sport spring and sport absorber, which one to match

imperialrealcs
post Sep 2 2008, 10:44 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Sep 2 2008, 02:04 AM)
yes... there is difference...

lowered Sport spring + original absorber = bumpy ride, lowered...
Original spring + sport adsorber = stiffer ride, but not much lowered...

it is recommended to change both lowered spring and sport absorber... no it wont maintain the same comfort level.... stiffer ride is guaranteed.... pairing with good absorber will reduce the bumpiness.....
can the ori spring fitted into sport absorber in the 1st place? even if can, the spring was already compressed until only 30~40% room left for the coil and recoil action :sweat:
pairing short stroke with sport spring ensure longer lifespan, but how long is long i dont know but some of mai buyer pair sport spring with ori spec absorber, some last more than 1 year :nod:
oh ya, the differences is hardly noticeable when u pair sport spring with normal and short stroke
imperialrealcs
post Sep 2 2008, 11:08 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(SR20 @ Sep 2 2008, 10:48 AM)
i saw GAB got the sport absorber that can pair with original spring ( so is not short stroke), so in this case if compare to lowered spring with ori absorber..duno which one better :P
ya, it is posibble but why? you are compressing the spring so much that it doesnt work as it should be

QUOTE(athlonxp @ Sep 2 2008, 10:57 AM)
if u want pair with original spring better get apm peformax or improve comfort

at my place many ppl pair sport spring with improve comfort with good result
frankly speaking, no such thing as pair A and B to get best result or so to say..
its more like personal taste, juz like some like plain coke, salt coke, or lemon coke but every taste favours different people lo..
for a more factual comparison:
i installed full set absorber A front and rear gas on my car.. but i think the rear is too stiff so i changed to B (which claimed to be softer for rear only and it suits my preference
imperialrealcs
post Sep 2 2008, 06:39 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Sep 2 2008, 11:14 AM)
made in malaysia...
ori springs can fit into short stroke absorbers.... it will only reduce the height a little bit as overall height of the car is still supported by the oem spring itself...
yeap.... ride comfort is more towards driver's preference... some prefers it to be stiff.... some prefer it to be jumpy/bouncy.... its a vr subjective matter....
reduce height because the strut is shorter so have to compress the spring more so that the nut can be locked at the head of the strut with absorber mounting nod.gif
but like i said, it already kills the spring working area

QUOTE(HKNP @ Sep 2 2008, 11:20 AM)
I am using APEX Sport Spring + Improve Comfort for my SEG 1.6.
Good balance between comfort level and stiffness. Give it a try.
Note* I did add spring washer so it will be much higher. 4 finger gab front and back. woot.
why using sport spring in the 1st place doh.gif

0.0147sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:02 AM