks or what it thinks are soundtrack titles, including titles that arent necessary tagged as a soundtrack album. I got songs from a few classical albums I got, in which Genius would already have scoured the iTunes music database and identified it as one of the songs from a soundtrack of a movie. Hence it gets recommendation inside this Genius Playlist because of those criterias.

7. The new Grid look is further enhanced to look like this:-

Hovering your cursor over a title on that said grid enable two things. If the said grid item is arranged as "Artist", you can scrub over the grid item to select different albums within the said grid by scrolling left to right and clicking it down when you've come to the selected album you wanted. Those familiar with scrubbing within a photo Event in iPhoto should find this familiar.

8 .One bad glitch I found out is that all my movies contained in Time Capsule are no longer containing their album art/movie poster. I had to individually use the "Get Info" feature to refresh the alias/link to point towards those movies stored in the Time Capsule, and recollect their album art, or in this case, the movie cover art. I've close to 300 movies stored this way, and the thoughts of doing them one by one is not a pleasant one.

stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 04:45 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

And the next thing I know, I got a PM from someone, asking me to give him my South Park episodes.

I bought these fair, square ANd LEGAL via iTunes, and you want these for free?

Typical leeching, pirate Malaysian mentality. doh.gif shakehead.gif
mamet
post Sep 10 2008, 05:29 AM

1/3 Sone
592 posts

cant wait for FW2.1....
time to upgrade... tongue.gif
LETS ROCK!!!
SUSMike3300
post Sep 10 2008, 05:55 AM

6,866 posts

Wow, new iPod lineups are sweet. Hopefully firmware 2.1 ends all the iPhone users nightmare. smile.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 07:01 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Watch the entire Special Event revealed in Quicktime format, head to this link:-

http://events.apple.com.edgesuite.net/0809...vent/index.html

Added on September 10, 2008, 7:50 amReal Soccer 2009 is out on iTunes, anybody buying? I'm not a big fan on anything soccer/football, so I'm holding this off.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 07:50 AM
samlee860407
post Sep 10 2008, 08:07 AM

4,631 posts

eh...guys, the movie download from itunes store, the HD one got subtitle anot ar? >.<
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 08:14 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Even the SD ones are not subtitled, I doubt the HD ones are. Unless the subs are hardcoded into the film, and not placeholdered over the film data, it wont be subtitled.
samlee860407
post Sep 10 2008, 08:27 AM

4,631 posts

yea....just watch the trailer, no subs....hm...if got subs will buy the HD one, if no, then think think 1st...aha
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 09:09 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 10 2008, 04:45 AM)
And the next thing I know, I got a PM from someone, asking me to give him my South Park episodes.

I bought these fair, square ANd LEGAL via iTunes, and you want these for free?

Typical leeching, pirate Malaysian mentality.  doh.gif  shakehead.gif
string you shud ask that poor fella to ask his mama to give him money... i think he is too poor to work too...
tayhaithian
post Sep 10 2008, 09:26 AM

460 posts

dont blame ppl .
Somehow when we think back of the app installed with our pc nor iphone , pretty sure it wasnt 100% legal . sort of cracked , pwned and etc .
JasLyn
post Sep 10 2008, 10:10 AM

Kernel Panic
724 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Sep 10 2008, 09:26 AM)
dont blame ppl .
Somehow when we think back of the app installed with our pc nor iphone , pretty sure it wasnt 100% legal . sort of cracked , pwned and etc .
Aiyah bro.... pandai makan pandai simpan lah.... bukan nak makan free, mintak hantar sampai pintu... What say me? rclxub.gif
nokia2003
post Sep 10 2008, 10:38 AM

5,786 posts

aiseh i was finding high and low for the post requesting for stringfellow's south park videos.

mana tau it is a PM.
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 11:48 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Sep 10 2008, 09:09 AM)
string you shud ask that poor fella to ask his mama to give him money... i think he is too poor to work too...
QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Sep 10 2008, 09:26 AM)
dont blame ppl .
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Sep 10 2008, 10:38 AM)
aiseh i was finding high and low for the post requesting for stringfellow's south park videos.

mana tau it is a PM.
People who are asking things like these are people who cannot afford these luxury items in the first place. It is like buying a BMW but cannot afford to fill the tank with petrol, instead mau curi someone else's petrol by siphoning it out of other people's tank. Music and movies are the fuel for your iPod and iPhone, if you cant afford getting fuel for these luxury items, then dont get the iPhone/iPod in the first place. Dont just follow people, they have iPhone/iPod, you also must have one. Ukur baju kat badan sendiri lah.

Malaysians have been so used to freebies, that even getting things like this through illegal means does not faze them. When a guy does it and gets away with it, the next guy follows. In the end, everybody does it, and taken as a norm. This has become an epidemic, to a stage where those who chose to go the legal means have been either shunned, belittled or laughed at by these irresponsible people.

I've been battling this mentality since the I can remember, and I've received my share of death threats, mockings, and forum people mobbing up against me. I'm thankful on my fortunes in life, and I dont expect everyone to follow me on my spending patterns, but someone of lesser spending power than me, and still maintain his purchases on the legal side, have my utmost respect and admiration for his determination to stay legit. It is even harder to pull off if you are constantly seduced into piracy because of financial needs. You can still stay legit, maintaining a modest lifestyle and still not break any rules or law. Taking the piracy route is like a copout, you are taking the easy way out.

I didnt start off being where I am right now, I myself did my share of pirating on my younger days as well. There are still skeletons in my closets, and I admit them. But what's more important is admitting and rehabilitating oneself against this disease. What's even sadder is, there are portion of iPhone/iPod buyers who reside in the "well-to-do" category, with luxury car,huge houses, and designer clothes on their back, yet they still dont find it important to stay away from piracy.

I'm sorry, but I have my conscience reminding me every time I want to break a rule or law. That is my safety net. I cant ,in the right frame of mind, to pirate things others have worked on so hard in their life.
skyther
post Sep 10 2008, 12:22 PM

498 posts

^Ermmm... you obviously have the right to decline lah, but it doesn't really justify a full on lecture about piracy and self righteousness.

A legitimate copy of Windows XP retails for what... RM300? To a M'sian who earns RM4/hr working in a retail store that's a lot of money. Not everyone has that much expendable income. Every person here who runs a hackintosh is also in one form or another doing something illegal, wouldn't it be harsh to say that they should spend RM5k on a Mac just so they can familiarize themselves with OS X?

Honestly, if it weren't for piracy the technology uptake in M'sia would be so much lower than what it is now.
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 12:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Notice I write about "songs and movies" not your favourite topic of OSes and their costs,which is the favourite point people like to use to justify themselves pirating. If you cant afford 99 cents for a song, or USD1.99 for a TV Show, then you're just making up excuses to pirate.

My rationalization is simple: If I cant afford it, I wont pirate it. You dont see me stealing cars when I cant afford a new BMW 3 series. Same case here. The only difference is, that this is virtual, and to some people, they dont see the value of staying legitimate on things that cannot hold physically.

Sure, piracy helps on technology uptake, but how many of those who had taken up technology and incorporate that into their lives and livelihood, shed those piracy coat they wore during those "desperate times" and went the legitimate way? More often than not, they still hang on and wear those "pirate coats" and "eyepatches" , even when financial outlook have improved to a point that it is possible to take things up legitimately. To them, there is no incentive to go legit because you can get the same (almost) when you pirate. Selfish much?

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 12:38 PM
skyther
post Sep 10 2008, 01:21 PM

498 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 10 2008, 12:32 PM)
Notice I write about "songs and movies" not your favourite topic of OSes and their costs,which is the favourite point people like to use to justify themselves pirating. If you cant afford 99 cents for a song, or USD1.99 for a TV Show, then you're just making up excuses to pirate.

My rationalization is simple: If I cant afford it, I wont pirate it. You dont see me stealing cars when I cant afford a new BMW 3 series. Same case here. The only difference is, that this is virtual, and to some people, they dont see the value of staying legitimate on things that cannot hold physically.

Sure, piracy helps on technology uptake, but how many of those who had taken up technology and incorporate that into their lives and livelihood, shed those piracy coat they wore during those "desperate times" and went the legitimate way? More often than not, they still hang on and wear those "pirate coats" and "eyepatches" , even when financial outlook have improved to a point that it is possible to take things up legitimately. To them, there is no incentive to go legit because you can get the same (almost) when you pirate. Selfish much?
Heh... piracy is piracy. Pirating software and "songs and movies" are essentially the same thing. unsure.gif I can afford and I have purchased tracks of iTMS before, but wherever possible I prefer to leech files off friends rather than to sit around and use up broadband quota downloading stuff that someone else already has. whistling.gif A 10GB quota shared amongst 11 people isn't exactly a lot... is that a fair enough excuse?

Secondly, not all tracks are available on iTunes plus, and personally I think 128kbps DRM'd AAC is pretty sh*thouse. Is iTMS even available in Malaysia?

There is a slight difference between stealing a physical, tangible item and piracy. By stealing you are depriving someone else of something that they have paid for, while the latter costs nothing to duplicate and only results in a potential loss of income for someone. It doesn't take away what they already have and isn't nearly as detrimental.

I do agree with the last point however, people do tend to hold onto bad habits. Blame that on the education system. Regardless of how morally correct you are, I doubt there's a need for you to be this harsh on others. wink.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 01:47 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Potential loss is potential nonetheless. How many of those pirating, you can count on them actually purchasing the items the pirated, when they like what they saw/hear? Ethics, morals and conscience. When it comes to this, "getting things for free" mindset usually prevails.

Sure, if albums or songs are not available on iTunes, sample them online via other vendors like Amazon Unbox, or God forbid, leech them, sample them, and then buy them legitimately via legitimate means like CDs and other legitimate online offerings. How many choose to go this way?

iTunes is available in Malaysia, it depends on which country you choose to sign an account in.

It is easy to dismiss the damage you have done as "non-detrimental" or "negligible" when you dont know the people who are directly affected by your actions. You can easily carry on with your life blissfully ignorant of the results of your actions. The damage may not be immediate, but the recent TV Show writer's strike and the already shrinking revenue having to be further subdivided, is already exemplifying how leeching and pirating TV shows have already shown its ugly side.

All it takes is a little bit of effort and one;s own clear conscience. That one example is a thread in Apple Byte, where a member asked on how to update his iPod Touch to firmware 2.0. The legitimate route, as I have suggested to him, is to either get an iTunes gift card, available in a location in Kelana Jaya, redeem the credit and purchase it via iTunes legitimately. Or use iTunes Malaysia, add in a credit card, (or use Ambank Prepaid NextG credit card, if you dont have one, it works like a charge card, with a credit card front), and buy the firmware update that way. Guess which route he takes? Torrent! Why? Because it is much easier to sit your bum on a chair and leech torrents than actually lift that bum and work your way to get things done legally. Clear conscience too is lacking in this case. It is easier to cop out and give yourself in to the seduction, but is it right?

As for your comment on me being harsh....which part is that? In fact, I've been treated more harshly by those advocating piracy for trying to bring them back to the right way, than me being anythig more stern in my words. My word hits home to them, but admittance to those words would mean proving that I was right and what they did was wrong. You at least have the decency of admitting some of the points I made, unlike "these folks".

The posts made before are not made to reflect self-righteousness, but more on to reflect on the laissez-faire attitude Malaysians (and Malaysians abroad in most cases) towards trying to stay legit in their digital consumptions. Like I said, they are more inclined to find excuses to justify their means to their ends, rather than try to make amends and slowly correct themselves to go legit. It is like rehabilitation, but admitting to the need to rehabilitate is the first step needed to begin the healing process. I admitted I needed help before I turned a new leaf, I was a chronic hoarder during my earlier days.

It is easier to give in, succumb to the seduction, but it takes a bigger person to hold true to the course. Again, not meant to make myself look good or anything, just something to reflect on.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 02:21 PM
jaychow
post Sep 10 2008, 02:09 PM

111 posts

How do I buy music/content off iTune's Malaysia? I can purchase iPhone apps (Super Monkey ball FTW) but somehow I can't view the Music/Movie content, says something like not availabe for this country.

Anyways I share stringfellow's sentiment, its like you put your heart and soul into your assignment/work and some fella copies it and took the credit instead.
Seaedge
post Sep 10 2008, 02:11 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

^ there is no music/movie in ituens malaysia, period.

u need US itunes acc
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 02:16 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

@skyther

Whatever it is, piracy will always be around and we're here to atleast try to change some mindsets as many of use are so use to pirating songs etc. Staying legit with software does gives u a sense of pride that you own something with your own effort, not thru others.

For example. You made a software and you manage to find a distributor to help to sell your product. In 2 days time, you see your product everywhere and is all pirated. How do you feel when you have put in all your time, energy and resources?

I bet you feel cheated and also angry but what can you do?

So what String bro trying to say to us all is to stay legit and reward ourself with some pride of owning something with pure conscience and help the person who develop the software with something back so that they can create more softwares in the future.

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 10 2008, 02:27 PM
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 02:23 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(jaychow @ Sep 10 2008, 02:09 PM)
How do I buy music/content off iTune's Malaysia? I can purchase iPhone apps (Super Monkey ball FTW) but somehow I can't view the Music/Movie content, says something like not availabe for this country.

Anyways I share stringfellow's sentiment, its like you put your heart and soul into your assignment/work and some fella copies it and took the credit instead.
Register a US account. Google for the steps or search within this forum for the procedures.

To top up credits in a US account, a store in Giant Kelana Jaya is selling US iTunes prepaid cards now , USD15 cards for RM50.
rx330
post Sep 10 2008, 02:25 PM

11,811 posts

usd 15 at rm 50 is a steal
hopefully seller will pm me soon
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 02:26 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Sep 10 2008, 02:16 PM)
@skyther

Whatever it is, piracy will always be around and we're here to atleast try to change some mindsets as many of use are so use to pirating songs etc. Staying legit with software does gives u a sense of pride that you own something with your own effort, not thru others.

For example. You made a software and you manage to find a distributor to help to sell your product. In 2 days time, you see your product everywhere and is all pirated. How do you feel when you have put in all your time, energy and resources?

I bet you feel cheated and also angry but what can you do?

So what String bro trying to say to us all is to stay legit and be reward ourself with some pride of owning something with pure conscience and help the person who develop the software with something reward so that they can create more softwares in the future.
And if I may interject, in the case of Davidgary bro here, he is directly impacted when it comes to music piracy. He cari his makan in the music business, where his direct income comes from. Can anyone here tell me with a straight face that you are not against leeching his hard work, just for your own convenience? He is your fellow Malaysian here, looking to find a way to support his living.
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 02:34 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 10 2008, 02:26 PM)
And if I may interject, in the case of Davidgary bro here, he is directly impacted when it comes to music piracy. He cari his makan in the music business, where his direct income comes from. Can anyone here tell me with a straight face that you are not against leeching his hard work, just for your own convenience? He is your fellow Malaysian here, looking to find a way to support his living.
Thanks String bro..Just for your info guys. Music business never an easy business. We spend RM 40,000+(money from our own pocket, from gigs) to make an album(only one album) and imagine kena cetak rompak.. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Matilah my band. Album mana boleh sell???? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

As Russel Peter always say: "Do the right thing, Be a man"

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 10 2008, 02:42 PM
tayhaithian
post Sep 10 2008, 02:47 PM

460 posts

string be open minded and take others advices , u couldn't compare with not afforable and stealing in this method , maybe the 1 who saw you having the episod is requesting for "SHARING SHARING SHARING SHARING" so don't think like a lawyer insteed of the word of "Curi" thats too much different .
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 02:57 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Sep 10 2008, 02:47 PM)
string be open minded and take others advices , u couldn't compare with not afforable and stealing in this method , maybe the 1 who saw you having the episod is requesting for "SHARING SHARING SHARING SHARING" so don't think like a lawyer insteed of the word of "Curi" thats too much different .
Hey bro..this is what i think. Sharing is good when it is free but sharing a software/mp3/video that's not yours is not a good thing ma. Let's say i pass u my album, you burn a copy and just say this is call sharing. Will you buy my album? i think you will not because you have already acquired a copy and don't need to spend money to purchase it.

So how? It's that good or bad? What say you?

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 10 2008, 03:00 PM
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 02:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Hey, if it is legally free, i'd share it with you. That is why I posted the news on free HD TV Shows on US iTunes available now, and urge you to download it. It is deemed FREE by its distributor, so by all means, get it, share it, spread the love if you like.

But when it is deemed or marketed as a purchase-item, it is marked as such for a reason. For cases like album production, in the case of DavidGary here, he had invested RM40,000 to produce a single album, presumably with 12 tracks, and of course wanted to have his efforts reimbursed at least, or make a tidy profit, so that he can continue putting food on his table, and use that extra cash to produce more albums, and thus continue generating income for his living. Would you "share" his album when the case is like this? If the answer is now, where do you draw the line? Is it not okay to pirate DavidGary's album, but okay to pirate, say, Kanye West's album, just because he has made it rich? Why draw those lines there, when the act itself already constitutes stealing?

It is easy actually. You like? You buy. You dont like? Stay clear. Want to test before you buy? Sample it using iTunes 30-second samples, or other online sampling alternatives. Hell, if you have to, leech the song off torrents and all, but have the decency of deleting it off your hard drive, and purchase the songs you like legally. That way, at least you are carrying the statement that "I like certain songs in this album, but I'm not going to buy the entire album, just for that few songs I like". Unlike buying CDs off record stores, you can purchase songs for a measly 99cents, instead of the whole album. Would it not be better on your conscience that you have done the right thing here, enjoying your purchase, and at a more than reasonable price?

No matter how you spin it, when it comes to digital copies distribution, this "sharing is caring" thing is wrong. I'd share things I get for free with you, no sweat. But the wrong thing here is, Malaysians perceive things they downloaded from torrents as free, hence does not mind sharing them. Where do these torrents come from, if not from pirated digital copies?
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 03:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

How much is "not affordable"? Is 99 cents not affordable enough? Remember, music, movies, TV shows and apps are not daily necessities, they are luxury items. For most, they are for your enjoyment, and living without them will not incur serious repercussion. (exception is DavidGary, his life is music. Even then, he does not pirate his stuff). So, when it is not something necessary to live by, why must you pirate it? If you do feel the need to have it, get it legally, but it would not kill you not having it, would it?

Which brings me to my next point: Hoarding. Malaysians like to hoard, be it ripped movies, mp3s, cracked programs or porn. This whole mindset is the reason why they feel compelled to pirate because they want it in their collection. Do you need it? More often than not, the answer would be NO. Can you live without it? Unless you eat and breathe them, you dont need them. Malaysians feel compelled to do so because their peers come about during lunchtime telling them how he have leeched off torrents of the latest episode of (insert TV show here) or the latest (insert favourite artist here) and bragged about it. Not wanting to lose out, or just plain curious, the other party either follows the same route, leeching from torrent, or simply ask the other person to copy it into a portable thumbdrive/harddrive. Sounds familiar? You'd think you're not hurting anyone by doing this, but half way across the globe, a struggling artist with the new album released you have just leeched or "shared" is looking in dismay at the sale of his album, because everyone is leeching and nobody is buying them. Poof! There goes another aspiring musician, who could probably be the next Frank Sinatra, or Frank Astair. Somebody said something about "only affecting potential loss of income", but in this case, you're potentially losing anther great addition to the music world. You've just killed his potential of being a great musician.

tayhaithian
post Sep 10 2008, 03:19 PM

460 posts

It is easy actually. You like? You buy. You dont like? Stay clear.
^ string

ow im sry in gary cases but no offense just trying to discuss here .
( wasnt pointing to gary tough )

@string
if that word really exist then windows user will totally quit it and no more pirated , user are always genuine . what you think . Well ppl will still trying to hack or crack the stuff no matter how hard it's . Thing just gone true and reality .

hmmm .... unstopable ?
bjkhan
post Sep 10 2008, 03:21 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(tayhaithian @ Sep 10 2008, 02:47 PM)
The intention of sharing is usually sample and then purchase if you like the item. This obviously never happens in most Malaysians mind set.

Cannot afford then don't go for it. Because buying music is entertainment not necessity. Need entertainment for free, stick to FM radio.

You can say the bands are already making tons of money. The most common excuse I always here. I was an aspiring musician and I understand the pain my band had went through to get things out for people to listen. Whoever can actually make it deserve the money because its super hard work to get there. And then people just rip off.

Partially it's our mentality issue. We don't see anything wrong. I bought Microsoft Office for Mac the other day, my colleague's comment "Why you so stupid and go buy original?"
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 03:22 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Let's not go too far to discussing OSes.

What about the most common and taken-for-granted sins of piracy: Downloading songs/mp3s.

Is 99 cents "not affordable"?
tayhaithian
post Sep 10 2008, 03:32 PM

460 posts

what about asking for a million of song

if case : i bought a million of song which is @ RM 1 each
so total will cost at RM 1,000,000

the other ahem fella who make it ahem stuff ( not really because of not affordable ) in the end he make it million of song in hand with no cost and an extra RM 1,000,000 on hand still . What if he use that Million to invest on business ? so ...
wernshen
post Sep 10 2008, 03:35 PM

93 posts

^ tayhaithian
your argument makes no sense.
rx330
post Sep 10 2008, 03:37 PM

11,811 posts

wat the fark?????????
Clarencerx
post Sep 10 2008, 03:37 PM

Apple. The only perfection.
971 posts

Going to try out the new Ipod touch..looks cool
rx330
post Sep 10 2008, 03:40 PM

11,811 posts

where can try?
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 03:40 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(bjkhan @ Sep 10 2008, 03:21 PM)
The intention of sharing is usually sample and then purchase if you like the item. This obviously never happens in most Malaysians  mind set.

Cannot afford then don't go for it. Because buying music is entertainment not necessity. Need entertainment for free, stick to FM radio.

You can say the bands are already making tons of money. The most common excuse I always here. I was an aspiring musician and I understand the pain my band had went through to get things out for people to listen. Whoever can actually make it deserve the money because its super hard work to get there. And then people just rip off.

Partially it's our mentality issue. We don't see anything wrong. I bought Microsoft Office for Mac the other day, my colleague's comment "Why you so stupid and go buy original?"
I feel you bro..not easy to entertain ppl...hahhahahaha.

"Need entertainment for free, stick to FM radio". Good one mate..

Maybe those who love pirate stuff so much should buy a pirate iphone..that would satisfy them. Cheap and affordable. No need a really/original iphone. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 03:41 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Now why would you need a million songs? This further shows the example I posted about Malaysians hoarding.

You posted that, I assume, because you wanted fair treatment. You cant, because that guy who got his one million songs the "ahem" way, does not have any conscience in him telling him that it is wrong. Just because someone else is doing it, does not mean you have to follow too. And just because he does it and not get caught, does not make it right to do so either.

Good habit comes from upbringing or an epiphanical experience. Mine was the latter, I was also brought up with the notion that "Piracy, biasalah!" is okay and normal. It is once I stand back and looked at what I had become, hoarding stuff without thinking of my actions and the result of that actions, that I came to my senses.

It have to start somewhere, and in my case, I put the first step forward. If I wait until the price of DVDs/WindowsXP/Vista/Original titles to come down to my "affordable price" level, I would have never stopped pirating. I dont like not doing the right thing on my conscience.
tayhaithian
post Sep 10 2008, 03:44 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(bjkhan @ Sep 10 2008, 03:21 PM)
The intention of sharing is usually sample and then purchase if you like the item. This obviously never happens in most Malaysians  mind set.

i agreed with what u guys say nt trying to argue and as mention no offense .
But ppl are not caring wether how much hard / effort we have done on a particular stuff . They are still continue isnt it .
Yet mentality issue that u mention , actually thats what im trying to say . [ Be positive ] ~
Cheers .
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 03:45 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Tayhaitian, is 99 cents per song "not affordable"?
d3vilzzzz
post Sep 10 2008, 03:49 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

mind sets...there is all too it..nth to argue abt tongue.gif
tayhaithian
post Sep 10 2008, 03:50 PM

460 posts

yup , definately mind set . Good luck guys .
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 03:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Well, looks like 99 cents is still expensive. "Free" is not a pricetag, last I checked.
JasLyn
post Sep 10 2008, 03:56 PM

Kernel Panic
724 posts

QUOTE(Clarencerx @ Sep 10 2008, 03:37 PM)
Going to try out the new Ipod touch..looks cool
Guess we have to wait for sumtimes leh... it looks more to iPhone 3G shape at d back right... is it chrome or just matte silver? show the reflection on Apple sites...
nokia2003
post Sep 10 2008, 04:42 PM

5,786 posts

@ tayhaithian

i have tried reading your argument twice and it still doesn't hold water???!!!
TSharmeet15
post Sep 10 2008, 05:02 PM

2,729 posts

we support ori...
end of story...
any hack for free games, free songs...put a stop 2 it...
a million songs u say...u nt gonna get close a million songs any time soon i believe...
99 cent is like 3 or 4 ringgit...
i tink we can live with tat, rite...
nokia2003
post Sep 10 2008, 05:06 PM

5,786 posts

i mean bloody hell

as frozzbyte once said (or something similar to this):

you have already spent so much on an iphone, don't tell me that you can't even invest a bit more for originals?
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 05:09 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

Relax guys..don't have to get heated up. Remember, not everyone is like us and everyone has their own mindsets.

Hard to change them but atleast some are trying.
frozzbyte
post Sep 10 2008, 05:45 PM

3,657 posts

Something like dat la Nokia2003

*Cough*Cough*Still having tonsillitis ... damn fever and sorethroat*Cough*Cough*
SUSMike3300
post Sep 10 2008, 05:53 PM

6,866 posts

I can't wait for firmware 2.1 for iPhone, coming out this Friday. Servers will be overloaded and just like how iPod touch users are frustrating to get the update on iTunes.

Remember the times when 2G iPhone users got all the attention in Apple's eye and left behind iPod touch users in terms of free firmware and pay firmware and etc.. now iPhone 2G and 3G users got it. New earphones & Nike+iPod is not compatible with iPhone and even iPod touch looks just like iPhone 3G. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Sep 10 2008, 05:54 PM
skyther
post Sep 10 2008, 05:54 PM

498 posts

TBH RM50 for 15 songs is kinda expensive. To the average American, 99 US cents is affordable.

You'd have to consider demographics when comparing costs. Here in Perth there's a chain of music stores that source CDs from mainly Asian countries, Malaysia included, because it's cheaper than sourcing the same material from local distributors.

Whatever it is, I'm not trying to condone piracy, all I'm saying is I can see a reason for it to happen especially in a country like Malaysia. It is however quite surprising how some of you can smugly make the claims you do; I'm willing to bet that most of you would have at one point or another obtained music illegitimately. I find it somewhat hard to believe that you would be able to fill up your 8/16/80GB iPods with nothing but legal material.

Just my opinion, I'm not out to flame anyone or shoot down anyone else's opinions.

And davidgary... my apologies if I offended you as an artist, hopefully you'll appeal to people out there who value your work enough to purchase it.

stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 05:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Read my post carefully. I've admitted that I've dabbled in piracy before, but through the years, I've became a repentant man. It is not whether you choose to remain legit and staying legit, it is about the will and the willingness to change. Leech and pirate if you want but if you come across something you like, do Malaysians do the right thing and purchase them legally?

P/S: My iPhone and iPod is filled with nothing but legal material. The effort to this effect was not immediate, but from years of staying true to the course. Again I reiterate, you dont have to completely throw away all your pirated copies, and start from scratch. Determining one's will to stay legal is already a good start.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 10 2008, 06:00 PM
davidgary73
post Sep 10 2008, 06:03 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

QUOTE(skyther @ Sep 10 2008, 05:54 PM)
TBH RM50 for 15 songs is kinda expensive. To the average American, 99 US cents is affordable.

You'd have to consider demographics when comparing costs. Here in Perth there's a chain of music stores that source CDs from mainly Asian countries, Malaysia included, because it's cheaper than sourcing the same material from local distributors.

Whatever it is, I'm not trying to condone piracy, all I'm saying is I can see a reason for it to happen especially in a country like Malaysia. It is however quite surprising how some of you can smugly make the claims you do; I'm willing to bet that most of you would have at one point or another obtained music illegitimately. I find it somewhat hard to believe that you would be able to fill up your 8/16/80GB iPods with nothing but legal material.

Just my opinion, I'm not out to flame anyone or shoot down anyone else's opinions.

And davidgary... my apologies if I offended you as an artist, hopefully you'll appeal to people out there who value your work enough to purchase it.
No worries mate. Am not offended. Everyone is due to their opinions here and like you say, at one point we obtained music/softwares etc illegitimately but this can change if ppl desires to. I do hope they do.

Cheers

This post has been edited by davidgary73: Sep 10 2008, 06:04 PM
skyther
post Sep 10 2008, 06:23 PM

498 posts

stringfellow I didn't mention you in particular, but others who have joined the strict anti-piracy bandwagon may have possibly somehow forgotten that they were once guilty of the very same crime. smile.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 06:51 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Just taking care of my own end there. I agree on where we started off is because of the way society enforces their thoughts and preferences as we grow within them, but as we age, we should be able to grow OUT of the disgusting habits we were once guilty of. Not wanting to change, or even not trying to even change, makes you somewhat guilty of contributing towards the issue.
Masamune
post Sep 10 2008, 07:07 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Just came back home...
Busy day..
I want to watch Apple 'Let's Rock' event..
Where should i go to watch?
Apple website one like laggy...youtube also can't seem to find the full version..
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 07:07 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The Apple's version works fine with me. Small window yes, but no hiccups.
skyther
post Sep 10 2008, 07:11 PM

498 posts

Well if I like a particular track enough that I am convinced I will listen to it time and time again in most cases I will purchase the album. There are certain things that I enjoy but can't get hold of legally, ie. anime and various other imported media.

I'd rather admit that I've done my fair share of piracy rather than be a hypocrite and adopt a "we support ori... end of story" kinda stance to things. As you mentioned, I think the aging part has a fair bit to do with it as well; somehow I don't see myself searching torrent sites in 10 or so years, but that obviously remains to be seen.

With TV episodes and stuff... personally I don't see a difference between downloading them off torrent sites and recording a locally aired broadcast onto a PVR. In most cases aired programs are sponsored by the broadcaster/advertisers anyhow.
SUSMike3300
post Sep 10 2008, 07:12 PM

6,866 posts

If you don't mind, you can download the keynote on iTunes. The size is around 700MB+.
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 07:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

With TV episodes and stuff... personally I don't see a difference between downloading them off torrent sites and recording a locally aired broadcast onto a PVR. In most cases aired programs are sponsored by the broadcaster/advertisers anyhow.

To keep things within the legality loop, would you be willing to wait until the said episode airs onto the locally aired broadcast before torrenting it?

FCC in the States have explicitly disallow recording of any kind, of TV show spisodes aired in any network in the US. The very same courtesy, is extended and complied with, under watchful eyes of MPAA to explicitly disallow this as well, when those said TV shows are syndicated and licensed to air as imported content in other countries as well. It is part of their license. There may be some grey areas we are troding there, but if found, you'd be in serious trouble. Luckily the hands of MPAA are not as far reaching as here.

skyther
post Sep 10 2008, 07:46 PM

498 posts

How would you know if a series is to be aired in your particular country? Just as an example, I started watching Prison Break almost a year before the series debuted here.

I have no experience with with FCC regulations, all I know is PVRs and HD STBs are selling like hot cakes here. While this obviously doesn't necessarily prove that it's legal to record a broadcast it does show that it's a widespread practice that up till now has yet to be brought up as a major issue towards copyright infringement.
stringfellow
post Sep 10 2008, 07:58 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I see the haste for downloading Tv Shows here partly blamed for the lackadaisical attitude the local cable company here (read: Astro, monopoly and all) towards getting the shows updated here.

Things are a bit grey when it comes to this. I just feel going the purchase route being the safer and right than downloading torrents. Again, if you like those torrented episodes, show a little support to the production team by purchasing them. I also have another solution. Why not try Hulu.com? This streaming service provides the latest episodes of TV Shows currently airing in the States, and this does not tread upon illegal matters unlike torrents. I do Hulu.com when I need my Conan O'Brien fix.
honght
post Sep 10 2008, 08:58 PM

259 posts

Seriously, the new iPod Nano looks like some OEM products from China. LOL
davidgary73
post Sep 12 2008, 01:12 PM

Music Producer
4,903 posts

iPhone Firmware 2.1(soon to be available) has an automatic wipe feature.

iPhone automatically securely wipe your iPhone or iPod Touch after 10 failed passcode attempts. This would come in hand but not with children around..
Suk
post Sep 12 2008, 01:55 PM

2,330 posts

new firmware again ?

i am using 2.0.2 now. ( upgraded 3 days ago)

now want to format my iphone and re-install the FW again sad.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 12 2008, 01:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Tomorrow, at 1-2am, this should be available. Damn work and all! vmad.gif
neekun
post Sep 12 2008, 02:16 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Sep 12 2008, 01:59 PM)
Tomorrow, at 1-2am, this should be available. Damn work and all! vmad.gif
Hopefully someone can post the direct download link so we can use third party download manager to grab it. Using the iTunes in built download is very slow sometimes.
stringfellow
post Sep 12 2008, 02:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Sep 12 2008, 02:16 PM)
Hopefully someone can post the direct download link so we can use third party download manager to grab it. Using the iTunes in built download is very slow sometimes.
Not while I'm in Frankfurt. laugh.gif
rx330
post Sep 12 2008, 02:24 PM

11,811 posts

show off biggrin.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 12 2008, 02:28 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

But kena bayar woh. EU10 per day. But yeah, it hurts to get back here and watch the speed crawl.

rx330
post Sep 12 2008, 02:35 PM

11,811 posts

kekkekek, hotel punya serbis ar?
10 euro saja... small issue for u tongue.gif

0.0702sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:39 AM