Air Cooling Discussion Thread V3, Database, FAQ, Guides and Discussion!

k!nex
post Sep 18 2008, 10:34 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

wanna ask u guys who used xigmatek air coolers before.i used HDT-S963 and currently using HDT-S1283 vanila(currently dis batch the dumb fan included was down to 1500RPM type already,robyncom worker told me only the first batch of S1283 get 2k++rpm fans).from my observation of temps comparing the 2 coolers,i get only 3Celcius reduction using Intel Burn Test load.the S963 was using intel pushpin and S1283 was using the xigmatek SS kit.u guys think i did something wrong or it is like dat normally??i'm new to these kind of SS kits, normally how u all determine it as 'fastened properly, i mean the 4 screws'?

here can talk abt northbridge coolers???i wanna ask u guys smtg, i own a EP35-DS3 rev2.1 mobo. when i run memtest86,test 5 for like 15 minutes like dat, i touch the northbridge, its like around 70C++ i think(its painful to touch).i din overvolt my NB yet.my question is does the cooler master blue ice pro good enuf to cool my NB? link here
k!nex
post Sep 29 2008, 02:54 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

u might wanna dis Here
<-- and tht was an expensive asus motherboard.
for me, i'm also looking for 1 NB cooler.noctua nowadays nobody sell it already.my only choice is only the deepcool Nbridge8 and HR05 IFX.
i'm using P35 chipset, for me,after 400FSB above the NB becomes too hot to touch(never increase voltage yet).

This post has been edited by k!nex: Sep 29 2008, 02:55 AM
k!nex
post Sep 30 2008, 07:33 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Sep 29 2008, 01:22 PM)
erm....actually i am quite confused myself about the NB temp limit sweat.gif

cos i have seen 3 opinions so far...

one saying that better to keep ur Nb below 45c or it will cause instability...

another saying that it is ok already if u can keep it at around 50-ish....

lastly is a comment that i have seen from senior forummer saying that it is capable of withstanding temp till 70c or so...

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

but just to tell u, my DK software always show my mobo Nb running at 50ish...n use till so far it dont have problems yet thumbup.gif

n my mobo always run more than 400fsb brows.gif
from wat i heard, the first opinion applies for those X38 chipsets or maybe X48.they will hv instabilities if running too high temps.thts y u see all of them are using more decent cooling solution.

ur last comment, i seen before ppl posting their Asus P5Q Pro (P45 chipset),the NB at 70C when load.motherboard still ok.
k!nex
post Oct 2 2008, 12:49 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(dro @ Oct 1 2008, 07:09 AM)
i jes found out that NB shudn't be above 60'ish
is this mobo dependent?
meaning to say diff mobo give diff NB reading at same condition
*provided they use the same cooling*

anyways.....abit spam here

SELAMAT HARI RAYA.....MAAF ZAHIR DAN BATIN wink.gif
depends on the sensor i think.some motherboard dun even hv NB temperature sensor especially mid range and lower end ones.in tht case, u hv to measure the temp urself already.
k!nex
post Oct 20 2008, 01:23 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(cdlim87 @ Oct 19 2008, 12:19 PM)
any1 can gv opinion about CM hyper 212 with its fiiting in CM midtower casing.. is't posible to fit in:

1. CM elite series 330-335  ,
2. CM centurion series(5/534/590)  ,
3. CM 690  ???

if can fit in, where will the blow out direction(upward/ backward)?
**amd user as my sig,, thx smile.gif
edit:

@hilmiangah
BTW can i noe wat casing u r using..? hmm.gif
i'm using centurion 5 casing. but i dun hv hyper 212, i use xigmatek 1283. definitely can fit, but the height of the 1283 is nearly touching my side panel. very very close only.shud be less than 1 cm.my side panel is transparent type. so no fans sticking to my side panel
k!nex
post Oct 29 2008, 08:06 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

btw, all i noe is some DFI mobo cant use together wif CCF

This post has been edited by k!nex: Oct 29 2008, 08:07 PM
k!nex
post Nov 14 2008, 01:36 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

user posted imageuser posted image

k!nex/Tuniq TX2/C2Q Q6600@ 3.2ghz (33% OC)/1.284V/Xigmatek S1283/28c/59c/Airconditioned/Intel Burn Test

This post has been edited by k!nex: Nov 14 2008, 01:37 AM
k!nex
post Nov 14 2008, 02:39 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Nov 14 2008, 07:22 AM)
really nice chip u have there bro.... did u lap ur s1283?

is freaking good to get 59c on ibt on a OCed quad  shocking.gif

very nice vcore too  thumbup.gif
i dun dare lap my s1283 also. scared heatpipe bocor. but i quite confident tht i can reduce some heat also if i change my stock fan, its only running at 1400++ rpm.
k!nex
post Nov 15 2008, 11:03 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(tgairborne @ Nov 15 2008, 10:41 PM)
I am no where that temperature  cry.gif  cry.gif . @1.3vcore, my temperature running IBT already touching 80c. @1.4vcore, temperature already break the 80c limit.. cry.gif  cry.gif
for dis kind of kind HDT heatsinks , ur method of applying TIM will definitely affect ur temp alot. most ppl here put on their heatsink base, but i put on the proc and spread it abit. i read the tuniq tx-2 description it says non electrically conducive, so overuse abit also i think its ok. maybe tkh just lucky enuf to get a good chip biggrin.gif or u raise ur VTT so tht u can lower ur vcore, thts wat i do.but since urs is a 45nm quad, VTT must not more than 1.45V , thts specificated in intel datasheet for ur proc.
k!nex
post Nov 16 2008, 02:13 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(tgairborne @ Nov 16 2008, 01:48 AM)
Maybe I will remove the heatsink and re apply everything from scratch. Maybe will need to get a thermal paste cleaner as previously I just use tissue paper to wipe it off. The method I used to apply the thermal paste is just drawling a two lines on 2 heat pipes, after pressing it against the processor, I took it back out and checked the base of it, it seems everything dimension was covered equally. Well, maybe my chip produce greater heat (but thats alot of heat different !!!)
dun use so much force when u use tissue paper to rub. scared got static charge build. can kill ur proc.btw, i use those girl use de nail polish remover(acetone) to remove the old TIM, den use alcohol clean again, den only apply new TIM.
k!nex
post Nov 17 2008, 01:06 AM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Nov 16 2008, 11:09 PM)
ok...after rechecked ur screeny i think i know why...

pls set ur tjmax to 80c n it shall all read fine already thumbup.gif

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/intel-dts-specs,6517.html
tkh, if u read the article from top till bottom,it says:

'It seems that yet again Intel has avoided providing any valuable information at IDF. Intel hasn’t even stated exactly what Target Tjunction actually is. It is not recommended to change Tjunction Max to align with these values.'

from my understanding for Tjunction, the proc reports how many Celcius it is from the Tjunction max.
Let M be Tjunction max, <<< dis is ownself set coz intel never give u the real Tjunction max
let R be 'how many Celcius more to reach Tjunction?', <<<<dis is wat ur proc reads
let T be the temperature coretemp/realtemp shows u.

M - R = T

example: from tht page, it says my Q6600 Target Tjunction is 90C.i got 28C at idle before. if TJmax adjusted to 90C, means i get 18C at idle. totally ridiculous since my aircon only set at 24C. means below ambient already.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Nov 17 2008, 01:06 AM
k!nex
post Nov 20 2008, 04:53 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 20 2008, 04:20 PM)
Hmm, mine doesn't feel anything close to warm at all le. Even when the processor is reading 60C or so. Faulty heatpipes? ._.
probably not enuf heat yet to feel the 'hot' temp. u see here. when ur proc heats up the heatpipe,the heat travels from CCF base going upward while spreading the heat through the fins. during the journey, ur fan will cool it down constantly since CCF fan quite high RPM compare to my S1283 fan which is max 1400rpm+ only.I assume u touch the top of ur heatsink, if wan feel warm or not, touch the most bottom fin. Ground urself first before touching to avoid 'unwanted consequences' biggrin.gif . OR, ur mounting is uneven,therefore heat transfer crippled.
k!nex
post Nov 27 2008, 03:15 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Nov 25 2008, 12:54 AM)
I'm using cap ayam casing also...but will it fit? refer to the pic in the post

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=21635042
CCF quite fat also actually. since u using gigabyte board, might hv a chance of the heatsink is barely on top of ur first slot ram.
k!nex
post Nov 27 2008, 09:24 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

QUOTE(Shah_15 @ Nov 27 2008, 06:18 PM)
if ac freezer 7 pro, can fit??
freezer 7 pro is 92mm fan type of cooler. can fit any mid atx casing.
k!nex
post Dec 3 2008, 06:52 PM

Restless stars
3,388 posts

tht cooler probably beats CM hyper 212 due to HDT design and 4 heatpipe. fan rpm low nvm. some hsf is meant for quiet cooling so high cfm fan is not a must. interesting is can dis deepcool hsf compete wif CM V8 on Core i7.

0.0425sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:32 PM