Dead SpaceĀ®, Only for one who enjoys dismemberment

TS-= Virgil =-
post Aug 29 2008, 04:07 PM, updated 18y ago

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Dead Space is a third-person action video game, being developed by EA Redwood Shores for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 3 and the Xbox 360. It is currently scheduled for release in October 21, 2008. The player takes on the role of an engineer named Isaac Clarke, who battles a polymorphic alien species called the 'Necromorphs' on board a stricken interstellar mining ship.

:: Videos ::
Warning: Strictly not for the faint heart-ed and/or under-aged.
Dead Space Comic Issue #1 Animated Video

Dead Space Comic Issue #2 Animated Video

Dead Space Comic Issue #3 Animated Video

Dead Space Comic Issue #4 Animated Video

Dead Space Comic Issue #5 Animated Video

This post has been edited by -= Virgil =-: Aug 30 2008, 12:42 PM
Mudmaniac
post Aug 30 2008, 12:50 AM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

Just finished watching these off the xbox video store. pretty nice setup for the main game thats taking place on the ishimura.

But this one really gives me the creeps.

This post has been edited by Mudmaniac: Aug 30 2008, 12:51 AM
technophile
post Aug 30 2008, 12:58 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

yeah, i've watched those animated comics from xbl store. gotta love Ben Templesmith (30 days of night).

made me more curious about the game, really. but i dun think i'll buy it when it comes out. wait for 2nd hand.

so who ever is going to buy this game, if you are thinking of selling it later, try PM me.
TS-= Virgil =-
post Aug 30 2008, 01:44 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

This game would be nice if they concentrated on developing the story and gameplay of the game rather than inputting multiplayer perspectives into it.
Look at how BioShock turn out to be is proof.

This post has been edited by -= Virgil =-: Aug 30 2008, 01:44 AM
sonicboom90
post Aug 30 2008, 11:20 AM

i am sure this game isn't coming out at october their going to hype it oct21 oct21 then delay to jan 09
TS-= Virgil =-
post Aug 30 2008, 12:43 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

Updated the 5th animated comic video.
Creepiness!!
Mudmaniac
post Sep 1 2008, 09:22 PM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

Well, Warren Ellis had a bit of hand in the storyline. would be nice to see how that turns out.
Breaktru
post Oct 13 2008, 09:45 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Metacritic of 90 so far http://www.metacritic.com/games/platforms/xbox360/deadspace

Definitely a sleeper hit , especially by EA .. !
_skeevs
post Oct 14 2008, 09:45 AM

59 posts

I'm buying it from gh...tonite or tmrw when it's out biggrin.gif Looks fawesome
gnome
post Oct 14 2008, 11:45 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Another game that imma get for mah pc tongue.gif
Mudmaniac
post Oct 14 2008, 12:26 PM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

So is it as scary as they say?

My standards of scary are pretty much Eternal Darkness.
marauderz
post Oct 14 2008, 12:36 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

Eternal darkness... when you try to swat a virtual fly off the screen... you've been playing too much!
CyberTroop
post Oct 14 2008, 03:32 PM

743 posts

Awesome gruesome detail!! Thumbs up from me
SUSShuvit
post Oct 14 2008, 04:15 PM

Issit in at GH yet?
Simactol
post Oct 14 2008, 06:29 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(Shuvit @ Oct 14 2008, 04:15 PM)
Issit in at GH yet?
tomorrow
TS-= Virgil =-
post Oct 14 2008, 08:16 PM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

GameSpot review of Dead Space is out!
Kindly refer to here for the review.
For the lazy ones, the game scored a might 9.0
marauderz
post Oct 14 2008, 09:08 PM

3,390 posts

time to perform strategic dismemberment!!
ericpires
post Oct 14 2008, 09:15 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

Wow, didn't know EA makes horror games! Cool trailer especially the twinkle2 song.... tongue.gif
Mudmaniac
post Oct 15 2008, 10:52 AM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

From what i hear, one of the more refreshing parts is that beheading the baddies isnt what kills them. in the end, you have to take out the limbs.

Oh well, we'll see how this one turns out.
marauderz
post Oct 15 2008, 11:19 AM

3,390 posts

Not a game to be played
alone... at night... a dark and stormy night.. when your wife likes to scare you just because you told her NOT to!

there's this overall silence in the ship.. no sounds other than the enemies crawling around scraping metal.. knocking over stuff all over the ship, but you can't see them!

then there's the play of shadows, more than once I jumped when I thought I saw the shadow outline of an enemy behind me!

and then.. the cutting of limbs.. yes.. very important... shooting their heads just seem to piss them off tongue.gif but at least they can't bite you without a head. wink.gif comparatively shooting their limbs might kill them quicker cause it seems to cause MASSIVE DAMAGE!! took out one before but just severing it's left arm.

right now ammo is scare, when i realized that the inventory shows how many BULLETS you have instead of clips.. then you go oh oh. and realize that you've only picked up 12 SHOTS instead of CLIPS. then you waste 10 of them on a guy shambling towards you. Then you see his 2 friends. Oh shit!

Luckily you have a melee attack, which does ok damage and is able to kill the enemies. But Isaac isn't a sup'ed up marine, his swing is wide and slow, so you have to time it properly. also.. if you swing meets the wall you'll hit hit and be thrown back a bit.

too bad i'm busy at work so I couldn't play too much.

Added on October 15, 2008, 11:24 amoh yeah.. as for movement and controls

- more devil may cry than resident evil tank like, BUT.. I guess the suit is heavy so issac turns a bit slow.

for aiming
- good : like RE4 there's a laser sight attached to the weapon so you can see what you're gonna chop off. for the default weapon you can also choose to fire the cutting shot vertically (for shooting enemy's arms off when they spread their arms and ask you for a hug) or horizantallly (for chopping their legs off, or when they wave hello at you)
- bad : like RE4 the darn enemies DUCK, so when you have a good shot TAKE it!

This post has been edited by marauderz: Oct 15 2008, 11:24 AM
TS-= Virgil =-
post Oct 15 2008, 11:28 AM

G.O.A.T. | Jordan 23
2,693 posts

@marauderz - It is a nice way to describe "strategic dismemberment" lmao

marauderz
post Oct 15 2008, 12:14 PM

3,390 posts

at first I was wondering why they even allowed you to change the guns orientation. Then I realized that must be the only reason lar. tongue.gif
3rotor
post Oct 15 2008, 08:41 PM

27 posts

my scorpion suit code appears to be invalid, anyone have the same problem ? sad.gif
Breaktru
post Oct 16 2008, 02:37 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

His curb stomp is so powderful .....

Anyway awesome game . A revolution from EA ? This and mirror edge .

Never tried the keys yet btw ... for the suit .

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Oct 16 2008, 02:50 AM
Mudmaniac
post Oct 16 2008, 10:20 AM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

where do you get keys?
Breaktru
post Oct 16 2008, 12:35 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

It's a paper that comes with the game ? Where you bought your copy ?
DarkSaviour
post Oct 16 2008, 02:20 PM

336 posts

Just order from TSB... last copy smile.gif
3rotor
post Oct 16 2008, 02:58 PM

27 posts

i bought mine at gh, i thought every copy comes with the scorpion suit code ?
DjiNn
post Oct 16 2008, 03:52 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(3rotor @ Oct 16 2008, 02:58 PM)
i bought mine at gh, i thought every copy comes with the scorpion suit code ?
Yup. But I guess they forgot to pack it inside the game..
yhanlee
post Oct 16 2008, 04:24 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Oct 16 2008, 03:52 PM)
Yup. But I guess they forgot to pack it inside the game..
Boss i bought the game from your shop yesterday and got the code for the scorpion suit.
But when i tried to redeem they wrote invalid code cry.gif
gnome
post Oct 16 2008, 04:37 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

I didnt buy also didnt get the codes, what gives?!

Anyways, damn tempting to get this for xbox since pc version is not available yet tongue.gif
Mudmaniac
post Oct 16 2008, 05:43 PM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

QUOTE(Breaktru @ Oct 16 2008, 12:35 PM)
It's a paper that comes with the game ? Where you bought your copy ?
Didnt buy one yet. my shopping spree in singapore just before they released dead space.

So now i pokai. Djinn, buy one from u later kay? I would give an arm and a leg, but apparently im dismembered.
Breaktru
post Oct 16 2008, 06:26 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Definitely blockbuster game smile.gif , in every way . Very polished from EA , surprisingly .

Dismember yo ! I play 4 hours straight . blush.gif

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Oct 16 2008, 06:27 PM
Zaryl
post Oct 16 2008, 09:41 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

This game reminds me of System Shock 2. You trapped in a spaceship, filled with mutants & weird creatures & you have to survive in order to escape from the ship. The best game I've played for PC last time...

Cool! I'm definitely going to get this one! smile.gif
DjiNn
post Oct 16 2008, 10:47 PM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

after checking all the codes. the codes seems not "active" yet in singapore,

however, you can redeem the code if you are using US Account.

But Not Asia Yet. Will tried to contact them
alkt
post Oct 17 2008, 12:34 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

playing now biggrin.gif
Breaktru
post Oct 17 2008, 06:24 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

For sure you'll be impressed biggrin.gif

BTW .. there's a figure here ! shocking.gif

look closely ...

_skeevs
post Oct 17 2008, 07:00 PM

59 posts

Nice game with great visuals + sound design, high production values too.
munky
post Oct 17 2008, 07:35 PM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 16 2008, 04:37 PM)
I didnt buy also didnt get the codes, what gives?!

Anyways, damn tempting to get this for xbox since pc version is not available yet tongue.gif
u mean the ahem one ? or original ? tongue.gif
gnome
post Oct 17 2008, 08:19 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Original of course whistling.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Oct 17 2008, 10:22 PM

133 posts

Damn i misunderstood the hardest difficult achievement, i thought it meant 'hard', but actually it's 'impossible' that will be unlocked upon finishing 'medium' or 'hard'... Play at hard difficulty is like no point...well except the extra challenge, extra death and extra stress biggrin.gif

Now i'm doing a plasma cutter only run @ hard, quite challenging... Kena 2-3 hits mati already, have to be full alert all the time... Ammo also not many, have to shoot VERY accurately... When can we get the scorpion suit DLC? I think the 20% more armor will make my game less stressed...

alkt
post Oct 17 2008, 11:27 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

i've got the scorpion level 5 suit...damn cun la for me biggrin.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Oct 18 2008, 01:27 AM

133 posts

Wohoo, the suits just become available a while ago, those who got invalid code previously, try it now smile.gif And also the free elite suit biggrin.gif
Breaktru
post Oct 18 2008, 02:16 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Maybe using the scorpion suit for hardest mode run .

Oh I think its a good practice to always look behind after killing one . tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Oct 18 2008, 02:23 AM
SUSzhiyung
post Oct 18 2008, 10:41 AM

133 posts

Hardest run should use lvl6 military suit ba...

I find looking back after killing one is too late... should look behind after you stasis/cripple the one in front. If you memang intend to stasis the one behind or run while shooting behind, that's still ok, but still risky...
Breaktru
post Oct 18 2008, 12:01 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Yea but crippling one that is too nearby and turning behind for another one , the crippled one can easily lunge behind you .

But at long range no doubt you just need to cripple him to delay the distance .
alkt
post Oct 18 2008, 05:35 PM

^_^
10,231 posts

scorpion suit 25% armor > elite suit 10% armor

Breaktru
post Oct 19 2008, 02:45 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Finish the game for the first round . A game worth keeping .

But ... you don't get to bring over your stuff when you switched difficulty GG . Trying impossible mode now ... need scorpion suit . Good thing is the game is kinda forgiving .
DarkSaviour
post Oct 20 2008, 12:10 AM

336 posts

didn't expected this game so good.. "EA" lol....
Roland San
post Oct 20 2008, 10:54 AM

262 posts

I'm hearing damn good things about this game. I saw it being played the other day, and it looks fantastic. Not much of a fan of survival horror, cos it scary... tongue.gif

Gotta get this, I think, but so many top titles coming out, so little time & $ sad.gif
Breaktru
post Oct 20 2008, 01:53 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

The scarier the better because current gen really lack of scary games . We need darker games and more gore ! drool.gif

Alone in the Dark , meh . Jericho meh ...
SUSzhiyung
post Oct 20 2008, 01:56 PM

133 posts

Holy crap, i read that the military suit can only be gotten after you beat the game at that particular difficult once! So you can only use it in impossible mode after you beat it once sad.gif This is soooooooo tedious...

Cheaters only:

Breaktru
post Oct 20 2008, 02:06 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Exactly , that's why I think Scorpion suit is the best for Impossible mode first run . Although you're given the default level 5 suit already at the start , Scorpion is still better with 5% extra armor . Not that it really helps , just red color looks cooler lol .

gnome
post Oct 20 2008, 02:59 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Still no pc release sad.gif

Eric borrow borrow borrow tongue.gif
alkt
post Oct 21 2008, 02:04 AM

^_^
10,231 posts

gnome,
u can borrow jay's copy biggrin.gif
DjiNn
post Oct 21 2008, 02:06 AM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Oct 20 2008, 01:56 PM)
Holy crap, i read that the military suit can only be gotten after you beat the game at that particular difficult once! So you can only use it in impossible mode after you beat it once sad.gif This is soooooooo tedious...

Cheaters only:

Yeah, Too bad I Can't play it on impossible level with militia suit. sad.gif .

Guess I have to play finish imposssible level then go for Round 2 for hard! laugh.gif
Breaktru
post Oct 21 2008, 03:01 AM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Oct 21 2008, 02:06 AM)
Yeah, Too bad I Can't play it on impossible level with militia suit. sad.gif .

Guess I have to play finish imposssible level then go for Round 2 for hard! laugh.gif
Har Jason , if you finish liao Impossible why still bother with hard mode ?

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Oct 21 2008, 03:05 AM
DjiNn
post Oct 21 2008, 03:21 AM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(Breaktru @ Oct 21 2008, 03:01 AM)
Har Jason , if you finish liao Impossible why still bother with hard mode ?
replay value tongue.gif and of course unlocks all the achievements tongue.gif
SUSShuvit
post Oct 21 2008, 12:10 PM

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Oct 21 2008, 03:21 AM)
Achievement wh*re! tongue.gif
jaylike7
post Oct 21 2008, 01:37 PM

Gears Of War addicts!
2,164 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Oct 20 2008, 02:59 PM)
Still no pc release sad.gif

Eric borrow borrow borrow tongue.gif
ya, if you want it i can send to you..but you pay the postage la ofcourse! tongue.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Oct 21 2008, 04:17 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Oct 21 2008, 03:21 AM)
But isn't it better to dig achievement in easy or normal?

Btw, does anyone has a good strategy on the ADS mission? How the hell can people do >50 hull strength flex.gif
I barely left 10-20 when i finished the two missions...
Please don't tell me "try not to suck" "aim better" "practice till you drop" doh.gif
Breaktru
post Oct 21 2008, 04:24 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Oct 21 2008, 04:17 PM)

Btw, does anyone has a good strategy on the ADS mission? How the hell can people do >50 hull strength flex.gif
Please don't tell me "try not to suck" "aim better" "practice till you drop" doh.gif
Exactly , I think the brawler achievement I'll do it in easy lol .

Bout the ADS , yeah I need a guide also . I managed to get better result in my impossible run last night , around 40% ... IMO , there are some meteorites you can ignore , those that flying out of screen do little to no damage .
DjiNn
post Oct 22 2008, 02:27 AM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Oct 21 2008, 04:17 PM)

Nono. Don't get me wrong. I still want to "Feel the game" not just whore for points tongue.gif Thats why I started out hard first tongue.gif
(But the truth is, I thought I can get the hardest achievement together, but didn't know there is impossible Mode after beating the game doh.gif . But Playing hard is challenging.. Really get your heart Pumping! You guys should try it. thumbup.gif

As for the ADS Mission just concentrated on the Center of those Asteroids . Don't need to bother those top and bottom... (Cause its actually doesn't hit the hull at all )
dark lenanza
post Oct 23 2008, 08:29 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

okey
im stuck at chapter two
at wat the name of the clinic...
there is two doors..
both cannot open..

and there is 1 power box..
im used my kinertic energy to put it on the slot..but every time i release the trigger..
it will fall...

now..
wat am i missed??
DarkSaviour
post Oct 23 2008, 09:50 AM

336 posts

huh?.. if not mistake once u put in the light color change...
dark lenanza
post Oct 23 2008, 10:08 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

i tried several time
everytime i put inside the slot...
it fix nicely...but after i realse my left trigger + b
then i fall on the ground again..
is it some bug??
DarkSaviour
post Oct 23 2008, 11:01 AM

336 posts

any screenshot where u stuck at?

dark lenanza
post Oct 23 2008, 11:10 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

at office right now...
will do tomorrow
Jinsatoemo
post Oct 23 2008, 11:25 AM

117 posts

I prefer this game than GOW2 actually.I was like "WOW" while seeing the beginning cutscene(after starting a game),very nice graphics.Feels like DOOM also but it still very good.
grouchy_smurf
post Oct 23 2008, 11:31 AM

56 posts

so how many heart attacks have you guys gotten so far? tongue.gif
ayiezs
post Oct 23 2008, 11:36 AM

wah scary ler the game...
those necromorphs pandai suprise attack lah...
some more play alone at last night...

only just finished chapter 1, now going to the med-clinic...
Breaktru
post Oct 23 2008, 12:19 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Oct 23 2008, 08:29 AM)
okey
im stuck at chapter two
at wat the name of the clinic...
there is two doors..
both cannot open..
and there is 1 power box..
im used my kinertic energy to put it on the slot..but every time i release the trigger..
it will fall...
now..
wat am i missed??
Check your objective , some door are meant not to be opened at first . But before that are you sure the slot is empty before you slot in anything . It supposed to go in easily if its empty because the game will automatically fits it in as long as you placed it nearby .

It won't fall , you need to hold the trigger and B together all the way until the power box is slotted in . Ive yet to encounter any bugs in the game , very polished .

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Oct 23 2008, 12:36 PM
SUSzhiyung
post Oct 23 2008, 12:22 PM

133 posts

The only time i got shocked is at the end... because thru out the game i was like in full alert, be prepared for anything... but the end game, i was expecting the credits, but suddenly *censored*.
dark lenanza
post Oct 23 2008, 01:39 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

QUOTE(Breaktru @ Oct 23 2008, 12:19 PM)
Check your objective , some door are meant not to be opened at first . But before that are you sure the slot is empty before you slot in anything . It supposed to go in easily if its empty because the game will automatically fits it in as long as you placed it nearby .

It won't fall , you need to hold the trigger and B together all the way until the power box is slotted in . Ive yet to encounter any bugs in the game , very polished .
bro
i tried it 1 hrs last nighgt
till i get fed up
still...cannot open...

if u think it was scary..
i play with earphone...
phewwww~ sweat.gif
Breaktru
post Oct 23 2008, 02:22 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Then try to take a screenshot first , with your current objective cause I can't really recall .
gnome
post Oct 23 2008, 02:51 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Cant recall? I thought you finish like 6 times ady eric? rclxub.gif
Breaktru
post Oct 23 2008, 03:54 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Where got , now just my second run only .

BTW , Still Alive .

Am surprise Im still alive ...

Added on October 24, 2008, 1:41 amBTW , woot !! GG the Impossible mode . Now left few achievement gor 1000/1000 smile.gif

@Leenaz , using telekinetic doesn't require holding B , just the trigger .

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Oct 24 2008, 01:41 AM
dark lenanza
post Oct 24 2008, 08:26 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

confirm got bug
at early chapter 2
at clinic wat name forgot tongue.gif

last time i tried 1 hrs..canot fit the power box to the power hole
last night i managed to fit it nicely...not even 1 mins
doh.gif

oke..
now i had anotehr prob
tongue.gif

at space bridge..
after i on all 3 ADS power supply..
how to passed the zero gravity bridge??
always my body explode
doh.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Oct 24 2008, 09:32 AM

133 posts

Take cover behind the raised blocks when asteroids are coming thru.
dark lenanza
post Oct 24 2008, 10:48 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

tq2
DarkSaviour
post Oct 24 2008, 03:02 PM

336 posts

hahah lenanza ur dead space kena jinx?
lol... EA ask u dun play so much la.. after married need to take care bini... tongue.gif

BTW do you guys got the elite suit?.. according to TSB.. SEA only giving out 500 redeem code.. damn lame >"<
dark lenanza
post Oct 24 2008, 03:21 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

hahahaha
no laa..
im playin while my wife working..

Breaktru
post Oct 24 2008, 03:34 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Ive downloaded the elite suit and its definitely doesn't looks as good as the Obsidian for PS3 . sad.gif

BTW , some good practice for Impossible Mode run , also work well for easier mode . These are just my preference , other might have easier tactics .

1. Always run when you have chance , usually when there is no lockdown . Necromorph aren't smart enough to open doors . laugh.gif
2. Aim the leg to cripple , check surrounding rinse and repeat .
3. If facing multiple enemies , always stand at the corner where there aren't any vent or hole for them to crawl out , to prevent backstab .
4. Statis is your best friend . So , upgrade the duration .
5. I don't really upgrade HP , you die after 1 or 2 hit , its better to restart the game than wasting potions .
6. Explosive canister also your best friend , fully utilize . Use kinetic , grab and shoot , deal massive damage .

Against certain monster ...

1. The brute(big guy with armor) . Forget about shooting behind him , statis him and you'll see a yellow weak spot between his head and right arm . 3-4 of nice Contact Beam shots easily break 1 of his arm , and shoot or two to his body he'll be dead .
2. Monster attached to wall . One explosive canister spell doom to this monster , otherwise if there are no canister , 2 well placed mine from the line gun kill it straightaway .

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Oct 24 2008, 03:38 PM
Mudmaniac
post Oct 24 2008, 04:01 PM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

Is there a deadline to download the elite? I just got the game but was planning to leave it in the shrinkwrap until i finish BioSyok.
grouchy_smurf
post Oct 24 2008, 04:51 PM

56 posts

hmm...why not just d/l the suit first? don't need to open the game for that smile.gif

man i've dieded countless times already...really hate it when you see two of em and not knowing there's one behind sleep.gif 2 bites and that's it...
DarkSaviour
post Oct 24 2008, 05:28 PM

336 posts

I tot need to code to redeem the elite suit?
DjiNn
post Oct 24 2008, 06:06 PM

Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(DarkSaviour @ Oct 24 2008, 05:28 PM)
I tot need to code to redeem the elite suit?
Elite Suit is free on Xbox live (limited Time only)

the Scorpion Suit is Free for the first batch of orders only.
Mudmaniac
post Oct 25 2008, 01:08 AM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

QUOTE(grouchy_smurf @ Oct 24 2008, 04:51 PM)
hmm...why not just d/l the suit first? don't need to open the game for that smile.gif

man i've dieded countless times already...really hate it when you see two of em and not knowing there's one behind sleep.gif 2 bites and that's it...
ah.... did not know that. when and downloaded it already.

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Oct 24 2008, 06:06 PM)
Elite Suit is free on Xbox live (limited Time only)

the Scorpion Suit is Free for the first batch of orders only.
hey. i got one from eddy while you were not there. that one should have the code right?

marauderz
post Oct 25 2008, 01:33 PM

3,390 posts

Here's what I figured out while playing.

- the game will give you ammo of the guns you have mainly. So don't carry around too much guns at a time and you'll be able to stockpile a lot of ammo. I just carry the line gun, or plasma cutter along with the ripper.
- Like breakthrough, I haven't upgraded my RIG, luckily with the Elite suit you get all slots, and that's all the upgrade I need.
- If you see a body of the monster on the floor and you didn't kill it.. it's probably playing dead, either pop a cap in it, or try to pull it in with kinesis, you can't pull live enemies.

Added on October 25, 2008, 9:09 pmSo after finishing the game on standard I have this to say.

It was a fun experience, but story wise... not so good. Why? well for that we must venture into spoiler tag territory.
If you haven't finish the game DO NOT READ FOR YOUR OWN GOOD! DO NOT READ

This post has been edited by marauderz: Oct 25 2008, 09:09 PM
dark lenanza
post Oct 26 2008, 12:26 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

guys
stuck again
doh.gif

i stuck after i put inside the poison..
then enter 1 gravity zero room..
where there is 1 monster with giant worm (dont know wat to call)
since i normally off my audio system tongue.gif

how to kill that monster..
i endup finish all amoi for all weapon
doh.gif
marauderz
post Oct 26 2008, 01:48 PM

3,390 posts

shot the yellow bits on the tentacles to chop them off
Mudmaniac
post Oct 27 2008, 12:58 AM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

huh. looks like i didnt get a scorpion suit code with mine. was it supposed to be on a piece of card in the game box?
_skeevs
post Oct 27 2008, 02:45 AM

59 posts

@mudmaniac separate piece of paper
quackers
post Oct 27 2008, 03:39 PM

19 posts

what rea the semiconductors for. I have 3 gold & 1 ruby? Can they be assembled into something or do I just sell it?
yhanlee
post Oct 27 2008, 05:00 PM

73 posts

anyone interested to buy the game pls pm me. Thx
Breaktru
post Oct 27 2008, 05:18 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

QUOTE(quackers @ Oct 27 2008, 03:39 PM)
what rea the semiconductors for. I have 3 gold & 1 ruby? Can they be assembled into something or do I just sell it?
I use it as money resource .
marauderz
post Oct 27 2008, 09:52 PM

3,390 posts

Semiconductors... well according to their description. They are meant to be sold.
technophile
post Oct 27 2008, 10:33 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

yeah... those semiconductor's sole function is to be sold..
Mudmaniac
post Oct 28 2008, 12:12 AM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

QUOTE(_skeevs @ Oct 27 2008, 02:45 AM)
@mudmaniac separate piece of paper
nope. not there.
jOlv
post Oct 28 2008, 09:48 AM

this game rocks rclxms.gif

can't wait for DS2

Anyone wanna discuss on the story?

This post has been edited by jOlv: Oct 28 2008, 09:49 AM
marauderz
post Oct 28 2008, 11:58 AM

3,390 posts

you can find my complaints about the story a few posts back under a spoiler tag.
_skeevs
post Oct 28 2008, 02:02 PM

59 posts

I thought the story was fine, and had a couple of twists. Towards the end I was just wishing for the story to be done with, and the game to end....but it still went on quite a bit It's nice to see this game as sorta tribute to the classic scifi horror movies....especially the stuck-on-wall-necromorphs. Very cool. "Aliens" was terrifying for me, when I was a kid. Now I get to dismember these "The Thing" inspired baddies.
Though it got a lil frustrating towards the end when the difficulty curve seemed to have went up quite a lot(unless I absolutely suck).
Has nobody commented on how good the sound was? All in all, took me about 14+hrs to complete the game on Medium. There's nice bonus' too when you're done with the game on the first round.
marauderz
post Oct 28 2008, 02:19 PM

3,390 posts

yeah, the environment and mood was done very well. It just wasn't a beliavable universe tongue.gif
Breaktru
post Oct 28 2008, 02:53 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

@Marauderz , I think the possible explanation would be (spoiler)

So .. these are just my theories , maybe it doesn't make sense also . Storyline is perfect if you believed it is , not everyone could accept the same thing . laugh.gif

BTW , I already got the movie , DS : Downfall in my HDD , gotta watch it later . smile.gif

This post has been edited by Breaktru: Oct 28 2008, 03:08 PM
marauderz
post Oct 28 2008, 05:20 PM

3,390 posts

replies to breakthru

Breaktru
post Oct 28 2008, 10:07 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Just watch the movie and ...

After watching both the movie and animated videos , there are still much to be answered . I got my own questions as well , but doesn't feel like asking that much . Still , the story good to me , in fact much better than other games . Cheers nod.gif
marauderz
post Oct 28 2008, 10:37 PM

3,390 posts

That's why I said..

gnome
post Oct 28 2008, 11:53 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Wheee....finally got my hands on the PC version and I have to say it runs buttery smooth laugh.gif tongue.gif
technophile
post Oct 29 2008, 12:13 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

well personally, i think these kinda games we cannot take the story very much serious.

i mean check out the back story of Resident Evil. too many loop holes here and there. until Resident Evil 4 suddenly got Las Plagas. that was one of my pure "wtf?" moment in videogaming history.

same goes with Silent Hill. it has been said that Samael is the one responsible for "choosing" it's victims to be lured into Silent Hill. but then come to think about it, their "sins" is not as heavy as ppl who committed multiple murders, drugs dealers, etc. how come we never heard those ppl coming to silent hill and facing their inner demons?

IMHO, i'm pretty much pleased with the story of Dead Space. it's Alien + Event Horizon + System Shock in one package. if you dun nit pick, i think the experience is worth while.
_skeevs
post Oct 30 2008, 09:52 AM

59 posts

Yea, stop over analyzing it wink.gif
SUSzhiyung
post Oct 30 2008, 11:49 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Oct 28 2008, 10:37 PM)
That's why I said..

Well, all games have plot holes.

Just threw Fable2 aside and come back to DS for second round. The military suit is cool!!! laugh.gif
MmxZero
post Oct 30 2008, 12:08 PM

189 posts

well starting mine today. Hope can finish in 3 days before i go for my study leave.
jOlv
post Oct 30 2008, 02:19 PM

arfh...be done with it y'all. ready urselves with Dead Space 2 !!!!!!

rclxms.gif

*comeon now, let it come!

DarkSaviour
post Oct 30 2008, 03:18 PM

336 posts

eh.. got questions... if I'm wearing the elite suit... seem like can't be upgraded? currently the normal suit to lvl 2 once me wear the elite can't be upgraded..
Breaktru
post Oct 30 2008, 03:33 PM

== The World ==
1,769 posts

Because the Elite suit is considered upgraded to level 5. You can only upgrade to Scorpion suit or Lvl 6 Military suit .
DarkSaviour
post Oct 30 2008, 03:57 PM

336 posts

oh... ok thks for the info..
dark lenanza
post Oct 30 2008, 04:58 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

the diff on the suit is wat??
space for inventory arr??
the color/suit change or not on the game??
technophile
post Oct 30 2008, 05:02 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ Oct 30 2008, 04:58 PM)
the diff on the suit is wat??
space for inventory arr??
the color/suit change or not on the game??
u take less hit (armor +), have more inventory slots.
S4PH
post Oct 31 2008, 02:40 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

just reached level4 damn this game is so scary
dark lenanza
post Oct 31 2008, 04:18 PM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

hahahahaha
i just found the code to refill kinesis anywhere

x,y,x,x,y

rclxms.gif

its work~

p/s:got many...but just share this 1 here laaa
S4PH
post Nov 2 2008, 10:40 AM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

is this a cheat?
dark lenanza
post Nov 3 2008, 08:10 AM

Probationary DDOSer
1,492 posts

yups..
can refill anywhere...anytime
soul2soul
post Nov 3 2008, 03:15 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

Yes refill oxygen and stasis.

Thank goodness it's an inbuild cheat. I have to say I couldn't have gotten through the game without the cheat.

See enemy ---> stasis ---> whack them with your arms to conserve ammo --> activate cheat ---> stasis recharge ---> ah too easy!

finished in 11 hours.. with cheats of course. hehe

This post has been edited by soul2soul: Nov 4 2008, 10:18 AM
_skeevs
post Nov 3 2008, 11:07 PM

59 posts

finished in 11 hours with cheat? what level of difficulty were you playing on?
grasspuff
post Nov 3 2008, 11:12 PM

20 posts

whats GH?

also, (more embarassment for myself) i bought the uhm, "alternate" version of the game and after, my first encounter with the aliens, it keeps saying the disc is unreadable. y's that?
technophile
post Nov 3 2008, 11:15 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

GH = gamer's hideout

disc is unreadable = your drive is almost rosak..
Mr. Alby
post Nov 4 2008, 12:01 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(grasspuff @ Nov 3 2008, 11:12 PM)
whats GH?

also, (more embarassment for myself) i bought the uhm, "alternate" version of the game and after, my first encounter with the aliens, it keeps saying the disc is unreadable. y's that?
Just buy a better quality disc.
soul2soul
post Nov 4 2008, 10:21 AM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

QUOTE(_skeevs @ Nov 3 2008, 11:07 PM)
finished in 11 hours with cheat? what level of difficulty were you playing on?
easy.

A bit disappointed with the ending.

It was a nice game though, bit too scary. That's why I use cheat to win. ALways run out of ammo and health. laugh.gif
grasspuff
post Nov 25 2008, 03:56 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Nov 3 2008, 11:15 PM)
GH = gamer's hideout

disc is unreadable = your drive is almost rosak..
hmm.. gotta have it checked out. but when i play original games, it runs smoothly. so u sure its the driver?

DarkSaviour
post Nov 25 2008, 04:34 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(grasspuff @ Nov 25 2008, 03:56 PM)
hmm.. gotta have it checked out. but when i play original games, it runs smoothly. so u sure its the driver?
he tot you buy ori disc, if not means ur disc.....

BTW this game good enough for horror suspense lol
marauderz
post Nov 25 2008, 04:54 PM

3,390 posts

horror suspense.. pffffttt... only if you act like rambo and you try to carry all the guns with you. then you run out of ammo fast.

stick to 1 or 2 guns and you'll notice the game just keeps GIVING YOU AMMO! ok... if you want it to be suspense don't use the suits with full inventory slots so you can't carry that much ammo.

As for scares... hmmm.. not much that go bump in the night.
_skeevs
post Nov 26 2008, 02:31 PM

59 posts

Anyone playing it for the 2nd round ?
wunan
post Nov 26 2008, 04:11 PM

104 posts

i played the 1st round on medium...i find it hard and sometime frustrating....then i played the second round on impossible,
with military suit, and found its not that hard as long as being careful and understood where the enemy will come to attack.

and then i played the 3rd round on medium with all the upgrades and its like a walk in the park especially with the fully upgraded line gun.

jOlv
post Nov 27 2008, 10:32 AM

i played the game...enjoyed it. thennn i watched the comics...and finally the movie.

after watching the comics and movie, now everything falls into place... except for the Marker of course ;]

I hope they come out DeadSpace2 by next fall
5zal06
post Nov 27 2008, 08:38 PM

195 posts

this game compared to left 4 dead which is better?

is there any co-op campagin offline mode in this dead space game??
i mean like split screen campaign
SUSzhiyung
post Nov 27 2008, 08:58 PM

133 posts

DS is strictly single player.
5zal06
post Nov 27 2008, 09:58 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(zhiyung @ Nov 27 2008, 08:58 PM)
DS is strictly single player.
tq i might get this bcause its creepy than left 4 dead

but..no multiplayer..hurm.hve to think again
S4PH
post Nov 27 2008, 11:12 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(5zal06 @ Nov 27 2008, 09:58 PM)
tq i might get this bcause its creepy than left 4 dead

but..no multiplayer..hurm.hve to think again
left for dead is nt scary compared to DS,this game is psycho just finished it last nite superb game but the ending hehehehe doh.gif
yei09
post Feb 19 2009, 11:17 PM

218 posts

tis game is scary in every corner...it'll keep ur heart pumping all the time mates..dead space rocks..hope they wil develope dead space 2...cheers
marauderz
post Feb 19 2009, 11:31 PM

3,390 posts

Dead Space scary? Just remember to only pack one or two guns to maximize ammo pick up, you'll have so much ammo you'll be mowing down the enemies like no buisness!
Hisyam91
post Feb 20 2009, 08:47 AM

55 posts

Play insane ar.. need to use every bit of item..

0.0645sec    1.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:15 PM