Official Sony PlayStation 3 Launch Event, Please read first post for more details

SSJBen
post Sep 11 2008, 10:08 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Go camp starting on the 18th, guaranteed you will be no.1, or whatever number you want to be in.
SSJBen
post Sep 11 2008, 11:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 11 2008, 10:20 PM)
Some points to note:

1) No more HDMI cable?

2) A big power supply? O.o .. is that a downgrade???

3) 8 am queue time.. i dun believe ppl only queue at 8am... sony better have a backup plan or effective crowd control.
1) Ever single PS3 SKU released never did came with a HDMI cable, goes the same for this.

2) What big power supply are you talking about? All PS3s, past, present and future has its internal PSU.

3) The RM1k voucher is tempting, obviously many are going to line up before that. If at all that is...
SSJBen
post Sep 12 2008, 03:01 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 11 2008, 11:56 PM)
1) the original bundle posted by fat cat lim had a hdmi cable as part of the bundle
now it has become a lan cable.

2) for the power supply look @ http://corp.sony.com.my/3/pop_up.html. i look at my 40gb and i dun see that box there

actually, at closer look even the composite cable picture looks weird
1) He said HDMI output, which every single PS3 SKU released thus far has.

2) That must be a mistake on Sony's part. Because that power-brick's output power connector pin is way to small to power up the PS3.

As for the composite cable, another freaking mistake. Thats an S-Video cable with stereo audio cable. Since this is the core-80GB package, it comes with a composite. So coclusion, the person who did that web-poster doesn't know jack shit about the PS3 at all. Even the person got the controller wrong.... shakehead.gif doh.gif
SSJBen
post Sep 14 2008, 10:05 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Games that are sold in the Sony store should be applicable.
SSJBen
post Sep 16 2008, 01:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Sep 16 2008, 12:11 PM)
nowadays TNB bill naik, so new PS3 model use less power/wattage is good news and less hot rclxms.gif
Not.... quite.

Less power consumption indeed, but this new Core-80GB seems to be using a cooling setup than the previous 40GB(CECHG and CECHH). No more heatpipes and lesser fins. Although it is somewhat remedied by placing the sinks on top and at the bottom of both the RSX and Cell.

The fan speed has alos dropped from 3800RPM to 3200RPM at maximum load.

But so far, no overehating complaints from the Aussie guys who have bought the Core-80GB.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 16 2008, 01:20 PM
SSJBen
post Sep 16 2008, 02:22 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kaffra @ Sep 16 2008, 02:10 PM)
Since its on a smaller die and less heat dissipation from the 90nm one, the lower fan rpm and changes to fin/heatpipes should be able to compensate. But i dont think the ps3 suffers from any overheating issue before, so hopefully it continues that way.
Indeed, a die process to 65nm from 90nm does take off quite a big amount of heat and power consumption.

Shouldn't suffer from overheating issues though, if at all that is. I have a few Aussie friends who got the Core-80GB already, all of them have been playing it for 4 days straight and there wasn't any overheating problem. However, one of them did say that it was quite a bit warmer than the 40GB CECHG model which he owns previously.
SSJBen
post Sep 19 2008, 11:08 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Well compared to other countries.... our launch is still tak boleh.

Granted many who wanted a PS3 has already got them, but back when the PS3 was launching the crowd line is easily triple than what we have currently, which is 6.
SSJBen
post Sep 20 2008, 04:19 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Sep 20 2008, 04:04 PM)
According to the Sony Malaysia boss, the price of Blu-Ray discs for movies and games will be dropping because the Import Duty for Blu-Ray discs has been dropped starting this September. So expect more cheaper games and movies from Sony!  rclxms.gif
THAT.... is freaking sweet! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif
SSJBen
post Sep 20 2008, 07:25 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(enemyofgod @ Sep 20 2008, 07:02 PM)
80GB model heats up pretty quickly. Beware. I know a person is experiencing it everyday. 40 / 60 is still the best cooling system internally for PS3
QUOTE(Gurdian @ Sep 20 2008, 07:08 PM)
you're referring to the older 80gb models
the new 80gb models are basically the 40gb ones but with a 80gb hdd instead and they use the 45nm cell processor
No. The older 80GB with PS2 B/C has better cooling effiency than the the Core-80GB.

The old-80GB uses 4 heatpipes on the sink from the Cell and RSX. The Core-80GB doesn't even use heatpipes anymore, but rather just alluminium fins. The fan speed on the core-80GB is also lower than the old-80GB.

60GB basically has the best cooling efficiency still. That was when Sony didn't do anything to cut the cost of the PS3.
SSJBen
post Sep 21 2008, 12:35 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jameschee @ Sep 21 2008, 12:31 AM)
i just got mine today at 1u...
wanna ask whoever who bought and chose ratchet & clank game, do u have any probs wif it?
it says need 418MB and tells me to clear my hdd only can play...
You first need to format your HDD.

I highly suggest you(and anyone else who just got their PS3 today) to go through this guide first: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/769411
Lots of info and will help you stop asking questions that has been answered more than a million times already.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Sep 21 2008, 12:35 AM
SSJBen
post Sep 21 2008, 11:12 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I just read the news up at Kotaku and Kombo.... and what the hell?

This just goes to show that(atleast to me) the organizers of the event, Sony Malaysia and I think even Sony HK knows nothing about games. Either that, or they are just being downright lazy to put a Sony published/developed game as a music entrance.

I wonder what Kaz Hirai will think about this.... hmm.gif

0.0446sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 11:24 PM