Intel Q9xxx and Xeon 33x0 Family, Show the rest what Intel Quadies can do!

derek87
post Jun 3 2009, 07:22 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

Guys.. anyone knows how to judge the CPU VTT value if the settings are in percentage? for example +1.XXX%, +3.XXX%, +5.XXX% and so on...

im currently clocking my Q9450 @ 3.333ghz, 1.25v , 417 x 8 on a jetway xblue p45. CPU VTT @ 17.XXX%.( i got the proc stable on IBT + prime, only with this value,lower than that, one or two cores will fail) This is the first time i came across with CPU VTT(FSB termination) using %percentage for settings... it was always 1.4,1.5 shown on the bios.. really pengsan..

Thanks guys.
derek87
post Jun 3 2009, 08:21 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(campsol2k @ Jun 3 2009, 08:11 PM)
I guess like this ...for 45nm cpu the stock vtt is 1.1V so... if +17% means 1.1V X 1.17 = 1.287V
hmm.. i also tot so... but... the last option is 120%.. possible? lol...
derek87
post Jun 3 2009, 10:26 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(campsol2k @ Jun 3 2009, 09:41 PM)
possible... my asus mobo can go upto 1.9V...
adjustment upto 2.4V for your jetway mobo is unnecessary...imo
QUOTE(derek87)
it was always 1.4,1.5 shown on the bios..

which voltage u were referring to?
i see... so it's possible to get that high even without bios mod.. i tot u'll need to find some modded bios in order to get such high adjustment options.. lol..

i was refering to CPU VTT voltage on most boards like asus, and giga.

so me doing 417 x 8, 1.226v on the Q9450, CPU VTT +17.xxx% is super safe right?(btw, not about temps) lol.. will the CPU VTT wont kill the proc slowly? coz anandtech killed theirs.. lol...
derek87
post Jun 4 2009, 11:04 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

Try jetway xblue p45 la.. lol... cheap + 24/7 overclocks are good... UNLESS u are trying to hit the records for benchmarks.. if for 24/7/gaming overclocks, it's a good mobo. smile.gif my Q9450 can hit 385FSB without changing any settings.. not even vcore... Stable 8 loops of IBT. hahaha..

U do the calculation, RM309 u get P45, ICH10R, crossfire x8 x8. BUT NO IDE. hehe.. biggrin.gif haha...
derek87
post Jun 5 2009, 12:48 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Jun 4 2009, 11:14 PM)
was gonna say 385fsb isnt almighty, until i see RM309 u get P45, ICH10R, crossfire x8 x8. BUT NO IDE... quite a good deal biggrin.gif
lol.. of coz dude... benchmarkers of coz get highly OCable mobos.. but as for casual gamers/benchmark4funners like me.. why high perf mobos.. right? hahaha...

yea.. 385fsb isnt almighty.. with a little VTT maybe 395 or 400? no vcore needed. until i went to 417fsb i needed some vcore... and again.. isnt anything BIG. lol..

BTW.. i missed something BIG... RM309 with 3 years warranty!!!!!! lol..... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

But pls.... dun expect to see fancy boxes, fancy NB SB HSFs for it.. it's a very low profile mobo.. google it up if u guys are interested. smile.gif
derek87
post Jun 5 2009, 12:25 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

eh guys.. have anyone tried passing IBT 8 loops, but fail prime95? lol...
derek87
post Jun 5 2009, 01:55 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

Ooh nice tips hilmiangah.. Classic Rock solid tests. smile.gif
derek87
post Jun 5 2009, 04:08 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Jun 5 2009, 03:48 PM)
try that and it'll be rock stable.

1 thing bout the test is that if u think the voltage is too high but it help to stabilise the oc then let it be and dont worry bout it but make sure u got proper cooling.
im doing it now... test 2 is freaking hard............... >< stucked on test 2. currently trying to get my 3.4 clock stable on test 2.

so far no good... sad.gif
derek87
post Jun 5 2009, 04:29 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Jun 5 2009, 04:16 PM)
do as the test say and it'll be fine.

up the NB and FSB termination voltage.
My test 2 still fails as of these settings.

NBcore = 1.368v
VTT = +24.78%

what im having in mind is, 3.40ghz(425x8) only.. does it really need such critical voltage on the mobo? lol...
derek87
post Jun 5 2009, 04:43 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Jun 5 2009, 04:38 PM)
dont forget its a quad and the mobo ur using is not the best overclockable mobo in the world.

Added on June 5, 2009, 4:40 pmlast time i stabilise an E8400 at 4gh@500x8 it was pretty easy but a 400x8 Q6600 is a different story.

took me a while to make it stable.
lol... yea... i noticed about that.. "having a quad core". Thanks anyway. tongue.gif
derek87
post Jun 5 2009, 05:01 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

updates.

NBcore = 1.384v
VTT = +26.69%

i passed test 2 for 4 mins for the first time! lol...

derek87
post Jun 5 2009, 09:52 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(sharkeer @ Jun 5 2009, 09:21 PM)
so far gaming no problem. if get the bsod just clock down then the prob settle edi. biggrin.gif
if i clock using the ways i usually use then i have no prob... i can pass IBT 10loops.. and i always test using IBT, lazy to wait for prime95. lol...

but after hilmiangah posted that way of stability test.. i found out that my OC is not 100% stable. IBT cannot be completely trusted. 8mins = 40hours of prime95. lol... Quite true in fact, but just not PERFECT.

But the tips telling u what to add when errors happened from the OC stability test that hilmiangah posted, is hard to determine which setting is the culprit. So instead of using that. i used the way from this link

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/page-240001_11_0.html

I wrote a log of my settings. Doing different iterations.

Im doing experimenting it. Doing quite well.. still in progress to find the lowest settings possible. smile.gif
derek87
post Jun 6 2009, 10:40 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(campsol2k @ Jun 6 2009, 04:54 AM)
why people always get the wrong idea that 8 mins IBT equals to 40 hours Prime95...? 4me its not equal at all...
dude... ppl are gettting the wrong idea is because it's written in the readme file. LOL..

That's why i said. IBT is not perfect... getting pass 10loops or 20loops is just some sort of placebo effect that ur pc is super stable which is not... IBT is very demanding and also DAMAGING... i will not run IBT for one hour... I will only use IBT for earlier stages of stability test.

For me, getting IBT 8 ~10 loops is not even CLOSE to ROCK HARD STABLE.

Read the link i just posted, the time of getting settings for ROCK hard stable OC needs is reduced a lot by using a log instead of guessing the values of what ur motherboard needs.

Just a simple comparison between boards.

Jetway p45 xblue 7 x 400 everything on default fails prime in 1 hour. - blend test

Gigabyte EP45UD3L 7 x 400 everything on default passes prime for 20 hours,manually stop - blend test (doesnt mean stable but at least better than the other board)

how good a mobo is, really affects a stable OC FOR REGULAR use.

I can anytime.. get 3.8ghz~4.0ghz using xblue p45 for benchmarks such as 3dmark06 or 1~32m super pi. but getting a stable OC is really hard on the xblue p45 for me. As for gigabyte EP45UD3L, it's really easier...
derek87
post Jun 8 2009, 10:14 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(campsol2k @ Jun 7 2009, 05:11 PM)
That's an excuse not to run LinPack for 1 hour and nonsense thinking... if u kept everything cool below recommended limits ie VRMs, mobo, CPU, NB, SB... ur system won't die easily ..
the effect of increasing your voltage too high and too much exceed recommended/max voltages that will permanently damage your hardware because of electromigration... even with adequete cooling...
er... seriously lor.. IT's not a MUST thing ok... most of the ppl just run OCCT and prime out there.. there's no MUST this and MUST that thing.. it's only self preferences...
derek87
post Jun 10 2009, 09:38 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Jun 10 2009, 04:17 PM)
just a quick test tongue.gif

wah low temp..

tkh, did u fap to ur low temp? laugh.gif
derek87
post Jun 12 2009, 05:14 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Jun 11 2009, 08:40 PM)
wait wait... dont come 1st......

i still trying 4ghz... but then, no tweak applied to gtl since too busy nowadays....

just simply whack vcore, vnb, and vfsb lol
i just realize ur minimum core temp is 23c... lol... u use aircon blow ah? hahaha..
derek87
post Jun 12 2009, 07:46 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Jun 12 2009, 06:14 PM)
could be he take dry ice then put fan in front of it hahaha
lol.. so wasteful meh.. 23 minimum temp... for sure not ambient in malaysia lor.. Malaysia is so effing hot.. 32C!! >< haha... i cant wait to test the ambient temp @ 5 C.. lol..

This post has been edited by derek87: Jun 12 2009, 07:50 PM
derek87
post Jun 12 2009, 10:28 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ Jun 12 2009, 08:49 PM)
my housing area <=26c... how come ur place so panas 1 @@
taken during daytime or night? haha
wah.. so cool.... taken during daytime lor.... 32celcius but feels like 36c.. so panas... ><
derek87
post Jun 13 2009, 01:25 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(sharkeer @ Jun 13 2009, 11:34 AM)
im stuck at 3.8Ghz atm. is it the mobo or the proc that limit it? any way to find out? here the setting at 3.8GHz.
i dun think it's ur proc limiting u or ur mobo... u only pumped vcore and u are already getting to 475 x 8. For me, i think that's very good dy.. coz i see most ppl fiddles with cpu vtt, gmch, gtl ref, and vcore altogether in order to get a stable OC especially for p45 chipset. maybe u can stop at 1.4vcore, try a higher fsb, if cant boot then fiddle with vtt and gmch? just a suggestion.
derek87
post Jun 13 2009, 02:02 PM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

QUOTE(sharkeer @ Jun 13 2009, 01:41 PM)
at 485 fsb can boot but cant stable at 1.36 vcore. increasing vtt and vmch also no luck. so i think is the gtl thingy. sadly no gtl option in bios. is the gtl effect the oc much?
i dunno about gtl.. coz i never fiddle with it before... but i read from other forums, gtl really affects OC stability. u increase vtt and vmch to how much?

0.0394sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:25 AM