Buying 2nd hand property, Is it really take that long??
TSlone_rider
Aug 21 2008, 05:22 PM, updated 18y ago

Hello all..i going to buy my first house soon which is a 2nd hand apartment.. but hear some story from 2nd hand property buyer which some of them experienced up to 1 year for the whole process to complete..
Is it really that long from S&P to final process takes time? its scare me since i expect i can stay in my own house after married from 3 month time..
This post has been edited by lone_rider: Aug 21 2008, 05:45 PM
gilabola
Aug 22 2008, 01:46 AM
It depends... if it is a leasehold property where state govt approval is needed before the transfer, it will take longer.
If the owner is in the midst of refinancing when he sold the property it will also take a long time, as the house has to be discharged from the old financier, charged to the new financier before it can be transferred to you..
best to ask the owner if he has charged the property and whether he's in the process of refinancing.
bbjslee
Aug 22 2008, 08:12 AM
QUOTE(lone_rider @ Aug 21 2008, 05:22 PM) Hello all..i going to buy my first house soon which is a 2nd hand apartment.. but hear some story from 2nd hand property buyer which some of them experienced up to 1 year for the whole process to complete.. Is it really that long from S&P to final process takes time? its scare me since i expect i can stay in my own house after married from 3 month time.. It took me 2 months, for the whole process to get 2nd hand house. Use the lawyer recommended by the loan bank. It'll make the whole process faster.
johnsonm
Aug 22 2008, 09:14 AM

i never use the lawyer recommended by my bank officer. better get my own lawyer and get better discount. why should i let the bank officer get a part of my discount  . it all depends really on the whole situation - does the seller have a loan, is your property leasehold/freehold, is the title out yet, which state is it in (kl leasehold for consent takes 1 month, selangor might take up to 5). maybe if you give more details i can help you with an estimate.
n73me
Aug 22 2008, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(johnsonm @ Aug 22 2008, 09:14 AM) i never use the lawyer recommended by my bank officer. better get my own lawyer and get better discount. why should i let the bank officer get a part of my discount  . it all depends really on the whole situation - does the seller have a loan, is your property leasehold/freehold, is the title out yet, which state is it in (kl leasehold for consent takes 1 month, selangor might take up to 5). maybe if you give more details i can help you with an estimate. yup agree with you. for snp lawyer, can get cheaper outside compared to the bank's panel lawyer. but for loan agreement , you got no choice, have to take the bank's panel lawyer. from my experience, i got my keys to my leasehold property in about 4 months.
bbjslee
Aug 22 2008, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(johnsonm @ Aug 22 2008, 09:14 AM) i never use the lawyer recommended by my bank officer. better get my own lawyer and get better discount. why should i let the bank officer get a part of my discount  . it all depends really on the whole situation - does the seller have a loan, is your property leasehold/freehold, is the title out yet, which state is it in (kl leasehold for consent takes 1 month, selangor might take up to 5). maybe if you give more details i can help you with an estimate. True yes, but if you don't know any lawyer? Some law firm is very efficient with SnP procedure, some are very slow. Also try get a lawyer which is located near to the lawyer of your seller, that way exchange of documents is faster. Sometimes a few working days make a different.
TSlone_rider
Aug 22 2008, 11:03 AM

QUOTE(bbjslee @ Aug 22 2008, 08:12 AM) It took me 2 months, for the whole process to get 2nd hand house. Use the lawyer recommended by the loan bank. It'll make the whole process faster. wow..only 2 month?? so its possible to get it done fast ehh.. mine is freehold, strata title out already..already got offer letter from bank for loan..looks possible for me to get the key faster? but my lawyer is not the bank lawyer but the same lawyer from previous owner..
areankim
Aug 22 2008, 11:26 AM
mine takes 4 months cos the owner delays.. i dint get any penalty or so on lor.. so it' still ok la... i think more or less 3 months is needed
bbjslee
Aug 22 2008, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(lone_rider @ Aug 22 2008, 11:03 AM) wow..only 2 month?? so its possible to get it done fast ehh.. mine is freehold, strata title out already..already got offer letter from bank for loan..looks possible for me to get the key faster? but my lawyer is not the bank lawyer but the same lawyer from previous owner.. Actually there would be 3 lawyers involved. 1 - Bank 2 - You (SnP) 3 - Seller (SnP) But since for your case 2&3 are the same so it should be faster. Now it depend on your lawyer and banks lawyer. How fast they process the documents. If not mistaken, there could be a penalty charge for release the payment late from the date signing of SnP. Call your lawyer frequently to check on the status, call your mortage sales agent frequently as well, so that he'll chase the bank lawyer on your behalf.
dripinrain
Aug 22 2008, 11:51 AM

I got the the property transferred to me 8 mths later. Cos of consent from DBKL & oso ori owner have to discharge loan.
Anyway, i made arrangements to rent the unit beforehand, and pay him some rental, so i managed to move in earlier.
TSlone_rider
Aug 22 2008, 11:56 AM

Thanks guys for the advices.. at least now i can estimate the process period.. 2-4 month is still reasonable though.. its all about determination to push all the related personal to do their job fast right? i can do that
yewkhuay
Aug 23 2008, 01:30 AM
Is it leasehold property without tittle in KL takes more time compare to in selangor state ?
wat can the buyer do if the seller keep delaying the process by not signing some papers ?
johnsonm
Aug 25 2008, 03:27 PM

leasehold without title in kl requires consent, but consent takes about 1 month only.
if seller delays too long, although the agreement doesnt provide for termination, i am sure the purchaser can give the seller notice to do it within a certain period if not he is going to terminate.
yewkhuay
Aug 25 2008, 04:55 PM
means as purchaser can do nothing except to push the seller to sign ?
bbjslee
Aug 25 2008, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Aug 25 2008, 04:55 PM) means as purchaser can do nothing except to push the seller to sign ? Why would the seller want to delay in signing the paper? They don't want the money? Logically, seller will not delay in signing the paper, but purchaser maybe.
TSlone_rider
Aug 25 2008, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(bbjslee @ Aug 25 2008, 04:56 PM) Why would the seller want to delay in signing the paper? They don't want the money? Logically, seller will not delay in signing the paper, but purchaser maybe. thats what i thought.. but maybe in some cases the owner still looking for replacement house.. or the house still too convenience for him/her..u know children school, workplace etc. and they just cant let it go..but why sell anyway ehh..
PrinceHamsap
Aug 25 2008, 07:47 PM
mine was leasehold and it took me one year for bank and legal stuff etc
johnsonm
Aug 26 2008, 12:55 PM

yes in most cases the assumption is the owner wants his money fast. but there are exceptions where he will want to hold on to the house for a while longer.
if you dont want to sit and wait, put the seller on notice to deliver the documents, failing which you are taking him to court.
TSlone_rider
Aug 26 2008, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(PrinceHamsap @ Aug 25 2008, 07:47 PM) mine was leasehold and it took me one year for bank and legal stuff etc this is one kind of story that scare me.. i just hate waiting for nothing.. anyway, juz for note i just finish signing my s&p using the same lawyer as previous owner is really convenient..
agape_ian
Aug 26 2008, 03:50 PM
I heard leasehold would take longer time. It also depends on the property whether it is vacant/tenanted, whether all documents are ready, outstanding amount cleared, etc.
Very subjective. Usually fastest is 2-3months. Worst case is 6-12months or maybe more.