Nanofluid in Heatpipe, Still in research

TSid86
post Aug 20 2008, 07:45 PM, updated 17y ago

GG
1,052 posts

Hi guyz.

Currently I doing a project regarding to computer cooler (passive cooling). The main objective in the project is to replace current fluid in the heatpipe (mostly passive coolers have) with nanofluid. The nanofluid I can order directly from US.

I need some help from you guys for certain things.

First, what the best cooler (with heatpipe) I should test since this project need to do quite a lot of experiment to achieve some results.

Second, does the diameter of the heatpipe influence the performance?

Third, is there any local distibutor or supplier that I can cooperate with to do this project?

I think thats all I need help for now. Will updates if got added information.

Any comments and suggestions are welcome here.

Thanx thumbup.gif
tnhafiz
post Aug 21 2008, 12:06 PM

276 posts

u can try xigmatek,ocz n thermalright cooler.yup,d diameter if the heatpipe influence a lot.i think d bigger d heatpipe,d better d performance.smile.gif
xixo_12
post Aug 21 2008, 12:14 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

i thought u did the nanofluid sweat.gif
TSid86
post Aug 21 2008, 01:53 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(tnhafiz @ Aug 21 2008, 12:06 PM)
u can try xigmatek,ocz n thermalright cooler.yup,d diameter if the heatpipe influence a lot.i think d bigger d heatpipe,d better d performance.smile.gif
Unfortunately I have to choose one only coz I have to make a lot of sample for test. AFAIK, cooler master heatpipe diameter is the biggest among the rest hmm.gif

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Aug 21 2008, 12:14 PM)
i thought u did the nanofluid sweat.gif
Too costly to do the nanofluid. Even in Malaysia so hard to get sweat.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 21 2008, 10:05 PM

4,809 posts

well im very interested in this research.
let me know what i can do to help.
might be revolutionary smile.gif
TSid86
post Aug 22 2008, 01:44 AM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Aug 21 2008, 10:05 PM)
well im very interested in this research.
let me know what i can do to help.
might be revolutionary smile.gif
Thanx for the support rclxms.gif

Currently I just start this project. I have to plan properly since this project under government and got high budget.

First of all, what is the common fluid in the heatpipe? From previous research said that the fluid is acetone.

Hope expertise can clarify this icon_rolleyes.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 22 2008, 02:59 PM

4,809 posts

i highly doubt its acetone.
not only that, normally there isnt any fluid inside at all.
if you have been following nanofluid tech, there was a special metal based cooling system that uses an electromagnetic pump to push the fluid around a closed system.

if you ask me, you should put some research into not only putting the fluid into the heatpipes, but also put some kind of pump at the top to make the fluid flow.
check out the concept here :- http://arstechnica.com/journals/hardware.a...tor-jokes-ensue

do you have any white paper on the nanofluid? like the heat capacity and thermal resistance and stuff?
need more info on the fluid.

if you can get me all the related info as well as the fluid itself, i'll gladly give my IFX14, Achilles and Ultra 120extreme for this cause biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Aug 22 2008, 03:09 PM
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 22 2008, 03:24 PM

4,809 posts

ok me gots some info here.
nanofluids show better thermal conductivity as opposed to water however only in small amount. the density of nanofluid is almost to that of water,particles are bigger than water particles but it would be utterly usedless unless you could find a way to pump the fluid around the heatpipes.

the density is close to water, but that all depends on how much nanoparticles you mix in. We have shown no pumping effects nor any scouring of the impeller etc. We(me and a friend) did a research project for the airforce looking at an optimum amount. I am currently running some in my liquid cooling system. We showed a 16% increase in heat transfer over water. My CPU temp dropped almost 16% after I changed from the stock liquid to the nanofluid.
We did all of that. Remember, we did this project for the US Air Force. Everything was carefully monitored, weighed, calibrated, etc etc. We are presenting a paper at the Heat Transfer Conference in Jacksonville, FL. You can't replace heat pipe fluid with nanofluids because heat pipes use phase-change, which would NOT work with nanofluids.
this quote was rather discouraging too

it could also be inefficient because if it is confined to only small tubes in a heatsink, the thermal contact is small as to compared to running the fluid through a radiator.

research in USA have shown that
First off, it doesn't look like mercury..it looks like milk to be honest. When you add nanoparticles to a fluid you can do it by volume or weight..as in Volume% or Weight%. We did ours by Volume..it is sort of like measuring by feet or inches. The Volume% has to be optimized or it will become to heavy and then you will run into pumping problems, scouring...etc.
#1. If you were to spill this it would be no different from spilling water on an electrical part. You just have to clean it up.
#2 It is not smaller than a water molecule (which is WAY small)..on the order of 10^-19..we are at 10^-9..no leaking issues.
#3 If the system is running you will not have algomeration, but if you turn it off for a week you will get some settling. If you are turning your system off for weeks at a time you don't need to worry about nanofluids.
hhmm so maybe we have to shift our focus from heatsinks to a small watercooling loop.
however if you see closely, if it settles then it might be good

let me know whether you are serious on persuing this cause biggrin.gif

ps, it took me lots of time on this research. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Aug 22 2008, 03:25 PM
xixo_12
post Aug 23 2008, 10:05 AM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

u from seremban?? i can give hand to conduct test.. laugh.gif
TSid86
post Aug 26 2008, 08:12 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Aug 22 2008, 02:59 PM)
i highly doubt its acetone.
not only that, normally there isnt any fluid inside at all.
if you have been following nanofluid tech, there was a special metal based cooling system that uses an electromagnetic pump to push the fluid around a closed system.

if you ask me, you should put some research into not only putting the fluid into the heatpipes, but also put some kind of pump at the top to make the fluid flow.
check out the concept here :- http://arstechnica.com/journals/hardware.a...tor-jokes-ensue

do you have any white paper on the nanofluid? like the heat capacity and thermal resistance and stuff?
need more info on the fluid.

if you can get me all the related info as well as the fluid itself, i'll gladly give my IFX14, Achilles and Ultra 120extreme for this cause biggrin.gif
From what I had read from some previous research, no pump needed to circulate the fluid. however, the research had mixed the nanofluid with pure water and just using heat pipe without fin like normal cooler. I will show that research later if u want to read it.

about the nanofluid, I still in progress and discussion with some expert here (Malaysia). Once I get it, i will show to u. thumbup.gif

thanx for the support. really appreciate it rclxms.gif

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Aug 22 2008, 03:24 PM)
ok me gots some info here.
nanofluids show better thermal conductivity as opposed to water however only in small amount. the density of nanofluid is almost to that of water,particles are bigger than water particles but it would be utterly usedless unless you could find a way to pump the fluid around the heatpipes.
this quote was rather discouraging too

it could also be inefficient because if it is confined to only small tubes in a heatsink, the thermal contact is small as to compared to running the fluid through a radiator.

research in USA have shown that
hhmm so maybe we have to shift our focus from heatsinks to a small watercooling loop.
however if you see closely, if it settles then it might be good

let me know whether you are serious on persuing this cause biggrin.gif

ps, it took me lots of time on this research. tongue.gif
Based from one expert person in nanofluid, nanofluid wont easily clogging like other fluid. so, it will provide smooth flow in the container or tube like the heat pipe. later we will see whether its true or not after experiment done hmm.gif

Nanofluid has higher thermal conductivity, high critical heat flux which result to greater heat transfer compare to conventional pure fluids thumbup.gif

so, we can expect that nanofluid will provide greater thermal performance than current fluid in the heatpipe. flex.gif

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Aug 23 2008, 10:05 AM)
u from seremban?? i can give hand to conduct test.. laugh.gif
my hometown at seremban. but my research at KL lor nod.gif

a1098113
post Aug 26 2008, 08:18 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

do let me know, i would love to participate in this research as well, in the physics aspect.. smile.gif
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 27 2008, 12:06 AM

4,809 posts

yeah let me know too,
i would love to have some inside knowledge on this
beat my physics knowledge by a long stretch tongue.gif
but then again, SPM level physics is low.
TSid86
post Aug 27 2008, 05:02 AM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(a1098113 @ Aug 26 2008, 08:18 PM)
do let me know, i would love to participate in this research as well, in the physics aspect.. smile.gif
i think most of the research based on thermodynamic thumbup.gif

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Aug 27 2008, 12:06 AM)
yeah let me know too,
i would love to have some inside knowledge on this
beat my physics knowledge by a long stretch tongue.gif
but then again, SPM level physics is low.
lol...i cant stretch your knowledge tongue.gif

One question : If i make some hole on the heat pipe to insert the nanofluid and then close it (tape,weld or etc) , does it drop the performance of the heat pipe?
DaRkSyThE
post Aug 27 2008, 07:06 AM

4,809 posts

performance shudnt drop
but i dun know bro, i tink liquid in the heatpipe without circulation will not see a significant diff in temps
glock88
post Sep 1 2008, 04:49 PM

317 posts

wow thermodynamics research... this is interesting. this nanofluids... whats the boiling temp and freezing temp?? maybe it has a lower freezing point and a slightly higher boiling point compared to pure fluids then only it can work without pumps.

This post has been edited by glock88: Sep 1 2008, 05:09 PM
a1098113
post Sep 1 2008, 07:32 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

thermodynamics wouldnt be that hard to digest, would it?

@darkscythe
well, if the passing mark of Add Maths in SPM was 17%, i wonder what physics would be sweat.gif
glock88
post Sep 1 2008, 08:54 PM

317 posts

brother dont underestimate thermodynamics... trust me... it may look easy but it actually aint. if u study thermodynamics in engineering... whatever u learn in the first year are just skimming the surface of the topic... lol... i start to sound like a lecturer ad... lol...
TSid86
post Sep 3 2008, 01:23 PM

GG
1,052 posts

I already had decided what to do in this project.

a) Nanofluid in heatpipes only (without heat fins)
b) Nanofluid in heatpipes with fins (cooler)
c) Nanofluid in cooler with pump
TSid86
post Oct 29 2008, 07:46 AM

GG
1,052 posts

Updates : After finish discuss with one professor from UK (he make a lot of research about nanofluid), i had choose alumina as my working fluid.

I will show the spec of the fluid later biggrin.gif
emilz
post Oct 29 2008, 08:44 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Oct 29 2008, 07:46 AM)
Updates : After finish discuss with one professor from UK (he make a lot of research about nanofluid), i had choose alumina as my working fluid.

I will show the spec of the fluid later biggrin.gif
damn cant wait to c the result.

by da way how the test going

0.0172sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:12 AM