Guitar Setup and Maintenence, Where? Ur opinon...
TSameerfirdaus
Sep 2 2008, 10:01 AM, updated 18y ago
from my experience, DIY for guitar setup is not that easy to do even with an instructional video in hand. tried it before but usually when got the intonation right, then few frets is buzzing, if the bridge height is altered, then need to set it very high (hard to play on higher fret and the gap with pickups is high which make the sound very lifeless). would like to know where do you guys think is the best store that offer this service including neck action setup, intonation, bridge/saddle position, optimum pickup height and such... please discuss here including with the service charge if you know. thanks in advance
nimrod2
Sep 2 2008, 11:03 AM
hey man. i've just sent my guitar to one guy for servicing. my friend sent his guitars to him before and he says that the job is good. although a bit slow n pricey, the quality is always there. so i guess if u really love your guitars, it would be a good place to send it to. he likes to mod guitars as well. u can call him simon @ 0122919282his website too, u can check it out. here!
TSameerfirdaus
Sep 2 2008, 11:31 AM
thanks nimrod, that's something i'm looking for.
just wonder if u can be more specific on pricey?
SweetTooth
Sep 2 2008, 03:54 PM
tumpang thread, if i change my tuning from drop D to drop C, would it affect my intonation much? yes? im too lazy to send it to tham to get it resetup to a full step down >.<
TSameerfirdaus
Sep 2 2008, 04:47 PM
usually when i straight my neck, than just buzz occur. how do we solve this?
This post has been edited by ameerfirdaus: Sep 2 2008, 04:50 PM
nimrod2
Sep 15 2008, 10:45 AM
QUOTE(ameerfirdaus @ Sep 2 2008, 11:31 AM) thanks nimrod, that's something i'm looking for. just wonder if u can be more specific on pricey? helow, sorry for the late reply. i can tell u what i did with my guitar. he changed for me the pre-amp = rm380(preamp) + rm130(workmanship) filed down the frets = rm130changed strings = rm35total was rm695. what do u think of the pricing?
freakfingers12
Sep 15 2008, 04:44 PM
Erm tumpang thread...Where can I send my guitar for fret levelling in Malacca?I'm suffering from a lot of fret buzz.
enteryourusername
Sep 15 2008, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Sep 15 2008, 04:44 PM) Erm tumpang thread...Where can I send my guitar for fret levelling in Malacca?I'm suffering from a lot of fret buzz. i'm a malaccan, so i'm interested as well. any1 knows where? i sent to js music's ng thou. nice job, well done.
SweetTooth
Sep 15 2008, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Sep 15 2008, 10:45 AM) helow, sorry for the late reply. i can tell u what i did with my guitar. he changed for me the pre-amp = rm380(preamp) + rm130(workmanship) filed down the frets = rm130changed strings = rm35total was rm695. what do u think of the pricing? i think changing strings for rm35 is really expensive
nimrod2
Sep 15 2008, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(enteryourusername @ Sep 15 2008, 04:46 PM) i'm a malaccan, so i'm interested as well. any1 knows where? i sent to js music's ng thou. nice job, well done.  melaka also got JS music ah?
enteryourusername
Sep 15 2008, 06:14 PM
QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Sep 15 2008, 05:19 PM) melaka also got JS music ah? kl la.....
don8ld
Sep 15 2008, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(nimrod2 @ Sep 15 2008, 05:19 PM) melaka also got JS music ah? Haha funny
nimrod2
Sep 16 2008, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Sep 15 2008, 05:19 PM) i think changing strings for rm35 is really expensive er new strings + installation lor. but i still think its expensive. the strings only rm20 so his workmanship is rm15. i thought since i'm getting so much stuff done by him, he'll install it for free. haha but no choice ler. he's the only one i know that knows how to do this kinda mods. QUOTE(don8ld @ Sep 15 2008, 06:43 PM) Haha funny   thanks!
boxset
Sep 16 2008, 10:02 PM

look for mr.ng at js music.. he's a good guitar technician!
silverchain
Sep 16 2008, 11:22 PM
may i ask, wat is the easiest way to tune up your guitar without breaking it. Im tired of changing string and sent to workshop everytime i tried to tune up myself huhu..
freakfingers12
Sep 17 2008, 01:41 AM
It shouldn't break just by tuning.Are you sure you know how to tune your guitar?Check your nut,see if there's any burr there.That might be the cause too.
blacktrix
Sep 17 2008, 04:22 AM
Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
If you're using good strings, it shouldn't snap. What tunings are you tuned in? Because the regular EADGBE shouldn't be any problem.
crysania
Sep 17 2008, 09:04 AM

Strange? Chances of snapping usually rare for electric but for acoustic is d opposite. Cheers...