Retro gamers, The money sucking thread
Jan 24 2009, 04:56 PM
2,978 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: 3°10'21.80"N , 101°43'17.20"E |
My first ever console is the PS1! Passed my school test with flying colours and ive got my first console in my lap. The first game i ever played was Batman sadly
Jan 24 2009, 05:00 PM
1,450 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: KK |
My first was Atari 2600 only then a Micro Genius which is long gone
Jan 30 2009, 01:02 AM
698 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Mushroom Kingdom |
Retro Gamer and SEGA fans please help.
Does Game Genie work on a JPN SEGA MegaDrive? I need to bypass MegaDrive Region lock on a JPN MD, but not sure whether Game Genie would work on a JPN MD. Extensive research on Google doesn't really clear doubt.... |
Jan 30 2009, 01:36 AM
29 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: Space-Monkey From Uranus |
my first was a C64 (err not really a console as such,but a home computer)..after that its the microgenius n so on...
Jan 30 2009, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Jan 30 2009, 01:02 AM) Retro Gamer and SEGA fans please help. I do believe Game Genie does not have region lock embedded, so it should be safe. However there games that have region lock chip, so you can't simply plug and play. Games like Sonic 3 (weirdly not & Knuckles though), Gunstar, Contra, PSIV and Shinobi III are region locked, which are possible to bypass through Game Genie, but you need the right codes. The whole region lock thingie made me sold my Mega CD and settled for a CDX since, for some odd reasons, Genesis games are much cheaper than JP MD games. No problem playing imported Mega CD games too Does Game Genie work on a JPN SEGA MegaDrive? I need to bypass MegaDrive Region lock on a JPN MD, but not sure whether Game Genie would work on a JPN MD. Extensive research on Google doesn't really clear doubt.... |
Jan 30 2009, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 30 2009, 09:54 AM) I do believe Game Genie does not have region lock embedded, so it should be safe. However there games that have region lock chip, so you can't simply plug and play. Games like Sonic 3 (weirdly not & Knuckles though), Gunstar, Contra, PSIV and Shinobi III are region locked, which are possible to bypass through Game Genie, but you need the right codes. The whole region lock thingie made me sold my Mega CD and settled for a CDX since, for some odd reasons, Genesis games are much cheaper than JP MD games. No problem playing imported Mega CD games too If i dun want to be bothered by MegaDrive region lock, which iteration is the best?MegaDrive "SKU" is really a "parade", there are X'eye, CDX, Mega Jet.... even a Aiwa Mega CD. Hopefully to get a MD that could bypass region lock, and can support 32X & Mega CD, Aiwa Mega CD, Mega Jet seems out of the question for this.. |
Jan 30 2009, 10:43 AM
The region lock is software based, so you must use specific hardware from specific region to bypass the chip embedded carts. There's an ultimate solution to this (cost close to nothing) and that is adding a region switch to your console. You need to have good soldering skill to do this though. Would you be interested?
This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Jan 30 2009, 10:44 AM |
Jan 30 2009, 01:44 PM
1,167 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: ..Tsukuba.. |
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 30 2009, 10:43 AM) The region lock is software based, so you must use specific hardware from specific region to bypass the chip embedded carts. There's an ultimate solution to this (cost close to nothing) and that is adding a region switch to your console. You need to have good soldering skill to do this though. Would you be interested? wow those days wana change region just by push of a switch. |
Jan 30 2009, 03:24 PM
You still need to do hardware mod to achieve that. You should look at Nintendo's SNES/SFC and N64, they had the best region lock in history.
Jan 30 2009, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 30 2009, 10:43 AM) The region lock is software based, so you must use specific hardware from specific region to bypass the chip embedded carts. There's an ultimate solution to this (cost close to nothing) and that is adding a region switch to your console. You need to have good soldering skill to do this though. Would you be interested? My soldering skill is zero.You mean that the chip embedded carts are "hardcore" region locked? (Cannot be bypass) |
Jan 30 2009, 04:32 PM
I remember Game Genie works on some games with code, but not all
Jan 30 2009, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 30 2009, 03:24 PM) You still need to do hardware mod to achieve that. You should look at Nintendo's SNES/SFC and N64, they had the best region lock in history. Wii is the most hardcore Region Locked console this gen!Added on January 30, 2009, 4:36 pm QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 30 2009, 04:32 PM) Already placed my bid.Taking the chance. This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Jan 30 2009, 04:36 PM |
Jan 30 2009, 04:40 PM
No, this gen belongs to 360. Modding still can bypass Wii's region coding, but still no solution for 360.
Too much of current gen talk, let's go back to RETRO! Have been spending time on PS1 RPGs lately, and finished Parasite Eve. Still can't decide which one to play next since most of them I haven't played before |
Jan 30 2009, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 30 2009, 04:40 PM) No, this gen belongs to 360. Modding still can bypass Wii's region coding, but still no solution for 360. Did i told u this already?Too much of current gen talk, let's go back to RETRO! Have been spending time on PS1 RPGs lately, and finished Parasite Eve. Still can't decide which one to play next since most of them I haven't played before I just got my Chrono Trigger for PSX, the loading is intolerable..... The game even have some odd pause when switching between menu.... Oh man, but not as bad as Samurai Spirit RPG on Neo Geo CD la.... |
Jan 30 2009, 04:48 PM
That shouldn't be a problem since you are playing the NDS version now
Is it true that Neogeo CDZ is getting more expensive these days? Just had a quick browse and caught me by surprise |
Jan 30 2009, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Jan 30 2009, 04:48 PM) That shouldn't be a problem since you are playing the NDS version now I followed the price pretty closely,Is it true that Neogeo CDZ is getting more expensive these days? Just had a quick browse and caught me by surprise Neo Geo CDZ price fluctuated, it will come down. I am looking to get a back-up unit myself, my current Neo Geo CDZ gila-gila a bit already. |
Jan 30 2009, 04:59 PM
Since you have been following, may I ask have you come across a NGCD game called Iron Clad? If you did what's the market price now?
Jan 30 2009, 04:59 PM
u guys played chrono cross? by square soft?
Jan 30 2009, 05:00 PM
Nope, never played before and was thinking of playing it next, but a forumer told me he took 80 hours to gather everything in that game.. kinda put off for me straight away
Jan 30 2009, 05:03 PM
at game spot the rating is 10,i never got to play it as my psx kaput redi hehehe.
| Change to: | 0.0282sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:26 AM |