PS3 QWERTY Keypad

SUSalmattitude_v1
post Aug 21 2008, 02:02 PM, updated 17y ago

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

A new peripheral for the PS3 has just been announced at Leipzig. A wireless keypad is similar to Xbox 360's current chatpad, but it will connect to the controller through the top USB port. The chatpad will also enable "touchpad mode for mouse input." A picture of the keypad attached to a controller, after the jump.

Equipped with Bluetooth® functionality, the Wireless Keypad can be paired to PS3 by simply connecting the keypad to the USB cable that comes bundled with the PS3 system. Also, two shortcut buttons, a Communication Button and a Message Box Button, are placed on the lower part of the Wireless Keypad, enabling users to jump to pre-set features on XMB™ (XrossMediaBar) such as "Friends" and "Message Box" during game play, which help PS3 users to smoothly communicate with each other. Additionally, a Touch Pad Button allows PS3 users to use the entire surface of the keypad as a touch pad, allowing them to easily maneuver the pointer while web browsing, simply by sliding their finger on the keypad surface.

mpyw
post Aug 21 2008, 02:05 PM

3,603 posts

nice...I wonder how much does it cost?
chicaman
post Aug 21 2008, 02:05 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

Nice~
obee
post Aug 21 2008, 02:06 PM

273 posts

i wonder how heavy is it.. haha sweat.gif
edvpc
post Aug 21 2008, 02:09 PM

HardSun..... (IntoTheWild)
1,274 posts

haha already posted by Ninja.plz check play-beyond pinned thread... tongue.gif
VashTheStampede
post Aug 21 2008, 02:30 PM

I am the Darkness
994 posts

Mmmmm could def be handy in typing out all those psn msgs! heheh.
zio
post Aug 21 2008, 03:15 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

Ermm looks awkward to hold.
SUSadli
post Aug 21 2008, 03:17 PM

33 posts

finally! ps3 is getting better n better. smile.gif
pmsoo
post Aug 21 2008, 03:44 PM

374 posts

erm, is it just me or this design is not ergonomic at all?

I do not intend to start a console debate but the xbox 360's messenger kit look and feels wayyy more comfortable. maybe because we can use our two thumbs like the analogue controller? i honestly cant understand how anyone can type this or how this is better than a regular keyboard sweat.gif

The ps3 one dont even look sturdy enough sweat.gif
SSJBen
post Aug 21 2008, 03:46 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Indeed.... the top looks like its going to topple over as well.

Doen't look nice to me and most importantly, it doesn't feel like its going to be efficiently used.

It is rather cool that it can function as a touch pad though! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Aug 21 2008, 03:47 PM
K-End
post Aug 21 2008, 03:52 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Aug 21 2008, 03:46 PM)
Indeed.... the top looks like its going to topple over as well.

Doen't look nice to me and most importantly, it doesn't feel like its going to be efficiently used.

It is rather cool that it can function as a touch pad though! rclxms.gif
the only Pros i can think of regarding the keyboard

now the controller looks big like a plate tongue.gif

nontheless..it still cool to have this thing for PS3
VashTheStampede
post Aug 21 2008, 03:59 PM

I am the Darkness
994 posts

won't know till we actually feel it ourselves though! could be good, who knows?
incx
post Aug 21 2008, 04:34 PM

135 posts

Just plug in a keyboard and type la... =x
zio
post Aug 21 2008, 04:47 PM

RAWRR!
4,889 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ Aug 21 2008, 03:44 PM)
erm, is it just me or this design is not ergonomic at all?

I do not intend to start a console debate but the xbox 360's messenger kit look and feels wayyy more comfortable. maybe because we can use our two thumbs like the analogue controller? i honestly cant understand how anyone can type this or how this is better than a regular keyboard sweat.gif

The ps3 one dont even look sturdy enough sweat.gif
already said earlier that it looks awkward to hold. I just dont see how it will be comfortable putting it on top compared to the thumb level, which is in between the two grip.

oh well, there is always the regular keyboard tongue.gif
Kernkraft400
post Aug 21 2008, 04:54 PM

Master Chief
2,977 posts

Not ergonomic at all sad.gif
aaron5829
post Aug 21 2008, 05:05 PM

135 posts

my mini keyboard is RM15 for my ps3 smile.gif

callmevil
post Aug 21 2008, 06:31 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

hmm considering where the weigth load will be.. too much stress on wrist lar.. even the current weight displacement now hurts my wrist.. imagine this..
one more, how many fingers u got holding the pad and how many fingers left to type? imagine trying to press '9' hehehe
devanbrat
post Aug 21 2008, 06:55 PM

177 posts

worst idea ever from sony..im sure they could have come up with something better..i agree not ergonomic at all!
GamersFamilia
post Aug 21 2008, 07:29 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,790 posts

this thing looks ugly to me , and kindda bulky on the controller...me still thinking xbox360 messenger kit more better then this one.
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Aug 21 2008, 07:57 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

I'd rather get a full-sized bluetooth keyboard (that we use for PC's) as it would be much more comfortable to use... Seeing as how we can connect 7 bluetooth devices at once, we can use 2 slots, one for a mouse, and another for the keyboard... Now if only Sony can make one compatible with the PS3...
technophile
post Aug 21 2008, 08:01 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

the "expansion slot" (the usb slot) for DS3 and sixaxis is placed at the top of the controller. that's why i think the keypad was designed to look like that.

i dun think sony wants to redesign the DS3 to fit an expansion slot located below the thumbstick.

again, sony shows us their stupidity in planning for the future.

remember PS2's HDD?
nickvanhakim
post Aug 21 2008, 10:50 PM

59 posts

sorry guys, the design looks ugly..but at least SONY got something to solve the typing problems..
devanbrat
post Aug 21 2008, 11:59 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(aaron5829 @ Aug 21 2008, 05:05 PM)
my mini keyboard is RM15 for my ps3 smile.gif
What keyboard is this? mind to share?
snipersnake
post Aug 22 2008, 12:13 AM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(technophile @ Aug 21 2008, 08:01 PM)
the "expansion slot" (the usb slot)  for DS3 and sixaxis is placed at the top of the controller. that's why i think the keypad was designed to look like that.

i dun think sony wants to redesign the DS3 to fit an expansion slot located below the thumbstick.

again, sony shows us their stupidity in planning for the future.

remember PS2's HDD?
PS2 HDD was halted due to piracy. If you were active back then, Sjeep made HDLOADER, a software that could make full installations of the PS2 games to be played directly from the HDD (sounds familiar:hehe:) without the need of the actual game disc to prevent lens wear and tear. Then a group of hackers reverse engineered the thing and made it compatible with a lot of hdds regardless of brand and sizes, at the same times improving the games' compatibility. Sony was worried that this thing WILL make gamers rent, install and return back the games without actually purchasing it, a loss of revenue for them. The redesigned the PS2 to be slimmer to prevent this.

But the HDD actually was kicking in Japan. They had the BB Navigator (DL games, songs, videos)

A lot of PS2 suddenly became alive again because of this. and I still remember during that time,garage sales had a lot of WTB PS2 fat only.

technophile
post Aug 22 2008, 01:00 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Aug 22 2008, 12:13 AM)
PS2 HDD was halted due to piracy. If you were active back then, Sjeep made HDLOADER, a software that could make full installations of the PS2 games to be played directly from the HDD (sounds familiar:hehe:) without the need of the actual game disc to prevent lens wear and tear. Then a group of hackers reverse engineered the thing and made it compatible with a lot of hdds regardless of brand and sizes, at the same times improving the games' compatibility. Sony was worried that this thing WILL make gamers rent, install and return back the games without actually purchasing it, a loss of revenue for them. The redesigned the PS2 to be slimmer to prevent this.

But the HDD actually was kicking in Japan. They had the BB Navigator (DL games, songs, videos)

A lot of PS2 suddenly became alive again because of this. and I still remember during that time,garage sales had a lot of WTB PS2 fat only.
like i said, sony was kinda bad in this afterthought business. yes they had the HDD in mindwhen PS2 was on the drawing board, but they've never expected MS to come up with a console with built in HDD and worked flawlessly. (xbox 1 was a pc anyway tongue.gif)

i'm not surprise if suddenly they will do a hardware revision for DS3. calling it DS3.5 or something with added expansion port below the thumbsticks. then they have to redesign the keypad to fit in there.

the keypad will be awesome if it has the ergonomics 360's almost useless keypad has. sony once again had a great idea, but was made lame by the execution.

just like the sixaxis. the premise was great. but i have yet to see any game that played great with it.

hehehe.. i got 2 PS2 fat at home. both not working. lens out. any takers?

This post has been edited by technophile: Aug 22 2008, 01:03 AM
justone
post Aug 22 2008, 01:22 AM

justone
1,067 posts

it looks solid and dis idea is definitely better than varying versions of ps3 which are only capacity diff. doh.gif (160gb ps3 .....etc)
unrealweapon
post Aug 25 2008, 05:11 PM

it's painful.
865 posts

for some unkown reason, any usb keyboard i tried , works on pS3...
K-End
post Aug 25 2008, 05:42 PM

Final Justice!!!!!
3,300 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Aug 25 2008, 05:11 PM)
for some unkown reason, any usb keyboard i tried , works on pS3...
isnt any pf USB keyboard worked on PS3?
zad78
post Dec 22 2008, 08:17 AM

Remember... Remember
1,237 posts

Does anyone knows whats the price?
boapike
post Dec 22 2008, 10:28 AM

80 posts

i found the 'un-ergonomic' keyboard at the game shop in subang parade yes..

the auntie was quoting around RM220..

Scavengers
post Dec 22 2008, 10:32 AM

380 posts

i chat with group of ppl in HOME regarding this keyboard
they said, they have problems with the capslock
anyone have this unit to verify the said problem
cheers
Ninja
post Dec 22 2008, 10:34 AM

[PBMY]™ Supreme Commander
1,764 posts

QUOTE(zad78 @ Dec 22 2008, 08:17 AM)
Does anyone knows whats the price?
Bought mine at RM185 a few weeks ago. Latest price I heard at Sg Wang is RM175.
ps360
post Dec 22 2008, 10:36 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Dec 22 2008, 11:34 AM)
Bought mine at RM185 a few weeks ago. Latest price I heard at Sg Wang is RM175.
Kaya la ... beli PS3 QWERTY Keypad at RM185 tongue.gif
Ninja
post Dec 22 2008, 10:40 AM

1,764 posts

LoL.. tongue.gif if kaya, i buy at RM220 price. laugh.gif
slickz
post Dec 22 2008, 11:59 AM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

so how is the keypad mr ninja? Is it unergonomic like what they say ? I think the only issue with it is that u have to shift your fingers forward each time to type yes ?
zad78
post Dec 22 2008, 01:05 PM

Remember... Remember
1,237 posts

well i've asked around too...they said that the price roughly will start at RM180 onwards....and probably will buy this
Ninja
post Dec 22 2008, 02:00 PM

1,764 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Dec 22 2008, 11:59 AM)
so how is the keypad mr ninja? Is it unergonomic like what they say ? I think the only issue with it is that u have to shift your fingers forward each time to type yes ?
If you have big fingers, you probably will have some issues using this keypad coz the button is small. laugh.gif But it's very light and solid, the weight is barely noticeable when attached to your controller.

And yeah you have to shift your thumb forward to type, but not an issue for me since when you're typing you're obviously not playing the game. It takes a little while to get used to typing with the pad. But, since my fingers are already on the controller, it will be very convenient to get to the keys and type than putting down the controller to type on a full-sized keyboard.

You can paired this keypad with your Bluetooth-enabled laptop and use it as an external keyboard. I haven't tried it yet, but mgsrulz successfully use it with his laptop. That's what he told me a few days ago. tongue.gif
Mgsrulz
post Dec 22 2008, 02:06 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

i bought mine for RM175 from lowyat.
was waiting for somewhere nearer to get it(curve/1 utama) but always no stock

so just went to lowyat to grab one.(i guess if you factor in the transportation it's about Ninja's price )

coming from using a USB keyboard,this keypad takes a LOT of getting used to.

it's pretty easy to switch from controller to keypad to controller,but because the buttons are so small,you have to take your eyes off of the screen to type.
that wouldnt be much of a problem if you can type fast.
but it's hard to type fast because sometimes the keys DONT respond rclxub.gif

simple typing like "break" could end up as "beak" doh.gif

another thing about the keypad is you need to manually(use a usb cable to) pair it with the ps3.
makes no sense why you cant pair it using bluetooth since it uses bluetooth to begin with doh.gif

works perfectly on laptops.
paired it via bluetooth,and used it as both a keyboard AND a mouse thumbup.gif
has a left and right click,too rclxms.gif

if you're not in a hurry,this keypad works great.
but if you're in a fast paced game and need to relay information,be prepared to make a lot of mistakes sweat.gif (unless you're fully accustomed to the keypad,then it should be pretty easy happy.gif )

doesnt work with handphones(no idea why)
can pair,but cant use

final verdict:
pros:
small and light-only adds abit of weight to the controller
doesnt hinder any buttons-play games as usual..you'll hear alot of people say "it's like it isnt there,when you are not using it"-i concur wholeheartedly
bluetooth enabled,so works with other devices as well
in built touchpad
cheap-RM175 for a keypad with built in mouse.personally, i find that cheap(especially since normal bluetooth keyboards start at RM200 doh.gif )
has a sleep mode-saves battery when device isnt in use
easy to clip on and off

cons:
small-you may have a hard time pressing the keys cos it's small(compared to a regular keyboard that has enormous keys)
touchpad too sensitive-sometimes it's hard to press a certain button on screen,cos the mouse goes from A-Z quite fast.a simple swipe can move the cursor across the screen sweat.gif
only one color so far-black.so if you have a white controller,it'll look abit weird :/ unless you like that sort of thing
requires a mini usb cable to pair with the ps3.weird issue,since you can pair with a different bluetooth device without the need of a mini usb cable
once paired with a different device,you have to re-pair it with the ps3(and vice versa)
has a sleep mode.so far i've no idea how to turn this off.it's annoying sometimes when you need the keypad in an emergency.have to wait for it to wake up(eventhough it's only a split second,it can still kill you online)-saves battery,but is annoying at times

Muchi
post Dec 22 2008, 02:53 PM

18 posts

It's good to hear opinions from those who actually owns it and actually using it whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Muchi: Dec 22 2008, 02:54 PM
-Torrz
post Dec 22 2008, 02:57 PM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

QUOTE(adli @ Aug 21 2008, 03:17 PM)
finally! ps3 is getting better n better. smile.gif
I lol'd.

Good review. I think the sleep mode thing will kill me too!

This post has been edited by -Torrz: Dec 22 2008, 02:59 PM
geong
post Dec 22 2008, 11:03 PM

I haven bot any FPS games yet. But is it possible to play them with a USB keyboard and mouse?
Mgsrulz
post Dec 22 2008, 11:17 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

some have mouse+keyboard support.
dont think many do,though
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Dec 22 2008, 11:52 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

Reviews says that it sucks... Better to use individual mouse and keyboard...
lksing78
post Dec 23 2008, 12:49 AM

91 posts

doesn't feel suck here whistling.gif
those with elephant thumb of course suck lah biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by lksing78: Dec 23 2008, 12:51 AM
slickz
post Dec 24 2008, 12:45 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

QUOTE(Ninja @ Dec 22 2008, 02:00 PM)
If you have big fingers, you probably will have some issues using this keypad coz the button is small. laugh.gif But it's very light and solid, the weight is barely noticeable when attached to your controller.

And yeah you have to shift your thumb forward to type, but not an issue for me since when you're typing you're obviously not playing the game. It takes a little while to get used to typing with the pad. But, since my fingers are already on the controller, it will be very convenient to get to the keys and type than putting down the controller to type on a full-sized keyboard.

You can paired this keypad with your Bluetooth-enabled laptop and use it as an external keyboard. I haven't tried it yet, but mgsrulz successfully use it with his laptop. That's what he told me a few days ago. tongue.gif
WOW! I like that part the best! plus u get to free up one USB slot on the ps3. This way I can leave two usb ports for ext HDD, which already needs two USB ports!
hxcpride
post Dec 25 2008, 01:13 AM

Toyol Mabuk
612 posts

im so getting this keypad so i can start talk shit on ps3 lol.
MR.Shiney
post Dec 25 2008, 02:23 AM

Jacked into the Matrix
1,843 posts

QUOTE(hxcpride @ Dec 25 2008, 01:13 AM)
im so getting this keypad so i can start talk shit on ps3 lol.
i think you can talk type shit better and faster on a regular usb keyboard laugh.gif

maan, how do you hold that thing! sweat.gif
takky
post Jan 3 2009, 09:45 PM

172 posts

i using the keypad to type now, well, not bad la. type slower than keyboard but sure faster than joystick laugh.gif
Borneo928
post Jan 4 2009, 01:52 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(MR.Shiney @ Dec 25 2008, 02:23 AM)
i think you can talk type shit better and faster on a regular usb keyboard laugh.gif

maan, how do you hold that thing! sweat.gif
agree..usb keyboard is cheaper and more practical, not going to spend rm170-180 just to type text on a screen
SimonsayZ
post Jan 19 2009, 09:52 AM

2,792 posts

I just bought this wireless keypad from Singapore for SGD68.00.

Its pretty ok, just need some getting use to only. Its a nice addition or alternative to standard keyboard.

Atleast now I dont have to put my DS3 down and type on keyboard. Its so much more convenient. biggrin.gif
Mgsrulz
post Jan 19 2009, 10:09 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(Borneo928 @ Jan 4 2009, 01:52 AM)
agree..usb keyboard is cheaper and more practical, not going to spend rm170-180 just to type text on a screen
cheaper, yes.
more practical,no.

wires are NEVER practical
shaznizzle
post Feb 9 2009, 01:01 AM

YouTuber: KLONES NETWORK
570 posts

Im using both Apple Wireless Keyboard and Mighty Mouse... very practical!!!

BUT the hassle to exchange from communication in game and game movement controller... got sikit leceh.... the whole idea of having a single peice equipemnt seems like a nice idea!!

0.0250sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:30 PM