PS3 QWERTY Keypad

technophile
post Aug 21 2008, 08:01 PM

@techsupremo
580 posts

the "expansion slot" (the usb slot) for DS3 and sixaxis is placed at the top of the controller. that's why i think the keypad was designed to look like that.

i dun think sony wants to redesign the DS3 to fit an expansion slot located below the thumbstick.

again, sony shows us their stupidity in planning for the future.

remember PS2's HDD?
technophile
post Aug 22 2008, 01:00 AM

@techsupremo
580 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Aug 22 2008, 12:13 AM)
PS2 HDD was halted due to piracy. If you were active back then, Sjeep made HDLOADER, a software that could make full installations of the PS2 games to be played directly from the HDD (sounds familiar:hehe:) without the need of the actual game disc to prevent lens wear and tear. Then a group of hackers reverse engineered the thing and made it compatible with a lot of hdds regardless of brand and sizes, at the same times improving the games' compatibility. Sony was worried that this thing WILL make gamers rent, install and return back the games without actually purchasing it, a loss of revenue for them. The redesigned the PS2 to be slimmer to prevent this.

But the HDD actually was kicking in Japan. They had the BB Navigator (DL games, songs, videos)

A lot of PS2 suddenly became alive again because of this. and I still remember during that time,garage sales had a lot of WTB PS2 fat only.
like i said, sony was kinda bad in this afterthought business. yes they had the HDD in mindwhen PS2 was on the drawing board, but they've never expected MS to come up with a console with built in HDD and worked flawlessly. (xbox 1 was a pc anyway tongue.gif)

i'm not surprise if suddenly they will do a hardware revision for DS3. calling it DS3.5 or something with added expansion port below the thumbsticks. then they have to redesign the keypad to fit in there.

the keypad will be awesome if it has the ergonomics 360's almost useless keypad has. sony once again had a great idea, but was made lame by the execution.

just like the sixaxis. the premise was great. but i have yet to see any game that played great with it.

hehehe.. i got 2 PS2 fat at home. both not working. lens out. any takers?

This post has been edited by technophile: Aug 22 2008, 01:03 AM

0.0129sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:44 PM