Intel Q9xxx and Xeon 33x0 Family, Show the rest what Intel Quadies can do!

OC4/3
post Mar 9 2009, 02:51 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Mar 9 2009, 12:10 PM)
eh for the yorkfield series... anyone can tell me roughly the price of Q9650?? .. lazy upgrade i7 coz must change ram and mobo.. besides westmere coming out Q4 later anyway..
Q9650 more or less go for RM1.2k or so for new retail chip smile.gif
Ibenq WTS his Q9650 smile.gif
OC4/3
post Mar 11 2009, 04:34 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Vannus @ Mar 10 2009, 08:48 PM)
What is the best buy now for quadie =) need sifu advise. I do some overclocking actually. Hope to hit 3.6ghz on quadie if can but I don't want to take all the big hassle like buying super big heatsink this that. Just stock on air.
Q6600/Q9550 is the best price respectively for their price range,and 3.6ghz on Q6600 definitely need a big heatsink smile.gif
All other processor not so easy to reach 3.6ghz laugh.gif
So your best option is Q9550 + HSF of some sort biggrin.gif
OC4/3
post May 1 2009, 01:14 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Riddhy @ May 1 2009, 12:33 AM)
hello I have some questions.

1 . How much actual difference will i get in terms of gaming using a gtx 260 core 216 , 4gb ddr2 ram gaming at most 1680x1050 with med to high details all games maybe with 4xaa and 16 af with Q9400 or Q9550? except 6mb and 12mb l2 cache??

2. The Xeon Counterparts of 45nm Yorkfields Quad core which are lga 775 socket are they same as those with core 2 quads? do they perform same? whats the  difference then ?? for Xeon X3350 with Q9450??

3. Also for Q9400 or Q9550 Whats the max stable OC using Stock vcore and stock intel HSF? can get to 3.75 ghz easily?? using Asus or Gigabyte g31 chipset mobos??

4. How about 1.35v OC whats the max stable OC can i get?? for Q9400 and Q9550? Using CM hyper t2 cpu cooler??
Answer:
1.google yourself but get Q9550 lar,~RM200 difference and get full cache with .5x multi smile.gif
2.Same thing,100% same thing with difference being some really minor one which don't affect performance
3.Dream on for 3.75ghz with caplak board sweat.gif And no one can answer your unless you try yourself
4.Test yourself
As for cooler wise,go for Prolimatech Meganehalem cause it is the best and can support I7 nicely smile.gif
OC4/3
post May 23 2009, 04:31 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(iBenQ @ May 23 2009, 10:14 AM)
y wan trade ur q6600? got bad batch ka? biggrin.gif... now looking for kangtao i7 920/940/965... once got, selling off my q9650 biggrin.gif 3.6ghz @ 1.175v, and 4ghz at 1.3v linx passable biggrin.gif interested tak? ahahaha
Price price??
OC4/3
post Jun 2 2009, 03:54 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(sharkeer @ Jun 2 2009, 02:07 PM)
tq bro. i try with 475x 8 last night. vcore 1.344, vtt 1.3 vnb 1.26. stable for 30 minutes. but temperature reach 70 so i stop. need to buy better cooling.

Added on June 2, 2009, 2:08 pm

hmm. i dont tweak the ram. just on auto. i'll post it tonite.
Hey dude,70 C is nothing lar laugh.gif
It is fine,go ahead rclxms.gif
OC4/3
post Jun 3 2009, 03:40 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(sharkeer @ Jun 2 2009, 05:55 PM)
is it ok? coz i look at intel website, max temperature shud be 71.x . dun want to fry my proc. blush.gif n thats with prime 95. if use IBT temp shoot up to 80.
TJmax is 100 C so you are fine until around there laugh.gif
But better change cooling/increase airflow as you already at 80 C,you only have a really small headroom left,maybe stop once you reach 85-90 C laugh.gif
And warranty as long as you don't have burn mark go ahead smile.gif
OC4/3
post Jun 14 2009, 02:50 AM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(tkh_1001 @ Jun 14 2009, 02:19 AM)
lawl.....i dont take that reading seriously.... i just anggap that one faulty reading cos not possible for mine ambient....

altho i admit i am in aircon room which can be very cold in the early morning (3-5am)
aircon is to blow me one....

i will be damaged if ambient goes over 30c....

proc can tahan till 60-70 ROFL
wui... i tested using ur 101 pci-e....

superb!  brows.gif

Added on June 14, 2009, 2:26 am
actually, sometimes too high nb or vtt cant help u stabilise also.... try to add the vtt and vnb slowly.....

personally i would recommended u oc bit by bit.... meaning, try go 0.1ghz at a time(personally i move by 0.05ghz laugh.gif)... stabilise it, then move to the next clock ..

normally to stabilise the next clock will only need u to add a lil bit more voltage/ adjustment only.....

that way u get to find max result with minimal voltage.....

just a personal opinion here smile.gif
Eeeh my approch on dual is straight away go for target speed using insane vcore/setting laugh.gif
Then back off from there when got time laugh.gif

This post has been edited by OC4/3: Jun 14 2009, 02:51 AM
OC4/3
post Jul 17 2009, 02:25 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(Fyrekat @ Jul 16 2009, 04:41 PM)
Hi guys, I'm new to OC-ing so I have a few questions that hopefully you guys can help me with. I'm using a Q9550 processor and I intend to OC the FSB from stock to 400MHz. What I understand from doing a bit of reading on the net is that the Q9550 can handle that quite easily, is that right?

Also, if I OC the FSB to 400Mhz but reduce the multiplier to 7.5 to get to 3000MHz, does that reduce the stress and heat on the processor?

I'm doing this because I have 2 x 2GB OCZ PC2 8000 Platinum which I am trying to use at it's rated frequency of 1000MHz but the only way to do that is to OC the FSB of the processor since it doesn't have EPP. The motherboard I'm using is Gigabyte EP45-UD3L.

I've so far tried bumping the FSB to 400MHz and leaving the multiplier at 8.5 i.e. 3.40GHz, which puts my RAM at 960MHz. My PC boots fine and works but I've noticed that the fan runs at a higher speed when I play blu-ray videos (I guess that puts the processor close to full load). If I don't OC and have my processor at 2.83GHz stock speed, the fan doesn't run as fast while playing the same blu-ray video.

As you might guess, the fan noise is a little annoying, which is why I'm wondering whether reducing the multiplier to get 3.00GHz would help reduce the heat and hopefully mean the fan doesn't go full speed.
Reseat heatsink and change the thermal paste
Then try to use IBT and heat up your cpu for 20loops or so so you can know the stability and cure in your thermal paste at the same time smile.gif
OC4/3
post Jan 13 2010, 03:06 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(takercena @ Jan 12 2010, 11:45 AM)
Q9550
Abit IP35-e
1 stick Apacer 2GB DDR2 800 @5-5-5-15 //I don't know how to play with ram timing so i leave it auto
Enermax Liberty 500W
Nvidia 9600gt

I think that's it
Buy a 2nd ram first as dual channel is quite important for maximum performance biggrin.gif
OC4/3
post Mar 2 2010, 03:33 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(nidzamputra @ Mar 1 2010, 09:48 PM)
this is i can do for my Q9550...set my ram to 2973MB...

[attachmentid=1463178]

is it ok?
Seem like ok to me tongue.gif
Most important is don't crash on real world biggrin.gif
OC4/3
post Nov 28 2011, 07:18 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(krule91 @ Nov 27 2011, 04:13 PM)
HI.. i'm noob here.. Just entered overclock in last 5 days...  rclxms.gif
I am using CORE 2 QUAD Q9650 3.0 , ASUS P5P43TD PRO, TEAM XTREEM DARK DDR3 1600 2X2GB... cool2.gif
Although i'm new here i could manage OCed to 3.6Ghz stable in 3 hours prime95 without any errors all 4 cores.. this is my setting in BIOS AI TWEAKER.. 
CPU Ratio Setting: 9.0           
FSB Frequency:400               
DRAM Frequency: 1333           
PCIE Frequency:100               
CPU Voltage:1.268
Others is AUTO
Temperature idle:50c
Temperature Load:60c
Cooled by: Cooler Master TX3 2 fans

My questions:
1. Is it Normal my temperature? since my brother using same proc & Heatsink @ 3.6GHZ in P5K PRO his temp only 46c in idle and 54 in load 
2. Is it good setting since many setting in my AI Tweaker is Auto? hmm.gif
3. How i can OCed to 4.0Ghz (444x9.0)? Since i googled so many times searching how to set up it, most of them using P45 mobo such as P5Q deluxe and  Maximus II Formula.. trying using those setting, but FAILED as ALWAYS... My system just can not enter the bios (blank screen) when i setting it at those setting..your help  icon_question.gif  will be appreciated. icon_rolleyes.gif
1.)That is not an accurate way to check temperature.
Try to download Core Temp for accurate temperature reading biggrin.gif
2.)To verify if your oc is stable,try to use Intel Burn Test(Run 5 loops,3000MB)
If it pass than OC +/- stable enough.
3.)445x9 you have to trial and error yourself.
Start by getting 445x6 stable first(Set your VTT,VNB correct first) than change it to x9 and adjust vcore accordingly
Got any question can PM me
Besides i can do oc service for a fee as well whistling.gif

OC4/3
post Nov 29 2011, 11:49 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Nov 28 2011, 09:25 PM)
Is it a wise choice to downgrade motherboard from P45 to P43 just to run cheaper rams which is DDR3.
Don't bother
Just upgrade the whole pc when you need to upgrade biggrin.gif
Any money spent on LGA775 is a waste now
OC4/3
post Nov 29 2011, 11:50 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(krule91 @ Nov 28 2011, 07:45 PM)
thanks for replying me for FOC hehe  rclxms.gif ... anyway.. forgot to say i'm using pc probe to read the temperature..
for number 3, i will try first test an error.
Have anything else you don't understand just PM me
Won't mind helping out people who is interested in overclock
OC4/3
post Jan 2 2014, 08:44 PM

4,746 posts

QUOTE(nadeng1987 @ Jan 1 2014, 11:45 PM)
Bump onto old thread hoping for help!  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

Currently i am using Q9450 - overclocked to 3.2Ghz 24 hours stable Prime95 small fft.

CPU cooler is Xigmatek HDT S963: Idle Temp = 49 ~ 51 - 100% Load Temp = 74 ~ 76

Is this safe for 24/7 setup?

I mean when i am gaming, would it load my cpu as much as prime95??
It is a very safe overclock and you can push for more
TJ Max was 95 C or 100 C so below 90 C you are fine
Gaming won't load as hard as Prime95

0.0482sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:22 PM