Air Cooling Discussion Thread V3, Database, FAQ, Guides and Discussion!

TStkh_1001
post Sep 21 2009, 02:06 AM

2,547 posts

dont worry la

most of the time hsf nowadays comes with a silent fan....

and the fans will be automatically controlled to rev up and down according to cpu load....

most of the time fans will be low speed (silent) if ur cpu is idle
TStkh_1001
post Sep 26 2009, 06:21 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(masashi89 @ Sep 26 2009, 06:47 AM)
so exhaust fan is blow out the air?so in my case(CM690) where should i put an exhaust fan, im using 6 fan now..AND I THINK I PUT IT WRONG DIRECTION OF AIR, i put all blow in the case...
hmm... normally i just put all blow out lol...

so that hot air will never be able to be trapped inside

fresh air will somehow sip in through the gaps of ur casing....

but some prefer to have at least one intake

This post has been edited by tkh_1001: Sep 26 2009, 06:21 PM
TStkh_1001
post Oct 20 2009, 09:16 PM

2,547 posts

eh eh nice girl temp thumbup.gif

will update for ya when i am free

btw, ada pix for modded stuff ker? brows.gif
TStkh_1001
post Oct 21 2009, 07:41 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Oct 21 2009, 05:34 PM)
mounted the cooler already.. kinda lazy to take it out at the moment :/ .... but all i do is hammer the push-pins out and drill the holes bigger.. then use screws to bolt the bracket onto the mobo brows.gif

anyways.. did some light OC to 3.5ghz (got it to 3.9ghz with turbo on but not so stable with the vcore i wanted which is 1.3v).. here's the temp biggrin.gif

core i5, tuniq TX2, sunbeam CCF, idle: 35, load: 59, ambient: 24 (rainy day smile.gif ), normal casing fans
updated liao biggrin.gif

sorry not much time nowadays sweat.gif

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Oct 21 2009, 05:37 PM)
Can I know whether is Q6600's temp is higher than Core i5's temp?

My Q6600 always idle's at 44-46C sad.gif
I wish I could go lower than that..

If rainy days.. its 38-40C..

EDIT: Btw, my Q6600 is running only at 2.4GHz..
erm... its like that one la laugh.gif

that proc is not really known for being cool and its 65nm anyways
TStkh_1001
post Oct 22 2009, 12:35 AM

2,547 posts

i dont think so there's any need to change unless u like the design of the scorpion..... the difference is not too far from what i can see here hmm.gif

u can take TRUE as the reference and from what i tested personally, scorpion only lost a few degree c to TRUE

u can make ur own comparison here

http://www.anandtech.com/casecoolingpsus/s...aspx?i=3141&p=6
TStkh_1001
post Oct 23 2009, 05:15 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(Hara520 @ Oct 23 2009, 12:26 AM)
hi...all sifu... rolleyes.gif
i planning to get the true 120 black edition rev.C.... hmm.gif
and what fan should be gonna go ?
FM123 ? CM 2000rpm fan ?? or??

And who has sell them?(the cheapest brows.gif )
who sell cheapest u go garage sales survey la laugh.gif

fm123 is good if u can tahan noise

kalo want silent get xigmatek XLF fan
TStkh_1001
post Oct 23 2009, 06:48 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(Hiruka @ Oct 23 2009, 05:31 PM)
From the web it said support LGA1366 socket but from what i have, the default bracket seem not fit from the mounting hole..thats y im asking lol..
U think i didnt have LGA1366 Mobo for quick test the socket? Dun put the Discussion tag la, change to "Google adviser". Even the Main web oso didnt put any LGA1366 Diagram installation guide like other socket zzz doh.gif  sweat.gif

Actually, This cooler bought from tkh long time ago..and i hope tkh or any fellas here have the solution. I need some advise &  Finding additional bracket if appropriate as well.. whistling.gif
Or maybe endup with sales and upgrade  whistling.gif

Thx notworthy.gif
rilex la bro notworthy.gif

i am really sorry here cos i didnt follow up on recent news much already nowadays due to studies sweat.gif

i think maybe the 1366 support uses a newer bracket

maybe the bracket u currently have i think is a older ones cos that time still takde 1366 sweat.gif
TStkh_1001
post Dec 17 2009, 06:26 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Dec 17 2009, 12:55 PM)
So if my chipset [MSI Pro-E] is overheating if I just change the cooler for it.

Can you guys recommend me anything is better for O'C purpose?
erm, chipset a.k.a northbridge overheating normally can be solved by putting a small 40mm fan on top of it...but then, i heard those fans are noisy sweat.gif

or else go garage sales and look for some chipset cooler like those of xigmatek or deepcool brand

anything below 50ish celcius is alright for a chipset
TStkh_1001
post Jan 24 2010, 04:44 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(Agultiamat @ Jan 23 2010, 11:16 AM)
yup here you go.......

[attachmentid=1413486]

Added on January 23, 2010, 11:21 ambro.. i am using sunbeam core contact freezer... also used tuniq x-2 thermal paste errrr.. i look at other people they able to maintain lower temp such under 30c by using phenom II 550... but y ia cannot get the same temp ya? idle for me is 39-41.... but i din unlock or oc... just used the stock speed... any idea?
temps can be affected by your contact and also thermal paste spreading

applying too much or too little can reduce its effectiveness

and the idle temp dont really care la cos not all procs of the same type is gonna idle at the same temp

u can jaga the load temp then can liao thumbup.gif

QUOTE(captvizcenzo @ Jan 23 2010, 07:04 PM)
Tuniq Tower 120 Extreme vs Thermalright Ultima-90i
which is better in terms of performance and value?
those two cooler are of different class actually

the ultima 90-i is considered somewhere near top of mid end while the tower extreme is considered high end cooler
TStkh_1001
post Jan 24 2010, 05:02 PM

2,547 posts

yup u can say so

TStkh_1001
post Jan 29 2010, 11:36 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(thornduck @ Jan 29 2010, 07:42 PM)
Have a Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition with Asus M4A77TD PRO motherboard in a Cooler Master Elite Series case. Stock heat sink fan is terribly noisy and I'm thinking of replacing it with the Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus for lower temps + less noise. I'm worried about the contact surface not being smooth though. Any thoughts? Also, do I need additional products like thermal paste, etc.?
u dont need to worry about the contact surface being smooth cos normally they will form it to the best shape to contact with ur proc...

the thing u need to pay attention to is by checking the tightness of ur fitting when installing the heatsink to ur mobo.... tight fitting is a sign of the heatsink contacting well with the proc

as for thermal paste normally they will provide u....

and u can source for some nice thermal paste if u want...those thermal paste normally gives u a performance increase of a few degree c better than stock ones

i long time didnt update new thermal paste performance liao so i cannot rekomen liao sweat.gif
TStkh_1001
post Jan 31 2010, 03:20 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ComradeZ @ Jan 30 2010, 02:19 PM)
Just got my baby and wanna equip it with 190cfm and see how monstrous it could be

naise....

glad if more pictures is gonna be flaunted thumbup.gif

TStkh_1001
post Jun 9 2010, 12:26 AM

2,547 posts

hi guys... long time didnt post here already sweat.gif

kinda busy with studies these days and i apologise for not able to help out on the questions posted here cos my knowledge about tech is really poor nowadays sweat.gif

i hope there will be someone who are willing to volunteer to succeed this thread or maybe create a new thread and serve the LYN community better notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

TStkh_1001
post Sep 24 2010, 06:26 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Sep 17 2010, 05:09 PM)
Thermaltake FRIO (My review here)

ff7yta/ Thermaltake FRIO/ Tuniq TX2/ Athlon II X4 630 @3.5GHZ (25.32% OC) / 1.5V/ Two Stock Fans (Power Logic)/ 30c/ 50c/ Non-Airconditioned/ OCCT

hey man, sorry for not updating

will do it asap after i am free tonite

thanks for the contribution notworthy.gif

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 24 2010, 05:07 PM)
Hi bros, need you guys to check the base of my xigmatek hsf. please refer to the pic.

[attachmentid=1798199]

I've circled it with red circles. I lapped this sometime ago, and I'm afraid this is the sign that I've lapped it too much. What do you guys think? And wonder whether this effect its performance. Thx for the advice blush.gif

Note: Sorry for poor quality pic, only have phone camera.
hmm..cant really tell

but seems like oxidation to me

assuming if its just minor oxidation, it wont be likely to affect the performance imho

performance kacau when the hsf is dirty or when the fluids in the pipes leaked

TStkh_1001
post Sep 24 2010, 11:28 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 24 2010, 07:07 PM)
Is there any way to tell that I've lapped it too much?
iirc if u lapped too much the pipe will hancur and all the liquid inside will come out

maybe macam ni liao

TStkh_1001
post Sep 25 2010, 06:15 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 25 2010, 05:35 PM)
iinm if lapped unevenly the base will incline at one side, it doesn't affect only in spots, and for my base, it seems like the spots are actually near the sides of the processor. maybe I've tighten it too much, but I couldn't feel any indentation on the base.
Bro, takkan I kena tunggu sampai that base become like that laugh.gif I mean is there any sign before that thing in the picture happens to me?
dont think so

maybe u can try using common sense laugh.gif
TStkh_1001
post Aug 8 2013, 11:00 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ff7yta @ Jul 18 2013, 03:13 PM)
The time has come for me to conduct another round of cleaning on my 3 years old AMD gaming rig. It has been more then 6 months since my CPU heatsink (Thermaltake FRIO) was cleaned.

This is my rig.

Need to unscrew four nuts on the back plate to remove the HSF.

More then 6 months of usage

Oxidation after 3 years

lol

i have just cleaned my own thermalright today. using back tuniq tx2 which already kept for years tongue.gif

i think my thermalright ( cant even remember the model name) corroded already due to too much dust trapped for too long lol
TStkh_1001
post Apr 9 2015, 06:11 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(snowberry @ Apr 9 2015, 04:08 PM)
guys, my i7 3770k

idle temp 39-42

load temp 84-89.

is this normal? cooling under hyper 212+

should i resit or anything? my room temp is kinda high though. (malaysia ._.) no aircond
thats kinda high

is that on 100% processor load? and did u overclock the processor?

else maybe its time u check the heatsink for cleanliness and reapply the thermal paste on the processor.

im not sure what is good thermal paste right now. but maybe google would help lol sweat.gif

left this thing far too long already sweat.gif

13 Pages « < 11 12 13Top

0.0421sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:59 AM