TSid86
post Oct 29 2008, 06:53 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(emilz @ Oct 29 2008, 08:44 AM)
damn cant wait to c the result.

by da way how the test going
will tell u all later...currently im still gathering materials for this project...somehow, all the items are limited sweat.gif and also hard to find cry.gif
pekies
post Nov 9 2008, 10:16 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(glock88 @ Sep 1 2008, 04:49 PM)
wow thermodynamics research... this is interesting. this nanofluids... whats the boiling temp and freezing temp?? maybe it has a lower freezing point and a slightly higher boiling point compared to pure fluids then only it can work without pumps.
boiling point of fluid used in closed heatpipes are not really important, as one can easily change the pressure inside the heatpipe and drasticly change the bp temp. Freezing point, of course, gotta be 0'C or lower.

I've read some articles online regarding the fluid used in heatpipes. Mostly used water under very low pressure allow vapourization to occur at lower temperature. I also did read somewhere that some manufacturer used low molecular weight, non corrosive hydrocarbons, with pressure lower than atmospheric. Some just used solid copper heatpipes.

Just my 2cents of knowledge to share.

Currently studying chemical engineering, year 2, university of nottingham.
phunkydude
post Nov 9 2008, 10:51 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Sep 3 2008, 01:23 PM)
I already had decided what to do in this project.

a) Nanofluid in heatpipes only (without heat fins)
b) Nanofluid in heatpipes with fins (cooler)
c) Nanofluid in cooler with pump
perhaps some comparisons need to be done upfront to ensure the viability of project for successful results.
the characteristics of the nanofluid itself is important.

a) & b) , nanofluid vs conventional copper heatpipe w/ sintered powder wick contained.
c) nanofluid vs water?

again, if the thermal performance difference is minimal,
the results might disappoint as a significant of few C difference is in need to create successful result.
SUSjoe_star
post Nov 9 2008, 11:37 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

i'm curious.....but is this ressearch a thesis project at a certain uni in kl? whistling.gif
evilhomura89
post Nov 10 2008, 12:36 AM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Nov 9 2008, 11:37 PM)
i'm curious.....but is this ressearch a thesis project at a certain uni in kl? whistling.gif
the 9th International Heat Pipe Symposium will be held from 17-20th November in Monash University Sunway campus...i guess it's somehow related right?

http://www.monash.edu.my/events/9ihps/info.html
9th International Heat Pipe Symposium
Who should attend
Engineers, Scientists, Technologists, Academics, Industrialists, Policy-makers, Entrepreneurs as well as members of the General Public who are interested to know more about new and innovative heat pipes for cooling applications and industrial heat exchange technologies.
Symposium topics

Technical sessions would include but not limited to the following areas:

* Heat transfer and fluid dynamics associated with modeling heat pipes.
    * Performance of heat pipes, thermosyphons, CPL’s, LHP’s, micro-heat pipes, etc.
    * Semi conductor cooling and thermal control.
    * Industrial applications of heat pipes.
    * New developments in heat pipe design and technology.
    * State of art in heat pipe technology.

Call for Papers

The Symposium will be conducted in English. Papers are being solicited for the Symposium. Contributors should submit an extended abstract
Abstract and Paper Contents

All papers and abstracts are accepted for review on the condition that the manuscript is original, has not previously been published or presented at a conference. An international advisory committee will referee all contributions. A list of the advisory committee will be appended to the conference proceedings. Abstracts and full papers are to be submitted electronically, in DOC (MS-Word) format. They must follow the conference official template, which is available from the conference website.

Identify your preferences in the 6 technical areas of interest listed above in order to assist us in arranging your presentation at an appropriate session. Include the following details in your abstract/full paper: Title, Name of Author(s), Affiliation(s), and full corresponding address of the author, including E-mail address, telephone and fax numbers. Submit the abstract, maximum 500 words in length; for full paper submission, length is limited to 10 pages.
Abstract Format

* Title of paper (align center, bold, size 14, Times New Roman fonts, MS-WORD editor)
    * Text (single space, 300 – 500 words, size 12, Times New Roman fonts, MS-WORD editor).
    * Author/s listing (name/s, affiliation/s and country/ies)
    * Presenting/Corresponding author (underline name, affiliation, mailing address, telephone, fax, email address)
    * Keywords (3 to 5 words)
    * Page setup (A4, single page, 25mm margin on all sides)

Topic area (Please indicate preferred topic in accordance to Symposium Topics)
Industry Exhibition

One of the key features of the conference will be the Industry Exhibition. As such, we are inviting industry participation in the conference as an exhibitor, whereby companies can showcase their new and innovative products. In addition, the symposium would provide the exhibitor the opportunity to meet-up with leading researchers from around the world, and potentially, form interactions on how their products can better meet the needs of scientific research. The exhibition, to be centrally located close to the main venue, will be held along with the poster session.
Continuing Professional Developement
9IHPS organizer has obtained accreditation of courses for CPD Hours from The Institution of Engineers, Malaysia (IEM). 20 CPD Hours will be granted by IEM to registered members who attend all sessions of the 9th International Heat Pipe Symposium. Ref. No:  IEM08/PP/004/S.
blaxez
post Nov 10 2008, 12:46 AM

Aficionado
1,885 posts

Hmm, nice try with nanofluid. Besides its thermal conductivity, the fluid viscosity has to be taken into the account since it affects the mobility of the fluid in the heatpipe. Generally I don't reckon there would be significant breakthrough in the thermoconductivity and also the cost involved ain't economical. However, if you're really into the extreme, try using carbon nanotube as the heatpipe. Its massive surface area would certainly give a lot of advantage in conducting heat. By the way, I'm a nanotechnology major in the University of New South Wales. I am more than happy if you would like to talk to me about this.
SUSjoe_star
post Nov 10 2008, 12:52 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 10 2008, 12:36 AM)
the 9th International Heat Pipe Symposium will be held from 17-20th November in Monash University Sunway campus...i guess it's somehow related right?

Not sure about that......but i might be studying at the same U as the TS, and perhaps interested in continuing the research next year tongue.gif
TSid86
post Nov 10 2008, 09:46 AM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(pekies @ Nov 9 2008, 10:16 PM)
boiling point of fluid used in closed heatpipes are not really important, as one can easily change the pressure inside the heatpipe and drasticly change the bp temp. Freezing point, of course, gotta be 0'C or lower.

I've read some articles online regarding the fluid used in heatpipes. Mostly used water under very low pressure allow vapourization to occur at lower temperature. I also did read somewhere that some manufacturer used low molecular weight, non corrosive hydrocarbons, with pressure lower than atmospheric. Some just used solid copper heatpipes.

Just my 2cents of knowledge to share.

Currently studying chemical engineering, year 2, university of nottingham.
Thanx for the comment. Ya, boiling point are not important for this project. I just want the details about the nanofluid for comparison.

QUOTE(phunkydude @ Nov 9 2008, 10:51 PM)
perhaps some comparisons need to be done upfront to ensure the viability of project for successful results.
the characteristics of the nanofluid itself is important.

a) & b) , nanofluid vs conventional copper heatpipe w/ sintered powder wick contained.
c) nanofluid vs water?

again, if the thermal performance difference is minimal,
the results might disappoint as a significant of few C difference is in need to create successful result.
We will see the result soon. Now,my place got equipments to make the nanofluid rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 10 2008, 12:36 AM)

I already register for this. For sure, I will attend it. Thanks for the info smile.gif

QUOTE(blaxez @ Nov 10 2008, 12:46 AM)
Hmm, nice try with nanofluid. Besides its thermal conductivity, the fluid viscosity has to be taken into the account since it affects the mobility of the fluid in the heatpipe. Generally I don't reckon there would be significant breakthrough in the thermoconductivity and also the cost involved ain't economical. However, if you're really into the extreme, try using carbon nanotube as the heatpipe. Its massive surface area would certainly give a lot of advantage in conducting heat. By the way, I'm a nanotechnology major in the University of New South Wales. I am more than happy if you would like to talk to me about this.
I really glad to hear that. Hope we can share more information about nano stuff. Drop me a PM ya thumbup.gif

QUOTE(joe_star @ Nov 10 2008, 12:52 AM)
Not sure about that......but i might be studying at the same U as the TS, and perhaps interested in continuing the research next year tongue.gif
Hmmm, who this guy ah? hmm.gif

evilhomura89
post Nov 10 2008, 12:41 PM

5,886 posts

btw, jz wanna knw will there be any exhibition during the heatpipe symposium?? since i'm free, mayb i'll go n hav a look...i'm in monash anyway
TSid86
post Nov 11 2008, 01:15 AM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 10 2008, 12:41 PM)
btw, jz wanna knw will there be any exhibition during the heatpipe symposium?? since i'm free, mayb i'll go n hav a look...i'm in monash anyway
Maybe small exhibition only. Not so sure about that. Can help me regarding the nanofluid? Im sure u got many info to share nod.gif
evilhomura89
post Nov 11 2008, 09:35 AM

5,886 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Nov 11 2008, 01:15 AM)
Maybe small exhibition only. Not so sure about that. Can help me regarding the nanofluid? Im sure u got many info to share nod.gif
sweat.gif
I don't really know about these stuff. But when i saw yr topic, I jz rmb the heat pipe symposium that is goin to be held in my uni, so I jz inform u about it. I'm a 1st year biotech student...so, can't really help u about nanofluids.
TSid86
post Nov 11 2008, 01:08 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Nov 11 2008, 09:35 AM)
sweat.gif
I don't really know about these stuff. But when i saw yr topic, I jz rmb the heat pipe symposium that is goin to be held in my uni, so I jz inform u about it. I'm a 1st year biotech student...so, can't really help u about nanofluids.
Oh..sorry.wrong person lor sweat.gif

Hope I can meet someone expert at the symposium since it is international event. nod.gif

This post has been edited by id86: Dec 16 2008, 08:15 AM
TSid86
post Dec 16 2008, 08:15 AM

GG
1,052 posts

anyone know which courier company can provide shipment for liquid product?
overclockalbert
post Dec 25 2008, 03:41 PM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Oct 29 2008, 08:46 AM)
Updates : After finish discuss with one professor from UK (he make a lot of research about nanofluid), i had choose alumina as my working fluid.

I will show the spec of the fluid later biggrin.gif
alumina? shakehead.gif
to be the fluid? rclxub.gif

TSid86
post Dec 25 2008, 05:52 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Dec 25 2008, 03:41 PM)
alumina?  shakehead.gif
to be the fluid? rclxub.gif
why? hmm.gif anything wrong with it?
glock88
post Dec 25 2008, 10:20 PM

317 posts

i thought alumina is aluminum oxide.. or am i wrong?
overclockalbert
post Dec 26 2008, 01:12 AM

1,058 posts

QUOTE(glock88 @ Dec 25 2008, 11:20 PM)
i thought alumina is aluminum oxide.. or am i wrong?
that's the same question that i'm asking blush.gif
TSid86
post Dec 26 2008, 02:23 AM

GG
1,052 posts

yup...alumina is aluminium oxide. i just lazy to write tongue.gif
kazairol
post Dec 26 2008, 08:56 PM

1,008 posts

bro, dah brape percent dah projek ni? biggrin.gif
TSid86