Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player Ver2.0, I've found mine. Have you

azbro
post Oct 20 2008, 09:56 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(amafz01 @ Oct 12 2008, 10:06 AM)
no problem so far, spot some prob with 5996, sometime remote control is not working, need to restart the player...anybody face the same?
It happens to my philips as well, quite frequent when new, now very rarely happens
azbro
post Nov 15 2008, 10:34 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(jake23 @ Nov 13 2008, 02:30 PM)
I am confused with 1080p upscaling with hdmi output.

If I play dvd and use lcd tv with full hd connected with hdmi output ,can I get 1080p quality ?

play dvd --->1080p upscaling hdmi output quality ?
Theoretically, yes, but depending on the input or recording....It wont be up to bluray scale.
Ppl. always say, shit goes in, shit comes out. To get the very best in video images, I usually download bluray (.mkv) stuff and convert to DVD using convertxtodvd.

Easy to say, image will be slightly better than normal dvd...thats all.
azbro
post Nov 15 2008, 06:22 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(sharp56 @ Nov 15 2008, 01:35 PM)
Many of the DVD players are Divx and MP4 certified but couldn't play the H264 movies.
i dun think any can play mkv files...not sure if Xbox360 or PS3 can play it as well...

But one thing I know is if you wanna go HD and also a download junky...there is no better player than Dvico.
http://www.dvico.com/

There are also budget models like popcornhour etc
http://www.popcornhour.com/onlinestore/

But the current talk abt very affordable multimedia player is WD TV.
http://www.wdc.com/en/products/products.asp?driveid=572
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/842058

Or else you can always hookup your PC to the Plasma/LCD TV.

Or...convert the mkv files to DVD format using ConvertXtoDVD, you'll get better visuals than the normal DVD.

cheers

azbro
post Dec 4 2008, 04:51 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(gsdev @ Dec 4 2008, 03:08 PM)

Funny when i tried my external USB disk it did not work. I connected it directly without any external power source. Via thumb drives it works well.
I think the Hardisk need to be formatted to FAT32 instead of NTFS for the player to be able to read.

azbro
post Dec 5 2008, 05:58 PM

4,403 posts

DIVX, DIVX Ultra and DIVX Pro basically no difference is you wanna play downloaded 700mb stuff from the internet.

But if you download legal Divx movies that come with menu (you must enter special code provided in the manual), create or edit your own divx videos, than its worth it.

So far I've two Divx dvd players. But the DIVX ultra one has more playability hits.
azbro
post Apr 4 2009, 10:15 AM

4,403 posts

I've two sets of Pioneer DVD player at home (old DV393 and 510K...also a Philips.)..Philips is 2.0, but is the DV-610AV is 2.0 too? 1.1 and 2.0 makes alot of difference when playing avi from the thumbdrive. BTW..good price you got there...
azbro
post Jun 25 2009, 06:13 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Jun 24 2009, 08:11 PM)
someone is mentioning he bought rm250... the msrp is rm299, actual selling price should be lesser i suppose.  the price is tempting but seems like no one is talking about this unit... rclxub.gif  btw, can other dvd players (e.g. pioneer dv410) playback divx via usb apart frm jpg viewing?

http://www.sony.com.my/product/dvp-ns728hp
Of course can....you can even fit it a 'powered' hardisk instead of a thumbdrive.

I bought a Buffalo 2.5 inch external HDD just for it. Bought the Buffalo brand cos' it has a jack to input the 5V and it incl. the cable as well.

But do a search in the internet regarding the model you target whether a powered hardisk can work with your DVD player....mine is Philips brand.
I think as along as its powered and in FAT32 format, it should work. If yours a USB 2.0 version, might even supply enough power to the HDD.
But its best to use a different power supply than rely on the DVD player USB port.

But take note, some hardcoded security type external HDD or USB thumbdrive can't be use.

azbro
post Jul 8 2009, 04:27 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(in_george @ Jul 8 2009, 03:50 PM)
Saw the Pioneer DV-420-S going for RM399 @ Desa Home Theater Low Yat today ... new model replacing the DV-410-S.
Thats very expensive for a new model...

0.0164sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:31 AM