D40/x/D60 Thread V4, The saga continues...

NasiLemakMan
post Sep 10 2008, 11:43 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

grat pics zio! lovely nikon colors. Your shots make me proud to be nikon user brows.gif.
NasiLemakMan
post Sep 11 2008, 05:41 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

I was wondering is it safe to upgrade my D40 firmware? any users here have upgrade their firmware and what's the difference in application? Appreciate the info.
NasiLemakMan
post Sep 15 2008, 01:29 AM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

hi guys, sorry if this sound cliche but I was looking for a cheap tele with macro capabilities. Should I get,

a) Sigma 70-300mm APO

or

b) Nikon 50-200mm VR + extension tube.

Thanks for the advice.

This post has been edited by NasiLemakMan: Sep 15 2008, 01:31 AM
NasiLemakMan
post Sep 15 2008, 11:22 AM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Sep 15 2008, 09:35 AM)
Get a real macro lens better.
Sigma 105mm or Sigma 150mm give an awesome output of macro photos smile.gif
SP90 photos really poison grumble.gif
Thanks, so many choices for macro lens sweat.gif. Then there's tokina 100mm. I wouldn't be able getting macro lens at my current situation since I got just enough for zoom lens. Maybe another year or so. That's why I need to buy zoom lens with macro capabilities. Thanks mindkiller for your suggestion. I'd look into it.

Just found another technique, 55-200mm with reverse ring + 50mm. Reverse ring seems cheaper but sure is a little difficult and risky imo.
NasiLemakMan
post Dec 21 2008, 03:00 AM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(ahhoe80 @ Dec 20 2008, 05:48 PM)
I have been reading reviews and it seems to give me a complete U-Turn of getting the D60. It seems that the D40 outperforms the D60. Most will say get the D40 becos the slight enhancements is not worth the extra few hundred bucks and advised to get a better lens with the extra money. At the same time i read from a site stating that the ISO of the D40 is default at 200 whilte the D60 is at 100.  The same thing also about the lighting of the pics. How ah?
get D60 or D40 leh?  
If MP a factor = D60
If manual focus rangefinder a factor = D60
Money, Image Qual, Dynamic Range, signal-to-noise ratio,tonal range = D40
Anything else = MasterCard

You can go here to compare D40 vs D60 sensors.

Physically d40 and d60 are twins with different eyecup and kit lens and sensor cleaner. price diff around 70USD.

This post has been edited by NasiLemakMan: Dec 21 2008, 03:02 AM
NasiLemakMan
post Dec 24 2008, 06:51 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

55-200mm nikkor is one of the best budget zoom tele lens out there. I'd say go get it.
NasiLemakMan
post Jan 3 2009, 08:03 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Jan 3 2009, 10:09 AM)
Agree.

Did some portrait shots using 50mm. Looks great on my LCD, but it's a different story when viewed in PC. Just isn't that sharp anymore.
what I did was 1st adjust the focusing ring with the distance to the subject. Then trying to focus the subject using the green dot. Then I shoot in 3 bursts while moving the focusing ring focusing sometimes from near to far others far to near. I used as small aperture as possible so to get wider DOF. Oh and a dk-21m helps just a little too.
NasiLemakMan
post Jan 9 2009, 08:29 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(mybiebie @ Jan 9 2009, 04:49 PM)
i starter also use D60 gd enuf for me....If i upgrade will choose D90....
For a start I'd use D60/40 which I considered good enough for me....If a choice of an upgrade, I will choose an F6 laugh.gif...

This post has been edited by NasiLemakMan: Jan 9 2009, 08:34 PM
NasiLemakMan
post Jan 15 2009, 12:50 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(' or 1=1 -- @ Jan 15 2009, 11:51 AM)
i wonder when dslrs will adopt this black silicon technology. i wonder if can reach iso 100k. lol

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/black-sil...raphy,6485.html
whoah! future D40xxxs dslr can have 50mp and clean ISO 6400 laugh.gif.
NasiLemakMan
post Feb 9 2009, 01:17 AM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(BlueSilver @ Feb 8 2009, 01:27 PM)
hi, i have a problem. I love to take pictures but then I'm really having a tough time learning all the technology of the camera. For example, I still don't really get how aperture works and the other stuff on a dslr. I really really REALLY want to be a good photographer. Any suggestions? By the way, I own a d40. smile.gif
That's the easiest part. Composition, subject matter, exposure, lighting are really the potential killers here rclxub.gif.
NasiLemakMan
post Mar 24 2009, 06:42 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(xandman @ Mar 23 2009, 03:47 PM)
d40 rocks...!
even after using d3...
i still use d40...
the colours still is awesome!
D40+18-70mm kit lens even better brows.gif!
NasiLemakMan
post Apr 6 2009, 10:27 AM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

after ruling out ebay and lelong, did anybody knows where can I get this type of grip for D40 in Malaysia?

*note: textured

The brand maybe different but I know it all came from the same factory. Here maybe under phottix or phottix premium.
I'm looking for 'textured' ones not the ultra smooth one that I've seen pictures here.
NasiLemakMan
post Apr 7 2009, 02:13 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(Freezefrost @ Apr 7 2009, 12:25 PM)
best way to see diff is to shoot same pic from d60 and 1000D and put it side by side.
This is site is tremendously helpful then
http://www.dxomark.com/index.php/eng/Image-Quality-Database
NasiLemakMan
post Apr 10 2009, 12:41 PM

oh hai! wan naslemak?
962 posts

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Apr 9 2009, 09:11 AM)
Thanks for the explaination. biggrin.gif

Another thing, A D40 flash Sync Contact is faster than even D80 and D40x right? so if i got a much better flash on a d80 it wont make a diff because of the slower flash sync right?

Generally does this effect the quality of the pictures taken?

Considering D60 right now and another dslr brand. plz advice.

Added on April 10, 2009, 8:41 amUPDATE : because nobody here even wants to explain to me about nikon cameras.. i'm going for Sony Alpha..
laugh.gif! be patient bro. Not everytime people would log in to meet your demands. Most of the good photogs here were busy taking great pictures than lepaking in this forum. Most of here were measurebators like me, concerning about the camera more than taking picture tongue.gif.

Either take D60 or go for Olympus e420/520 in my opinion. Olympus had great lenses for its price and the pros highly recommends their great services if customer service is what concerned you. Sony alpha shakehead.gif, unless you're planning to get a minimum of sony's a900.

0.0275sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:13 AM