DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks, Finally, 1GB ATI Mobility Radeon HD4670!

astria
post Oct 10 2009, 11:01 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Oct 11 2009, 12:11 AM)
can I know how BIG difference between core 2 and i7 in gaming?
and also the wireless card difference between 5100 and 5300?
it's really very hard to say...

basically u re comparing high clock dual core against a low clock quad core with HT...

the uncertainty here is optimization... it all depends on how the games are optimized for quad core, turbo boost and HT...

u'll ve better performance with Core i7 in Resident Evil 5, but comes to Left 4 Dead, u probably won't see any difference... at GTA4, HT will even drag the performance instead, even though quad core is preferred...

moreover, i dun think game developers would spend resources on optimizing for HT, since only Core i7 and low-lvl Core i5 have it... others like Pentium in the entry market, Core i3 in the mainstream market and AMD dun ve such thing...
astria
post Oct 12 2009, 06:32 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Oct 12 2009, 03:36 AM)
thank you  notworthy.gif

Added on October 12, 2009, 12:42 amwhat about the difference between wireless card 5100 and 5300?
anybody know?
5100 only works at 2.4GHz frequency and ii think max 2T2R, thus only support 802.11b, g and Draft-N 300Mbps

5300 works at both 2.4GHz and 5GHz frequency and 3T3R, thus supporting 802.11a, b, g and Draft-N 450Mbps
astria
post Oct 12 2009, 09:03 AM

22,158 posts

well, how much battery time can u squeeze out now??
astria
post Oct 14 2009, 10:10 PM

22,158 posts

again, keyword is optimization...

if the software u use are optimized for HT, i7 basically pwn any CPU in the market now...

if not, u re better off using Core 2 Quad instead...
astria
post Oct 14 2009, 10:17 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Oct 15 2009, 01:11 AM)
can u state some programs which is best in i7 recently?in the future...will most of the programs run greats in i7 instead of core 2 quad?
it's really very hard to say... most professional applications are optimized for it.. .but for normal apps, i doubt the developers would spend resources doing so as only Core i7 and dual Core i5 have HT... others like quad Core i5, Core i3, Pentium G dun ve HT at all... and not forgetting AMD who dun even bother about it...

and looking at history, no, i am not in favour for HT at all... remember last time Pentium 4 with HT??? how often had u heard a software is HT optimized???

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0421sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:25 AM