D40/x/D60 Thread V4, The saga continues...

aaron1kee
post Nov 21 2008, 10:42 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

Dropping by to tell that I just got my D40 yesterday, orenzai mind adding me to the list?
aaron1kee
post Nov 22 2008, 01:28 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

Ah Chung 1st shot is superb.
aaron1kee
post Dec 7 2008, 12:21 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

Where should I send the warranty card after I had filled in the particulars?
I can't seem to find the address.
aaron1kee
post Dec 7 2008, 07:30 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Dec 7 2008, 12:21 AM)
Where should I send the warranty card after I had filled in the particulars?
I can't seem to find the address.
Rebump my question.

This post has been edited by aaron1kee: Dec 7 2008, 07:31 PM
aaron1kee
post Dec 7 2008, 11:11 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(mindkiller6610 @ Dec 7 2008, 10:25 PM)
dun fill it if u haven't got a chance to use it.

there is a day when u might wanna sell it off, unfilled warranty cards tend to give u better price.
Too bad I filled it yesterday...
aaron1kee
post Dec 17 2008, 08:12 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(HoNeYdEwBoY @ Dec 17 2008, 06:20 PM)
erm guys .. where can i get d40 around kl or other place and the price.. feel like getting it ^^ my first dslr .
Most camera shops do have D40.
And the price ranges between 1.5k to 1.6k
aaron1kee
post Dec 20 2008, 11:36 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(mask rider @ Dec 20 2008, 10:29 PM)
Yalahh..me also now a bit confusing which one to buy...
my option is D40 or D60..( since I'm in tight budget ).
Can someone give an advice??? which one better eventhough the Mpixel a bit different.
I did have this question in mind before.
But after some consultation, I went for D40, which serves me well till now.
I strongly believe that camera skills are more important than body.
aaron1kee
post Dec 21 2008, 12:06 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 21 2008, 02:28 AM)
I finally psyched myself to buy a D40. It was quite a lot cheaper in the UK with the falling exchange rate, christmas shopping discounts and VAT refund so everything ended up to be around RM1200 only. Other low end cameras are pretty cheap too (Canon 1000D) but the higher end ones aren't. Highly recommended if you're in the UK anytime soon.

Next will be lenses, I love wide angles so the Nikon 12-24/4 is top priority maybe followed by a 50mm or Sigma's 30/1.4. Enjoying the camera so far biggrin.gif
So fast thinking of buying lenses?
Familiar yourself with the kit lens and you will know what lens suits you. biggrin.gif
aaron1kee
post Dec 21 2008, 09:27 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(ahhoe80 @ Dec 21 2008, 05:55 PM)
hi mates..

latest updates after lepaking at MV and also paid a visit to Jaya 1 at Amcorp Mall today.

the J1 shop indeed the 2 tauke and tauke soh are very nice and friendly. No wonder the shop is always crowded. I was hoping more towards a 1 to 1 deal and see the various things that i can nego. but just flooded with people.

Now, here is the offer they are giving:

D40: everything in the box, 2gb SD, Nikon bag, and Nikon Tripod. They specifically said that not some cheap china brand tripod. everything nikon.
All for RM 1650

D60: everything in the box, 4gb SD, like above, bag + tripod. All for RM 1950

Now. If i am getting the D40, is this a good deal? What are the things that U think its reasonable for me to nego for a better deal? I was hoping for a lens filter but the tauke soh dun really intend to give also. And also make it into a 4gb card rather than 2gb. The D60 also they gave 4gb wad. Why the D40 package give 2gb oni  blink.gif

Any advice guys? I am proud that i remained calm just now and didint reach for the wallet immediately  biggrin.gif
** btw, i saw in MV in one of the shops its RM 1599. But didnt ask whether what other freebies they give la..
Maybe you should ask do they allow the swap of kit lens (VR), of course you'll need to add more.
aaron1kee
post Dec 21 2008, 11:38 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Dec 21 2008, 11:18 PM)
hi, all sifu here... i was planning to buy a budget lens for portrait... may i kno is Nikon AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D can be use wit D40??
Of course. But you have to focus manually.
aaron1kee
post Dec 22 2008, 11:29 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(ahhoe80 @ Dec 22 2008, 10:39 AM)
what kind of a price should i nego for?

now currently as i mentioned its 1650. Should i push for a 4gb card? or ask them to take away the nikon bag + nikon tripod. Then ask for SB 400?
Tripod will be useful.
Why ask for SB-400? SB-600 should do good. tongue.gif
aaron1kee
post Dec 23 2008, 12:19 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(illegaldragon87 @ Dec 22 2008, 10:08 PM)
is a new Nikon AF NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8D rm380 a good deal??
I think you can bargain for more.
Why not wait for AF-S? tongue.gif
aaron1kee
post Dec 23 2008, 11:13 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

KTCY selling 50mm?
aaron1kee
post Dec 23 2008, 10:43 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(ad3rb33n @ Dec 23 2008, 03:27 PM)
Hi, novice here n nid some advices,

I planning to get entry DSLR;therefore i nid some LYN sifus advices on Nikon DSLR:

Between D40 n D60, do they have much big diff? beside D60 is newer n D40 cheaper? Shud i go 4 D60 as D40 is phasing out?

N if possible, I want to ask that: Why shud i get a Nikon instead of Canon?( blush.gif soli for da silly question; just want to noe want da advantage in term such as after sale service,warranty lens,etc)

BTW, any gud recommendation shops for DSLR? Anything tat i shud be aware when purchasing 1 to prevent get con? And What bargain shud i look for(e.g. free memory card)?

notworthy.gif Thx in advance for any advice...
Go for D40 instead of D60. Major difference is just the VR.
aaron1kee
post Dec 24 2008, 10:30 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(ad3rb33n @ Dec 24 2008, 10:10 AM)
Thx all for da advice..BTW, no D60 users advices?? Hope to hear advice from both side be4 make final decision..

Last question, D40 vs. D60 vs. Canon 1000D?

P.S.: My budget is ard there...
You're asking in the wrong thread.
aaron1kee
post Jan 3 2009, 10:09 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Jan 3 2009, 12:33 AM)
i tried my friends 50mm that day in a model shoot. Boy i tell you it isnt what you would call "easy", no where close. basically to get a perfectly sharp image you need AF. I tried out MFing and when i upload it onto my comp a lot of em are blur but our naked eye just cant see through the viewfinder.
Agree.

Did some portrait shots using 50mm. Looks great on my LCD, but it's a different story when viewed in PC. Just isn't that sharp anymore.
aaron1kee
post May 1 2009, 12:06 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 30 2009, 03:33 PM)
guys.. tamron 17-50 f2.8 and sigma 17-70 F2.8-4.5... which one better? wanna get one tomorrow

and flash nissin Di622 OR cybertik mz45?
Get Tamron. That lens IMO is one of the best lens Tamron even produced.
aaron1kee
post May 1 2009, 11:10 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(kimurastanley @ May 1 2009, 10:40 AM)
What's the price for SB-800 now??
SB800 discontinued. 2nd hand easily cost you around RM1k.
aaron1kee
post May 8 2009, 05:48 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ May 7 2009, 08:02 AM)
guys...quick question... maybe some others have asked before but very hard for me to find the answers among the 150+ pages in this thread alone...

i have nikon d40 and i plan to get either the AFS 35mm lens or SB600 flash... my main intention is to take pics of my baby.... so which one should i get first?
flash or 35mm lens?
thanks.
Go for the flash la bro.

0.0281sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:05 AM